Pompeii: Buried Alive by
Explore the effects of Mount Vesuvius' eruption of August 24, A.D. 79. Get a close look at the ancient tragedy and how it forever preserved a glimpse of the glory days of the Roman Empire.
Pompeii by
Wander the streets of this prosperous city, and view the frescos of the House of the Vettii, and the Villa of Poppea at Oplontis. Frescoes, reliefs and statuary are reproduced in wonderful colour photography which has been specially commissioned for this book, along with beautiful shots of the ruins, standing in the landscape that has existed around them for thousands of years. The accompanying text was written by leading scholars in the study of Pompeii, and explains the social context for the ruins and art works found at the site. The essential role of the forum in Roman public life, and the role in the economy of Pompeii of the personal effects found at the site, such as jewellery, oil lamps and even a loaf of bread, are among many fascinating details discussed in this book. This beautiful, slip cased edition is a comprehensive guide to the art and everyday life of Pompeii, and is a must-have for anyone interested in the art and culture of the classical world.
House of the Vettii
Villa of the Mysteries
Trajan's Column (113 - 116 CE)
Basilica Ulpia (c.112 CE)
Meditations by
The Roman emperor Marcus Aurelius Antoninus (a.d. 121--180) embodied in his person that deeply cherished, ideal figure of antiquity, the philosopher-king. His Meditations are not only one of the most important expressions of the Stoic philosophy of his time but also an enduringly inspiring guide to living a good and just life. Written in moments snatched from military campaigns and the rigors of politics, these ethical and spiritual reflections reveal a mind of exceptional clarity and originality, and a spirit attuned to both the particulars of human destiny and the vast patterns that underlie it.
A Companion to Marcus Aurelius by
A Companion to Marcus Aurelius presents the first comprehensive collection of essays to explore all essential facets relating to contemporary Marcus Aurelius studies. First collection of its kind to commission new state-of-the-art scholarship on Marcus Aurelius Features readings that cover all aspects of Marcus Aurelius, including source material, biographical information, and writings Contributions from an international cast of top Aurelius scholars Addresses evolving aspects of the reception of the Meditations
The Baths of Caracalla by Marble portrait of the emperor Caracalla (212 - 217 CE)
Sarcophagus with the triumph of Dionysus (c.190 CE) - Walters Art Museum, Baltimore
Sarcophagus with triumph of Dionysus (c.215 - 225 CE) - Boston MFA
Battle of the Romans and Barbarians (Ludovisi Battle Sarcophagus) (c.250 - 260 CE)
Marble sarcophagus with the Triump of Dionysus and the Seasons (c.260 - 270 CE) - Metropolitan Museum of Art
Portrait of a Tetrarch (Galerius?)
Ancient Italy: Splendors of the Archaelogical Sites and the Art Masterpieces of the Past by
The extensive variety and importance of Italy's archaeological heritage are known worldwide. Research by specialists, lovers of antiquity, and students, as well as the curiosity of millions of tourists from all over the globe are evidence of the fascination with the vestiges of the cultures and civilizations that marked the ancient history of Italy - Neolithic peoples, the Greeks, the Etruscans, the Romans and the Holy Roman Empire. The archaeological ruins and objects they left behind have been a permanent source of appeal to artists, writers and scholars during the Renaissance, the age of the Grand Tour, the period of heroic archaelology in the 19th century, and modern scientific archaeologists. As a result, this volume was compiled, a major work dedicated to the Italy of the past, with high-quality photographs and a scientifically accurate text that would be both entertaining and informative. It was not easy to select the places, monuments and finds featured in this book from the immense choices of cultures, civilizations, epochs and contexts available from six millennia of history. The sheer abundance of material would tempt any editor to try to include everything. This collection includes dozens of significant archaeological sites, both famous and relatively known, that will even appeal to the lay reader. The texts have been written by young Italian archaeologists with the collaboration and supervision of Furio Durando, an archeologist and art history lecturer. He has also written Ancient Greece and contributed to several chapters of Splendors of the Lost Civilizations and Great Treasures of the World.
