Anatomica by
Anatomica is an essential reference to the human body, the most complex biological mechanism in the world. More than 1,400 intricate color drawings, fully labeled and captioned, bring to life the human body for professionals and general readers. With its encyclopedic medical information, this book also provides outstanding access to practical advice about everyday medical concerns.
The book investigates the workings of the body in detail, reviewing the entire human body area by area, including:
Cells and body systems The head The neck The trunk The chest cavity The abdominal cavity Urinary and reproductive organs Shoulder, arms and hards Hips, legs and feet The skin
The book also has specific chapters that cover:
Infectious diseases Heredity, DNA and genetic diseases The human life cycle Staying healthy Emotional and behavioral disorders Diagnostic techniques
An illustrated timeline of developmental milestones follows aging and recommends preventive health measures. The book also includes an easy-to-use first aid guide and an extensive table of common symptoms. In addition, Anatomica addresses such topics as alcoholism, sexuality, stress and personality disorders, as well as the latest developments in alternative therapies.
Written by an international team of medical experts, illustrators and researchers, Anatomica is an essential reference for the home and libraries.
Anatomical Terms and Their Derivation by
Anatomical terms are the vocabulary of medicine. Anatomy began as a descriptive science in the days when Latin was the universal scientific language. Early anatomists described the structures they saw in that language, comparing them to common and familiar objects, or borrowing terms from the Greek and Arabic masters before them. In anatomic terminology, common Latin or Greek words are used as such for any part of the body for which the ancients had a name. For many other structures, scientific names have been invented either by using certain classical words which appear to be descriptive of the part concerned, or commonly, by combining Greek or Latin roots to form a new compound term. Memorization of such terms without understanding their meaning can lead to mental indigestion.As an aid to comprehension, this book also presents the roots from which many of these descriptive terms and compounds are derived. For practical convenience, the book is organized into abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, general terms common to all body regions, short lists for each major body part, and an alphabetical list covering the entire body. This pocket-sized handbook is essential for anyone wishing to learn and understand medical terms.
Anatomy and Physiology Study Guide for Speech and Hearing, Second Edition by 
An Introductory Guide to Anatomy & Physiology by
An Introductory Guide to Anatomy & Physiology gives the student a solid grounding in human anatomy and physiology. Detailed yet unfussy explanations take the learner through each system of the body. Key knowledge is presented in a user-friendly layout.
The Scientific Bases of Human Anatomy by
As medical schools struggle to fit ever more material into a fixed amount of time, students need to approach the study of anatomy through a succinct, integrative overview. Rather than setting forth an overwhelming list of facts to be memorized, this book engages readers with a fascinating account of the connections between human anatomy and a wide array of scientific disciplines, weaving in the latest advances in developmental and evolutionary biology, comparative morphology, and biological engineering. Logically organized around a few key concepts, The Scientific Bases of Human Anatomy presents them in clear, memorable prose, concise tabular material, and a host of striking photographs and original diagrams.
The Visual Guides: Understanding The Human Body by
The Visual Guides series answers the most important questions on topics that fascinate everyone through a series of videos and animations: weather, the human body, the Earth, the universe and plants. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in these areas.
Weir and Abrahams' Imaging Atlas of Human Anatomy by
Introduction -- The role of imaging in teaching and diagnosis: technical aspects and applications -- Brain and cranial nerves -- Skull, orbits, paranasal sinuses and face -- Neck -- Vertebral column and spinal cord -- Upper limb -- Breast and axilla -- Thorax : non cardiac -- Thorax: heart -- Abdomen and pelvis : Cross-sectional -- Abdomen and pelvis: non cross-sectional -- Lower limb -- Functional imaging.
he human body collection
Like an owner's manual for the body, it reveals the fascinating intricacies and complicated systems that make up the amazing human body.
How to build a beating heart by
Science may be on the verge of producing a limitless supply of replacement parts by regenerating damaged or aging body parts grown from our own cells.
Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Framework of bones that supports and gives form to the body, protects its internal organs, and provides anchorage points for its muscles. It is composed of about 200 bones.
From The Human Body Book Muscles are the body’s “flesh”. They bulge and ripple just under the skin, and are arranged in criss-crossing layers down to the bones. Their job is to contract and pull the bones to which they are anchored. Rarely working alone, they usually contract in groups, moving bones at accurate angles and by precise distances.
From The Human Body BookThe heart is a powerful organ about the size of a clenched fist. Located just to the left of centre in between the lungs, it operates as two coordinated pumps that send blood around the body.
From The Human Body Book
From The Human Body Book The respiratory system, in close conjunction with the circulatory system, is responsible for supplying all body cells with essential oxygen and removing potentially harmful carbon dioxide from the body.
From The Human Body Book The digestive system consists of a lonThe digestive system consists of a long passageway, known as the alimentary canal or digestive tract, and associated organs, including the liver, gallbladder, and pancreas.
Network of vessels carrying lymph, or tissue-cleansing fluid, from the tissues into the veins of the circulatory system. The lymphatic system functions along with the circulatory system in absorbing nutrients from the small intestines.
Network of specialized tissue that controls actions and reactions of the body and its adjustment to the environment.
From Britannica Concise EncyclopediaOrgan system involved in respiration. In humans, the diaphragm and, to a lesser extent, the muscles between the ribs generate a pumping action, moving air in and out of the lungs through a system of pipes (conducting airways), divided into upper and lower airway systems.
Muscular organ that rhythmically contracts to force blood around the body of an animal with a circulatory system.
Either of a pair of organs at the back of the abdomen whose function is the removal of waste pro-ducts from the blood, and the excretion of such compounds from the body, usually in the form of urine.
In mammals, large cavity of the body, used for gas exchange.
Saclike dilation in the gastrointestinal tract between the esophagus and the intestines , forming an organ of digestion.
Organ of hearing and equilibrium. The human ear consists of outer, middle, and inner parts.
Organ of vision and light perception. In humans the eye is of the camera type, with an iris diaphragm and variable focusing, or accommodation.
From the The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide