Art & Art History: DVD, Websites, Streaming Video

Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry by Alison Klayman This is a documentary that chronicles artist and activist Ai Weiwei as he prepares for a series of exhibitions and gets into an increasing number of clashes with the Chinese government. Follows Ai "from the close of the 2008 Beijing Olympics (for which he helped design the acclaimed 'Bird's Nest' stadium) to his arrest and 81-day detention in 2011."

Architectures 3 by Richard Copans A privileged, unprecedented inside look at the work of superstar architects. This volume examines the extraordinary Jewish Museum of Berlin; Louis Sullivan's Auditorium Theatre in Chicago; a Dominican convent; Charles Garnier's Parisian Opera and more.

Art: 21: Art in the Twenty-First Century by Susan Dowling and Susan Sollins "Meet contemporary artists at work and speaking in their own words--direct, accessible, and unfiltered--in Season Four of the Emmy-nominated ART:21--ART IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURY documentary series. ... This unique four-hour series spotlights 17 artists working in the United States today, and invites viewers behind the scenes to see artists at work in their homes, communities, and unexpected sites--from an old-growth forest to a military base to a film set. The artists ... explore questions ... about politics, mortality, love, nature, science, order, chaos, and more. Themes of Romance, Protest, Ecology, and Paradox provide a connective thread between profiles ..."

Basquiat by Jon Kilik In 1981, a nineteen-year-old unknown graffiti writer takes the New York art world by storm.

Bomb it 2 by Jon Reiss In Bomb It 2, the follow-up to the explosive 2007 global graffiti documentary Bomb It, Reiss takes audiences to previously unexplored areas of the Middle East, Europe, Asia, the United States, and Australia on a hunt for innovative street art and artists. Graffiti and street artists featured include Ash Keating, Bon, Great Bates, Klone, Know Hope, Stormie Mills, Vexta, Victor Ash, Xeme and more.

Building the Great Cathedrals by Scott Tiffany Carved from a hundred million pounds of stone, soaring effortlessly atop a spiderweb of masonry, Gothic cathedrals are marvels of human achievement and artistry. But how did medieval builders reach such spectacular heights? Consuming the labor of entire towns, sometimes taking a hundred years to build, these architectural marvels were crafted from just hand tools and stone. Many now teeter on the brink of catastrophic collapse.

Cave of Forgotten Dreams by Werner Herzog A breathtaking new documentary from the incomparable Werner Herzog, follows an exclusive expedition into the nearly inaccessible Chauvet Cave in France, home to the most ancient visual art known to have been created by man. An unforgettable cinematic experience that provides an unique glimpse of pristine artwork dating back to human hands over 30,000 years ago, almost twice as old as any previous discovery.

Civilizations by Mary Beard Inspired by Kenneth Clark's highly acclaimed mini-series "Civilisation", "Civilizations" surveys the history of art, from antiquity to the present, emphasizing the role art and the creative imagination have played in the creation of culture and civilization.

David Hockney: A Bigger Picture Filmed over three years, this documentary is an unprecedented record of a major artist at work. It captures David Hockney's return from California to paint his native Yorkshire, outside, through the seasons, and in all weathers. It tells the story of a homecoming and gives a revealing portrait of what inspires and motivates today's greatest living British-born artist.

Exit through the gift shop by Banksy This is the inside story of Street Art - a brutal and revealing account of what happens when fame, money and vandalism collide. It follows an eccentric Los Angeles based French shop-keeper turned amateur film-maker as he attempts to capture many of the world's most infamous vandals on camera, only to have British stencil artist Banksy turn the camcorder back on its owner with wildly unexpected results. This fascinating study of low-level criminality, comradeship, and incompetence is modern-day fairytale ... with bolt cutters.

Georgia O'Keeffe by Michael Cristofer Follows the life of American artist Georgia O'Keeffe and her tumultuous relationship with her husband, photographer Alfred Stieglitz. As their relationship suffers, Alfred takes a younger lover. Georgia's search for solace moves her west, where she finds new inspiration for her paintings, and ultimately her own voice, in the New Mexico landscape.

Hans Hofmann: Artist/Teacher Teacher/Artist by Madeline Amgott A documentary about a first-generation Abstract Expressionist--friends with Picasso, Pollack, and Matisse--and how his teaching influenced a generation of young American artists.

How Art Made the World by Nigel Spivey Reveals how the first big artistic discoveries were made and how they have cascaded down the centuries to define the look of the present day. Encompassing everything from cave paints to ceramics and pyramids to palaces, this film explores the global trend for unrealistic depictions of the human body; the secret powers of the feature film; how politicians manage to manipulate people so easily; visions of the afterlife; and why we use imagery at all.

The Life and Times of Frida Kahlo by Daylight Films Frida Kahlo was more than a great painter: her life and art reflected the maelstrom of the revolution and culture that defined the first half of the twentieth century. This film combines Kahlo's artwork with photos, archival films and interviews.

Living treasures of Japan by Miriam Birch Profiles nine artisans and performing artists who are recognized by law as "holders of important intangible cultural properties" and are charged with publicly exhibiting their works and teaching their artistry to apprentices. Pays visits to a potter, doll sculptor, puppeteer, papermaker, koto musician, swordmaker, textile weaver and dyer, kabuki theater actor, and bellmaker.

Matisse / Picasso An encounter with the two pioneers, who opened new frontiers. In spite of their initial rivalry and their very different temperaments, each came to acknowledge the other as his only true equal. Includes footage, photos, and examples of their work.

