Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
After the Flood : How the Great Recession Changed Economic Thought by The past three decades have been characterized by vast change and crises in global financial markets—and not in politically unstable countries but in the heart of the developed world, from the Great Recession in the United States to the banking crises in Japan and the Eurozone. As we try to make sense of what caused these crises and how we might reduce risk factors and prevent recurrence, the fields of finance and economics have also seen vast change, as scholars and researchers have advanced their thinking to better respond to the recent crises. A momentous collection of the best recent scholarship, After the Flood illustrates both the scope of the crises'impact on our understanding of global financial markets and the innovative processes whereby scholars have adapted their research to gain a greater understanding of them. Among the contributors are José Scheinkman and Lars Peter Hansen, who bring up to date decades of collaborative research on the mechanisms that tie financial markets to the broader economy; Patrick Bolton, who argues that limiting bankers'pay may be more effective than limiting the activities they can undertake; Edward Glaeser and Bruce Sacerdote, who study the social dynamics of markets; and E. Glen Weyl, who argues that economists are influenced by the incentives their consulting opportunities create.
Publication Date: 2017-03-23
Banking Systems Simulation by Presents information sources and methodologies for modeling and simulating banking system stability Combining both academic and institutional knowledge and experience, Banking Systems Simulation: Theory, Practice, and Application of Modeling Shocks, Losses, and Contagion presents banking system risk modeling clearly within a theoretical framework. Written from the global financial perspective, the book explores single bank risk, common bank exposures, and contagion, and how these apply on a systemic level. Zedda approaches these simulation methods logically by providing the basic building blocks of modeling and simulation, and then delving further into the individual techniques that make up a systems model. In addition, the author provides clear and detailed explanations of the foundational research into the mathematical and legal concepts used to analyze banking risk problems, measures and data for representing the main banking risk sources, and the major problems researchers are likely to encounter. There are numerous software descriptions throughout, with references and tools to help readers gain a proper understanding of the presented techniques and possibly develop new applications and research. The book concludes with an appendix that features real-world datasets and models. In addition, this book: * Provides a comprehensive overview of methods for analyzing models and simulating risk for banking and financial systems * Provides a clear presentation of the technical and legal concepts used in banking regulation * Presents unique insights from an expert's perspective, with specific coverage of assessing risks and developing what-if analyses at the systems level * Concludes with a discussion of applications, including banking systems regulation what-if tests, cost-benefit analysis, evaluations of banking systems stability effects on public finances, dimensioning, and risk-based contributions for Deposit Guarantee Schemes (DGS) and Resolution Funds Banking Systems Simulation: Theory, Practice, and Application of Modeling Shocks, Losses, and Contagion is ideal for banking researchers focusing on computational methods of analysis as well as an appropriate reference for graduate-level students in banking, finance, and computational methods. Stefano Zedda is Researcher in Financial Mathematics at the University of Cagliari in Italy and qualified as associate professor in banking and corporate finance. His research is mainly focused on quantitative analyses for banking and finance, with a particular focus on banking systems modeling and simulation. In 2008, Zedda developed the mathematical modeling and software implementation of the Systemic Model for Banking Originated Losses (SYMBOL), further developed during his activity at the European Commission. The Commission subsequently adopted it as a standard tool for testing banking regulation proposals. Stefano Zedda's research interests include banking, financial mathematics, and statistics, specifically simulation of banking and financial systems stability, banking regulation impact assessment, and interactive agent simulation.
Publication Date: 2017-04-03
Bankruption: How Community Banking Can Survive Fintech by Community banking can flourish in the face of fintech and global competition with a fresh approach to strategy Bankruption + Website offers a survival guide for community banks and credit unions searching for relevance amidst immense global competition and fintech startups. Author John Waupsh is the Chief Innovation Officer at Kasasa, where he helps spearhead financial product development and implementation across hundreds of institutions. In this guide, he draws on more than a decade in the industry to offer clear, practical advice for competing with the megabanks, direct banks, non-banks, and financial technology companies. The discussion separates futurist thinking from today's realities, and dispels common myths surrounding the U.S. community banking model in order to shed light on the real challenges facing community banking institutions. It follows with clear solutions, proven strategies, and insight from experts across banking and fintech. All arguments are backed by massive amounts of data, and the companion website provides presentation-ready visualizations to help you kickstart change within your team. In the U.S. and around the globe, fintech companies and non-banks alike are creating streams of banking services that are interesting, elegant, and refreshing--and they're winning the hearts and minds of early adopters. Not a one-size-fits-all approach, this book offers many different tactics for community banks and credit unions to compete and flourish in the new world. Analyze fintech's threat to the community banking model Learn where community banking must improve to compete Disprove the myths to uncover the real challenges banks face Adopt proven strategies to bring your organization into the future Community banks and credit unions were once the go-to institutions for local relationship banking, but their asset share has been on the decline for three decades as the big banks just got bigger. Now, fintech companies are exploiting inefficiencies in the traditional banking model to streamline service and draw even more market share, as community banking executives are left at a loss for fresh tactics and forward-looking strategy. Bankruption + Website shows how community banks can be saved, and provides a proven path to success.
