Skip to Main Content
Prehistory
Handbook to Life in Prehistoric Europe by Jane McIntosh
Handbook to Life in Prehistoric Europe focuses primarily on the period from 7000 B.C.E., when agricultural communities first began appearing in southeastern Europe, to the first century C.E., when western Europe was progressively incorporated into the Roman imperium.
ISBN: 9780816074846
Publication Date: 2006
Peoples
Belgae
From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
One of the three main groups of Iron Age Gaul. The Belgae put up fierce resistance to Caesar's legions before their final pacification in 51 BC.
Britons
From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
The inhabitants of Great Britain during the Iron Age and Roman periods, mainly the descendants of the original post-glacial settlers of Britain.
Celts
From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A group of peoples of Iron Age Europe.
Dacians
From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
An ancient people of the Carpathian Mountains and Transylvania, in what is now north-central and western Romania.
Druids: Topic Page
Priests of ancient Celtic Britain, Ireland, and Gaul and probably of all ancient Celtic peoples, known to have existed at least since the 3d cent. BC.
Gauls
From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
One of the major groups of ancient Celts. They were progressively conquered by the Romans between 295 and 51 BC.
Picts
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Ancient inhabitants of central and N Scotland, of uncertain origin.
Vandals
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Ancient Germanic tribe. Along with other Germanic peoples, settled in the valley of the Oder about the 5th cent. B.C.
Places
Albion
From Brewer's Britain and Ireland
An ancient and poetic name for Britain and (latterly) for England.
Avebury: Topic Page
Europe's largest stone circle (diameter 412 m/1,350 ft), in Wiltshire, England.
Bath: Topic Page
The Roman town of Aquae Sulis (‘waters of Sul’ - the British goddess of wisdom) was established in the first 20 years after the Roman invasion of AD 43.
Gaul: Topic Page
Ancient designation for the land S and W of the Rhine, W of the Alps, and N of the Pyrenees.
Germania
From A Guide to the Ancient World, H.W. Wilson
The home of innumerable tribes, was brought forcibly to the notice of the Romans by the invasions of the Teutones and Cimbri.
Roman Britain
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Period in British history from the two expeditions by Julius Caesar in 55 and 54 BC to the early 5th century AD. Roman relations with Britain began with Caesar's expeditions, but the actual conquest was not begun until AD 43.
Stonehenge: Topic Page
Megalithic monument on Salisbury Plain, 3 km/1.9 mi west of Amesbury in Wiltshire, England.
Events
Gallic Wars: Topic Page
Campaigns in Gaul led by Julius Caesar in his two terms as proconsul of Cisalpine Gaul, Transalpine Gaul, and Illyricum (58 B.C.–51 B.C.).
Culture
Barrow: Topic Page
Burial mound, usually composed of earth but sometimes of stones.
Megalith: Topic Page
Prehistoric stone monument of the late Neolithic (New Stone Age) or early Bronze Age.
White Horse
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide Any of 17 hill figures in England, found particularly in the southern chalk downlands.
Handbook to Life in Prehistoric Europe by
Handbook to Life in Prehistoric Europe focuses primarily on the period from 7000 B.C.E., when agricultural communities first began appearing in southeastern Europe, to the first century C.E., when western Europe was progressively incorporated into the Roman imperium.