Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accounting: a very short introduction by
Call Number: HF5636.N63 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Accounting for Fun and Profit by Accounting is an economic information system, and can be thought of as the language of business. Accounting principles cannot be discovered; they are created, developed, or decreed and are supported or justified by intuition, authority, and acceptability. Managers have alternatives in their accounting choices; the decisions are political, and trade-offs will be made. Accounting information provides individuals, both inside and outside a firm, with a starting point to understand and evaluate the key drivers of a firm, its financial position, and performance. If you are managing a firm, investing in a firm, lending to a firm, or even working for a firm, you should be able to read the firm’s financial statements and ask questions based on those statements. This book explains the fundamentals of financial statements. It is designed and meant to explain the language of accounting to non-accountants (i.e., those who hire accountants). After reading this book, you should be able to pick up an annual report, read it, understand much of it, and have a solid foundation to start asking questions about the firm. This book will show you that accounting can be informative and fun!
Publication Date: 2016-12-02
Applications of Accounting Information Systems by The revolutionary effects of using accounting information systems by displacing manual information systems in the private and public sectors cannot be overstated. The benefits of this substitution of set of processes include increased mathematical accuracy, predefined fields and coding tasks, and de-emphasis of manual clerical labor in favor of labor adept in data processing. Reporting can be significantly automated, facilitating managerial power and control at a distance and the proliferation of global enterprises. The potential detriments are rarely accurately, completely, and timely addressed as information system vendors, management consultants, and corporate procurement teams race toward the popularly conceived state of the art. Systems are ballyhooed as continually improving in processing speed, functionality, and capacity. Users of these automated systems may not consider big picture effects, and they may not intelligently consider the conduct risks to their own enterprises by concentrating such global reach and influence at high levels of senior management without dedicating adequate resources to verifying the accuracy, completeness, and timeliness of the information systems.This book considers these risks.
Publication Date: 2019-07-31
Dictionary of Accounting Terms by ...defines more than 2,500 accounting, auditing, compliance, and tax-related terms. General areas covered include financial accounting and reporting, managerial and cost management, auditing and financial statement analysis, compliance, and information technology (IT) terms.
Publication Date: 2014
Easy business finance : from bookkeeping to financial reports and ratios by Do you break out into a cold sweat at the sight of company accounts? Do you ignore the financial aspects of your job, hoping they'll go away? Is lack of financial confidence holding you back? The fact is that you can learn how to read company accounts as well as picking up sound financial management techniques in just a couple of hours, and Easy Business Finance is the way to do it. Balance sheets and profit and loss accounts needn't be mysteries any longer. You don't have to be tortured by colleagues' conversations about key financial ratios and cash flow statements. You'll soon be able to participate fully and confidently in every aspect of you company's financial performance and understand how to measure it.
Call Number: HG4026 .L36 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Quicken 2015: the Official Guide by
Call Number: HG179.S26 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-28
Books: Management Accounting
Business Analytics, Volume I : A Data-Driven Decision Making Approach for Business by Business Analytics: A Data-Driven Decision Making Approach for Business-Part I,/i> provides an overview of business analytics (BA), business intelligence (BI), and the role and importance of these in the modern business decision-making. The book discusses all these areas along with three main analytics categories: (1) descriptive, (2) predictive, and (3) prescriptive analytics with their tools and applications in business. This volume focuses on descriptive analytics that involves the use of descriptive and visual or graphical methods, numerical methods, as well as data analysis tools, big data applications, and the use of data dashboards to understand business performance. The highlights of this volume are: Business analytics at a glance; Business intelligence (BI), data analytics; Data, data types, descriptive analytics; Data visualization tools; Data visualization with big data; Descriptive analytics-numerical methods; Case analysis with computer applications.