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Central Bank Balance Sheet and Real Business Cycle by Central Bank Balance Sheet and Real Business Cycles argues that a deeper comprehension of changes to the central bank balance sheet can lead to more effective policymaking. Any transaction engaged in by the central bank--issuing currency, conducting foreign exchange operations, investing its own funds, intervening to provide emergency liquidity assistance and carrying out monetary policy operations--influences its balance sheet. Despite this, many central banks throughout the world have largely ignored balance sheet movements, and have instead focused on implementing interest rates. In this book, Mustapha Abiodun Akinkunmi highlights the challenges and controversies faced by central banks in the past and present when implementing policies, and analyzes the links between these policies, the central bank balance sheet, and the consequences to economies as a whole. He argues that the composition and evolution of the central bank balance sheet provides a valuable basis for understanding the needs of an economy, and is an important tool in developing strategies that would most effectively achieve policy goals. This book is an important resource for anyone interested in monetary policy or whose work is affected by the actions of the policies of central banks.
Publication Date: 2018-09-10
Crowdfund Investing for Dummies® by The easy way to get started in crowdfund investing Crowdfund investing (CFI) is going to be the next big thing on Wall Street. U.S. investment banks, brokerage houses, and law firms are gearing up for the creation and regulation of new financial products that will be available to the general public starting in early 2013. The introduction of these products will revolutionize the financing of small businesses and startups for these key reasons: Entrepreneurs and small business owners, who have had difficulty obtaining capital through traditional means (such as bank loans and angel investors) in recent years, will have access to investors around the world through social media. For the first time, investors (so-called unqualified investors) will be able to purchase an equity stake in a business or new investment vehicle. The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is overseeing the creation of online portals that will allow entrepreneurs and small investors to connect. When these portals go live in 2013, Crowdfund Investing For Dummies will be on the front line to educate business owners, other entrepreneurs, and investors alike. Crowdfund Investing For Dummies will walk entrepreneurs and investors, like yourself, through this new investing experience, beginning with explaining how and why CFI developed and what the 2012 JOBS says about CFI. Entrepreneurs will find out how much funding they can realistically raise through CFI; how to plan and launch a CFI campaign; how to manage the crowd after a campaign is successful; and how to work within the SEC’s regulations at every stage. Investors will discover: the benefits and risks of CFI ;how much they can invest; how a CFI investment may fit into a broader investment portfolio; how to provide value to the business or project being funded; and how to bow out of an investment when the time is right. Crowdfund Investing For Dummies is an indispensable resource for long time investors and novice investors alike.
Publication Date: 2013-02-11
The Federal Reserve and the Financial Crisis by In 2012, Ben Bernanke, chairman of the U.S. Federal Reserve, gave a series of lectures about the Federal Reserve and the 2008 financial crisis, as part of a course at George Washington University on the role of the Federal Reserve in the economy. In this unusual event, Bernanke revealed important background and insights into the central bank's crucial actions during the worst financial crisis since the Great Depression. Taken directly from these historic talks, The Federal Reserve and the Financial Crisis offers insight into the guiding principles behind the Fed's activities and the lessons to be learned from its handling of recent economic challenges.
Bernanke traces the origins of the Federal Reserve, from its inception in 1914 through the Second World War, and he looks at the Fed post-1945, when it began operating independently from other governmental departments such as the Treasury. During this time the Fed grappled with episodes of high inflation, finally tamed by then-chairman Paul Volcker. Bernanke also explores the period under his predecessor, Alan Greenspan, known as the Great Moderation. Bernanke then delves into the Fed's reaction to the recent financial crisis, focusing on the central bank's role as the lender of last resort and discussing efforts that injected liquidity into the banking system. Bernanke points out that monetary policies alone cannot revive the economy, and he describes ongoing structural and regulatory problems that need to be addressed.
