Brihadeeswarar Temple at Thanjavur in Tamil Nadu
Being Hindu by
There are more than one billion Hindus in the world, but for those who don't practice the faith, very little seems to be understood about it. Followers have not only built and sustained the world's largest democracy but have also sustained one of the greatest philosophical streams in the world for more than three thousand years. So, what makes a Hindu? Why is so little heard from the real practitioners of the everyday faith? Why does information never go beyond cliches? Being Hindu is a practitioner's guide that takes the reader on a journey to very simply understand what the Hindu message is, where it stands in the clash of civilizations between Islam and Christianity, and why the Hindu way could yet be the path for plurality and progress in the twenty-first century.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Hinduism by 
Hinduism by
Part of an eight-volume series on the world's great religions, this book tells the story of Hinduism, covering traditional customs and beliefs, dispelling the myths and mysteries that have often surrounded them and offering insights into how Hinduism is practised today.
Hinduism by
The ideal book for students of philosophy or comparative religion--or anyone interested in becoming a more knowledgeable "global" citizen.
Hinduism by
An informative study of Hindu history that moves swiftly but thoroughly through the ages, from the early emergence of the Vedic tradition, to developments in twentieth-century Hinduism.
Hinduism: a very short introduction by
Hinduism is practiced by about eighty percent of India's population, and by about 30 million people outside India. But how is Hinduism defined, and what basis does the religion have? In this Very Short Introduction, Kim Knott provides clear insight into the beliefs and authority of Hindus and Hinduism, and considers the ways in which it has been affected by colonialism and modernity.
Knott offers succinct explanations of Hinduism's central preoccupations, including the role of contemporary gurus and teachers in the quest for spiritual fulfillment; and the function of regular performances of the Mahabharata and Ramayana--scriptures which present the divine in personal form (avatara) and provide models of behavior for everyone, from kings and warriors to servants and children, and which focus on the dharma, the appropriate duties and moral responsibilities of the different varna or classes. The author also considers the challenges posed to Hinduism at the end of the twentieth century as it spreads far beyond India, and as concerns are raised about issues such as dowry, death, caste prejudice, and the place of women in Hindu society.
Hindu Scriptures by
The scriptures revered by Hindus are enormously varied, and R. C. Zaehner's anthology has long been considered invaluable for its breadth and diversity. Now Dominic Goodall expands Zaehner's work with three fresh translations, including one work that appears for the first time in English. Spanning more than two thousand years, the range of selections in this book include arcane hymns of the ancient Aryans, prescriptions governing every aspect of the daily life of the orthodox, and sensual poetry.
A Popular Dictionary of Hinduism by
This is a multi-purpose reference work which should become an indispensable companion for anybody who comes into touch with the complex phenomenon on Hinduism, and not least for the followers of the Hindu tradition elves. It should serve as a dictionary of Sanskrit and vernacular terms used in Hindu literature and works on Hinduism and as a glossary of terms and concepts important for the understanding of Hindu ritual and spiritual practices as well as Hindu religious and philosophical teachings.
Bhagavad Gita for Modern Times: Secrets to Attaining Inner Peace and Harmony by
In this new translation and commentary on the ancient Sanskrit text, Swami Tirtha offers a completely fresh and accessible interpretation, making it easy to apply its teachings to daily life. The timeless wisdom of the Gita is illuminated by modern-day, real-world instances examining personal spiritual goals, and family, career, social, and environmental issues germane to today's seeker of wisdom and truth. Students of Eastern philosophy, yoga enthusiasts, parents, and entrepreneurs looking beyond The Art of War for inspiration will appreciate the techniques for relieving stress, discovering peace, creating self-worth, and enhancing spiritual awareness. Each page demonstrates how ancient and universal spiritual patterns can help answer common life questions and provide meaningful purpose and direction. A guide for living in a world that is often blind to what is most relevantspiritthis explication of one of the cornerstones of spirituality will have universal, enduring appeal.
