Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basics of Branding: A Practical Guide for Managers by Smart branding is essential for success, yet it is often misunderstood. Developing a brand that is relevant, distinct, and emotionally compelling can be very dif_ cult for many managers, mainly because they don’t realize exactly what and how much goes into this branding process. This book will explain this process. In an easy-to-understand writing style, Gronlund will show you the fundamentals that will help develop a value proposition that will excite customers. Branding is all about creating a message or an impression that makes an impact and creates a rational and emotional connection with a customer. Forming a bond of trust and comfort will build brand equity (i.e., how people value your brand) and customer loyalty. We are living in a dynamic, transformative global economy with mind-boggling advances in technology. Managers today can easily become preoccupied with social media vehicles and the innovative features of electronic devices, and hence neglect the importance of the content or the message. Adhering to the core elements of positioning and branding will help them develop more emotionally rich and powerful content. And B2B managers will better understand and discover the real value of good branding, so that their marketing and sales communications will go beyond product features and emphasize relevant benefits that will strengthen their relationships with targeted customers.
Publication Date: 2013-08-23
Brand NFL: Making and Selling America's Favorite Sport by Professional football today is a $6 billion sports entertainment industry. In this astute field-level view of the National Football League since 1960, Michael Oriard looks closely at the development of the sport and at the image of the NFL and its unique place in American life. At the heart of this story is a question with no simple answer: has the extraordinary commercializing and "branding" of NFL football since the late 1980s ironically weakened the cultural power of a sport whose appeal for more than a century was fundamentally noncommercial? Oriard skillfully traces the evolution of the Super Bowl, the development of NFL Films and ESPN, the rise of the commissioner as corporate CEO, the management of player demands, changing attitudes toward race, and the roles of icons such as Vince Lombardi, Joe Namath, and Deion Sanders. As a former member of the Kansas City Chiefs (1970-1973) who lost his job at the end of the first players' strike, Oriard offers unique insight as both insider and historian. He details how the game is marketed as entertainment rather than sport, making the NFL ripe for popular consumption.
Publication Date: 2007-09-03
Brand Zero : The Complete Branding Guide to Start-ups by If you are thinking of starting up a business whether online or in a pushcart or a small café you need to look into your branding. (how does it work, anyway?), brace yourself...According to Jacky Tai, you should start your branding exercise as early as possible. Brand Zero distils the authors wealth of experience in grappling with branding strategies in the real world into a practical and easy-to-understand guide anyone.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
BrandED: tell your story, build relationships, and empower learning by
Call Number: LB2806 .S54 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-24
Developing Insights on Branding in the B2B Context : Case Studies from Business Practice by This book presents real life business-to-business (B2B) branding cases. The book deploys a theoretical-practical approach, where theoretical and conceptual frameworks related to key branding topics are supported by empirical case studies. Each case helps to illustrate the framework and discuss its applicability in practice. Through the presented exploratory case studies, the authors provide fresh examples from business practice that are easy to comprehend by undergraduate students, and are easily applied by managers in the field. The book consists of three main parts, covering important aspects of B2B branding. It presents several aspects of external as well as internal branding, supplemented by novel approaches in B2B branding. In addition, the book offers examples of best practices, as well as notable mistakes made by companies involved in branding processes. Thus, it provides a holistic perspective, which will enable companies to learn not only about best practices, but also about pitfalls in the area of corporate branding. In addition to the novel practical cases, each chapter provides relevant theoretical underpinnings presented in a simple, down-to-earth manner. The book highlights recent research areas and coming trends within B2B branding. The book is suitable for everyone with an interest in B2B branding, regardless of background or previous knowledge of branding.
Publication Date: 2018-08-09
Fostering Brand Community Through Social Media by This book focuses on building and maintaining brand community in the emerging, dynamic space of social media. A theoretical model encompassing brand characteristics, relational factors, and characteristics of the brand user community is used as a structure to explain the various aspects of online brand communities. Furthermore, the authors discuss how online brand communities differ from and can be used to complement traditional, face-to-face brand communities. Brand managers, social media managers, and other members of the brand team will find this book useful for strategic decision-making in both building and maintaining brand communities. In addition, this book will serve as a practical guide for working professionals enrolled in executive education degree programs as these programs continue to be developed in universities throughout the world.
Publication Date: 2016-02-15
How Brands Grow: what marketers don't know by This book provides evidence-based answers to the key questions asked by marketers every day. Tackling issues such as how brands grow, how advertising really works, what price promotions really do and how loyalty programs really affect loyalty How Brands Grow presents decades of research in a style that is written for marketing professionals to grow their brands. It is the first book to present these laws in context and to explore their meaning and application. The most distinctive element to this book is that the laws presented are tried and tested; they have been found to hold over varied conditions, time and countries. This is contra to most marketing texts and indeed, much information provides evidence that much modern marketing theory is far from soundly based.