Providing first-hand knowledge of how problems in the financial system were handled, The Federal Reserve and the Financial Crisis will long be studied by those interested in this critical moment in history.
Call Number: HG2563.B47 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The FINTECH Book by A front-line industry insider's look at the financial technology explosion The FINTECH Book is your primary guide to the financial technology revolution, and the disruption, innovation and opportunity therein. Written by prominent thought leaders in the global fintech investment space, this book aggregates diverse industry expertise into a single informative volume to provide entrepreneurs, bankers and investors with the answers they need to capitalize on this lucrative market. Key industry developments are explained in detail, and critical insights from cutting-edge practitioners offer first-hand information and lessons learned. The financial technology sector is booming, and entrepreneurs, bankers, consultants, investors and asset managers are scrambling for more information: Who are the key players? What's driving the explosive growth? What are the risks? This book collates insights, knowledge and guidance from industry experts to provide the answers to these questions and more. Get up to speed on the latest industry developments Grasp the market dynamics of the 'fintech revolution' Realize the sector's potential and impact on related industries Gain expert insight on investment and entrepreneurial opportunities The fintech market captured over US$14 billion in 2014, a three-fold increase from the previous year. New startups are popping up at an increasing pace, and large banks and insurance companies are being pushed toward increasing digital operations in order to survive. The financial technology sector is booming and The FINTECH Book is the first crowd-sourced book on the subject globally, making it an invaluable source of information for anybody working in or interested in this space.
Publication Date: 2016-03-10
How to Day Trade for a Living: a beginner's guide to trading tools and tactics, money management, discipline and trading psychology by
Call Number: HG4515.95 .A95 2016
Publication Date: 2016-07-28
The Index Revolution: Why Investors Should Join It Now by The evidence-based approach to a more worthwhile portfolio The Index Revolution argues that active investing is a loser's game, and that a passive approach is more profitable in today's market. By adjusting your portfolio asset weights to match a performance index, you consistently earn higher rates of returns and come out on top in the long run. This book explains why, and describes how individual investors can take advantage of indexing to make their portfolio stronger and more profitable. By indexing investment operations at a very low cost, and trusting that active professionals have set securities prices as correctly as possible, you will achieve better long-term results than those who look down on passive approaches while following outdated advice that no longer works. "Beating the market" is much harder than it used to be, and investors who continue to approach the market with that mindset populate the rolls of market losers time and time again. This book explains why indexing is the preferred approach in the current investment climate, and destroys the popular perception of passive investing as a weak market strategy. Structure your portfolio to perform better over the long term Trust in the pricing and earn higher rates of return Learn why a passive approach is more consistent and worthwhile Ignore overblown, outdated advice that is doomed to disappoint All great investors share a common secret to success: rational decision-making based on objective information. The Index Revolution shows you a more rational approach to the market for a more profitable portfolio.
Publication Date: 2016-08-30
The Intelligent REIT Investor: The Definitive Roadmap for Investing in Real Estate Securities by The go-to guide for smart REIT investing The Intelligent REIT Investor is the definitive guide to real estate investment trusts, providing a clear, concise resource for individual investors, financial planners, and analysts--anyone who prioritizes dividend income and risk management as major components to wealth-building. The REIT industry experienced a watershed event when Standard & Poors created a new Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS) sector called Real Estate. Publicly traded equity REITs have been removed from Financials, where they have been classified since their creation in 1960, and have begun trading as their own S&P Sector. This separation from banks and financial institutions has attracted new investors, but REITs require an industry-specific knowledge that is neither intuitive nor readily accessible to newcomers--until now. Using straightforward language and simple example to illustrate important concepts, this book will enable any reader to quickly learn and understand the lexicon and valuation techniques used in REIT investing, providing a wealth of practical resources that streamline the learning process. The discussion explains terminology, metrics, and other key points, while examples illustrate the calculations used to evaluate opportunities. A comprehensive list of publicly-traded REITs provides key reference, giving you access to an important resource most investors and stockbrokers lack. REITs are companies that own or finance commercial rental properties, such as malls and apartment buildings. Despite historically high total returns relative to other investments, such as the Nasdaq or S&P 500 index, most investors are unfamiliar with the REIT industry, and wary of investing without adequate background. This book gets you up to speed on the essentials of REIT investing so you can make more informed--and profitable--decisions. Understand REITs processes, mechanisms, and industry Calculate key metrics to identify suitable companies Access historical performance tables and industry-specific terminology Identify publicly-traded REITs quickly and easily REITs have consistently outperformed many more widely known investments. Over the past 15-year period, for example, REITs returned an average of 11% per year, better than all other asset classes. Since 2009, REITs have enjoyed positive returns; large cap stocks and cash are the only other classes that paralleled that record. Even in 2015, a 'year of fear' related to rising rates, REITs returned 2.4%, beating most all other asset classes. REITs have a long history (over fifty years) of performance, and have entered the big leagues. If you feel like you've been missing out, don't keep missing out. Prepare yourself, and your portfolio, to benefit from the demand for REITs that have followed the creation of a Real Estate GICS sector. The Intelligent REIT Investor gives you the information you need to invest wisely and manage your real estate risk effectively. By maintaining a tactical exposure in the brick and mortar asset class, investors should benefit from the information contained in The Intelligent REIT Investor. Join the REIT world and look forward to owning stocks that will help you to sleep well at night.
