The Bald Eagle: haunts and habits of a wilderness monarch by
Describes the morphology, behavior, flight patterns, hunting, migration, nesting, development, and growth of bald eagles.
The Bird: a natural history of who birds are, where they came from, and how they live by 
Birds by 
Birds of Paradise: revealing the world's most extraordinary birds by 
Birds of Prey: hawks, eagles, falcons, and vultures of North America by 
Birds of the Photo Ark by
For avian enthusiasts, from armchair observers to dedicated life-listers, this brilliant book from acclaimed National Geographic photographer Joel Sartore celebrates the beauty of all birds, great and small. This elegantly packaged celebration of birds from around the world unites incredible animal portraits from Joel Sartore's distinguished National Geographic Photo Ark project with inspiring text by up-and-coming birder Noah Strycker. It includes hundreds of species, from tiny finches to charismatic eagles; brilliant toucans, intricate birds of paradise, and perennial favorites such as parrots, hummingbirds, and owls also make colorful appearances. Everyone who cares about birds--from the family with a bird feeder outside the kitchen window to the serious birder with a life list of thousands--will flock to this distinctive and uplifting book.
The Feather Thief: beauty, obsession, and the natural history heist of the century by
On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins--some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them--and escaped into the darkness. Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature
Field guide to the birds of North America by 
A Field Guide to Hawks of North America by 
Gardening for the Birds: how to create a bird-friendly backyard by
Demonstrates how to arrange native plants to mimic natural ecosystems that attract and provide for birds, outlining seasonal bloom and fruiting charts while offering close-up profiles of a variety of North American bird species.
Peterson Field Guide to Birds of Eastern and Central North America, Seventh Edition by 
Peterson Field Guide to Birds of Western North America, Fifth Edition by
"A new edition of the best-selling field guide, with 25 all-new plates covering the birds of Hawaii"-
Raptors: the birds of prey by 
Raptors of New Mexico by 
Say Goodbye to the Cuckoo: migratory birds and the impending ecological catastrophe by 
Songbirds: celebrating nature's voice by 
What It's Like to Be a Bird : from flying to nesting, eating to singing -- what birds are doing, and why by
"Can birds smell?" "Is this the same cardinal that was at my feeder last year?" "Do robins 'hear' worms?" In "What It's Like to Be a Bird," David Sibley answers the most frequently asked questions about the birds we see most often. This special, large-format volume is geared as much to nonbirders as it is to the out-and-out obsessed, covering more than two hundred species and including more than 330 new illustrations by the author. While its focus is on familiar backyard birds--blue jays, nuthatches, chickadees--it also examines certain species that can be fairly easily observed, such as the seashore-dwelling Atlantic puffin. David Sibley's exacting artwork and wide-ranging expertise bring observed behaviors vividly to life. (For most species, the primary illustration is reproduced life-sized.) And while the text is aimed at adults--including fascinating new scientific research on the myriad ways birds have adapted to environmental changes--it is nontechnical, making it the perfect occasion for parents and grandparents to share their love of birds with young children, who will delight in the big, full-color illustrations of birds in action. Unlike any other book he has written, "What It's Like to Be a Bird" is poised to bring a whole new audience to David Sibley's world of birds." -- Amazon.com.
The Wonder of Birds: what they tell us about ourselves, the world, and a better future by
Examines the ecologically and spiritually invaluable contributions to humans made by our feathered friends, from the hummingbird that influenced the Wright brother's airplane design to the song of the chickadee, considered to be the most sophisticated language in the animal world.
The Albatross and the Fish: Linked Lives in the Open Seas by 
Bird Migration and Global Change by 
Birds and Animals of Australia's Top End: Darwin, Kakadu, Katherine, and Kununurra by
One of the most amazing and accessible wildlife-watching destinations on earth, the "Top End" of Australia's Northern Territory is home to incredible birds and animals--from gaudy Red-collared Lorikeets to sinister Estuarine Crocodiles and raucous Black Flying-foxes. With this lavishly illustrated photographic field guide, you will be able to identify the most common creatures and learn about their fascinating biology--from how Agile Wallaby mothers can pause their pregnancies to why Giant Frogs spend half the year buried underground in waterproof cocoons. The Top End stretches from the tropical city of Darwin in the north, to the savannas of Mataranka in the south, and southwest across the vast Victoria River escarpments to the Western Australian border. The region includes some of Australia's most popular and impressive tourist destinations, such as Kakadu, Litchfield, Nitmiluk, and Gregory national parks, and is visited by more than two hundred thousand tourists every year. An essential field guide for anyone visiting the Top End, this book will vastly enhance your appreciation of the region's remarkable wildlife. Features hundreds of stunning color photographs Includes concise information on identification and preferred habitat for each species Provides a summary of each species' life history, including interesting habits, and suggestions on where to see it Offers valuable tips on searching for wildlife in the Top End An essential guide for visitors to the Top End, from Darwin south to Katherine and Kununurra, including Kakadu, Litchfield, Nitmiluk and Gregory national parks
Birds of Australia: A Photographic Guide by
Australia is home to a spectacular diversity of birdlife, from parrots and penguins to emus and vibrant passerines. Birds of Australia covers all 714 species of resident birds and regularly occurring migrants and features more than 1,100 stunning color photographs, including many photos of subspecies and plumage variations never before seen in a field guide. Detailed facing-page species accounts describe key identification features such as size, plumage, distribution, behavior, and voice. This one-of-a-kind guide also provides extensive habitat descriptions with a large number of accompanying photos. The text relies on the very latest IOC taxonomy and the distribution maps incorporate the most current mapping data, making this the most up-to-date guide to Australian birds. Covers all 714 species of resident birds and regularly occurring migrants Features more than 1,100 stunning color photos Includes facing-page species accounts, habitat descriptions, and distribution maps The ideal photographic guide for beginners and seasoned birders alike
Birds of Northern India by
A successor to Birds of the Indian Subcontinent", by the same authors, this handbook explores the birdlife of northern India and Pakistan. The plates are accompanied by text that highlights the identification, voice, habitat, altitudinal range, distribution and status of the birds. The text is on pages facing the plates for easy reference, and there are distribution maps for every species."
