Brewer's Curious Titles by
The fascinating story behind titles including quotations, allusions, and odd or bizarre or otherwise intriguing titles.
Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
Contains topic-based essays, geo-historical surveys of individual countries, critical biographies on individual writers, and critical summaries of representative works.
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing
Covers the role and influence of African-American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 17th century to the present.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Keywords for Children's Literature
Keywords for Children’s Literature presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by
Explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations.
Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature by
Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this Encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.
Critical Terms for Literary Study by
Exploring the concepts that shape the way we read, the essays combine to provide an extraordinary introduction to the work of literature and literary study. Each essay provides a concise history of a literary term, critically explores the issues and questions the term raises, and then puts theory into practice by showing the reading strategies the term permits.
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century by
Contains entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century.
Key Terms in Literary Theory
This book provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography.
The Chronology of American Literature by
An authoritative reference and an ideal browser's guide, this book outlines the indispensable information in America's rich literary past - from major publications to lesser-known gems - while also identifying larger trends along the literary timeline.
The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story by
With lucid essays on major writers and themes by some of the best literary scholars in the United States, this title offers readers a wealth of information and insight into the work of many of the finest short story writers in literary history.
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
A comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of poetry: its history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology.
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory
A comprehensive encyclopedia of literary and cultural theory. Covers Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. This encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations of complex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries of the work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informative reference work for a multi-disciplinary readership.
The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters by
From vampires and demons to ghosts and zombies, interest in monsters in literature, film, and popular culture has never been stronger. This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market.
Routledge Literature Companions: The Routledge Companion to World Literature by
In the age of globalization, the category of "World Literature" is increasingly important to academic teaching and research. The Routledge Companion to World Literature offers a comprehensive pathway into this burgeoning and popular field.
Speak, so you can speak again : the life of Zora Neale Hurston by
One of the most beguiling and captivating figures of the twentieth century, Zora Neale Hurston gained fame as a bestselling author, anthropologist, journalist, and playwright. Her remarkable life is presented as never before in SPEAK, SO YOU CAN SPEAK AGAIN. An interactive package tracing Hurston's journey from Eatonville, Florida, to her student days at Barnard College, to her emergence as a literary star and bestselling author and cultural icon during the Harlem Renaissance and her subsequent decline into obscurity, it contains beautifully crafted facsimiles of historic papers, handwritten notes, photographs, and much more. Readers will be able to hold in their hands the charred draft notes for the novel,Seraph on the Suwannee; open a Christmas card Hurston created for her friends; and read letters illuminating her relationships with intimate friends and fellow writers like Langston Hughes and Dorothy West. SPEAK, SO YOU CAN SPEAK AGAIN also provides the extraordinary opportunity to hear Hurston's own voice talking about her life as a writer on several radio interviews, and, in a powerful interlude, singing a passionate rendition of a railroad worker's chant she learned while collecting folklore in the Deep South. Interest in Hurston continues to soar. Her most famous book,Their Eyes Are Watching God, is now in development at Oprah Winfrey's production company, Harpo, and is also being adapted for Broadway. The sales of her books attest to an ever-growing audience. Whether they are discovering Hurston for the first time or are devoted fans, readers will find hours of entertainment in SPEAK, SO YOU CAN SPEAK AGAIN.