Publication Date: 2016-08-10
International Handbook on Shareholders´ Agreements : Regulation, Practice and Comparative Analysis by Shareholders´ Agreements have a growing influence on the general understanding of corporate law since they bind not only the shareholders but also affect the constitution of the corporation and can have a severe impact on capital markets. Therefore, Shareholders´ Agreements are more and more subject to regulation in corporate, capital market and also insolvency law on the national, the European and the international level. This handbook provides a general examination of conceptual questions of Shareholders´ Agreements and provides an analysis of the regulation of Shareholders´ Agreements in European and international law and of the national law of more than 20 jurisdictions. Readers will get a general understanding of the theoretical and practical problems involved with Shareholders´ Agreements and detailed information on the regulation of Shareholders´ Agreements in several jurisdictions and the applicable law in the case of transnational corporations and cross-border transactions.
Publication Date: 2018-05-07
The Maze of Banking : History, Theory, Crisis by After the financial crisis of 2007-2008, analysts continue to question the security of banking sectors in nations in Europe, Latin America, Asia, and Africa. Why do such crises recur? What is it about the accumulation of bank debt that potentially jeopardizes national and global banking systems?There is no one better-equipped to answer such questions than Gary Gorton, who has been studying financial crises since his PhD thesis in 1983. The Maze of Banking contains a collection of his academic papers on the subjects of banks, banking, and financial crises. The papers in this volume span almost 175 years of U.S. banking history, from pre-U.S. Civil War private bank notes issued during the U.S. Free Banking Era (1837-1863), followed by the U.S. National Banking Era (1863-1914) before there was a central bank, through loan sales, securitization, and the financial crisis of 2007-2008. Banking changed profoundly during these 175 years, yet it did not change in fundamental ways. The forms of money changed, resulting in associated changes in the information structure of the economy. Bank debt evolved as an instrument for storing value, smoothing consumption, and transactions, but its fundamental nature did not change. In all its forms, it is vulnerable to bank runs without government intervention. Comprehensive and informative, the collection is the definitive volume on the history of the U.S. banking system.These papers provide the framework for understanding how the financial crisis of 2007-2008 developed and steps to promote a stable banking industry, thereby preventing future economic crises. The Maze of Banking is essential reading material for students and academics with an interest in economics, finance, and the history of banking.
