Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in the Library Catalog
Designing and Reporting Experiments in Psychology by This book will help undergraduate psychology students to write practical reports of experimental and other quantitative studies in psychology. It is designed to help with every stage of the report writing process including what to put in each section and recommendations for formatting and style. It also discusses how to design a study, including how to use and report relevant statistics. As such, the book acts both as an introduction and reference source to be used throughout an undergraduate course.Website icons within the text reference an enhanced website, and 'Common Mistake' icons highlight common errors students should avoid. Statistics icons make reference to two key statistics books where students can find more detailed information. A further icon indicates the presence of relevant commentary at the end of the book for more advanced students. It features discussion of how to write up different forms of quantitative study and report relevant statistics. It offers improved self-testing. There are diagnostic questions (with answers at the end of the book) as well as fifty self-assessment questions within the text to aid student learning.Chapters in part two contain a list of methodological and statistical concepts covered that will help students to consolidate their knowledge.
Publication Date: 2008
Effect Sizes for Research: a broad practical approach by The goal of this book is to inform a broad readership about a variety of measures and estimators of effect sizes for research, their proper applications and interpretations, and their limitations. Its focus is on analyzing post-research results. The book provides an evenhanded account of controversial issues in the field, such as the role of significance testing. Consistent with the trend toward greater use of robust statistical methods, the book pays much attention to the statistical assumptions of the methods and to robust measures of effect size. Effect Sizes for Research discusses different effect sizes for a variety of kinds of variables, designs, circumstances, and purposes. It covers standardized differences between means, correlational measures, strength of association, and confidence intervals. The book clearly demonstrates how the choice of an appropriate measure might depend on such factors as whether variables are categorical, ordinal, or continuous; satisfying assumptions; the sampling method; and the source of variability in the population. It emphasizes a practical approach through: worked examples using real data; formulas and rationales for a variety of variables, designs, and purposes to help readers apply the material to their own data sets; software references for the more tedious calculations; and informative figures and tables, questions, and over 300 references. Intended as a resource for professionals, researchers, and advanced students in a variety of fields, this book is an excellent supplement for advanced courses in statistics in disciplines such as psychology, education, the social sciences, business, management, and medicine. A prerequisite of introductory statistics through factorial analysis of variance and chi-square is recommended.
Publication Date: 2005
Essentials of Psychological Testing by Essentials of Psychological Testing surveys the basic principles of psychometrics, supplies the information needed to understand and evaluate tests, and introduces readers to the major contemporary reference works in the field. It is the only book to provide such a thorough and up-to-date overview of psychometrics in an engaging, accessible format.
As part of the Essentials of Behavioral Science series, this book offers an overview of the most relevant psychometric concepts and techniques that provides the foundation necessary for knowledgeable, informed practice. Each concise chapter features numerous callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as "Test Yourself" questions that help to gauge and reinforce readers' grasp of the information covered.
Starting with a basic introduction to psychological tests, their historical development, and their uses, Essentials of Psychological Testing also covers the statistical procedures most frequently used in testing, the frames of reference for score interpretation, reliability, validity, and test item considerations, as well as guidelines for test selection, administration, scoring, and reporting test results. Whether as an orientation for those new to the field, a refresher for those already acquainted with it, or as a reference for seasoned clinicians, Essentials of Psychological Testing is an invaluable resource on the fundamentals of this evolving area of practice.
Publication Date: 2004
Experimental Design: A Handbook and Dictionary for Medical and Behavioral Research by Scientists planning experiments in medical and behavioral research will find this handbook and dictionary an invaluable desk reference tool. Also recommended as a textbook for students of Experimental Design or accompanying courses in Statistics. Principles of experimental design are introduced, techniques of experimental design are described, and advantages and disadvantages of often used designs are discussed. This two-part volume, a handbook of experimental design and a dictionary providing short explanations for many terms related to experimental design, contains information that will not quickly become outdated.
Publication Date: 2000
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by The Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Fourth Edition presents a step-by-step guide on how to conduct a comprehensive psychological evaluation. It provides a complete review of the most commonly used assessment instruments and the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, evaluating data, and integrating results into a coherent, problem-solving report.
Updated reviews and interpretive guidelines are included for the most frequently used assessment techniques, including structured and unstructured interviews, Wechlser intelligence scales (WAIS-III/WISC-III), Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI-2/MMPI-A), Millon Multiaxial Clinical Inventory-III, California Psychological Inventory, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and frequently used instruments for neuropsychological screening (e.g., Bender Gestalt and Rey Auditory Verbal Learning Test). Each test is reviewed according to its history and development, psychometrics, administration, and interpretation of results.
