Literature: British Literature

Entries by more than 200 authorities covering all of British literature.

A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works. The dictionary also includes terms used in the theatre and stagecraft, as well as historical references and details on the Elizabethan historical and social period.

Reviews current knowledge of the character and operation of theatres in Shakespeare's time...

The key attractions are entries on writers, entries on individual works, Biblical and mythological characters and events, literary and critical terms and movements, and entries describing historical, cultural and social events.

An authoritative and international survey of world literature in English. The Guide covers everything from Old English to Contemporary Writing from all over the English-speaking world. It covers poems, novels, literary journals and plays.

Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.

This reference book is a comprehensive guide to medieval literature. While the volume is devoted primarily to the literature of medieval England, its multicultural scope also encompasses Islamic, Mongolian, Celtic, Hispanic, Italian, Russian, and Germanic works

Covers the gods and goddesses of Celtic myth including the nature of Celtic religion, Celtic deities who were linked with animals and natural phenomena or who later became associated with local Christian saints, and the rich variety of Celtic myths.

A comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of poetry: its history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology.

Exploring the concepts that shape the way we read, the essays combine to provide an extraordinary introduction to the work of literature and literary study.

This book provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography.

An A-Z reference work providing a critical and appreciative overview of English language children’s books from across the world.

Biographical-critical entries and topical articles all written by experts in the field of children's literature.

Keywords for Children’s Literature presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.

Documents the history and development of post-colonial literature and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories.

Provides an overview of the main themes, issues, and critical perspectives that have had the greatest effect on postcolonial literatures.

Provides an integrated and authoritative body of information about the political, cultural and economic contexts of postcolonial literatures that have their provenance in the major European Empires of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain as well as places like Latin America and the Philippines