The College of Southern Idaho (CSI) is home to Special Collections and Archives, both of which are vital to understanding the region's rich history. The Special Collections encompass materials from external sources, including documents related to the Magic Valley Area, Boise region, Minidoka Relocation Camp, the Lewandowski Wind Farm, and the works of Vardis Fisher. These materials offer a profound insight into the historical, cultural, and environmental transformations within Southern Idaho. Standing in contrast to the Special Collections, the Archives contain the college's internal records, focusing solely on its institutional history and development.
Researchers and scholars may explore the Special Collections to delve into the many facets of Southern Idaho's history. Through these external contributions, a comprehensive understanding of the economic, social, and environmental changes in the region becomes available. Unlike the Special Collections, the Archives primarily present the college's unique path and evolution, serving as a repository for internal documents.
The integration of Special Collections and Archives at CSI provides an unparalleled opportunity for academic investigation. The Special Collections, focusing on external aspects, provide a wide-ranging understanding of the region's historical context. When examined in conjunction with the internal college records found in the Archives, these materials offer a balanced and nuanced perspective. This symbiotic relationship between the two collections allows researchers to link the institutional narrative of CSI with the broader historical landscape of Southern Idaho, thereby enriching both academic research and community engagement.
The College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives would like to thank the Idaho State Historical Records Advisory Board and the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), whose financial and advisory support have facilitated the creation of these pages and records. For more information on the NHPRC, visit archives.gov/nhprc.
