Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Be the Best Bad Presenter Ever : Break the Rules, Make Mistakes, and Win Them Over by Karen Hough doesn't want you to be "perfect." People fear public speaking because they worry about having to conform to all sorts of handed-down rules that tie them up in knots and put their audiences to sleep. It's authenticity and passion that win people over, she says, not "polish." But you can't be authentic if you're following guidelines that drain the life and personality out of your presentation. Hough debunks over a dozen myths about presenting to make it more fun and natural for everyone. She explains how practicing in front of a mirror makes you worse, why you should never end with questions, and much more. She includes true stories of people who not only were able to become great presenters by being "bad" but actually came to enjoy it! Like them, by following Karen Hough's wise and witty advice, you'll be able to tear up the old rules and embrace and develop your own style. You'll be freed to be a living, breathing, occasionally clumsy human being whose enthusiasm is powerful and infectious.
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Brief : Make a Bigger Impact by Saying Less by Get heard by being clear and concise The only way to survive in business today is to be a lean communicator. Busy executives expect you to respect and manage their time more effectively than ever. You need to do the groundwork to make your message tight and to the point. The average professional receives 304 emails per week and checks their smartphones 36 times an hour and 38 hours a week. This inattention has spread to every part of life. The average attention span has shrunk from 12 seconds in 2000 to eight in 2012. So, throw them a lifeline and be brief. Author Joe McCormack tackles the challenges of inattention, interruptions, and impatience that every professional faces. His proven B.R.I.E.F. approach, which stands for Background, Relevance, Information, Ending, and Follow up, helps simplify and clarify complex communication. BRIEF will help you summarize lengthy information, tell a short story, harness the power of infographics and videos, and turn monologue presentations into controlled conversations. Details the B.R.I.E.F. approach to distilling your message into a brief presentation Written by the founder and CEO of Sheffield Marketing Partners, which specializes in message and narrative development, who is also a recognized expert in Narrative Mapping, a technique that helps clients achieve a clearer and more concise message Long story short: BRIEF will help you gain the muscle you need to eliminate wasteful words and stand out from the rest. Be better. Be brief.
Publication Date: 2014-02-10
Communication in Responsible Business : Strategies, Concepts, and Cases by Stakeholders today want to know about your company’s social and environmental performance. Effectively communicating these topics has become critical to economic success. This book offers an extensive toolbox of the most effective instruments that can help you, and each chapter provides specific examples of how to communicate social and cause-related marketing, sustainability reporting, issues and crisis communication, vision, mission statements and codes, and web-based stakeholder communication. You will find hands-on concepts and actual illustrations. Chapter cases provide rich practical coverage and translate concepts into solutions for dayto- day business realities.
Publication Date: 2012-08-30
The Essential Guide to Business Communication for Finance Professionals by Communication skills are a competitive advantage for today’s finance professionals. Savvy professionals know that employers want and need employees with excellent relationship building, writing, and presentation skills. The Essential Guide to Business Communication for Finance Professionals asks its readers to adopt the “communicate or die” philosophy in their approach to their careers. Two business professors with years of experience in finance and communication offer advice and tips for approaching some of the most common business communication situations faced by today’s finance professionals. Readers will walk away from this book with tools to manage their professional image and reputation.
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Gower Handbook of Internal Communication by A comprehensive guide to managing communication within organizations, the Handbook recognises Internal Communication's continued growth as a management discipline. It is aimed at leaders who want insight into IC techniques for use in both day-to-day operational and change situations, for example, and also at the communication specialist seeking shared wisdom and new ideas. Early chapters examine changes in the strategic context in which today's IC departments are operating. These include organizations' increasing need for innovation and responsiveness in a superfast changing environment; employees' increasing assertion of rights and personal requirements at work; management's increasing recognition of the importance of corporate reputation/brand value, particularly how to sustain and extend it; and finally, the effects on work and management patterns of digital communication. Step-by-step guides introduce you to creating IC strategies and to carrying out research and measurement.
