Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ebooks in the Library Catalog
Advanced Quantitative Data Analysis by There are a variety of statistical techniques used to analyse quantitative data that masters students, advanced undergraduates and researchers in the social sciences are expected to be able to understand and undertake. This book explains these techniques, when it is appropriate to use them, how to carry them out and how to write up the results. Most books which describe these techniques do so at too advanced or technical a level to be readily understood by many students who need to use them. In contrast the following features characterise this book: - concise and accessible introduction to calculating and interpreting advanced statistical techniques - use of a small data set of simple numbers specifically designed to illustrate the nature and manual calculation of the most important statistics in each technique - succinct illustration of writing up the results of these analyses - minimum of mathematical, statistical and technical notation - annotated bibliography and glossary of key concepts Commonly used software is introduced, and instructions are presented for carrying out analyses and interpreting the output using the computer programs of SPSS Release 11 for Windows and a version of LISREL 8.51, which is freely available online. Designed as a textbook for postgraduate and advanced undergraduate courses across the socio-behavioural sciences, this book will also serve as a personal reference for researchers in disciplines such as sociology and psychology.
Publication Date: 2003
Dealing with Statistics: What You Need to Know by This is a highly accessible, yet an adequately sophisticated text, which can be enjoyed by students across the skills spectrum. I am confident that it will help students who suffer from maths phobia as it offers to teach statistics with anxiety-busting clarity. The book benefits from easy to follow demonstrations and illustrations of statistical methods and techniques, which are highly relevant for business and management research at the undergraduate and masters level courses' - Professor Mustafa F. Ozbilgin, University of East Anglia, UK. Are you confused about which statistical tests to use, when you should be using them and why you should be using them? This book is about helping you to choose and use the right statistical technique to analyse your data and write about your results and findings convincingly.It provides a concise and accessible guide to the essential statistical skills needed for success in your assignment, project or dissertation. Berman Brown and Saunders concentrate on particular statistical tests and their three W's - what, why, and when.
Publication Date: 2007
Longitudinal and Panel Data by This focuses on models and data that arise from repeated observations of a cross-section of individuals, households or companies. These models have found important applications within business, economics, education, political science and other social science disciplines. The author introduces the foundations of longitudinal and panel data analysis at a level suitable for quantitatively oriented graduate social science students as well as individual researchers. He emphasizes mathematical and statistical fundamentals but also describes substantive applications from across the social sciences, showing the breadth and scope that these models enjoy. The applications are enhanced by real-world data sets and software programs in SAS and Stata.
Publication Date: 2004
Ordinal Measurement in the Behavioral Sciences by This book provides an alternative method for measuring individual differences in psychological, educational, and other behavioral sciences studies. It is based on the assumptions of ordinal statistics as explained in Norman Cliff's 1996 Ordinal Methods for Behavioral Data Analysis. It provides the necessary background on ordinal measurement to permit its use to assess psychological and psychophysical tests and scales and interpret the data obtained. The authors believe that some of the behavioral measurement models used today do not fit the data or are inherently self-contradictory. Applications of these models can therefore lead to unwarranted inferences regarding the status of the derived variables. These methods can also be difficult to apply, particularly in small-sample contexts without making additional, unrealistic assumptions. Ordinal methods more closely reflect the original data, are simple to apply, and can be used in samples of any size. The book's approach is in essence a return to simple empiricism in psychological measurement. Ordinal Measurement in the Behavioral Sciences provides: •methods for analyzing test responses; •extensive discussions of ordinal approaches to analyzing data that are judgments of stimuli; •methods for treating psychological data in ways consistent with its ordinal nature so as to stimulate new developments in this area; and •ordinal test theory and the unfolding methods that are applicable to cross-cultural studies. Advanced students, researchers, and practitioners concerned with psychological measurement should find this book relevant. Measurement professionals will find it provides useful and simple methods that stimulate thought about measurement's real issues.
Publication Date: 2002
Statistics in Psychology: An Historical Perspective by This book presents an historical overview of the field--from its development to the present--at an accessible mathematical level. This edition features two new chapters--one on factor analysis and the other on the rise of ANOVA usage in psychological research. Written for psychology, as well as other social science students, this book introduces the major personalities and their roles in the development of the field. It provides insight into the disciplines of statistics and experimental design through the examination of the character of its founders and the nature of their views, which were sometimes personal and ideological, rather than objective and scientific. It motivates further study by illustrating the human component of this field, adding dimension to an area that is typically very technical. Intended for advanced undergraduate and/or graduate students in psychology and other social sciences, this book will also be of interest to instructors and/or researchers interested in the origins of this omnipresent discipline.
Publication Date: 2000
Understanding Statistics in the Behavioral Sciences by Understanding Statistics in the Behavioral Sciences is designed to help readers understand research reports, analyze data, and familiarize themselves with the conceptual underpinnings of statistical analyses used in behavioral science literature. The authors review statistics in a way that is intended to reduce anxiety for students who feel intimidated by statistics. Conceptual underpinnings and practical applications are stressed, whereas algebraic derivations and complex formulas are reduced. New ideas are presented in the context of a few recurring examples, which allows readers to focus more on the new statistical concepts than on the details of different studies.The authors'selection and organization of topics is slightly different from the ordinary introductory textbook. It is motivated by the needs of a behavioral science student, or someone in clinical practice, rather than by formal, mathematical properties. The book begins with hypothesis testing and then considers how hypothesis testing is used in conjunction with statistical designs and tests to answer research questions. In addition, this book treats analysis of variance as another application of multiple regression. With this integrated, unified approach, students simultaneously learn about multiple regression and how to analyze data associated with basic analysis of variance and covariance designs. Students confront fewer topics but those they do encounter possess considerable more power, generality, and practical importance. This integrated approach helps to simplify topics that often cause confusion.Understanding Statistics in the Behavioral Sciences features:•Computer-based exercises, many of which rely on spreadsheets, help the reader perform statistical analyses and compare and verify the results using either SPSS or SAS. These exercises also provide an opportunity to explore definitional formulas by altering raw data or terms within a formula and immediately see the consequences thus providing a deeper understanding of the basic concepts.•Key terms and symbols are boxed when first introduced and repeated in a glossary to make them easier to find at review time.•Numerous tables and graphs, including spreadsheet printouts and figures, help students visualize the most critical concepts.This book is intended as a text for introductory behavioral science statistics. It will appeal to instructors who want a relatively brief text. The book's active approach to learning, works well both in the classroom and for individual self-study.
