Skip to Main Content

College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives: Robert "Bob" Lewandowski Papers, 1997-2005

CSISCA provides consistent opportunities for strengthened community connection, lifelong learning, and continued education to College of Southern Idaho faculty, staff, students, and community members.

CSISCA Header

Collection Finding Aid

Lewandowski Papers, 1997-2005

College of Southern Idaho

August 8, 2023

315 Falls Avenue, Twin Falls, ID 83301

 

 

Table of Contents

 

Administrative/Biographical History Note

Scope and Content Note

Restrictions

People

Administrative Information

Associated Information

   
 
Repository: College of Southern Idaho. Special Collections and Archives.
Address: 315 Falls Avenue, Twin Falls, ID 83301
Creator: Lewandowski, Robert, 1942-2005.
Title: Robert "Bob" Lewandowski Papers, 1997-2005
Dates: 1997-2005.
Extent: 4 boxes occupying 2 cubic feet and consisting of 16 folders
Identification: COLL_MSS 004
Language: English

Administrative/Biographical History Note

Robert Lewindowski built the first commercial wind farm in Idaho on his farm, Lewandowski Farms, in Elmore County. The turbines were located near Simco Road and took four years to construct. He was a champion of wind and renewable energy. He passed away in July 2005, jsut three months after his third turbine became operational.

Scope and Content Note

The Robert "Bob" Lewandowski Papers contain the administrative records of Lewandowski Farms, LLC. Of particular importance is the use of wind turbines to power the farm. The collection includes permits, legal documents related to the construction of the turbines, and records of Elmore County related to the turbines. Many, if not all, of the records related to the permits required to build the turbines are contained in this collection.

Items in this collection do not circulate and may be used in-house only.

Copyright Statement: The copyright of this collection is held by the records creators.

Copyright Restrictions: It is the researcher’s responsibility to conform to all legal literary and copyright provisions attached to the materials used. The Special Collections Department will not be responsible for the infringement of any such laws. Patrons assume all responsibility for reproduction requests and will not assign blame in any way to the College of Southern Idaho over the reproduction of material at the request of patrons. For more information please visit Title 17 of the Copyright Law.

People

Lewandowski, Robert, 1942-2005.

Subjects

Wind power plants..
Wind turbines..

Places

Elmore County (Idaho).

Form

Records (Documents).

Provenance

The records in this collection were acquired by Robert "Bob" Lewandowski over the course of his business in Lewandowski Farm LLC. Upon his death, the records were given by his family to the College of Southern Idaho when his turbines were donated to the college for educational purposes. This transfer occurred in 2009.

Processing Information:

These records were organized and cataloged in 2023 by Reed C. Hepler.

Preferred Bibliographic Citation

Lewandowski, Robert, "Robert Lewandowski Papers" (COLL_MSS 004). College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives, Twin Falls, Idaho. Accessed on [[date]]
COLL_MSS 004-01: Lewandowski Farm Records, 1997-2005.
  4 boxes occupying 2 cubic feet and comprised of 16 folders.
  This series shows the story of the three wind turbines of Lewandowski Farms LLC from the time that Robert Lewandowski first applied for the wind turbine until the time that the third turbine was installed. It also shows the government processes that were required in the 1990s and early 2000s for the approval of innovative techniques and processes. Applications, permits, and other legal documents are contained in this series.

Acknowledgments

The College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives would like to thank the Idaho State Historical Records Advisory Board and the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), whose financial and advisory support have facilitated the creation of these pages and records. For more information on the NHPRC, visit archives.gov/nhprc.