Publication Date: 2016-04-22
The Handbook of Organizational Rhetoric and Communication by A one-stop source for scholars and advanced students who want to get the latest and best overview and discussion of how organizations use rhetoric While the disciplinary study of rhetoric is alive and well, there has been curiously little specific interest in the rhetoric of organizations. This book seeks to remedy that omission. It presents a research collection created by the insights of leading scholars on rhetoric and organizations while discussing state-of-the-art insights from disciplines that have and will continue to use rhetoric. Beginning with an introduction to the topic, The Handbook of Organizational Rhetoric and Communication offers coverage of the foundations and macro-contexts of rhetoric--as well as its use in organizational communication, public relations, marketing, management and organization theory. It then looks at intellectual and moral foundations without which rhetoric could not have occurred, discussing key concepts in rhetorical theory. The book then goes on to analyze the processes of rhetoric and the challenges and strategies involved. A section is also devoted to discussing rhetorical areas or genres--namely contextual application of rhetoric and the challenges that arise, such as strategic issues for management and corporate social responsibility. The final part seeks to answer questions about the book's contribution to the understanding of organizational rhetoric. It also examines what perspectives are lacking, and what the future might hold for the study of organizational rhetoric. Examines the advantages and perils of organizations that seek to project their voices in order to shape society to their benefits Contains chapters working in the tradition of rhetorical criticism that ask whether organizations' rhetorical strategies have fulfilled their organizational and societal value Discusses the importance of obvious, traditional, nuanced, and critically valued strategies such as rhetorical interaction in ways that benefit discourse Explores the potential, risks, paradoxes, and requirements of engagement Reflects the views of a team of scholars from across the globe Features contributions from organization-centered fields such as organizational communication, public relations, marketing, management, and organization theory The Handbook of Organizational Rhetoric and Communication will be an ideal resource for advanced undergraduate students, graduate students, and scholars studying organizational communications, public relations, management, and rhetoric.
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
How to Write Brilliant Business Blogs, Volume I : The Skills and Techniques You Need by Here are the basic business blogging skills you need to learn before you can write excellent business blogs for your company, your employer, or other activity. In this volume, we look at the basic issues for business blogging including business writing skills, blogging strategy, types of business blogs, how to promote your business blog posts, writing style and grammar for business, how to use images, and many more—as well as a brief look at search engine optimization for business blogs.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
How to Write Brilliant Business Blogs, Volume II : What to Write About by It is easy to find out how to set up a business blog, but not so easy to find out what to write for it. In this volume, we look at what you can write for your business blogs that makes use of your knowledge of your business customers and prospects—how to create business blogs that address your readers’ real business problems and issues, how to use humor, passion, and compassion to enhance your business blogs, as well as proven formats like testimonials, case studies, and much more.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Message Not Received : Why Business Communication Is Broken and How to Fix It by Get your message across the right way with clear communication Message Not Received provides the tools and techniques that make an effective writer and public speaker. Particularly on topics related to data and technology, effective communication can present a challenge in business settings. This book shows readers how those challenges can be overcome, and how to keep the message from getting lost in the face of mismatched levels of knowledge, various delivery media, and the library of jargon that too often serves as a substitute for real, meaningful language. Coverage includes idea crystallization, the rapidly changing business environment, Kurzweil's law of accelerating change, and our increasing inability to understand what we are saying to each other. Rich with visuals including diagrams, slides, graphs, charts, and infographics, this guide provides accessible information and actionable guidance toward more effectively conveying the message. Today, few professionals can ignore the tsunami of technology that permeates their lives, advancing far more rapidly that most of us can handle. As a result, too many people think that successful speaking means using buzzwords, jargon, and invented words that sound professional, but don't actually communicate meaning. This book provides a path through the noise, helping readers get their message across succinctly, efficiently, and effectively. Adapt your approach for more effective communication Learn the critical skill of crystallizing ideas Tailor your style to the method of delivery Ensure that your message is heard, understood, and internalized It doesn't matter whether you're pitching to a venture capitalist, explaining daily challenges to a non-tech manager, or speaking to hundreds of people - jargon-filled word salad uses a lot of words to say very little. Better communication requires a different approach, and Message Not Received gives you a roadmap to more effective speaking and writing for any audience or medium.