Bringing the Gods to Mind by
This elegantly written book introduces a new perspective on Indic religious history by rethinking the role of mantra in Vedic ritual. In Bringing the Gods to Mind, Laurie Patton takes a new look at mantra as "performed poetry" and in five case studies draws a portrait of early Indian sacrifice that moves beyond the well-worn categories of "magic" and "magico-religious" thought in Vedic sacrifice. Treating Vedic mantra as a sophisticated form of artistic composition, she develops the idea of metonymy, or associational thought, as a major motivator for the use of mantra in sacrificial performance. Filling a long-standing gap in our understanding, her book provides a history of the Indian interpretive imagination and a study of the mental creativity and hermeneutic sophistication of Vedic religion.
Buddhists, Hindus and Sikhs in America : A Short History by
Buddhists, Hindus, and Sikhs in America explores the challenges that Asian immigrants face when their religion--and consequently culture--is'remade in the U.S.A.'Peppered with stories of individual people and how they actually live their religion, this informative book gives an overview of each religion's beliefs, a short history of immigration--and discrimination--for each group, and how immigrants have adapted their religious beliefs since they arrived. Along the way, the roles of men and women, views toward dating and marriage, the relationship to the homeland, the'brain drain'from Asia of scientists, engineers, physicians, and other professionals, and American offshoots of Asian religions, such as the Hare Krishnas and Transcendental Meditation (TM), are discussed.
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend by
Provides accessible, informative and authoritative entries to answer any major question about Hinduism, its mythology, practices, customs and laws.
Encyclopedia of Hinduism by
Encyclopedia of Hinduism, Second Edition examines the living faith of this religion and its historical and social background. Aimed at the high school and junior college student as well as the layperson, this accessible reference explores the vast world of Hinduism, which emerged from prehistory and lives today in astonishing variety.
With more than 700 A-to-Z entries, Encyclopedia of Hinduism, Second Edition focuses on the most significant groups within this religion, noteworthy teachers and their contributions, the religions and cultural movements that enriched its history, and the diaspora of Hindu thought and practice around the world. Two major religious traditions that sprang from Hindu influence, Jainism and Sikhism, also have many entries. A comprehensive introduction that provides an overview of the tradition, a chronology, a bibliography, and photographs complete this volume.
Hindu Iconoclasts by
Why, Salmond asks, would nineteenth-century Hindus who come from an iconic religious tradition voice a kind of invective one might expect from Hebrew prophets, Muslim iconoclasts, or Calvinists? Rammohun was a wealthy Bengali, intimately associated with the British Raj and familiar with European languages, religion, and currents of thought. Dayananda was an itinerant Gujarati ascetic who did not speak English and was not integrated into the culture of the colonizers. Salmond’s examination of Dayananda after Rammohun complicates the easy assumption that nineteenth-century Hindu iconoclasm is simply a case of borrowing an attitude from Muslim or Protestant traditions. Salmond examines the origins of these reformers’ ideas by considering the process of diffusion and independent invention—that is, whether ideas are borrowed from other cultures, or arise spontaneously and without influence from external sources. Examining their writings from multiple perspectives, Salmond suggests that Hindu iconoclasm was a complex movement whose attitudes may have arisen from independent invention and were then reinforced by diffusion. Although idolatry became the symbolic marker of their reformist programs, Rammohun’s and Dayananda’s agendas were broader than the elimination of image-worship. These Hindu reformers perceived a link between image-rejection in religion and the unification and modernization of society, part of a process that Max Weber called the “disenchantment of the world.” Focusing on idolatry in nineteenth-century India, Hindu Iconoclasts investigates the encounter of civilizations, an encounter that continues to resonate today.
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia Dasaswamedeh Ghat, in the holy city of Varanasi (Benares), India.
Great World Religions: Hinduism by
Provides an overview of Hinduism and discusses why Hinduism is perhaps the most diverse religion of all. Covers topics such as arranged marriages and the caste system, the Indus Valley Civilization, the sacred writings in the Vedas, the Bhagavad-gita, and the Upanishads, ritual purity rites, the Aryan language of Sanskrit, and Hinduism's rejection of the notion that there is but one path to the divine. Introduces Hinduism's wealth of gods, terms, and practices, such as Krishna, karma, guru, and yoga.
1869-1948, Hindu religious and political leader and social reformer; advocate of passive resistance; leader of Indian self-government movement.