Birds of Seychelles by
This compact field guide, based on Birds of Seychelles by Adrian Skerrett, Ian Bullock and Tony Disley (Helm 2000), is the only field guide to cover every species recorded in Seychelles. It covers more than 250 species, including all residents, migrants and vagrants. Concise text on facing pages highlights key identification features, including habitat, distribution, status and voice. The plates are based on the authors' previous work, but with the addition on many new images.The text has been completely re-written and revised for this edition, and the plates are been re-worked to accommodate a number of new additions to the country's list. There are now 12 more plates than in the first edition.
Birds of the Salton Sea: Status, Biogeography, and Ecology by 
Birds of Trinidad and Tobago by
Trinidad & Tobago are popular tourist destinations and the islands are also a top location for visiting birders. This comprehensive and portable field guide covers every species found on the islands. The concise text includes descriptions of every species, highlighting plumage variation and distinctions from similar species. The plates use the relevant images from Birds of Northern South Americato create new plates specific for Trinidad & Tobago.This new edition has been completely revised. The plates have been extensively re-worked, with many images replaced and repainted. As a result, there are now eight extra plates, and some groups, such as flycatchers, have been repainted almost in entirety. The text has also been updated.This new edition supersedes all previous field guides to these popular islands.
Black Swan Lake: Life of a Wetland by
Tracing the life of the plants and animals of Forrest dale Lake through the six seasons of the local indigenous people, the first part of Black Swan Lake presents a wetlands calendar over a yearly cycle of the rising, falling and drying waters of this internationally important wetland in south-western Australia. The second part of this book considers issues and explores themes from the first part, including a cultural history of the seasons and the black swan. Black Swan Lake is a book of nature writing and environmental history and philosophy arising from living in a particular place with other beings. The book is a guide to living simply and sustainably with the earth in troubled times and places by making and maintaining a strong attachment and vital connection to a local place and its flora and fauna. Local places and their living processes sustain human and other life on this living earth.
California Condors in the Pacific Northwest by
The authors study the evolution and life history of the California Condor, its historical distribution, the reasons for its decline, and their hopes for its reintroduction in the Pacific Northwest
Charles Darwin's Life with Birds : His Complete Ornithology by
Much of Charles Darwin's groundbreaking work as an evolutionary biologist stemmed from his study of birds. It is universally acknowledged that Darwin's observation of bird groups and species like the Galapagos finches, mockingbirds, and rock doves was critical to the development of his theories on natural selection, evolution, and sexual selection. The significant number of diverse birds that Darwin covered in his published works represents a most substantial ornithological contribution. His major books alone contain reference to and consideration of almost 500 bird species, as well as interesting and pertinent discussion of over 100 ornithological topics."Charles Darwin's Birds" is a comprehensive treatment of Darwin's work as an ornithologist. Clifford Frith discusses every ornithological topic and bird species that Darwin researched, providing a complete historical survey of his published writing on birds. Through this, we learn how Darwin became an increasingly skilled and eventually exceptional ornithologist, and how his relationships grew with contemporary scientists like John Gould. It examines how Darwin was influenced by birds, and how the major themes of his research developed through his study of them. The book also features 4 appendices, which contain brief accounts of every bird species Darwin wrote about, basic ornithological information about each of the species, and a listing of where the species appears in Darwin's work.
Endangered and Disappearing Birds of the Midwest by
This bird-lover’s guide to spotting the endangered birds of the Midwest features fascinating information, helpful maps, and stunning color photography. Birds captivate us with their lively behavior and colorful beauty. They also enhance our environments in many ways, from controlling pest populations to pollinating crops. Yet, sadly, many species of birds across Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio are in danger of extinction due to loss of habitat, agricultural expansion, changing forest conditions, and encounters with humans. In Endangered and Disappearing Birds of the Midwest, conservationist and endangered species expert Matt Williams profiles forty of the most beautiful and fascinating birds who winter, breed, or migrate through the Midwest and whose populations are most in danger of disappearing from the region. Each profile includes the current endangered status of the species, a description of the bird's vocal and nesting patterns, and tips to help readers identify them, along with stunning color images and detailed migration maps. An exquisite and timely examination of our feathered friends, Endangered and Disappearing Birds of the Midwest is a call to action to protect these vulnerable and gorgeous creatures that enliven our world.
Great Plains Birds by
2020 Nebraska Book Award The Great Plains is a well-known and well-studied hybrid zone for many animals, most notably birds. In Great Plains Birds Larkin Powell explores the history, geography, and geology of the plains and the birds that inhabit it. From the sandhill crane to ducks and small shorebirds, he explains migration patterns and shows how human settlements have affected the movements of birds. Powell uses historical maps and images to show how wetlands have disappeared, how grasslands have been uprooted, how rivers have been modified by dams, and how the distribution of forests has changed, all the while illustrating why grassland birds are the most threatened group of birds in North America. Powell also discusses conservation attempts and how sporting organizations have raised money to create wetland and grassland habitats for both game and nongame species. Great Plains Birds tells the story of the birds of the plains, discussing where those birds can be found and the impact humans have had on them.
Restoring North America's Birds: Lessons From Landscape Ecology by 