Publication Date: 2015-03-02
Organizational Change : creating change through strategic communication by A comprehensive guide to essential theories and practices of change creation and implementation Organizational Change provides an essential overview to implementing deliberate and focused change through effective communication strategies. Author Laurie Lewis integrates academic rigor with real-world case studies to provide a comprehensive examination of both theoretical and pragmatic approaches to alterations and modifications of organizational structures. Emphasizing the importance of formal and informal communication in implementation of change, this text investigates methods of information dissemination and examines various channels for communicating change. Coverage of stakeholder relationships, concepts of uncertainty and resistance, assessing change outcomes, and more provides readers with a solid foundational knowledge of change dynamics in organizations. Extensively revised and updated, this second edition provides new case studies on topics such as design of input solicitation, and current research in areas including the persuasive effects of sidedness or inoculation, and socially supportive communication. Improved pedagogical tools, streamlined organization of topics, and additional charts, graphs, and images reinforce efficient presentation of material and increase reader retention and comprehension. Examines empirical, theoretical, and conceptual approaches to strategic communication during organization change Explores key elements of change, appropriate communication strategies, and outcome evaluation methods Presents adaptive and programmatic strategic implementation models Provides studies of real-world companies and actual research on organizational change Debunks popular myths and clarifies misunderstandings of research and theory on implementation of change Demonstrates how Individuals, groups, and entire organizations can create change and influence implementation. Organizational Change provides a thorough survey of the communication and implementation strategies, methods, and conceptual foundations of change in public and private sector organizations, suitable for undergraduate and graduate study and practitioners with interest in complex change implementation.
Call Number: HD58.8 .L49 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-06
The Presentation Book for Senior Managers by This book is a comprehensive guide covering all the essential ingredients for delivering presentations that engage and persuade a professional audience. The author covers everything from planning and structuring content to delivering with confidence. Content is designed for senior leaders and managers in professional organizations who need to present to a wide variety of audiences ranging from team meetings to conference speeches. The focus of the book is on engaging with the audience in a way that informs, entertains, and persuades. It is written by a former city lawyer who now helps MBA candidates master presentations—someone who understands the pitfalls of talking at audiences and providing little value.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Project Communication from Start to Finish by Research shows that 90 percent of a project manager's time is spent communicating with various stakeholders. This book offers strategies that enhance communication throughout the project cycle and describes innovative techniques for bridging cultural gaps, increasing understanding, and ensuring project success.
Publication Date: 2019-07-30
Simply Said : Communicating Better at Work and Beyond by Master the art of communication to improve outcomes in any scenario Simply Said is the essential handbook for business communication. Do you ever feel as though your message hasn't gotten across? Do details get lost along the way? Have tense situations ever escalated unnecessarily? Do people buy into your ideas? It all comes down to communication. We all communicate, but few of us do it well. From tough presentations to everyday transactions, there is no scenario that cannot be improved with better communication skills. This book presents an all-encompassing guide to improving your communication, based on the Exec|Comm philosophy: we are all better communicators when we focus focus less on ourselves and more on other people. More than just a list of tips, this book connects skills with scenarios and purpose to help you hear and be heard. You'll learn the skills to deliver great presentations and clear and persuasive messages, handle difficult conversations, effectively manage, lead with authenticity and more, as you discover the secrets of true communication. Communication affects every interaction every day. Why not learn to do it well? This book provides comprehensive guidance toward getting your message across, and getting the results you want. Shift your focus from yourself to other people Build a reputation as a good listener Develop your written and oral communications for the greatest impact Inspire and influence others Communicate more effectively in any business or social situation Did that email come across as harsh? Did you offend someone unintentionally? Great communication skills give you the power to influence someone's thinking and guide them to where you need them to be. Simply Said teaches you the critical skills that make you more effective in business and in life.
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
Strategic Connections : The New Face of Networking in a Collaborative World by Today's organizations are collaborative. With old command-and-control methods replaced by openness and transparency, networking has become an essential professional skill-expected of everyone, at every level. Unveiling eight indispensable competencies for the new Network-Oriented Workforce, Strategic Connections provides practical advice for building better, more productive business relationships. Readers will discover how to: Commit to a positive, proactive networking mindset * Align networking activities with individual and organizational objectives * Leverage their contacts by organizing them into strategic groups * Earn trust-a prerequisite for collaboration * Boost their social acumen and increase their likeability * Master conversational skills and deepen interactions * Employ storytelling to make communications memorable * Use networking to deliver value to the company Thanks to technology, new contacts are only a click away. But the level of connection and collaboration required for real success demands advanced face-to-face relationship-building skills. This book gives you the tools you need to meet goals, execute strategies, foster innovation, and make yourself invaluable to your organization.
