Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Backpack guide to Idaho range plants by
Call Number: QK156.H36 2001
Publication Date: 2001
A field guide to grasses and grass-like plants of Idaho by "Grasses and grass-like plants are key to the productivity, function and diversity of Idaho's rangelands, wetlands and forests. Learn to identify almost 100 plant species and understand the value of these plants with this new publication. Rich photographs and detailed drawings fill this visually engaging plant identification book"--University of Idaho Extension publications webpage
Call Number: QK495.G74 T78 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Flora of Idaho by
Call Number: REFERENCE QH156.D297 1952
Publication Date: 1952
Flora of the Pacific Northwest : an illustrated manual by
Call Number: QK144 .H48 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Grasses and Grassland Ecology by Grasslands, in particular managed pastures and rangelands, are widespread, covering approximately 40% (52 million km2) of the Earth's land surface. They are dominated by members of the Poaceae - the fourth largest plant family with over 7,500 species, and also the most widespread. Grasslandsconstitute a major biome on all continents except Antarctica and also represent the most important food crop on Earth with corn, wheat, maize, rice and millet accounting for the majority of our agricultural output.iGrasses and Grassland Ecology/i provides an ecologically orientated introduction to this influential group of plants, summarizing the most recent scientific research in ecology and agriculture in the context of the older, classic literature. Ten chapters cover the morphology, anatomy, physiologyand systematics of grasses, their population, community and ecosystem ecology, their global distribution, and the effects of disturbance and grassland management. This comprehensive and accessible textbook is suitable for graduate level students as well as professional researchers in the fields of plant ecology, rangeland science, crop science, and agriculture.
Call Number: QH541.5.P7G53 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-30
Handbook of Rocky Mountain Plants by
Call Number: QK139.N45 1992
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
The Nature of Plants : An Introduction to How Plants Work by Choice Outstanding Academic TitlePlants play a critical role in how we experience our environment. They create calming green spaces, provide oxygen for us to breathe, and nourish our senses. In The Nature of Plants, ecologist and nursery owner Craig Huegel demystifies the complex lives of plants and provides readers with an extensive tour into their workings. Beginning with the importance of light, water, and soil, Huegel describes the process of photosynthesis and how best to position plants to receive optimal sunlight. He explains why plants suffer from overwatering, what essential elements plants need to flourish, and what important soil organisms reside with them. Readers will understand the difference between friendly and hostile bacteria, fungi, and insects.Sections on plant structure and reproduction focus in detail on major plant organs--roots, stems, and leaves--and cover flowering, pollination, fruit development, and seed germination. Huegel even delves into the mysterious world of plant communication, exploring the messages conveyed to animals or other plants through chemical scents and hormones. With color illustrations, photographs, and real-life examples from his own gardening experiences, Huegel equips budding botanists, ecologists, and even the most novice gardeners with knowledge that will help them understand and foster plants of all types.
Publication Date: 2019-04-16
Plants: a very short introduction by
Call Number: QK45.2.W35 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
The Complete Illustrated Encyclopedia of Wild Flowers and Flora of the World by A visual guide to wild flowers, trees, shrubs, herbs, heathers, grasses, cacti, aquatics and more. This wide-ranging and lavish book presents an expert survey of the incredible floral diversity of the different regions of the world. More than 1730 species are featured, arranged according to region and then by plant family. The key features of each main entry are described to help identify the species, and each entry is illustrated with a botanically accurate profile of the plant, together with identifying details and a map showing where the species originated.
