Hans Christian Andersen by
In her most ambitious annotated work to date, Maria Tatar celebrates the stories told by Denmark's "perfect wizard" and re-envisions Hans Christian Andersen as a writer who casts his spell on both children and adults. Andersen's most beloved tales, such as "The Emperor's New Clothes", "The Ugly Duckling" and "The Little Mermaid", are now joined by "The Shadow" and "Story of a Mother", mature stories that reveal his literary range and depth.Tatar captures the tales' unrivalled dramatic and visual power, showing exactly how Andersen became one of the world's ten most translated authors, along with Shakespeare, Dickens and Marx. Lushly illustrated with more than a hundred and fifty rare images, many in full colour, by artists such as Arthur Rackham and Edmund Dulac, "The Annotated Hans Christian Andersen" will captivate readers with annotations that explore the rich social and cultural dimensions of the nineteenth century and construct a compelling portrait of a writer whose stories still fascinate us today.
Hans Christian Anderson by
Along with Aesop and the Brothers Grimm, Hans Christian Andersen ranks among the greatest writers of fairy tales. Famous tales include The Little Mermaid, The Emperor's New Suit, The Pen and Inkstand, and The Ugly Duckling.
Popular Tales from the Norse by 
The Annotated Brothers Grimm by
Publication of the Grimms' Children's Stories and Household Tales in 1812 brought the great European oral folk tradition into print for the first time. The Annotated Brothers Grimm returns in a deluxe and augmented 200th-anniversary edition commemorating that landmark event. Maria Tatar includes six new entries, among them "Four Clever Brothers," "The Water of Life," "The White Snake," and "The Old Man and His Grandson." The expanded edition features an enhanced selection of illustrations, many in color, by legendary artists such as George Cruikshank and Arthur Rackham; annotations that explore the historical origins, cultural context, and psychological effects of the tales; and a biographical essay on Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm. A perennial favorite in the acclaimed Norton Annotated series, this magnificent volume will draw both children and adults into the enchanting world of fairy tales.
Charles Perrault's Classic Fairy Tales by 
Celtic Fairy Tales by
This affordable volume features 26 enchanting stories assembled from Welsh, Scottish, and Irish sources, including "King O'Toole and His Goose," "The Lad with the Goat Skin, "The Sea Maiden," and many more. The stories are accompanied by 46 illustrations from their original editions.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales by
Interest in folklore and fairy tales continues to grow, as evidenced by the number of new translations and anthologies being published every year. This scholarly compendium is a well-organized, well-documented introduction to the evolving field of folklore and fairy-tale studies. More than130 individuals representing various areas of expertise have contributed 670 entries that offer insights into assorted aspects of this complex genre. Signed articles are arranged in alphabetical order and run from a couple of paragraphs to several pages. The scope is multicultural and spans antiquity through modern day (including 2007 references). In the preface, editor Haase acknowledges the enormous number of possible subjects and identifies five priority inclusion criteria: representative global coverage, fundamental and essential importance, major developments in folk and fairy-tale scholarship since 1970, emerging trends in the production and reception of fairy tales, and critical but often neglected dimensions of this field. The helpful Guide to Related Topics sorts articles and provides some idea of the breadth and extent of coverage. Entries cover cultural, national, regional, and linguistic groups (African American tales,Japanese tales); more than 60 genres (Animal tale, Pantomime,Urban legend); critical terms, concepts, and approaches (Authenticity,Variant); motifs, themes, characters, and tale types (Dragon, Punishment and reward,Sleeping Beauty); media, performance, and other cultural terms (Advertising, Tourism); television, film, animation, and video (Fractured Fairy Tales, Shrek and Shrek II); and numerous individuals, including authors, collectors, illustrators, and others. Additionally, a number of articles address individual works. A list of entries and a detailed index provide additional access. Of particular note is the exhaustive Bibliography and Resources section, a 64-page listing of print and online sources. Meticulously documented and firmly grounded in scholarly research, most articles feature straightforward language and sufficient background material to be accessible to lay readers and novice researchers. This unique and timely resource is highly recommended for large public and academic collections, especially those that support literature or teacher-preparation programs or serve individuals pursuing careers or active in creative endeavors. Also available as an e-book.--McBroom, Kathleen Copyright 2008 Booklist
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters by
This concise encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market. Over 200 entries written by experts in the field are accompanied by an overview introduction by the editor. Generic entries such as 'ghost' and 'vampire' are cross-listed with important specific manifestations of that monster. This book is an invaluable resource for all students and scholars and an essential addition to library reference shelves.
Dictionary of Classical Mythology by
Jenny March’s acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A -- Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters.
Who's Who in Classical Mythology by
Contains extensive entries, including detailed entries on all the major gods and heroes, from Athena and Zeus to Achilles, Odysseus and Tarquin and biographical listings of all the key authors, such as Homer.
Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth by
This work retells the world's major myths and legends, and gives a clear reference guide to who was who, where was where and what was what. In addition to A-Z entries of myths, motifs, locations and characters, there are generic essays and entries about the various traditions, organized by location. The essays discuss the kinds of myth each area has produced, and their relationship to local geography, culture and religions. The guide explores the major myth traditions of every continent, from the Americas and Middle East to Europe and Africa. The origins and historical significance of each legend are examined and recurring motifs are traced through the ages and around the world.
Brewer's Dictionary of Irish Phrase and Fable by
Devoted exclusively to the history, culture, mythology and language of the island of Ireland, its 5000 A to Z entries include Celtic gods and goddesses, bards, beasts, literary allusions, proverbial sayings, idiomatic phrases and expressions, characters from Irish literature ancient and modern, resonant place-names, and individuals and events of 'iconic' stature in Irish history. A significant number of entries relate to contemporary Irish life and culture.
Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable by
With its unique blend of word and phrase etymology, cultural allusion and general knowledge, and its predilection for the esoteric and the unexpected, this title offers a richly diverse and entertaining exploration of the linguistic and cultural landscape of the modern world. It runs the whole gamut of contemporary culture, from American Psycho to Dadaism and G and T to Lara Croft.
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable by
Much loved for its wit and wisdom since 1870, Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable takes you on a captivating adventure through its trademark blend of language, culture, myth and legend.
Joseph Campbell on Myth and Mythology by
A selection of readings by Joseph Campbell, including the editor's comments on the influence of mythology on personal and societal behaviour and the evolution of the creative mythologies of today. The development of Campbell's thought is traced and an analysis of The Hero's Journey is included.
Transformations of Myth Through Time by
The renowned master of mythology is at his warm, accessible, and brilliant best in this illustrated collection of thirteen lectures covering mythological development around the world.
The Power of Myth by
The Power Of Myth launched an extraordinary resurgence of interest in Joseph Campbell and his work. A preeminient scholar, writer, and teacher, he has had a profound influence on millions of people. To him, mythology was the "song of the universe, the music of the spheres." With Bill Moyers, one of America's most prominent journalists, as his thoughtful and engaing interviewer, The Power Of Myth touches on subjects from modern marriage to virgin births, from Jesus to John Lennon, offering a brilliantcombination of intelligence and wit.