Publication Date: 2005
Books in the Library Catalog
Activities for Teaching Statistics and Research Methods by This book offers original, pedagogically sound, classroom--tested activities for teaching statistics and research methods that engage students, teach principles, and inspire teachers.
A sound understanding of statistics and research methods is essential for all psychologists, and these topics are core components of both Advanced Placement and undergraduate psychology curricula. Yet, these courses are often challenging for many students, some of whom may burn out and even give up on psychology altogether.
Each chapter in this book contains classroom exercises in a particular topic area that are practical and easily implemented, and help students learn core principles in ways that are fun and engaging. Whether illustrating basic concepts like variance and standard deviation, correlation, p-values and effect sizes, or teaching strategies for identifying confounding factors, recognizing bias, constructing surveys, and understanding the ethics of behavioral research, each chapter offers clear and compelling tools for engaging students on conceptual and practical levels. The book also includes a handy table that organizes activities by topic area, class level, and length of time to complete, so instructors can quickly pinpoint the content they need.
Call Number: BF39 .A28 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Basic Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences by Written by one of the most recognizable names in the discipline, Basic Statistic for the Behavioral Sciences discusses statistics in the context of educational and psychological research, making a typically abstract subject more meaningful to readers. The text helps readers develop a conceptual understanding of statistics, above and beyond computation, by providing numerous real-life examples and ample opportunities for students to check, review, and apply their learning..
Call Number: BF39.T56 2001
Publication Date: 2000
Damned Lies and Statistics - Untangling Numbers from the Media, Politicians and Activists by Does the number of children gunned down double each year? Does anorexia kill 150,000 young women annually? Do white males account for only a sixth of new workers? Startling statistics shape our thinking about social issues. But all too often, these numbers are wrong. This book is a lively guide to spotting bad statistics and learning to think critically about these influential numbers. Damned Lies and Statistics is essential reading for everyone who reads or listens to the news, for students, and for anyone who relies on statistical information to understand social problems.
Joel Best bases his discussion on a wide assortment of intriguing contemporary issues that have garnered much recent media attention, including abortion, cyberporn, homelessness, the Million Man March, teen suicide, the U.S. census, and much more. Using examples from the New York Times, the Washington Post, and other major newspapers and television programs, he unravels many fascinating examples of the use, misuse, and abuse of statistical information.
In this book Best shows us exactly how and why bad statistics emerge, spread, and come to shape policy debates. He recommends specific ways to detect bad statistics, and shows how to think more critically about "stat wars," or disputes over social statistics among various experts. Understanding this book does not require sophisticated mathematical knowledge; Best discusses the most basic and most easily understood forms of statistics, such as percentages, averages, and rates.
This accessible book provides an alternative to either naively accepting the statistics we hear or cynically assuming that all numbers are meaningless. It shows how anyone can become a more intelligent, critical, and empowered consumer of the statistics that inundate both the social sciences and our media-saturated lives.
Call Number: HM535.B47 2001
Publication Date: 2001
How to Think about Statistics by This revised edition offers a common sense method for understanding the statistics that affect the readers decisions in daily life. Rather than focus on mathematics and computations, this volume familiarizes the reader with the underlying logic of statistical analysis and problem-solving.
Call Number: HA29.P517 1992
Publication Date: 1992
Quantitative Research for the Behavioral Sciences by Using an informal approach, this is an introduction to a broad range of research methods; presumes no prior experience with statistics and emphasizes theoretical underpinnings and practical applications. Topics include the philosophy of science, the theory of measurement, a concise overview of statistical analysis, the effects of social science on individuals and society, how to go about writing a research report. Along with examples of actual research, each chapter ends with a summary, a CheckPoint and exercises that encourage students to think more deeply about issues just covered.
Call Number: H62.R43 1992
Publication Date: 1991
Reasoning with Statistics by For college students without a statistics background, who need to interpret quantitative research findings. Also useful as a supplement to a statistics course. First published in 1968; most recently in 1986. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Call Number: 0030718473
Publication Date: 1986
Stat-Spotting: a field guide to identifying dubious data by Are four million women really battered to death by their husbands or boyfriends each year? Does a young person commit suicide every thirteen minutes in the United States? Is methamphetamine our number one drug problem today? Alarming statistics bombard our daily lives, appearing in the news, on the Web, seemingly everywhere. But all too often, even the most respected publications present numbers that are miscalculated, misinterpreted, hyped, or simply misleading. Following on the heels of his highly acclaimed Damned Lies and Statistics and More Damned Lies and Statistics, Joel Best now offers this practical field guide to help everyone identify questionable statistics. Entertaining, informative, and concise, Stat-Spotting is essential reading for people who want to be more savvy and critical consumers of news and information.
* Pertinent examples from today's news, including the number of deaths reported in Iraq, the threat of secondhand smoke, the increase in the number of overweight Americans, and many more
* A commonsense approach that doesn't require advanced math or statistics
Call Number: HM535.B477 2008
Publication Date: 2008