Skip to Main Content

College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives: CSI Marketing and Communications Legacy Media Collection, 1960-1999

CSISCA provides consistent opportunities for strengthened community connection, lifelong learning, and continued education to College of Southern Idaho faculty, staff, students, and community members.

CSISCA Header

Collection Finding Aid

CSI Marketing and Communications Legacy Media Collection, 1965-1999

College of Southern Idaho

March 18, 2024

315 Falls Avenue, Twin Falls, ID 83301

 

 

Table of Contents

 

Administrative/Biographical History Note

Scope and Content Note

Restrictions

Organizations

Administrative Information

Associated Information

   
 
Repository: College of Southern Idaho. Special Collections and Archives.
Address: 315 Falls Avenue, Twin Falls, ID 83301
Creator: College of Southern Idaho.
Title: CSI Marketing and Communications Legacy Media Collection, 1965-19995
Dates: 1965-1999.
Extent: 320 VHS videocassettes occupying 27 feet.
Extent: 25 Memorex MRX 716 videofilm tapes.
Extent: 9 Betacam tapes occupying 1.5 feet
Extent: 175 Betamax cassettes occupying 30 feet.
Extent: 16 DVcam cassettes occupying .25 feet.
Extent: 40 DVMini cassettes occupying .25 feet
Extent: 17 Bonum reel-to-reel audio tapes occupying 2 feet
Identification: CSI_F2MSS 011
Language: English

Administrative/Biographical History Note

The College of Southern Idaho was created in 1965 by the State of Idaho as the first Community College in the Southern Idaho region. It has served throughout its history as a pioneer of technological advancement, inclusiveness, and progressive education. The videofilm materials of this collection demonstrate hte inclusiveness and progressive nature of the programs at the College of Southern Idaho from the time it was founded until the 2000s. The College of Southern Idaho was built on the promise of creating a well-educated and significantly supported local community that would become vibrant, diverse, and pluralistic.

Scope and Content Note

This collection demonstrates the pedagogy, priorities, and development of the College of Southern Idaho from the 1960s, when it was founded, to the end of the twentieth century. Subjects covered by these films include the history of the college, topics of prominent courses, and various professional development and staff and faculty engagement functions. The majority of the videofilms were created in the 1970s, but a fair representation of all four decades is present in this collection.

Items in this collection do not circulate and may be used in-house only.

Copyright Statement: The copyright of this collection is held by the College of Southern Idaho.

Copyright Restrictions: It is the researcher’s responsibility to conform to all legal literary and copyright provisions attached to the materials used. The Special Collections Department will not be responsible for the infringement of any such laws. Patrons assume all responsibility for reproduction requests and will not assign blame in any way to the College of Southern Idaho over the reproduction of material at the request of patrons. For more information please visit Title 17 of the Copyright Law.

Organizations

 

College of Southern Idaho.

Form

 

Videos.

Provenance

These videofilm records, and accompanying audiofilm records, were deposited in the Marketing and Communications storage room from the 1960s to 1999. They were eventually forgotten until 2023. The head of the Marketing and Communications Department communications division transferred all the materials to the archives collections in October 2023.

Processing Information:

These records were organized and cataloged in 2024 by Reed C. Hepler.

Preferred Bibliographic Citation

College of Southern Idaho,"College of Southern Idaho Marketing and Communications Legacy Media Collections (CSI_F2MSS011). College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives, Twin Falls, Idaho. Accessed on [[date]]
CSI_F2MSS011-01: Legacy Media, 1965-1999.
320 VHS videocassettes occupying 27 feet.
25 Memorex MRX 716 videofilm tapes.
9 Betacam tapes occupying 1.5 feet.
175 Betamax cassettes occupying 30 feet.
16 DVcam cassettes occupying .25 feet.
  40 DVMini cassettes occupying .25 feet.
  17 Bonum reel-to-reel audio tapes occupying 2 feet
  This collection demonstrates the pedagogy, priorities, and development of the College of Southern Idaho from the 1960s, when it was founded, to the end of the twentieth century. Subjects covered by these films include the history of the college, topics of prominent courses, and various professional development and staff and faculty engagement functions. The majority of the videofilms were created in the 1970s, but a fair representation of all four decades is present in this collection.

Acknowledgments

The College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives would like to thank the Idaho State Historical Records Advisory Board and the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), whose financial and advisory support have facilitated the creation of these pages and records. For more information on the NHPRC, visit archives.gov/nhprc.