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Business Analytics : A Data-Driven Decision-Making Approach for Business, Volume II by This business analytics (BA) text discusses the models based on fact-based data to measure past business performance to guide an organization in visualizing and predicting future business performance and outcomes. It provides a comprehensive overview of analytics in general with an emphasis on predictive analytics. Given the booming interest in analytics and data science, this book is timely and informative. It brings many terms, tools, and methods of analytics together. The first three chapters provide an introduction to BA, importance of analytics, types of BA-descriptive, predictive, and prescriptive-along with the tools and models. Business intelligence (BI) and a case on descriptive analytics are discussed. Additionally, the book discusses on the most widely used predictive models, including regression analysis, forecasting, data mining, and an introduction to recent applications of predictive analytics-machine learning, neural networks, and artificial intelligence. The concluding chapter discusses on the current state, job outlook, and certifications in analytics.
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Financial Valuation: Applications and Models by A practically-focused resource for business valuation professionals Financial Valuation: Applications and Models provides authoritative reference and practical guidance on the appropriate, defensible way to prepare and present business valuations. With contributions by 30 top experts in the field, this new fourth edition provides an essential resource for those seeking the most up-to-date guidance, with a strong emphasis on applications and models. Coverage includes state-of-the-art methods for the valuation of closely-held businesses, nonpublic entities, intangible, and other assets, with comprehensive discussion on valuation theory, a consensus view on application, and the tools to make it happen. Packed with examples, checklists, and models to help you navigate your valuation project, this book also provides hundreds of expert "tips" and best practices in clear, easy-to-follow language. The companion website provides access to extensive appendix materials, and the perspectives of valuation thought-leaders add critical insight throughout each step of the process. Valuation is an important part of any organization's overall financial strategy, and seemingly-small inaccuracies or incomplete assessments can have big repercussions. This book walks you through the valuation process to give you the skills and understanding you need to get it done right. Learn best practices from 30 field-leading experts Follow clear examples for complex or unfamiliar scenarios Access practical tools that streamline the valuation process Understand valuation models and real-world applications The business valuation process can become very complex very quickly, and there's no substitute for clear guidance and a delineated framework in the run-up to completion. Get organized from the beginning, and be systematic and methodical every step of the way. Financial Valuation: Applications and Models is the all-encompassing, expert guide to business valuation projects.
Publication Date: 2017-04-19
Financial Modeling in Excel for Dummies by Make informed business decisions with the beginner's guide to financial modeling using Microsoft Excel Financial Modeling in Excel For Dummies is your comprehensive guide to learning how to create informative, enlightening financial models today. Not a math whiz or an Excel power-user? No problem! All you need is a basic understanding of Excel to start building simple models with practical hands-on exercises and before you know it, you'll be modeling your way to optimized profits for your business in no time. Excel is powerful, user-friendly, and is most likely already installed on your computer--which is why it has so readily become the most popular financial modeling software. This book shows you how to harness Excel's capabilities to determine profitability, develop budgetary projections, model depreciation, project costs, value assets and more. You'll learn the fundamental best practices and know-how of financial modeling, and how to put them to work for your business and your clients. You'll learn the tools and techniques that bring insight out of the numbers, and make better business decisions based on quantitative evidence. You'll discover that financial modeling is an invaluable resource for your business, and you'll wonder why you've waited this long to learn how! Companies around the world use financial modeling for decision making, to steer strategy, and to develop solutions. This book walks you through the process with clear, expert guidance that assumes little prior knowledge. Learn the six crucial rules to follow when building a successful financial model Discover how to review and edit an inherited financial model and align it with your business and financial strategy Solve client problems, identify market projections, and develop business strategies based on scenario analysis Create valuable customized templates models that can become a source of competitive advantage From multinational corporations to the mom-and-pop corner store, there isn't a business around that wouldn't benefit from financial modeling. No need to buy expensive specialized software--the tools you need are right there in Excel. Financial Modeling in Excel For Dummies gets you up to speed quickly so you can start reaping the benefits today!
