Religion: History: Renaissance - Modern

From Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Protestantism
A Yorkshireman by birth, Wycliffe studied and taught theology and philosophy at Oxford.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Pope (1513–21), a Florentine named Giovanni de' Medici; successor of Julius II. He was the son of Lorenzo de' Medici, was made a cardinal in his boyhood, and was head of his family before he was 30.

German leader of the Protestant Reformation, b. Eisleben, Saxony, of a family of small, but free, landholders.

French-born ecclesiastical statesman and theologian (1509-64), founder of Calvinism.

From The Macmillan Encyclopedia
In the Roman Catholic Church, remissions of the temporal penalties incurred for sins already forgiven by God in the sacrament of penance.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Propositions for debate on the question of indulgences, written by Martin Luther and, according to legend, posted on the door of the castle church in Wittenberg, Ger., on Oct. 31, 1517.

Religious and political movement in 16th-century Europe to reform the Roman Catholic Church, which led to the establishment of the Protestant churches.

19th ecumenical council of the Roman Catholic Church, convoked to meet the crisis of the Protestant Reformation.

16th-century reformation that arose largely in answer to the Protestant Reformation; sometimes called the Catholic Reformation. Although the Roman Catholic reformers shared the Protestants' revulsion at the corrupt conditions in the church, there was present none of the tradition breaking that characterized Protestantism.

1491–1556, Spanish churchman, founder of the Jesuits (see Jesus, Society of), b. Loyola Castle near Azpeitia, Guipúzcoa, Spain.

From The Macmillan Encyclopedia
Members of the Society of Jesus, an order founded by St Ignatius Loyola in 1533 to propagate the Roman Catholic faith. The order was organized along military lines; in addition to the traditional vows of chastity, poverty, and obedience, Jesuits were sworn to go wherever the pope might send them.

Original name Guiliano della Rovere. 1443-1513, pope (1503-13). He completed the restoration of the Papal States to the Church, began the building of St Peter's, Rome (1506), and patronized Michelangelo, Raphael, and Bramante.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Spanish Carmelite nun, Doctor of the Church, one of the principal saints of the Roman Catholic Church, one of the greatest mystics, and a leading figure in the Counter Reformation.

Private chapel of the popes in Rome, one of the principal glories of the Vatican. Built (1473) under Pope Sixtus IV, it is famous for its decorations.

Arnauld, Antoine (b. 1612, d. 1694; French), theologian and philosopher, strongly associated with the controversial Port-Royal school.

British naturalist who revolutionized the study of biology with his theory of evolution based on natural selection. His most famous works include Origin of Species (1859) and The Descent of Man (1871).

Dutch Roman Catholic theologian. In Augustinus (1640) he defended the teachings of St. Augustine, especially on free will, grace, and predestination.

When David Home (as his name was spelled then) entered the University of Edinburgh in 1723-25, his family expected him to pursue a career in the law. Hume, however, soon turned his attention to philosophy.

The scientific and intellectual developments of the 17th century [...] fostered the belief in natural law and universal order and the confidence in human reason that spread to influence all of 18th-century society.

[Gr.,=knowledge or science], the branch of philosophy that is directed toward theories of the sources, nature, and limits of knowledge.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Christian teaching of Cornelius Jansen, which divided the Roman Catholic Church in France in the mid-17th century. Emphasizing the more predestinatory approach of St Augustine of Hippo's teaching, Jansenism was supported by the philosopher Pascal and Antoine Arnauld.

Branch of philosophy concerned with the ultimate nature of existence.

In Christianity, learning about God from creation, using reason alone. In Greek and Roman philosophy, it refers to discourse on the ‘divine’ nature of things, rather than their accidental or transient nature.

Period in European cultural history that began in Italy around 1400 and lasted there until the end of the 1500s. Elsewhere in Europe it began later, and lasted until the 1600s.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
English Baptist preacher. He joined the Baptist communion in 1850. In 1852, at age 18, he took charge of a small congregation at Waterbeach, Cambridgeshire, and, at 20, went to London as pastor of the New Park St. Chapel.

From Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World
Charles Grandison Finney was the American religious leader most closely associated with the Second Great Awakening, an evangelical revival that swept the United States in the 1820s.

