The Archives of the College of Southern Idaho (CSI) represent a treasure trove of institutional history, systematically organized into two primary fonds. These archives document the multifaceted life of the college, preserving not only the administrative records but also the less formal, yet equally vital, aspects of campus life.
Fonds II: Non-Administrative and Informal Records gives a more personal glimpse into the life of the CSI community. This section houses the James Taylor papers, yearbooks, student newsletters, student newspapers, as well as photographs and negatives. Additionally, CDs and DVDs containing photographs from various college functions provide a visual history. The Material Culture (Misc) Collections within Fonds II adds a tangible dimension to the college's heritage. James Taylor's personal silver tea set, CSI pennants, plaques, artworks, and signs all contribute to preserving the unique culture and identity of the college.
Together, Fonds I and Fonds II of the CSI Archives form a comprehensive repository that serves as both a scholarly resource and a living memory of the institution. By providing a detailed record of the administrative evolution and capturing the vibrant, informal aspects of college life, the Archives support not only historical research but also foster a sense of connection and continuity within the CSI community. It stands as a testament to the college's journey, reflecting its values, achievements, and the dynamic interplay between formal governance and the lively culture that defines the CSI experience.
The College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives would like to thank the Idaho State Historical Records Advisory Board and the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), whose financial and advisory support have facilitated the creation of these pages and records. For more information on the NHPRC, visit archives.gov/nhprc.