Call Number: SB439 .W35 2012
Publication Date: 2016-01-07
Great Basin Wildflowers: a guide to common wildflowers of the high deserts of Nevada, Utah, and Oregon by
Call Number: QK141.B563 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Idaho Mountain Wildflowers: a photographic compendium by
Call Number: QK156.5.W5E27 2001
Publication Date: 2001-05-15
Wildflowers of the Northern Nevada Cold Desert by
Call Number: QK173.W55 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Seeds : Ecology, Biogeography, and, Evolution of Dormancy and Germination by The new edition of Seeds contains new information on many topics discussed in the first edition, such as fruit/seed heteromorphism, breaking of physical dormancy and effects of inbreeding depression on germination. New topics have been added to each chapter, including dichotomous keys to types of seeds and kinds of dormancy; a hierarchical dormancy classification system; role of seed banks in restoration of plant communities; and seed germination in relation to parental effects, pollen competition, local adaption, climate change and karrikinolide in smoke from burning plants. The database for the world biogeography of seed dormancy has been expanded from 3,580 to about 13,600 species. New insights are presented on seed dormancy and germination ecology of species with specialized life cycles or habitat requirements such as orchids, parasitic, aquatics and halophytes. Information from various fields of science has been combined with seed dormancy data to increase our understanding of the evolutionary/phylogenetic origins and relationships of the various kinds of seed dormancy (and nondormancy) and the conditions under which each may have evolved. This comprehensive synthesis of information on the ecology, biogeography and evolution of seeds provides a thorough overview of whole-seed biology that will facilitate and help focus research efforts. Most wide-ranging and thorough account of whole-seed dormancy available Contains information on dormancy and germination of more than 14,000 species from all the continents - even the two angiosperm species native to the Antarctica continent Includes a taxonomic index so researchers can quickly find information on their study organism(s) and Provides a dichotomous key for the kinds of seed dormancy Topics range from fossil evidence of seed dormancy to molecular biology of seed dormancy Much attention is given to the evolution of kinds of seed dormancy Includes chapters on the basics of how to do seed dormancy studies; on special groups of plants, for example orchids, parasites, aquatics, halophytes; and one chapter devoted to soil seed banks Contains a revised, up-dated classification scheme of seed dormancy, including a formula for each kind of dormancy Detailed attention is given to physiological dormancy, the most common kind of dormancy on earth
Publication Date: 2014-02-20
Seeds on Ice: Svalbard and the Global Seed Vault by Closer to the North Pole than to the Arctic Circle, on an island in a remote Norwegian archipelago, lies a vast global seed bank buried within a frozen mountain. At the end of a 130-meter long tunnel chiseled out of solid stone is a room filled with humanity's precious treasure, the largest and most diverse seed collection ever assembled: more than a half billion seeds containing the world's most prized crops, a safeguard against catastrophic starvation. The Global Seed Vault, a visionary model of international collaboration, is the brainchild of Cary Fowler, renowned scientist, conservationist, and biodiversity advocate. In SEEDS ON ICE, Fowler tells for the first time the comprehensive inside story of how the "doomsday seed vault" came to be, while the breathtaking photographs offer a stunning guided tour not only of the private vault, but of the windswept beauty and majesty of Svalbard and the enchanting community of people in Longyearbyen. With growing evidence that unchecked climate change will seriously undermine food production and threaten the diversity of crops around the world, SEEDS ON ICE offers a personal and passionate reminder that we shouldn't take our reliance on the world of plants for granted--and that, in a very real sense, the future of the human race rides on this frozen and indispensable biodiversity.
Call Number: SB118.38 .F69 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Between Earth and Sky: our intimate connections to trees by In Between Earth and Sky, a rich tapestry of personal stories, information, and illustrations, world-renowned canopy biologist Nalini M. Nadkarni becomes our captivating guide to the leafy wilderness above our heads. Through her luminous narrative, we embark on a multifaceted exploration of trees that reveals the profound connections we have with them, the dazzling array of things they can provide us, and the powerful lessons they teach us.
Call Number: QK477.N33 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-02
The Encyclopedia of North American Trees by
Call Number: QK110.5.T7B46 2000
Publication Date: 2002-07-06
Trees in Trouble : wildfires, infestations, and climate change by A story of the devastating and compounding effects of climate change in the Western and Rocky Mountain states, told through in-depth reportage and conversations with ecologists, professional forest managers, park service scientists, burn boss, activists, and more. Climate change manifests in many ways across North America, but few as dramatic as the attacks on our western pine forests. Daniel Mathews tells the urgent story of this loss, accompanying burn crews and forest ecologists as they study the myriad risk factors and refine techniques for saving this important, limited resource. Mathews transports the reader from the exquisitely aromatic haze of ponderosa and Jeffrey pine groves to the fantastic gnarls and whorls of five-thousand-year-old bristlecone pines, from genetic test nurseries where white pine seedlings are deliberately infected with their mortal enemy to the hottest megafire sites and neighborhoods leveled by fire tornadoes or ember blizzards. Trees in Trouble not only explores the devastating ripple effects of climate change, but also introduces us to the people devoting their lives to saving our forests. Mathews also offers hope: a new approach to managing western pine forests is underway. Trees in Trouble explores how we might succeed in sustaining our forests through the challenging transition to a new environment.
