Religion: Eastern Orthodoxy

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
The word apocrypha (literally, “things hidden away”) is used to designate a group of fifteen religious writings from antiquity that are included in the Greek Septua-gint and Latin Vulgate but are not in the Hebrew Scriptures.

Chief Christian sacrament, in which bread is eaten and wine drunk in memory of the death of Jesus.

Single image created as a focal point of religious veneration, especially a painted or carved portable object of the Orthodox Eastern faith.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Form of public worship, particularly the form of rite or services prescribed by the various Christian churches. In the Western Church the principal service centered upon the Eucharistic sacrifice.

The creed recited as part of the Eucharistic liturgies of the Orthodox and Roman Catholic Churches, and many Protestant Churches.

Oldest extant Greek translation of the Hebrew Bible made by Hellenistic Jews, possibly from Alexandria, c.250 B.C. Legend, according to the fictional letter of Aristeas, records that it was done in 72 days by 72 translators for Ptolemy Philadelphus, which accounts for the name.

In Christianity, the union of three persons - God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit/Holy Ghost - in one Godhead. The precise meaning of the doctrine has been the cause of unending dispute, and was the chief cause of the split between the Eastern Orthodox and Roman Catholic churches.

From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
Known as Basil the Great and one of the three Cappadocian Fathers, Basil of Caesarea was born ca. 330 into a wealthy Christian family in Pontus.

From Who's Who in Christianity
Florovsky was the son of a Russian Orthodox priest and was educated at the University of Odessa. After the Revolution, he left Russia and held academic positions in Sofia, Prague and Paris. After the Second World War, he moved to the United States of America, where he taught in New York, at Harvard and at Princeton.

From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
By the 7th century Gregory Nazianzen (ca. 330-ca. 390), known as “the Theologian,” was one of the most studied of all Greek authors.

From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
While undoubtedly a master theologian of the Greek church, influencing certainly Maximus the Confessor and possibly Gregory Palamas, Gregory of Nyssa came to prominence as a churchman slowly, and even then followed an unusual career.

From Who's Who in Christianity
Gregory was educated in Constantinople and in c. 1316, he joined the monastic community on Mount Athos. In 1326 he was ordained priest and in 1347 he was consecrated Archbishop of Thessalonica.

From Who's Who in Christianity
Meyendorff was awarded a doctorate from the Sorbonne, Paris. He has spent his career in the United States of America, where he has taught at both Harvard and Fordham Universities.

From Who's Who in Christianity
Lossky was educated at the University of St Petersburg, Russia, at Prague and at the Sorbonne. He had been expelled from Russia by the Soviet government in 1922 and he finally settled in Paris and the United States of America.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Autonomous Christian church, sometimes also called the Gregorian Church. Its head, a primate of honor only, is the catholicos of Yejmiadzin, Armenia.

From Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Catholicism
This is the indigenous Christian church in Egypt, some 1,700 years old and with ancient links to Ethiopia. It is comprised of Egyptian Christians who retained their faith after the arrival of Islam in Egypt in the eighth century.

From The Macmillan Encyclopedia
Strictly, the Orthodox Church in Greece.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Christian church of Syria, Iraq, and India, recognizing the Syrian Orthodox patriarch of Antioch as its spiritual head, regarded by Roman Catholics and Eastern Orthodox as heretical.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Christian community of Iraq, Iran, and Malabar, India. It represents the ancient church of Persia and is sometimes called the Assyrian (or East Syrian) Church.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Federation of national and regional self-governing Christian churches, mainly found in Eastern Europe and parts of Asia. The final schism between the Orthodox Church and the Roman Catholic Church occurred in 1054.

From Chambers Dictionary of World History
A Church originating in missionary activity on the part of the see of Constantinople and in political interest on the part of Kiev Rus in the 10c.