Publication Date: 2015-04-02
The Next Revolution in Our Credit-Driven Economy : The Advent of Financial Technology by Go inside the research to see the global consequences of unethical banking The Next Revolution in our Credit-Driven Economy: The Advent of Financial Technology integrates market theory and practice to help investors identify growth opportunities, and to help regulators create a sustainable economic environment. Author Paul Schulte, former economic analyst with the National Security Council, draws upon his own decade-spanning research to demonstrate how unethical banking practices provide the brute force that drives political and economic crises worldwide. By unbundling how credit markets work, this authoritative guide provides deep insight into crisis avoidance and detection, successful investment climates, and the groundwork that must be in place for policy makers to build a sound basis for economic growth. Clear, succinct case studies provide examples of policy and its effects on economic stability, giving you a stronger understanding of the network of forces that determine how loan/deposit ratios behave around the world. Countries that lend more than they save consistently get into trouble, with catastrophic consequences for the rich and middle class as well as the politicians. This book shows how credit excesses bring about price collapse in stocks, currencies, and real estate, and provides direction for change in the context of global economics. Dive deep into the mechanisms underlying the credit markets Learn how unregulated borrowing leads to socioeconomic crises Examine real-world policy options through global case studies Discover how credit rises are best detected and avoided An economic climate in which even the smallest hiccup can have long-lasting consequences should be the ideal impetus for a close scrutiny of global banking practices and economic policy. The Next Revolution in our Credit-Driven Economy takes you behind the scenes for a new perspective, and a more informed look at where the world needs to begin changing. The second half of the book will take a look at the revolution driving financial technology. Companies in Silicon Valley and giants like Alibaba are challenging the landscape for banking. This has profound implications for policy makers, banks and for a new class of entrepreneurs who are developing software which is taking away market share from bank and challenging decades-old financial empires. The book will explore the reasons why many global banks remain flat-footed. It will go into detail about the new companies and software that are moving in the Far East and with innovations in securities, bonds, foreign exchange, retail lending and SME lending. Lastly the book will look at the strategy behind Alibaba and how it will challenge many companies from a powerful base inside China.
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
Rogues of Wall Street: How to Manage Operational Risk in the Cognitive Era by Reduce or prevent risk failure losses with new and emerging technologies Rogues of Wall Street analyzes the recent risk failures and errors that have overwhelmed Wall Street for the past decade. Written by a veteran risk, compliance, and governance specialist, this book helps bank leaders and consultants identify the tools they need to effectively manage operational risk. Citing different types of risk events such as: Rogue and Insider Trading, cyber security, AML, the Mortgage Crisis, and other major events, chapters in the first half of the book detail each operational risk type along with its causative and contributing factors. The second half of the book takes an overarching approach to the tools and solutions available to financial institutions to manage such events in the future. From technology, to culture, to governance, and more, this book does more than simply identify the problem--it provides real-world solutions with actionable insight. Expert discussion identifies the tools financial institutions have at their disposal, and how these tools can be leveraged to create an environment in which catastrophic events are prevented or mitigated. In-depth insight from an industry specialist provides thought-provoking guidance for leaders seeking more effective risk management, and specifically addresses how to: Analyze major operational risk incidents and their underlying causes Investigate the tools that allow organizations to prevent and mitigate catastrophic events Learn how culture and governance can be optimized to support effective risk management Identify ways in which cognitive technologies could help your firm avoid losses Cognitive technologies have the potential to revolutionize the way business is done; eliminating the speed/cost/quality trade-off, these new and emerging tools are heralding the next leap in the evolution of risk management. Rogues of Wall Street shows you how bring these tools into your organization, and how they can contribute to your financial success.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Stock Investing for Dummies® by This practical guide gives you proven strategies for selecting and managing profitable investments in either a bear or bull market. Discover how to navigate the new economic landscape, and choose the right stocks for different situations.
Call Number: HG4910.M553 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
Warren Buffett accounting book : reading financial statements for value investing by
Call Number: HG4521.B76 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The Card Game (Frontline) by As credit card companies face rising public anger, new regulation from Washington and staggering new rates of default and bankruptcy, FRONTLINE correspondent Lowell Bergman investigates the future of the massive consumer loan industry and its impact on a fragile national economy. In The Card Game, a follow-up to the "Secret History of the Credit Card" and a joint project with The New York Times, Bergman and the Times talk to industry insiders, lobbyists, politicians and consumer advocates as they square off over attempts to reform the way the industry has done business for decades.
Call Number: DVD HG3755.8.U6C37 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Inside Job by Provides an analysis of the global financial crisis of 2008, which at a cost of over $20 trillion, caused millions of people to lose their jobs and homes in the worst recession since the Great Depression, and nearly resulted in a global financial collapse. Through exhaustive research, and extensive interviews with key financial insiders, politicians, journalists, and academics, traces the rise of a rogue industry which has corrupted politics, regulation, and academia.
Call Number: DVD HB3722.I57 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The Madoff Affair (Frontline) by Presents an account of the crimes of Wall Street swindler Bernard Madoff.
Call Number: DVD HV6692.M33M336 2009
Publication Date: 2009