Religion: Terms & Concepts

The title of the religious leader and imam of the Ismaili Nizari sect of Islam, originally bestowed by the Persian shah Fath Ali on Hasan Ali Shah, 1800–1881, the 46th Ismaili imam, in 1818. MORE

From The Dictionary of World Philosophy
A proper Arabic name of God through which humans call God personally. This name was used before the appearance of the Quran – for example, the name of Mohammed’s father was ‘Abd Allāh; that is, “servant of God” – and is not used merely by Muslims. Arabic speaking Christians of the Oriental churches call God by saying Allāh.

From Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
A title given to any of a class of Shi'ite religious leaders in Iran.

The rulership of Islam; caliphkălʹĭfˌ, the spiritual head and temporal ruler of the Islamic state. In principle, Islam is theocratic: when Muhammad died, a caliph [Arab.,=successor] was chosen to rule in his place.

From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
A dhimmī is a non-Muslim living in Islamic lands who has been granted special status as a member of a religious community.

From Chamber's Dictionary of the Unexplained
The Arabic spirits of fire known as djinn, jinn or genies are frequently mentioned in the Koran.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
In Islamic law, an opinion made by a judicial/religious scholar (a mufti) on a legal, civil, or religious matter. The fatwa is usually a valuable source of information on any subject for private individuals or for judges or other authorities.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
In the Islamic tradition, trials or temptations that test the unity of the Muslim community. The term may be used to describe insurrection or civil warfare or, more specifically, to define a tribunal over doctrinal issues, broadly similar to the Christian Inquisition.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Conforming to the rules laid down by Islam. The term can be applied to all aspects of life, but usually refers to food permissible under Muslim dietary laws.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Forbidden under the laws of Islam. The term may be applied to transgressions in all aspects of life, from unlawful foodstuffs, such as meat from an animal that has not been killed in the prescribed way, to drinking intoxicating liquor and adultery.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
In Islam, the personal name of the Devil. Iblīs, one of God's angels, refused to venerate Adam at creation.

In Islam, a recognized leader or a religious teacher. Among the Sunni the term refers to the leader in the Friday prayer at the mosque; any pious Muslim may function as imam. MORE

From Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa
“Striving [in the path of God].” Some modern Muslims seek to reinterpret jihad to mean personal spiritual and moral striving for self-improvement, rather than armed conflict.

From The Dictionary of World Philosophy
Literally meaning a “place of study,” this term designated a school of higher study in the Islamic world. Its higher-study ranking presupposed that its students had memorized the entire Quran.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Tower, used in Islamic architecture, from which the faithful are called to prayer by a muezzin. Most mosques have one or more small towers, which are usually placed at the corners.

A Muslim place of worship, usually having one or more minarets and often decorated with elaborate tracery and texts from the Koran.

From Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
An official who calls the Muslim faithful to prayer from the minaret or door of a mosque.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
In Islamic law, attorney or judicial/religious scholar who writes his opinion (fatwa) on legal subjects for private clients or to assist judges in deciding cases.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Muslim title applied to a scholar or religious leader, especially in the Middle East and the Indian subcontinent. It means ‘lord’ and has also been used in North Africa as an honorific attached to the name of a king, sultan, or member of the nobility.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Any chapter of the Qur'ān. According to Muslim belief, each of the 114 sūrahs, which vary in length from several lines (known as āyahs) to several pages, encompasses one or more divine revelations of Muhammad.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
The bodies of scholars in Islamic law that form the theocratic element of the government in Muslim countries.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
In Islam, the belief that all human beings are part of a worldwide community.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Muslim worship can be private or public. In Islam there are five ways in which a Muslim is expected to worship Allah. Islam can be compared to a house with a sound structure. It has a firm foundation and five supporting pillars.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
The first duty of the Five Pillars of Islam. It is a statement of faith - ‘I bear witness that there is no God but Allah and Muhammad is the Prophet of Allah’.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
The prayers that are the second of the Five Pillars of Islam, said five times a day.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
In Islam, the obligatory duty to pay annually a percentage of income as alms; it is the third of the Five Pillars of Islam. The payment ‘cleanses’ the income of possessiveness, and reminds Muslims that everything is owned by God.

From The Huchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Fasting undertaken during the month of Ramadan; it is the fourth of the Five Pillars of Islam.

The pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia, one of the five basic requirements (arkan or "pillars") of Islam.

From Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
Arabic, comprehension, from faqiha, to understand: the name used for the general science of jurisprudence relating to Islamic law.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
A tradition or the collection of the traditions of Muhammad, the Prophet of Islam, including his sayings and deeds, and his tacit approval of what was said or done in his presence.

This chapter explains the origin, format, purpose and presentation of the scriptures of Islam. The Qur'an is the Holy Book of Islam.

Sharia is the religious law of Islam. As Islam makes no distinction between religion and life, Islamic law covers not only ritual but many aspects of life.

Muslim code of practice; a body of traditional law based on the sayings, actions, and guidance of the prophet Muhammad, as detailed in the Hadith and the Sirah (a biography of the prophet's life).

From Chambers 21st Century Dictionary
A compilation of the sayings and deeds of Muhammad, which is a supplement to the Koran for the more orthodox Muslim.