The Celtic & Scandinavian Religions by J.A. MacCullochThere is some evidence that certain women had priestly functions, perhaps a near relation of the góthi, and occasionally acting for him. Such a woman was called gydja and might even own a temple. The god Frey had a young priestess in his temple, regarded as his consort... -from "Scandinavia: Worship and Its Accessories" Highly readable and densely informative, this general survey of Celtic and Scandinavian mythology and its beliefs and practices, first published in 1948, remains an excellent resource. The author, a well-regarded expert on the subject, explores: . nature worship . deities and lesser supernatural beings . mythical heroes . magic and divination . creation stories . magic and morality . and more. Readers in comparative mythology and fans of Arthurian, Celtic, and epic fantasy fiction will find this book a delight. British scholar JOHN ARNOTT MACCULLOCH (1868-1950) wrote numerous books on ancient mythology, including Religion of the Ancient Celts, The Childhood of Fiction: A Study of Folk Tales and Primitive Thought, Mythology of All Races, Religion: Its Origin & Forms, and Medieval Faith and Fable.
Call Number: BL900.M33 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Handbook of Norse Mythology by John LindowDrawing on the latest scholarship, John Lindow, an internationally known authority on Norse mythology, covers the tales, their literary and oral sources, and their emergence into popular tradition, religion, and art.
Publication Date: 2002
The Lost Beliefs of Northern Europe by Hilda Ellis DavidsonFragments of ancient belief mingle with folklore and Christian dogma until the original tenets are lost in the myths and psychologies of the intervening years. Hilda Ellis Davidson illustrates how pagan beliefs have been represented and misinterpreted by the Christian tradition, and throws light on the nature of pre-Christian beliefs and how they have been preserved. The Lost Beliefs of Northern Europestresses both the possibilities and the difficulties of investigating the lost religious beliefs of Northern Europe.
Call Number: BL900.D38 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Nordic Gods and Heroes by Padraic Colum; Willy Pogány (Illustrator)Master storyteller Padraic Colum's rich, musical voice captures all the magic and majesty of the Norse sagas in his retellings of the adventures of the gods and goddesses who lived in the Northern paradise of Asgard before the dawn of history. Here are the matchless tales of All-Father Odin, who crosses the Rainbow Bridge to walk among men in Midgard and sacrifices his right eye to drink from the Well of Wisdom; of Thor, whose mighty hammer defends Asgard; of Loki, whose mischievous cunning leads him to treachery against the gods; of giants, dragons, dwarfs and Valkyries; and of the terrible last battle that destroyed their world.
Call Number: BL860.C65 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Norse Gods and Heroes by Morgan J. RobertsWith their universal themes of love, loss, and justice, myths, which define the values and customs of a particular society, continue to have meaning for us hundreds and even thousands of years after they were first told. The lavishly illustratd volumes in this series of mythological tales and beliefs from around the world explore the cultures of ancient Greece; Scandinavia; Ireland, Scotland, England, and Wales; the Far East; Native America; Africa, and Central and South America.
Tales of the ferocious, beautiful, and decidedly human gods and goddesses of the ancient Norse.
Call Number: BL860.R62 1995
Publication Date: 1994
Norse Myths by R. I. PageWith authority and wit, Professor Page retells the Norse legends and shows how complex and sometimes contradictory their traditions are. Yet it is through these ancient myths that we know how the Norsemen visualized the creation of mankind and the final ending of the world.
Call Number: BL860.P36 1990
Publication Date: 1990
The Norse Myths by Kevin Crossley-HollandHere are thirty-two classic myths that bring the pre-Christian Scandinavian world vividly to life. Gods, humans, and monstrous beasts engage in prodigious drinking bouts, contests of strength, greedy schemes for gold, and lusty encounters. Included are tales of Odin, the wisest and most fearsome of all the gods; Thor, the thundering powerhouse; and the exquisite mafic-wielding Freyja. Their stories bear witness to the courage, passion, and boundless spirit that were hallmarks of the Norse world.
With black-and-white drawings throughout
Part of the Pantheon Fairy Tale and Folklore Library
Call Number: BL860.C884 1980
Publication Date: 1981
Viking & Norse Mythology by H. R. Ellis. DavidsonOne of a series about world myths and legends, this book describes the many myths associated with the Vikings. Through an examination of archaeological artifacts, history and literature, it reveals the ancient beliefs in the old Norse gods and the legends of the Viking world.
Call Number: BL860.D38 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Viking Mythology by Roy Jackson#1 Best Seller!Viking and Norse Mythology! Take an exciting ride back in time! Learn About Ancient Myths, Gods and Warriors!Learn the myths surrounding Viking mythology. (Did they really wear caps with horns?) Norse mythology 9 worlds The origin of the Cosmos Interesting trivia Gods, Goddesses and Creatures Don't miss this thrilling and interesting opportunity to travel in time and fantasy!
From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth Asgard ('home of the Aesir'), in Nordic myth, was the realm of the gods, in the highest of the three levels of existence, above Midgard (home of human beings) and Niflheim (home of the Dead).
From The Columbia Encyclopedia Title applied to two distinct works in Old Icelandic. The Poetic Edda, or Elder Edda, is a collection (late 13th cent.) of 34 mythological and heroic lays, most of which were composed c.800–c.1200, probably in Iceland or W Norway.
From The Macmillan Encyclopedia In Norse mythology, the earth, which lies between Hel or Nifleheim, the land of ice, and Muspelheim, the land of fire, and is reached from Asgard (the home of the gods) by Bifrost, the rainbow bridge.
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia In Norse mythology, the golden hall in Odin's palace in Asgard, where he feasted with the souls of half those heroes killed in battle (valr) chosen by his female attendants, the Valkyries; the remainder celebrated in Sessrumnir with Freya, goddess of love and war.
From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth Yggdrasil ('ash-tree horse of Ygg'), in Nordic myth, was a giant ash-tree, the hub and support of the universe. It got its name when Ygg (Odin) hung himself for nine days and nights on it, 'riding' it in order to learn all the secrets of creation.
From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth Ymir ('two-in-one'), in Nordic myth, was the giant formed at the beginning of creation, when glaciers from the ice-kingdom Niflheim spread out across the void and were thawed by flames from the fire-kingdom Muspell.