Table of Contents |
Administrative/Biographical History NoteArthur Kleinkopf was the Superintendent of Education at the Minidoka Relocation Center during all of its existence during World War II. He was highly involved in other areas of the camp, and encouraged camp administration to not stifle the education of camp internees. Still, prisoner accounts imply that he was not immune to the biases and prejudices of general camp administrators. Scope and Content NoteThis single-item collection holds the four-volume reproduction of the Relocation Center Diary of Arthur Kleinkopf. Kleinkopf recorded his insights and perspectives as the Superintendent of Education at Minidoka Relocation Center, where many Japanese Americans were interned during World War II. This diary presents the events as he knew them, and sheds light on biases held by camp administration. It also recounts some of the activities, projects, and movements organized by the Japanese American prisoners of the camps. RestrictionsItems in this collection do not circulate and may be used in-house only. Copyright Statement: The copyright of this collection is held by the descendants of Arthur Kleinkopf. Copyright Restrictions: It is the researcher’s responsibility to conform to all legal literary and copyright provisions attached to the materials used. The Special Collections Department will not be responsible for the infringement of any such laws. Patrons assume all responsibility for reproduction requests and will not assign blame in any way to the College of Southern Idaho over the reproduction of material at the request of patrons. For more information please visit Title 17 of the Copyright Law. PeopleKleinkopf, Arthur, .
SubjectsJapanese Americans Forced removal and internment, 1942-1945.
Minidoka Relocation Center.
World War, 1939-1945.
Places
Hunt (Idaho).
Form
Diaries.
Related MaterialMinidoka Relocation Center Records (COLL_MSS 005)
Administrative InformationProvenanceThis item is a reproduction of the original diary, which is held at the Idaho State Historical Society. The original was given to them by the descendants of Arthur Kleinkopf, and they gave us permission to digitize it for our records. The grandchildren of Arthur Kleinkopf have also given us permission to have and digitize this material. Processing Information:These records were organized and cataloged in 2023 by Reed C. Hepler. Associated InformationPreferred Bibliographic CitationArthur Kleinkopf, "Arthur Kleinkopf Diary" (COLL_MSS 006). College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives, Twin Falls, Idaho. Accessed on [[date]]
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
The College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives would like to thank the Idaho State Historical Records Advisory Board and the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), whose financial and advisory support have facilitated the creation of these pages and records. For more information on the NHPRC, visit archives.gov/nhprc.