1st-century Jewish teacher and prophet in whom Christians have traditionally seen the Messiah [Heb.,=annointed one, whence Christ from the Greek] and whom they have characterized as Son of God and as Word or Wisdom of God incarnate.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia Region, N Israel, roughly the portion north of the plain of Esdraelon. Galilee was the chief scene of the ministry of Jesus.
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia City in Galilee, northern Israel, 30 km/19 mi southeast of Haifa; population (2006 est) 64,600. According to the New Testament it was the boyhood home of Jesus.
From Macmillan Dictionary of the Bible A term based on a Hebrew word meaning 'an anointed person', and equivalent to the Greek word christos, i.e. Christ. It usually describes a long-awaited deliverer who would finally establish God's kingdom and destroy God's enemies.
From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World The miracle, an exceptional intervention by God in the world, has held an important place in Christianity since New Testament times. As in other religions, a miracle is a paradoxical event that interrupts the ordinary course of things and may take a wondrous form.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia Hanging on a cross, in ancient times a method of capital punishment. It was practiced widely in the Middle East but not by the Greeks. The Romans, who may have borrowed it from Carthage, reserved it for slaves and despised malefactors.
Widely used symbol. In various forms, it can be found in such diverse cultures as those of ancient India, Egypt, and pre-Columbian North America. It also is found in the megalithic monuments of Western Europe.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia Arising again from death to life. The emergence of Jesus from the tomb to live on earth again for 40 days as told in the Gospels has been from the beginning the central fact of Christian experience and a cardinal feature of Christian doctrine.
From Encyclopedia of Global Religions
He was brought up to be a rabbi by Gamaliel at Jerusalem; he also acquired the trade of tentmaker. A strenuous Pharisee, he took an active part in the persecution of Christians, including St Stephen. He was on his way to Damascus on this mission when a vision of Jesus Christ converted him into a fervent adherent of the new faith.
From The New Encyclopedia of Judaism The spiritual leaders of the Jewish people in the Land of Israel during the greater part of the Second Temple period.
Arabic Dimashq or ash-Sham, city (1995 est. pop. 1,500,000), capital of Syria and of its Damascus governorate, SW Syria, on the eastern edge of the Anti-Lebanon Mountains. It is Syria's largest city and its administrative, financial, and communications center.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia one of the prime missionaries of Christianity. The apostles of the first rank are saints Peter, Andrew, James (the Greater), John, Thomas, James (the Less), Jude, Philip, Bartholomew, Matthew, Simon, and Matthias (replacing Judas Iscariot).
In the New Testament generally, the message of Christian salvation; in particular the four written accounts of the life of Jesus in the books of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.
From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World As a provincial governor and the son of a praetorian prefect, Ambrose unexpectedly became bishop of Milan when he intervened in a riotous episcopal election and was promptly acclaimed bishop by the crowd.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia Patriarch of Alexandria (328–73), Doctor of the Church, great champion of orthodoxy during the Arian crisis of the 4th cent. (see Arianism).
Augustine was born and died in North Africa, then part of the Roman Empire. He taught philosophy in Rome and Milan where he converted to Christianity in 387. He returned to North Africa to spearhead the assault on the Manichean religion and the Donatist and Pelagian heresies. He was consecrated bishop of Hippo in 395.
From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World Born shortly after 260, Eusebius was metropolitan bishop of Caesarea in Palestine from ca. 313 until his death 30 May 339. Formed intellectually in the tradition of Origen, whose library and voluminous writings he was able to use throughout his life, he was trained as a scholar and biblical exegete, and the style of his historical works reflects these interests.
From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World By the 7th century Gregory Nazianzen (ca. 330-ca. 390), known as “the Theologian,” was one of the most studied of all Greek authors.
From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World While undoubtedly a master theologian of the Greek church, influencing certainly Maximus the Confessor and possibly Gregory Palamas, Gregory of Nyssa came to prominence as a churchman slowly, and even then followed an unusual career.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia Greek theologian, bishop of Lyons, and one of the Fathers of the Church. Born in Asia Minor, he was a disciple of St. Polycarp.
From The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy Latin theologian, an early father of the Christian church. A layman from Carthage, he laid the conceptual and linguistic basis for the doctrine of the Trinity.
1st-century Jewish teacher and prophet in whom Christians have traditionally seen the Messiah [Heb.,=annointed one, whence Christ from the Greek] and whom they have characterized as Son of God and as Word or Wisdom of God incarnate.