Call Number: SB763.W38 M38 2020
Publication Date: 2020-04-07
Woody Plants of Utah: a field guide with identification keys to native and naturalized trees, shrubs, cacti, and vines by
Call Number: QK189.W66 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-06
Entangled Life : how fungi make our worlds, change our minds & shape our futures by "Living at the border between life and non-life, fungi use diverse cocktails of potent enzymes and acids to disassemble some of the most stubborn substances on the planet, turning rock into soil and wood into compost, allowing plants to grow. Fungi not only help create soil, they send out networks of tubes that enmesh roots and link plants together in the "Wood Wide Web." Fungi also drive many long-standing human fascinations: from yeasts that cause bread to rise and orchestrate the fermentation of sugar into alcohol; to psychedelic fungi; to the mold that produces penicillin and revolutionized modern medicine. And we can partner with fungi to heal the damage we've done to the planet. Fungi are already being used to make sustainable building materials and wearable leather, but they can do so much more. Fungi can digest many stubborn and toxic pollutants from crude oil to human-made polyurethane plastics and the explosive TNT. They can grow food from renewable sources: edible mushrooms can be grown on anything from plant waste to cigarette butts. And some fungi's antiviral compounds might be able to ease the colony collapse of bees. Merlin Sheldrake's revelatory introduction to this world will show us how fungi, and our relationships with them, are more astonishing than we could have imagined. Bringing to light science's latest discoveries and ingeniously parsing the varieties and behaviors of the fungi themselves, he points us toward the fundamental questions about the nature of intelligence and identity this massively diverse, little understood kingdom provokes"
Call Number: QK603 .S54 2020
Publication Date: 2020-05-12
Essential Guide to Rocky Mountain Mushrooms by Habitat by
Call Number: QK605.5.R6 C75 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Fungi : Experimental Methods in Biology by Fungi are now at the forefront of research on mechanisms in gene silencing, biological rhythm, mating processes, biogenesis of intracellular organelles, adaptations to hostile habitats, structure of natural populations, and speciation. Because of their small genomes, fungi are being used in "systems biology"
Publication Date: 2016-04-19
An illustrated guide to mushrooms and other fungi of North America by
Call Number: LARGE QK617.K53 1993
Publication Date: 1993
In the Company of Mushrooms: a biologist's tale by Intrigued by the secret life of fungi, the author shows how fungi recycle most of the world's vegetable matter - from grass to trees, making way for other superior forms of nature. He also explains when and where to find mushrooms, how they are cultivated and how they are used in various cultures.
Call Number: QK617.S32 1997
Publication Date: 1997-04-15
The Kingdom of Fungi by The fungi realm has been called the "hidden kingdom," a mysterious world populated by microscopic spores, gigantic mushrooms and toadstools, and a host of other multicellular organisms ranging widely in color, size, and shape. The Kingdom of Fungi provides an intimate look at the world's astonishing variety of fungi species, from cup fungi and lichens to truffles and tooth fungi, clubs and corals, and jelly fungi and puffballs. This beautifully illustrated book features more than 800 stunning color photographs as well as a concise text that describes the biology and ecology of fungi, fungal morphology, where fungi grow, and human interactions with and uses of fungi. The Kingdom of Fungi is a feast for the senses, and the ideal reference for naturalists, researchers, and anyone interested in fungi. Reveals fungal life as never seen before Features more than 800 stunning color photos Describes fungal biology, morphology, distribution, and uses A must-have reference book for naturalists and researchers
Publication Date: 2013-04-21
Mushrooms : the natural and human world of British fungi by Mushrooms, the first of a major new series of books on British natural history, provides a remarkable insight into the natural and human world of fungi. Peter Marren, in his inimitable, relaxed style, guides the reader through the extraordinary riches of this often overlooked group, from the amazing diversity of forms and lifestyles that populate the fungal landscape, to the pursuit of edible fungi for the pot, and the complexities of identification thrown up by our modern understanding of DNA. Throughout the book, the author tells a story rich in detail about how we have come to appreciate and, in some cases, fear the mushrooms and toadstools that are such an integral part of the changing seasons. Marren also provides a refreshingly candid view of our attempts to name species, the role of fungi in ecosystems, and our recent efforts to record and conserve them.
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
Mushrooms of the Pacific Northwest by
Call Number: QK617.T78 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-22
The North American guide to common poisonous plants and mushrooms by If people knew how many poisonous plants are commonly found in homes and gardens, they'd be shocked. Plants as common as monkshood, castorbean, and oleander are not just dangerous, they're deadly. "The North American Guide to Common Poisonous Plants and Mushrooms" is a comprehensive, easy-to-use handbook. The book is split into four main categories: mushrooms, wild plants, ornamental and crop plants, and houseplants. Each plant entry includes a clear photograph to aid the task of identification, a description of the plant, notes on where they commonly occur, and a description of their toxic properties. Plants are listed by common name to assist the non-specialist
Call Number: QK100.N6T87 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-29