Table of Contents |
Administrative/Biographical History NoteDorine Dimond Goertzen was a historian and poet who lived in Magic Valley, Idaho. She was born in Twin Falls in 1916 and moved to Boise in 1951 with her husband, Vic Goertzen. Initially, Dorine worked as a journalist and writer at various newspapers in Twin Falls. She also wrote and edited for various serial publications throughout Idaho. In the mid-late twentieth century, Dorine worked for the Idaho Department of Tourism and Industrial Development and also worked to support technical and vocation educational opportunities. Unofficial efforts of Dorine Goertzen included her work as a freelance writer, teacher, historian, poet, and volunteer with various civic groups. As part of her work, she gathered and interpreted a wide range of publications, including the newspapers she worked for in the past. She also looked at primary sources of many types. Her efforts connected the past and present of the entire state of Idaho. Scope and Content NoteThe Dorine Dimond Goertzen Collections encompasses a wide range of materials documenting the history of Magic Valley, the Boise area, and the state of Idaho in general. These materials include books, serials, newspapers, photographs, and various historical records. These materials examine the political, environmental, religious, and social histories of the area. RestrictionsItems in this collection do not circulate and may be used in-house only. Copyright Statement: The copyright of all original items in this collection is held by the family of Dorine Dimond Goertzen, except those that were created before 1927. Some items, including books, newspapers, photographs, and historical records, are in the public domain. Copyright Restrictions: It is the researcher’s responsibility to conform to all legal literary and copyright provisions attached to the materials used. The Special Collections Department will not be responsible for the infringement of any such laws. Patrons assume all responsibility for reproduction requests and will not assign blame in any way to the College of Southern Idaho over the reproduction of material at the request of patrons. For more information please visit Title 17 of the Copyright Law. PeopleGoertzen, Dorine, 1916-1996.
SubjectsBoise (Idaho)--History.
Journalism--United States.
Magic Valley (Idaho)--History.
PlacesBoise (Idaho).
Magic Valley (Idaho).
FormBiographies.
Local histories.
Newspapers.
Photographs.
Records (Documents).
Related MaterialVirginia Ricketts Collection (COLL_MSS002)
Administrative InformationProvenanceThis collection was created by Dorine Dimond Goertzen. She gave her materials to the archives in two donations. The first, in 1985, consisted mostly of historical books. The second, in 1995, included photographs, newspapers, and historical records she used in her work. These donations were held in the archives from the time they were donated. Processing Information:These records were organized and cataloged in 2023 by Reed C. Hepler. Associated InformationPreferred Bibliographic CitationGoertzen, Dorine Dimond, "Dorine Dimond Goertzen Collection" (CSI_MSS 001). College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives, Twin Falls, Idaho. Accessed on [[date]]
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
The College of Southern Idaho Special Collections and Archives would like to thank the Idaho State Historical Records Advisory Board and the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), whose financial and advisory support have facilitated the creation of these pages and records. For more information on the NHPRC, visit archives.gov/nhprc.