College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives: Agriculture Department Records, 2000-2019

Administrative/Biographical History Note

The Agriculture Department of the College of Southern Idaho was one of the first departments created in the late 1960s. It provided the basis for much of the early education programs offered at the college, and it has remained one of the most vibrant programs throughout the College's history. In the early 2000s, it had a variety of clubs and programs, including Equine, Agriculture, and Horticulture. Each of these programs had unique clubs and participated with the community in agricultural programs and projects. While several of the programs and clubs have been adjusted or removed, the Department itself remains a vibrant part of the Twin Falls community.

Scope and Content Note

The Agriculture Department Records contain unofficial documentation of the occurrences, activities, and initiatives of the Agriculture Department of the College of Southern Idaho at the beginning of the twenty-first century. The majority of the collection contains Horticulture Club scrapbooks and other records, but there is one Agriculture Club scrapbook. Also contained in this collection are 44 plaques commemorating influential alumni and members of the Equine Program of the College of Southern Idaho, which was shut down after 2019. This collection demonstrates the wide variety of activities and skills perpetuated by the different groups within the Agriculture Department.

Restrictions

Items in this collection do not circulate and may be used in-house only.

Copyright Statement: The copyright of this collection is held by the College of Southern Idaho.

Copyright Restrictions: It is the researcher’s responsibility to conform to all legal literary and copyright provisions attached to the materials used. The Special Collections Department will not be responsible for the infringement of any such laws. Patrons assume all responsibility for reproduction requests and will not assign blame in any way to the College of Southern Idaho over the reproduction of material at the request of patrons. For more information please visit http://www.loc.gov/copyright/title17/ Title 17 of the Copyright Law.

Organizations

Form

Administrative Information

Provenance

This collection was created by the Agriculture Department of the College of Southern Idaho from the late 1990s (date unknown) to the 2000s and 2010s. They were then donated by Jaysa Fillmore to the Archives in October 2023. She retrieved it from a closet when the building was being renovated.

Processing Information:

These records were organized and cataloged in 2023 by Reed C. Hepler.

Associated Information

Preferred Bibliographic Citation