Publication Date: 2017-04-24
Lies, Damned Lies, and Cost Accounting : How Capacity Management Enables Improved Cost and Cash Flow Management by This book introduces capacity management, describes cash flow dynamics, and offers ideas about how to manage both Business leaders rely on accounting data such as profit and calculated costs as a guide to whether they are making money. Should they? Accounting was designed to report financial performance not model cash flow. Accruals can disconnect cash flow from the timing and extent to which it occurs. Statements of cash flow do not provide insight into what was bought and how efficiently it was used. Costs and profits are not absolute, they change based on the model you use to calculate them. To manage cash, you must manage what you buy and how effectively you use it. The largest expenditure for most companies is capacity; space, labor, materials, equipment, and technology. Unless you model and manage capacity effectively, you will not achieve the cash flow results you seek. This book introduces capacity management, describes cash flow dynamics, and offers ideas about how to manage both. After reading it, you be able to see, understand, and manage cash flow as never before.
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Management Accounting in Support of Strategy : How Management Accounting Can Aid the Strategic Management Process by Management Accounting in Support of Strategy explores how management accounting can support the strategic management process of analysis, formulation, implementation, evaluation, monitoring, and control. If the management accountant is to add value to the business they need to understand how the business works. The toolbox available to the management accountant does not just contain the accounting techniques, but also includes the strategy models and frameworks described in this book. Armed with this array of tools the management accountant is well placed to add significant value to the business. The reader will gain an understanding of the strategic management framework, strategic models and tools, and how management accounting can support the strategic management process. It will be beneficial for undergraduate and postgraduate course students studying strategy or management accounting. The book will also enable practicing accountants to understand how they can make a significant contribution to the success of their organization by demonstrating how management accounting can be used in support of strategy.
Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Mastering Microsoft Power BI : Expert Techniques for Effective Data Analytics and Business Intelligence by Design, create and manage robust Power BI solutions to gain meaningful business insights Key Features Master all the dashboarding and reporting features of Microsoft Power BI Combine data from multiple sources, create stunning visualizations and publish your reports across multiple platforms A comprehensive guide with real-world use cases and examples demonstrating how you can get the best out of Microsoft Power BI Book Description This book is intended for business intelligence professionals responsible for the design and development of Power BI content as well as managers, architects and administrators who oversee Power BI projects and deployments. The chapters flow from the planning of a Power BI project through the development and distribution of content to the administration of Power BI for an organization. BI developers will learn how to create sustainable and impactful Power BI datasets, reports, and dashboards. This includes connecting to data sources, shaping and enhancing source data, and developing an analytical data model. Additionally, top report and dashboard design practices are described using features such as Bookmarks and the Power KPI visual. BI managers will learn how Power BI's tools work together such as with the On-premises data gateway and how content can be staged and securely distributed via Apps. Additionally, both the Power BI Report Server and Power BI Premium are reviewed. By the end of this book, you will be confident in creating effective charts, tables, reports or dashboards for any kind of data using the tools and techniques in Microsoft PowerBI. What you will learn Build efficient data retrieval and transformation processes with the Power Query M Language Design scalable, user-friendly DirectQuery and Import Data Models Develop visually rich, immersive, and interactive reports and dashboards Maintain version control and stage deployments across development, test, and production environments Manage and monitor the Power BI Service and the On-premises data gateway Develop a fully on-premise solution with the Power BI Report Server Scale up a Power BI solution via Power BI Premium capacity and migration to Azure Analysis Services or SQL Server Analysis Services Who this book is for Business Intelligence professionals and existing Power BI users looking to master Power BI for all their data visualization and dashboarding needs will find this book to be useful. While understanding of the basic BI concepts is required, some exposure to Microsoft Power BI will be helpful.
Publication Date: 2018-03-29
Architect of corporate responsibility by The story of Alice Tepper Marlin, the founder of SAI (Social Accountability International).
Call Number: DVD HD60.A73 2006
Publication Date: 2006