English evangelistic preacher, leader of the Calvinistic Methodist Church. At Oxford, which he entered in 1732, he joined the Methodist group led by John Wesley and Charles Wesley.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Series of religious revivals that swept over the American colonies about the middle of the 18th cent. It resulted in doctrinal changes and influenced social and political thought.

American theologian and metaphysician, b. East Windsor (then in Windsor), Conn. He was a precocious child, early interested in things scientific, intellectual, and spiritual.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
The doctrines, polity, and worship of those Protestant Christian denominations that have developed from the movement started in England by the teaching of John Wesley.

Religious movement begun in 1833 by Anglican clergymen at the Univ. of Oxford to renew the Church of England (see England, Church of) by reviving certain Roman Catholic doctrines and rituals.

Protestant denomination and international nonsectarian Christian organization for evangelical and philanthropic work.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
US religious evangelical revivalist movement, lasting from about 1800 to 1870. The Second Great Awakening permanently changed the face of religion in the USA.

US right-wing political pressure group founded in 1989 by the television evangelist Pat Robertson. The Christian Coalition aims to ‘stop the moral decay of government’ and to promote the election of ‘moral’ legislators.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Or creation science, belief in the biblical account of the creation of the world as described in Genesis, a characteristic especially of fundamentalist Protestantism.

From The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
Feminist theology is a recently recognized type of theological reflection whose major development has taken place in the United States, although it is becoming increasingly global and multi faith.

In Protestantism, religious movement that arose among conservative members of various Protestant denominations early in the 20th cent., with the object of maintaining traditional interpretations of the Bible and of the doctrines of the Christian faith in the face of Darwinian evolution, secularism, and the emergence of liberal theology.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Theory that some complex biological structures and other aspects of nature show evidence of having been designed by an intelligence.

A development of Christian doctrine that began in the 1960s in Latin America, which emphasizes a commitment to liberation from social, political and economic oppression, based on the belief in Christ’s own mission to help the underprivileged and disadvantaged.

Term used to designate a multitude of trends—in the arts, philosophy, religion, technology, and many other areas—that come after and deviate from the many 20th-cent. movements that constituted modernism.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
In Christianity, an attempt to absorb evolutionary ideas into theology and philosophy by seeing God as part of a wider evolutionary drive towards greater fulfillment and perfection in all aspects of existence.

Swiss Protestant theologian who advocated a return to the principles of the Reformation and the teachings of the Bible.

From Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
A German Lutheran pastor and theologian who began his career as a promising academic, but is chiefly remembered for his leadership in the Confessing Church movement and his involvement in a political conspiracy to assassinate A. Hitler (1889–1945), for which he was executed.

German Lutheran theologian and New Testament scholar. He was a professor at Marburg University 1921-51, and during the Third Reich played a leading role in the Confessing Church, a Protestant anti-Nazi movement.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
American evangelist, Graham was ordained a minister in the Southern Baptist Church, was the pastor of a Chicago church, and in 1944 became an evangelist for the American Youth for Christ movement.

From Chambers Biographical Dictionary
He was born in Hamburg. A professor at Wuppertal (1958-63), Bonn (1963-67) and Tübingen (1967-94, now emeritus), he is best known for his influential trilogies, Theology of Hope (1967), The Crucified God (1974) and The Church in the Power of the Spirit (1977), for The Trinity and the Kingdom of God (1981).

Born in Wright City, Missouri, he taught at Yale from 1931, becoming professor of theology and Christian ethics and director of graduate studies. Like his brother, Reinhold Niebuhr, he had enormous influence on generations of students.

American religious and social thinker. A graduate of Yale Divinity School, he served as pastor of Bethel Evangelical Church in Detroit, where he became deeply interested in social problems.

From Who's Who in Christianity
He was born in Stettin (now Poland), and became professor of systematic theology at Wuppertal, Mainz, then Munich (1967-94). His best-known work is Jesus - God and Man (1964, Eng trans 1968), which opposes Rudolf Bultmann's programme of demythologization.

American philosopher and theologian, b. Germany, educated at the universities of Berlin, Tübingen, Halle, and Breslau. In 1912 he was ordained a minister of the Evangelical Lutheran Church. He taught theology at the universities of Berlin, Marburg, Dresden, and Leipzig and philosophy at the Univ. of Frankfurt until he was dismissed in 1933 because of his opposition to the Nazi regime.