The Classical Roman Reader by
The Classical Roman Reader signals a new era in the study of the literature and thought of ancient Rome. From the Greek and Italian origins of Rome to the decline and fall of the empire, the firsthand accounts -- the speeches, histories, plays, philosophic texts, poetry, and more -- present ancient Rome in all of its glorious variety. Here you'll find everything under the Roman sun, from the epic poetry of Virgil to the broad comedy of Plautus; from the recipes of Apicius to Cato's treatise on farm management. Covering such topics as politics, architecture, cooking, religion, the role of women, science, rhetoric, warfare, and law, among others, The Classical Roman Reader will appeal to general readers wanting a ready reference to major Roman figures and ideas and students looking for the first time at the glory of Roman civilization.
Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome by
Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome, Updated Edition provides full access to 1,200 years of Roman civilization from the eighth century BCE to the fifth century CE. Including information that is often hard to find and even harder to decipher, this volume presents comprehensive coverage of ancient Roman civilization in a way that is interesting to read and easy to understand. Organized thematically, nine chapters provide in-depth analysis of all aspects of Roman life. For this updated edition, the authors have reviewed, revised, and expanded the existing text as needed and added approximately 20 to 30 new illustrations. The bibliography has been significantly expanded and the maps redrawn.
Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome by
"The rise and fall of the Roman Empire remains a crucial event in the history of Europe and the Near East, yet many reference sources either omit important facts and figures about the period or take them for granted. Now, Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome provides full access to the 1,200 years of Roman rule from the 8th century B.C. to the 5th century A.D., including information that is often hard to find and even harder to decipher." "Organized thematically, nine chapters provide in-depth analysis of all aspects of Roman life, the Republic and the Empire, military affairs, geography of the Roman world, towns and countryside, travel and trade, literature and the arts, religion, economy and industry and everyday life." "The myriad topics covered include rulers; the legal and governmental system; architectural feats such as the famous Roman roads and aqueducts, Hadrian's Wall and the Colosseum; the Roman system of names; coinage, weights and measures; even typical Roman leisure pursuits. Each chapter includes an extensive bibliography as well as site-specific photographs and line drawings, more than 125 in all. Maps chart the expansion and contraction of the territory from the foundation of the city of Rome itself to the Byzantine Empire and the ultimate decline of the West." "Clear, authoritative and highly organized, Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome provides a unique look at a civilization whose art, literature, law and engineering influenced the whole of Western Europe throughout the Middle Ages, the Renaissance and beyond."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Herculaneum by Rome, the Late Empire by 
S. P. Q. R. by
"Ancient Rome matters. Its history of empire, conquest, cruelty and excess is something against which we still judge ourselves. Its myths and stories - from Romulus and Remus to the Rape of Lucretia - still strike a chord with us. And its debates about citizenship, security and the rights of the individual still influence our own debates on civil liberty today. SPQR is a new look at Roman history from one of the world's foremost classicists. It explores not only how Rome grew from an insignificant village in central Italy to a power that controlled territory from Spain to Syria, but also how the Romans thought about themselves and their achievements, and why they are still important to us. Covering 1,000 years of history, and casting fresh light on the basics of Roman culture from slavery to running water, as well as exploring democracy, migration, religious controversy, social mobility and exploitation in the larger context of the empire, this is a definitive history of ancient Rome. SPQR is the Romans' own abbreviation for their state: Senatus Populusque Romanus, 'the Senate and People of Rome'"
Treasures of Ancient Rome by
The Twelve Caesars by
An unforgettable depiction of the Roman empire at the height of its power and reach, and an elegantly sensational retelling of the lives and times of the twelve Caesars
One of the them was a military genius, one murdered his mother and fiddled while Rome burned, another earned the nickname "sphincter artist". Six of their number were assassinated, two committed suicide--and five of them were elevated to the status of gods. They have come down to posterity as the "twelve Caesars"--Julius Caesar, Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, Nero, Galba, Otho, Vitellius, Vespasian, Titus, and Domitian. Under their rule, from 49 BC to AD 96, Rome was transformed from a republic to an empire, whose model of regal autocracy would survive in the West for more than a thousand years.
Matthew Dennison offers a beautifully crafted sequence of colorful biographies of each emperor, triumphantly evoking the luxury, license, brutality, and sophistication of imperial Rome at its zenith. But as well as vividly recreating the lives, loves, and vices of this motley group of despots, psychopaths and perverts, he paints a portrait of an era of political and social revolution, of the bloody overthrow of a proud, five-hundred-year-old political system and its replacement by a dictatorship which, against all the odds, succeeded more convincingly than oligarchic democracy in governing a vast international landmass.
The Roman emperors : a biographical guide to the rulers of imperial Rome, 31 BC-AD 476 by 