Publication Date: 2003
Introducing Psychology Through Research by What is psychology? What constitutes psychological research? How is psychological research reported? This student-friendly textbook answers all these questions by clearly outlining the subject matter and research methods used in psychology for those who are new to the subject. A brief overview of the history of psychology is followed by chapters covering the core research areas defined by the British Psychological Society: Cognitive psychology; Social psychology; Developmental psychology; Biological psychology; Individual differences; and, Clinical psychology. Each chapter provides an overview of a major sub-discipline in psychology and introduces the key concepts in that area of research. For each topic, a summary of an original research paper is presented along with a running commentary which explains and evaluates the methods used. In order to help students, the book provides boxes, tables and glossaries of useful terms. There is also a helpful overview of the ethics of psychological research, as well as how the study of psychology might develop into a career.
Publication Date: 2007
Mental Measurements Yearbook by Library has 1940 - 2010 The most widely acclaimed reference series in education and psychology, the Mental Measurements Yearbooks are designed to assist professionals in selecting and using standardized tests. The series, initiated in 1938, provides factual information and critical reviews on the construction, use, and validity of commercially available tests published in English.
The objectives of the Mental Measurements Yearbooks include provision to test users of
factual information on all known tests published as separates in the English-speaking countries of the world;
candidly critical test reviews written for the Mental Measurements Yearbook series by qualified professionals in education, psychology, speech/language/hearing, and other fields representing a variety of viewpoints;
unique publication of each volume in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series with new volumes supplementing rather than supplanting previous series volumes.
The importance of testing in our everyday lives has never been more vital or pronounced. Recognized worldwide as an essential resource on tests and testing, the Mental Measurements Yearbook series is an indispensable reference for anyone involved in the evaluation, selection, and use of commercially published assessments. The Twentieth Mental Measurements Yearbook continues this long-standing tradition by providing professional reviews of more than 190 new or recently revised tests.
This current edition in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series offers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, health care, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests are provided. Reviews are written by highly qualified professionals with expertise in a range of disciplines. Test entries are cross-referenced and indexed by title, subject, name, acronym, and score. An updated directory of test publishers is also included.
Call Number: REFERENCE Z5814.P8B937
Psychological Testing: principles, applications, and issues by Easy-to-read and accessible, this book effectively communicates the excitement and dynamics of the field of psychological testing. Robert Kaplan and Dennis Saccuzzo provide students with a current analysis of the most widely used psychological tests in schools, professional training programs, business, industry, the military, and clinical settings. As students read through the book, they get a clear picture of how psychological tests are constructed, how they are used, and how an understanding of them can make a difference in their careers and everyday lives. Students will get a very real sense of how psychological tests are constructed, how they are used, and how an understanding of them can make a difference in their careers and everyday lives. Comprehensive and accurate, yet interesting and personally relevant, this book gets and keeps students' attention through the use of informal discussions and real-life examples.
Call Number: BF176.K37 2001
Publication Date: 2000
Psychological Testing and Assessment by This is a careful and thoroughly updated revision of the most highly acclaimed and successful undergraduate text in testing over the last fifteen years. PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTING AND ASSESSMENT examines the philosophical, historical, and methodological foundations of psychological testing, assessment, and measurement, while helping students appreciate their benefits and pitfalls in practice.
Call Number: BF176.C64 2002
Publication Date: 2001
Qualitative Psychology by This practical guide introduces students to the latest theoretical approaches in ethnography, interviewing, narrative, discourse, and psychoanalysis and brings them not only up-to-date but also beyond the limits of mainstream psychological research methods. Interwoven with conceptual issues and methodological frameworks are 44 sections outlining key issues in the development, application, and assessment of qualitative research methods. By reviewing key debates, students are able to explore the problems with particular qualitative methods taught in psychology today - and use better methods to practice their craft.
Publication Date: 2004
Research Methods by Appropriate for social science students, this text offers comprehensive coverage of both experimental and non-experimental methods. The author provides succinct explanations for a full range of methods, including descriptive, correlational, experimental, and quasi-experimental research designs. Practical tips and applications integrated throughout the text allow students to make real-world connections that encourage them to master the material.
Call Number: H62.S73 1998
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Open Access Journals from DOAJ