Psychology: Mental Health

From Webster's New World Medical Dictionary A person who practices counseling. Depending on state laws, counselors may or may not be required to hold particular licenses.

From Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
Developmental counseling is a collaborative and catalytic relationship formed between a professional counselor, who is trained in both counseling and human development, and a client, who is currently experiencing or is expected to experience problems that impede progress toward mastering personally and/or culturally valued functions.

From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
The past two decades have been a period of significant professional growth for pediatric psychology. In general, the number of psychologists in medical settings has increased rapidly and the scope of their activities has widened enormously.

From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
A person trained in medicine who specializes in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders.

From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
Determining to just whom this term applies is no simple matter. The difficulties stem from the fact that some who claim it do so because they practise psychology, others because they apply it, others because they teach it and still others because they research it.

From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
A person who professes to carry out psychological treatments according to a particular theoretical model (as in psychodynamic psychotherapist, behavioural psychotherapist, etc.).

From Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary
A health professional who assists individuals and families with social or emotional issues.

From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The Beck Depression Inventory-II (BDI-II; Beck, Steer, & Brown, 1996) is a 21-item self-report instrument for measuring the severity of depression in adolescents and adults according to symptoms corresponding to the criteria for diagnosing major depressive disorders.

From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
The purpose of the Child Behavior Checklist (CBCL 6–18; Achenbach & Rescorla, 2001) is to quickly collect standardized ratings on a broad spectrum of competencies and problems for children aged 6 to 18 years.

Test that attempts to measure innate intellectual ability, rather than acquired ability.

From Capstone Encyclpaedia of Business
The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is probably the most frequently used personality inventory in the United States alone. Over 3 million MBTIs are administered each year.

Any of a variety of testing procedures for measuring psychological traits and behavior, or for studying some specialized aspect of ability.

From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The field of psychometrics generally considers quantitative psychological data. Such data normally emerges from test responses, although it may come from other measures.

From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
The grandfather of all PROJECTIVE TESTS, designed and developed by the Swiss psychiatrist Hermann Rorschach. The administration of the test consists of a structured interview using a series of ten standardized, bilaterally symmetrical inkblots.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Any of a wide range of drugs used to treat psychic depression. They are given to elevate mood, counter suicidal thoughts, and increase the effectiveness of psychotherapy.

Any of a range of substances, natural or synthetic, administered to humans and animals as therapeutic agents: to diagnose, prevent, or treat disease, or to assist recovery from injury.

From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
The DSM is a manual outlining diagnostic criteria for psychiatric disorders, published by the American Psychiatric Association.

In psychiatry, treatment of mood disorders by means of electricity; the broader term is "shock therapy.

From The Concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
Gestalt therapy is an existential and phenomenological approach, emphasizing the principles of present-centered awareness and immediate experience.