Call Number: HF5415.1255.S53 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-12
Origination: The Geographies of Brands and Branding by Origination: The Geographies of Brands and Branding offers innovative theoretical and conceptual frameworks relating to the ways that actors create meaning and value in commodity brands and branding through processes of geographical association. Provides innovative conceptualization and theorization to facilitate an understanding of the geographical dimensions of brands and branding Challenges current interpretations of brands as vehicles of homogenization in globalization Establishes the theoretical and conceptual foundations of a more geographically sensitive approach through rigorous empirical examination of the under-researched geographical differentiation of commodity brands and branding Presents innovative new research and analysis of the socio-spatial biographies of the Newcastle Brown Ale, Burberry and Apple brands Forges strong new connections between political and cultural economy approaches within geography Provides a distinctive and incisive conceptual and theoretical framework capable of engaging other branded commodities and their branding in other times and places
Publication Date: 2015-03-24
Retail Marketing and Branding: A Definitive Guide to Maximizing ROI by Retail Marketing and Branding, 2nd Edition looks at how retailers can make more out of their marketing money with retail best practices in branding and marketing spend optimization. The second edition of Retail Marketing and Branding includes the following updates: * New and updated case examples * Updated figures and examples throughout * New interviewers with recent experiences * Additional chapters
Publication Date: 2012-12-03
Secret History of Brands: The Dark and Twisted Beginnings of the Brand Names We Know and Love by We live our lives immersed in name brand products. It's hard to drive down the street without seeing a plethora of chain restaurants, car dealerships, branded clothing they're all around us. What most of us don't know is that the origins of many of the most well-known and beloved brands in the world are shrouded in controversy, drug use and sometimes even addled with blatant racism.A Secret History of Brands cuts through the rumors and urban legends and paints a picture of the true dark history of famous brands, like Coca-Cola, Hugo Boss, Adidas, Ford, Bayer, Chanel and BMW among others. Explore the mystery of the cocaine content of Coca-Cola, the Hitler-Henry Ford connection and why Bayer is famous for asprin, but began their journey with Heroin, and how Kellogg's Corn Flakes were crafted to deter sexual arousal. Thoroughly researched, McNabb details firsthand conducted interviews alongside fairly weighed research to present the decisive view of brands histories that you haven't heard of yet.
Publication Date: 2017-10-17
60-Minute Brand Strategist: The Essential Brand Book for Marketing Professionals by Praise for 60-Minute Brand Strategist "A fresh take on the wisdom of putting brand strategy at the heart of corporate strategy. Brilliant insights for a fast-moving world." --Angela Ahrendts, CEO, Burberry "Idris Mootee paints a sharp, comprehensive, and finely articulated analysis of the potential of meaningful brands in the 21st century's cultural scenario and business landscape. The result is a smart manual that reminds you and your company how to build relevant, authentic, sustainable, and successful brands in an evolving society." --Mauro Porcini, Chief Design Officer, PepsiCo Inc. "Idris's book teaches us how to engage today's increasingly cynical consumers on a deeper emotional level to build real equity and leadership. He demonstrates how to break out of the box and connect business strategy to brand strategy, and how the right brand story never really ends!" --Blair Christie, SVP and CMO, Cisco Systems, Inc. "It's rare to find a book that's both inspiring and practical but Idris nailed it! He has crafted the ultimate guide to brand building in the connected world with visual clarity and thought-provoking strategy." --Eric Ryan, cofounder, Method Products, Inc. This book is about one thing only: branding. Period. In this economy ruled by ideas, the only sustainable form of leadership is brand leadership. 60-Minute Brand Strategist offers a fast-paced, field-tested view of how branding decisions happen in the context of business strategy, not just in marketing communications. With a combi-nation of perspectives from business strategy, customer experience, and even anthropology, this new and updated edition outlines the challenges traditional branding faces in a hyper-connected world. This essential handbook of brand marketing offers an encyclopedia of do's and don'ts, including new case studies of how these concepts are being used by the world's most successful and valuable brands. 60-Minute Brand Strategist is your battle plan, filled with powerful branding tools and techniques to win your customers' hearts and defeat the competition.
Publication Date: 2013-05-13
Small Data : the tiny clues that uncover huge trends by Hired by the world's leading brands to find out what makes their customers tick, Martin Lindstrom spends 300 nights a year overseas, closely observing people in their homes. His goal: to uncover their hidden desires and turn them into breakthrough products for the world's leading brands. In a world besotted by the power of Big Data, he works like a modern-day Sherlock Holmes, accumulating small clues to help solve a stunningly diverse array of challenges. In Switzerland, a stuffed teddy bear in a teenage girl's bedroom helped revolutionize 1,000 stores, spread across twenty countries, for one of Europe's largest fashion retailers. In Dubai, a bracelet strung with pearls helped Jenny Craig offset its declining membership in the United States and increase loyalty by 159 percent in only a year. And in China, the look of a car dashboard led to the design of the Roomba vacuum - a great American success story. How? Lindstrom connects the dots in this globetrotting narrative that will fascinate not only marketers and brand managers, but anyone interested in the infinite variations of human behavior. The Desire Hunter combines armchair travel with forensic psychology into an interlocking series of international clue-gathering detective stories. It presents a rare behind-the-scenes look at what it takes to create global brands; and along the way, reveals surprising and counter-intuitive truths about what connects us all as humans.
Call Number: HF5415.32 .L563 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
Strategic Brand Management for B2B Markets by
Publication Date: 2015-12-14