Skip to Main Content

College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives: Herrett Center Collection, 2009-2019

CSISCA provides consistent opportunities for strengthened community connection, lifelong learning, and continued education to College of Southern Idaho faculty, staff, students, and community members.

CSISCA Header

Collection Finding Aid

Herrett Center Collection, 2009-2019

College of Southern Idaho

September 7, 2023

315 Falls Avenue, Twin Falls, ID 83301

 

 

Table of Contents

 

Administrative/Biographical History Note

Scope and Content Note

Restrictions

Organizations

Administrative Information

Associated Information

   
 
Repository: College of Southern Idaho. Special Collections and Archives.
Address: 315 Falls Avenue, Twin Falls, ID 83301
Creator: College of Southern Idaho.
Title: Herrett Center Records, 2009-2019
Dates: 2009-2019.
Extent: 9.22 megabytes and consisting of 1 file
Identification: CSI_F2MSS001.1
Language: English

Administrative/Biographical History Note

The Herrett Center for Arts and Science is a non-profit museum on the main campus of the College of Southern Idaho in Twin Falls, Idaho, USA. Its purpose is primarily educational, offering programs to elementary and secondary school students, CSI students, and the adult community of south-central Idaho. The Center collects, preserves, interprets, and exhibits anthropological artifacts and natural history specimens with an emphasis on the prehistoric American continents.

Scope and Content Note

The Herrett Center records collection contains records of the dealings and policies of the Herrett Center. Primarily, it discusses the Herrett Family, who gave their name to the center. The collections discusses how science, and astronomy specifically, influenced the Herrett Family. Their preferences led to the creation of the Herrett Center we know today.

Items in this collection do not circulate and may be used in-house only.

Copyright Statement: The copyright of this collection is held by the College of Southern Idaho.

Copyright Restrictions: It is the researcher’s responsibility to conform to all legal literary and copyright provisions attached to the materials used. The Special Collections Department will not be responsible for the infringement of any such laws. Patrons assume all responsibility for reproduction requests and will not assign blame in any way to the College of Southern Idaho over the reproduction of material at the request of patrons. For more information please visit http://www.loc.gov/copyright/title17/ Title 17 of the Copyright Law.

Organizations

 

Form

 

Provenance

This collection originally consisted of records of the Herrett Family and the Herrett Center that were compiled by David Horalek, the former Reference Librarian, in 2019. In 2023, David transferred these records to the Archives. The other files were given by the Herrett Center themselves. Various books were also given to the Archives to keep but are part of the Herrett Center's collection, not the archives.

Processing Information:

These records were organized and cataloged in 2023 by Reed C. Hepler.

Preferred Bibliographic Citation
CSI_F2MSS001.1-01: Narratives about Norman Herrett, 2009-2019.
  9.22 megabytes and consisting of 1 file
  The Herrett Center records collection contains records of the dealings and policies of the Herrett Center. Primarily, it discusses the Herrett Family, who gave their name to the center. The collections discusses how science, and astronomy specifically, influenced the Herrett Family. Their preferences led to the creation of the Herrett Center we know today.

Acknowledgments

The College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives would like to thank the Idaho State Historical Records Advisory Board and the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), whose financial and advisory support have facilitated the creation of these pages and records. For more information on the NHPRC, visit archives.gov/nhprc.