Paris: The Luminous Years by Concetta Tomei From 1905 to 1930, Paris was the magnetic center for radical innovation and experiment, the Mecca for creative talents. On-camera, dramatic and historic moments are recalled by participants in these legendary events e.g. Marc Chagall, Igor Stravinsky, Jean Cocteau, Aaron Copland, and many more. Traces who came to Paris and why, whom they met, what they made there, and how being in Paris transformed them and their work.

Pollock by Ed Harris Fellow artists and lovers Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner are at the center of New York's 1940's art scene, but as Krasner neglects her work to push Pollock's career forward, Pollock begins to unravel emotionally. Pollock and Krasner escape to the country to marry, and soon, Pollock creates the work that makes him the first internationally-famous modern painter in America. But with fame and fortune comes a volatile temper and severe self-doubt; before long, Pollock's life threatens to explode"

The post-impressionists. Cézanne by David Manson In his landscape and still-life paintings, Cezanne developed a revolutionary new approach to color and perspective. His influence on 20th century artists was so great that he is now referred to as the Father of Modern Painting.

The post-impressionists. Gauguin by David Manson Examines the life and work of post-impressionist master Paul Gauguin, featuring expert commentary and location footage.

The post-impressionists. Munch by David Manson In 1893 Edvard Munch created a masterpiece which has become a defining image of the 20th Century. The Scream is a picture whose sense of anguish reveals much about our own lives, as well as the life of the artist who created it.

The post-impressionists. Toulouse-Lautrec by David Manson Examines the life and work of post-impressionist painter Henri Toulouse-Lautrec, featuring expert commentary and location footage.

The post-impressionists. Van Gogh by David Manson Examines the life and work of van Gogh, featuring expert commentary and location footage.

The Private Life of a Masterpiece (Parts 1-5) by Russell Davies This award-winning series reveals the full and fascinating stories behind famous works of art, not just how they came to be created, but also how they influenced others and came to have a life of their own in the modern world. The works of art featured here are both instantly familiar and profoundly mysterious. Revolutionary in their conception, and iconic years after their execution, they each have their own compelling stories. For behind the beautiful canvases and sculptures are tales of political revolution, wartime escapes, massive ego clashes, social scandal, financial wrangling and shocking violence.

The Shape of Idaho Art: A Portrait of 8 Contemporary Artists by Herrett Museum, Twin Falls, ID Program covers the careers of eight contemporary artists utilizing interviews with the artists and showing their work.

Simon Schama's Power of Art by Simon Schama Focusing on eight iconic works of art, this series reveals the history of visual imagination through the ages. A combination of reconstruction, photography and storytelling transport the viewer back to the intense moments when great works were conceived and born: the murderous, messianic world of Baroque Rome; opulent, parvenu Amsterdam; paranoid, revolutionary Paris; Victorian England suffocating beneath riches and righteousness; the madhouses and brothels of Provence; the carnage of civil war Spain; 1950s New York, caught between Cold War jitters and Manhattan glitter. In each place, a great artist is backed into a corner, facing a crisis, given a chance to confound his rivals, enemies and critics one more time.

Sister Wendy: The Complete Collection by Wendy Beckett Includes: 'Sister Wendy's Story of Painting,' 'Sister Wendy's Grand Tour,' 'Sister Wendy's Odyssey,' 'Sister Wendy's Pains of Glass,' and more.

Storyboarding by Stephanie Torta; Vladimir Minuty This revised text is designed to demonstrate the process of converting static images to an effective animation of characters and effects. Unlike many of its competitors, Storyboarding uses the accompanying DVD to show the storyboards in conjunction with a final short film and script. Material on game scripting, Motion Graphics, and Web comics has been added. The text and tutorial disc take an in-depth view on the step-by-step process for developing characters, scenes, and camera angles through the full production of a finished project. The book includes numerous techniques for analyzing scripts, provides a comprehensive look at the various types of storyboards, and covers methods used in both film-making and video game storyboards. Features: * Uses the companion DVD with an original short film, Overtime , to demonstrate the storyboards in conjunction with the script * Includes video game, motion graphic, animatic, motion comic, and e-learning storyboards with selected sample projects * Loaded with projects, figures, tips, and interviews that offer practical advice * Includes in-text commentaries on the storyboards by both the director and artist * Includes a comprehensive glossary of key terms used in the film industry

Watercolor techniques: Wet glazing by Jean Pederson

Who gets to call it art?: the legend of Henry Geldzahler, 1935-1994 by Peter Rosen Henry Geldzahler (1935-94), star curator and cultural impresario, lived a life worth examining. The first curator of the Department of 20th-Century Art at the Metropolitan Museum, first director of visual arts for the National Endowment of the Arts, and the first full-time commissioner of cultural affairs for New York City, his landmark 1969 show at the Metropolitan is still remembered with awe. "New York Painting and Sculpture: 1940-1970" filled 35 galleries with more than 400 groundbreaking works of contemporary art. This film is not a full biographical examination of this singular figure's life, but rather a portrait in profile, as many of 'his' artists talk about Geldzahler and what his friendship meant to them.

William Kentridge: Anything Is Possible by Charles Atlas "'William Kentridge: anything is possible' provides a rare, in-depth look at the life and work of the internationally acclaimed South African artist, William Kentridge. Working in a variety of media - including sculpture, drawing, animation, tapestry, film, theater, and opera - Kentridge tackles a broad range of subjects, from cataclysmic historical events to poignant personal moments. [The film] features exclusive interviews with Kentridge discussing his family's history and life under apartheid, and revealing the importance of improvisation, inquiry, and open-ended possibilities in his process. Follow Kentridge on an international journey that documents his work behind the scenes: from the intimacy of his Johannesburg studio, to galleries worldwide, to backstage at New York's Metropolitan Opera as he develops, stages, and directs Shostakovich's The Nose, based on Gogol's story"--Container.