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Today's Business Communication : A How-To Guide for the Modern Professional by This handy guide to excellent business communications is perfect for anyone, whether preparing for a career, launching a career, or advancing in a career. Future savvy business professionals understand that every organization expects employees to be exceptional business communicators and this book will get you there. Inside, the authors lead you through the most frequently encountered business communication situations with a combined 30 years of marketing and communication experience. Their success will give you very accessible, entertaining, and informative answers to your questions. Also included are real anecdotes from business professionals from different industries.
Publication Date: 2014-06-15
Writing for the Workplace by Employers consider communication one of the most critical skills for workers today. Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy- to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes. This concise book offers busy readers concrete strategies to improve their workplace writing.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Writing Online : A Guide to Effective Digital Communication at Work by Online writing plays a complex and increasingly prominent role in the life of organizations. From newsletters to press releases, social media marketing and advertising, to virtual presentations and interactions via e-mail and instant messaging, digital writing intertwines and affects the day-to-day running of the company - yet we rarely pay enough attention to it. Typing on the screen can become particularly problematic because digital text-based communication increases the opportunities for misunderstanding: it lacks the direct audio-visual contact and the norms and conventions that would normally help people to understand each other. Providing a clear, convincing and approachable discussion, this book addresses arenas of online writing: virtual teamwork, instant messaging, emails, corporate communication channels, and social media. Instead of offering do and don't lists, however, it teaches the reader to develop a practice that is observant, reflective, and grounded in the understanding of the basic principles of language and communication. Through real-life examples and case studies, it helps the reader to notice previously unnoticed small details, question previously unchallenged assumptions and practices, and become a competent digital communicator in a wide range of professional contexts.
Publication Date: 2015-10-29
Zen and the Art of Business Communication : A Step-by-Step Guide to Improving Your Business Writing by In today’s online world, our professional image depends on our ability to communicate. Whether we’re communicating by email, text, social media, written reports or presentations, how we use our words often determines how others view us. This book offers tips and techniques that can improve anyone’s professional image. The author covers how to analyze multiple audiences and strategies for communicating your message effectively for each; structuring your message for greatest readability and effect; persuasion and tone; and how to face your own fears of writing. The content is delivered in a simple, clear style that reflects the Zen approach of the title, perfect for both the entry-level employee and the seasoned executive.
Publication Date: 2016-09-11
The Art of Listening by Uses family and workplace situations to teach good listening techniques. Illustrates the surprising value of silence, the need to find something of interest in the person speaking, and the importance of staying out of the speaker's way. Emphasizes the role of body language in listening, and the need to "listen between the words" for feelings. Shows how to improve communication through a series of eye-opening cross-cultural situations and teaches business etiquette by showing how to make and acknowledge introductions, the hidden message of the handshake, cubicle courtesy, and electronic etiquette.
Call Number: DVD BF323.L5A78 2007
Publication Date: 2007
From text to tweet : communication trends in the 21st century by Presented September 21st, 2011 at the Herrett Center for Arts and Science, College of Southern Idaho.
Sponsored by the Herrett Forum and the Earl and Hazel Faulkner Endowment at the College of Southern Idaho.
Technological changes in the last decade have forever changed the way human beings communicate with each other. We are more connected, yet more isolated. We have virtually unlimited access to information; yet view that information with suspicion and hesitation. We willing offer details of our lives in digital form; yet deal with issues of privacy on a daily basis. Communication in the 21st century is a complicated blend of opportunity and anxiety that deserves the scrutiny of a critical perspective.
Call Number: DVD P90 .S44 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Secrets of Body Language by Examines political icons from President Franklin D. Roosevelt to 2008 presidential hopefuls Barack Obama and John McCain. Shows how politicians and celebrities use subtle body language to persuade masses; establish power; and advance careers.
Call Number: DVD BF637.N66S43 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Secrets of Successful Speech Making by Developed in 1999, IMproSolutions will give you the tools and knowledge you need to overcome your fear of public speaking and make a persuasive speech. We realize that stage fright and making a speech is the number one fear among adults and we are here to help! Headquartered in Hollywood, CA, the company was founded by 3 time Emmy nominee and public speaking expert Scott Topper. With over two decades of public speaking, improv, and acting experience, Mr. Topper will walk you through the basics of improvising and public speaking with this Interactive home study public speaking confidence program.
Call Number: DVD PN4121.S43 2013
Publication Date: 1999-2013