Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
India: Art & Architecture
The Arts of India by Written in clear, evocative prose that sensitively describes the VMFA's renowned collection, this striking survey of Indian art and culture will engage both scholars and general readers. From ivory sculptures to miniature paintings and lavishly illustrated manuscripts, this book features many beautiful and historically important objects, several of which are published here for the first time. Each of the four major areas of the catalogue--"sculpture, painting, decorative arts, and textiles--"begins with an introductory essay. Individual catalogue entries provide an analysis of the art historical, aesthetic, and cultural significance of each object together with documentation of its provenance, exhibition, and publication history. The opening essays introduce India and its people, with special emphasis on the development of major religions and the dominant role of religion in art and life. Also included is a summary of the signs, symbols, and images developed to express religious concepts.
Call Number: N7301.V57 2001
Publication Date: 2005
Devotion and Desire by The collection of John and Berthe Ford represents one of the most important private holdings of Indian and Himalayan art in the world. Certain objects have been widely exhibited, such as the Green Tara (a female Buddhist goddess), a painting executed in India around 1100 for a Tibetan patron and recognized both as a masterpiece and as a cornerstone for the study of Tibetan painting. Others have never been publicly shown. The exhibition and the accompanying publication bring together works from both India and the Himalayas, demonstrating the range and depth of the Ford collection, providing an extraordinary overview of 2,000 years of history, and illustrating enduring themes in the art of Southern Asia with outstanding works of art.
Call Number: N7301.P353 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Human and Divine by This beautifully illustrated book provides a unique consideration of the magnificent tradition of Indian sculpture and offers valuable insight into the inspiration behind it. Much of Indian sculpture is sacred in purpose, embodying religious beliefs and philosophical ideals. It is at the same time deeply sensual, celebrating the human body in all its astonishing variety, and has been used to portray the gods and goddesses of Hinduism, as well as the saviors and saints of Buddhism and Jainism. The fusion of earthly and transcendent realms is conveyed by transformations, poses, and gestures whose symbolism is understood by every adherent of these great religions.
Produced to accompany the traveling exhibition of the same name, "Human and Divine "highlights the achievements of a dynamic artistic tradition and explains what Indian sculpture means and why it looks as it does. The sculptures--made from stone, bronze, terracotta, marble, ivory, and wood--are drawn from British public and private collections and date from ancient times to the early twentieth century.
Balraj Khanna outlines the early history of Indian sculpture and places it in its cultural and religious context. George Michell describes the various forms and styles that have developed in the different regions of India and explains the significance of specific works.
Call Number: NB1001.H86 2000
Publication Date: 2001
Indian Art by This concise yet lively new survey guides the reader through 5,000 years of Indian art and architecture. A rich artistic tradition is fully explored through the Hindu, Buddhist, Islamic, Colonial, and contemporary periods, incorporating discussion of modern Bangladesh and Pakistan, tribal artists, and the decorative arts. Combining a clear overview with fascinating detail, Mitter succeeds in bringing to life the true diversity of Indian culture. The influence of Islam on the Mughal court, which produced the world-famous Taj Mahal and exquisite miniature paintings, is closely examined. More recently, he discusses the nationalist and global concerns of contemporary art, including the rise of female artists, the stunning architecture of Charles Correa, and the vibrant art scene. The very particular character of Indian art is set within its cultural and religious milieu, raising important issues about the profound differences between Western and Indian ideas of beauty and eroticism in art.
Call Number: N7301.M58 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Indian Painting by From refined portraits of resplendent maharajas to earthy depictions of divine rogues cavorting with milkmaids, Indian miniature paintings depict the world as it should be: radiant, plentiful and passionate. These manuscript illustrations combine vibrant color with exquisite delicacy, offering immediate impact while also rewarding lengthy examination. Alone on the market, this beautiful volume presents the art form for non-specialists, surveying the most notable styles and periods of Indian painting and offering an introduction to the legends and historic personalities that inspire its entertaining subjects. The text covers such diverse topics as scriptures written on palm leaves, likenesses of favorite animals, images inspired by music, techniques and materials, and Indian reactions to European art. The Boston Museum of Fine Art's collection of Indian paintings, assembled by the esteemed scholar A.K. Coomaraswamy, is justly renowned as one of the finest in the world, and Indian Painting, one of the only readily available comprehensive histories of the subject, is the first book since Coomaraswamy's seminal catalogues of the 1920s to draw so extensively on the MFA's collection. It includes 120 of the most remarkable pieces, many of which are reproduced here in color for the first time.--From publisher description.
Call Number: ND3247 .C86 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Indian Painting by This volume is the first of two devoted to the museum's Indian paintings. The works shown here, created between 1000 and 1700, are divided into six sections: Buddhist manuscript illumination from Eastern India, Jain and Hindu painting, and Islamic, Mughal, and Deccani painting and calligraphy. Each of the 115 paintings is reproduced, many with additional details; each is discussed in terms of iconography, style, and history.
Call Number: ND1001.P33 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Introduction to Indian Architecture by Take a journey through Indian architecture from the dawn of civilization to the present with this colorful, attractive survey.
The architecture of India reflects both the cultural diversity of the subcontinent and its rich political and historical inheritance. In this guide, the various strands of this rich architectural history, from the dawn of civilization to modern times, are beautifully presented in word and picture. Readers are taken on a fascinating tour of Indus Valley civilization, early Vedic traditions, Hindu, Jain, Mughal, regional, colonial and post-independence architectural styles. Themes such as water architecture and the architecture of science also figure prominently, giving many westerners their first glimpse of these styles.
The informative text, complemented by 400 photographs, watercolors, maps and plans, provide compelling evidence of India's influence on building design throughout history.
Call Number: NA1501.T483 2004
Publication Date: 2005
Visions of Kings by "This catalogue is published on the occasion of an exhibition held at the National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, 25 November 1995-4 February 1996, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, 23 February 1996-28 April 1996."
Call Number: N7301.B7 1995
Publication Date: 1996
11th-13th centuries - Dilwara Temples (Vimal Vasahi, Luna Vasahi, Pittalhar, Parshvanath, Mahavir Swami)
1211-1236 Qutb Minar, Quwwat ul-Islam Mosque, Mehrauli Archaeological Park, Delhi
13th-17th centuries - Minakshi-Sundareshwara Temple
14th-16th centuries - Virupaksha Temple (expansions)
1571 Diwan-i-Khas (Red Fort), Fatehpur Sikri
c.1590 Akbar Inspecting the Construction of Fatehpur Sikri, from the Akbarnama, Abu'l-Fazl ibn Mubarak (author) and various royal artists.
© Victoria and Albert Museum, London
c.1631-1648 Taj Mahal. Agra, India. Mughal period. Reign of Shah Jahan.
Taj Mahal by The meaning of the Taj Mahal, the perceptions and responses it prompts, ideas about the building and the history that shape them: these form the subject of Tillotson's book. More than a richly illustrated history, this book is an eloquent meditation on the place of the Taj Mahal in the cultural imagination of India and the wider world.
Publication Date: 2012
The Taj Mahal by
Call Number: DS486.A3C236 1972
Publication Date: 1973