Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in the Library Catalog
Clinical Sonography by Considered by many to be the most relied-upon, practical text of its kind, Clinical Sonography: A Practical Guide is appreciated for its clear, concise writing, consistent format, and problem-based organization. This text cuts through complicated material to deliver the clearest and most comprehensive guide to sonography, leading students from the basics of imaging and positioning to more advanced clinical tips on instrumentation and report making.
Call Number: RC78.7.U4 C55 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine (DICOM) by This is the second edition of a very popular book on DICOM that introduces this complex standard from a very practical point of view. It is aimed at a broad audience of radiologists, clinical administrators, information technologists, medical students, and lecturers. The book provides a gradual, down to earth introduction to DICOM, accompanied by an analysis of the most common problems associated with its implementation. Compared with the first edition, many improvements and additions have been made, based on feedback from readers. Whether you are running a teleradiology project or writing DICOM software, this book will provide you with clear and helpful guidance. It will prepare you for any DICOM projects or problem solving, and assist you in taking full advantage of multifaceted DICOM functionality.
Call Number: RC78.7.D53P53 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Dose, Benefit, and Risk in Medical Imaging by This timely overview of dose, benefit, and risk in medical imaging explains to readers how to apply this information for informed decision-making that improves patient outcomes. The chapters cover patient and physician perspectives, referral guidelines, appropriateness criteria, and quantifying medical imaging benefits. The authors have included essential discussion about radiologic physics in medical imaging, fundamentals of dose and image quality, risk assessment, and techniques for optimization and dose reduction. The book highlights practical implementation aspects with useful case studies and checklists for treatment planning.
Call Number: RC78.7.D53 D66 2019
Publication Date: 2018
Essentials of Radiographic Physics and Imaging by From basic physics principles to the actual process of producing diagnostic-quality x-rays, Essentials of Radiographic Physics and Imaging effectively guides you through the physics and imaging information you need to excel on your ARRT exam and as a professional radiographer. The text's clear language and logical organization help you easily master physics principles as they apply to imaging, plus radiation production and characteristics, imaging equipment, film screen image acquisition and processing, digital image acquisition and display, basics of computed tomography, image analysis, and more. Theory to Practice discussions help you link these principles to real-world applications and practice.
An emphasis on practical information provides just what you need to know to pass the ARRT exam and to be a competent practitioner. Integrated coverage of digital radiography describes how to acquire, process, and display digital images, and explains the advantages and limitations of digital vs. conventional imaging processes. Theory to Practice succinctly explains the application of the concept being discussed and helps you understand how to use the information in clinical practice. Make the Connection links physics and imaging concepts to help you fully appreciate the importance of both subjects. Math applications demonstrate how mathematical concepts and formulas are applied in the clinical setting. Critical Concepts further explain and emphasize key points in the chapters. Learning features highlight important information with an outline, key terms, and objectives at the beginning of each chapter and a chapter summary at the end. A glossary of key terms provides a handy reference.
Call Number: RC78.7.D53J64 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Essentials of Radiologic Science by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins is proud to introduce Essentials of Radiologic Science , a core, comprehensive textbook for radiologic technology students. Focusing on the crucial components and minimizing extraneous content, this text will help prepare students for success on the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists Examination in Radiography and beyond into practice. Topics covered include radiation protection, equipment operation and quality control, image production and evaluation, and patient care. This is a key and crucial resource for radiologic technology programs, focusing on the most relevant information and offering tools and resources to students of multiple learning types. These include a full suite of ancillary products, a variety of pedagogical features embedded in the text, and a strong focus on the practical application of the concepts presented.
Call Number: RC78.F67 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Kaplan Medical Radiography Exam by The most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to the new American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) computer-based exam, from the test prep experts at Kaplan.
Once an optional certification, all radiologic technologists must soon be certified by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT), which means you must pass the certification exam.
Kaplan knows how important this exam is and wants to make sure you are prepared on test day. Kaplan Radiology Exam with CD-ROM includes:
1,000 practice questions
Updated registration information for the ARRT compliance, including recertification requirements
Two full-length practice exams
Detailed answer explanations so you know which questions you answered correctly and which sections you need extra practice on
A CD-ROM with dynamic image radiograph library
Kaplan's exclusive and proven score-raising strategies
Tips for tackling the new computer-based format
This latest edition of the Kaplan Radiology Exam with CD-ROM is the total preparation package offering updated, comprehensive strategies, practice, and review fully aligned to the new computer-based ARRT exam.
Call Number: RC78.15.K37 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning and Procedures by With more than 400 projections presented, Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning and Procedures remains the gold standard of radiographic positioning texts. Authors Eugene Frank, Bruce Long, and Barbara Smith have designed this comprehensive resource to be both an excellent textbook and also a superb clinical reference for practicing radiographers and physicians. You'll learn how to properly position the patient so that the resulting radiograph provides the information needed to reach an accurate diagnosis. An entire chapter has been developed on positioning obese patients. Complete information is included for the most common projections, as well as for those less commonly requested.
Comprehensive coverage of anatomy and positioning makes Merrill's Atlas the most in-depth text and reference available for radiography students and practitioners. Essential projections that are frequently performed are identified with a special icon to help you focus on what you need to know as an entry-level radiographer. Full-color presentation helps visually clarify key concepts. Summaries of pathology are grouped in tables in positioning chapters for quick access to the likely pathologies for each bone group or body system. Special chapters , including trauma, surgical radiography, geriatrics/pediatrics, and bone densitometry help prepare you for the full scope of situations you will encounter. Exposure technique charts outline technique factors to use for the various projections in the positioning chapters. Projection summary tables at the beginning of each procedural chapter offer general chapter overviews and serve as handy study guides. Bulleted lists provide clear instructions on how to correctly position the patient and body part. Anatomy summary tables at the beginning of each positioning chapter describe and identify the anatomy you need to know in order to properly position the patient, set exposures, and take high-quality radiographs. Anatomy and positioning information is presented in separate chapters for each bone group or organ system, all heavily illustrated in full-color and augmented with CT scans and MRI images, to help you learn both traditional and cross-sectional anatomy. Includes a unique new section on working with and positioning obese patients . Offers coverage of one new compensating filter . Provides collimation sizes and other key information for each relevant projection. Features more CT and MRI images to enhance your understanding of cross-sectional anatomy and prepare you for the Registry exam. Offers additional digital images in each chapter, including "stitching" for long-length images of the spine and lower limb. Standardized image receptor sizes use English measurements with metric in parentheses. Depicts the newest equipment with updated photographs and images.
Call Number: RC78.4.Z994F73 2012 V. 1-3
Publication Date: 2011
Merrill's Pocket Guide to Radiography by Designed for quick reference in the clinical environment, Merrill's Pocket Guide to Radiography is a pocket-sized companion to Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning and Procedures, 12th Edition . This handy resource summarizes essential information for 170 of the most frequently requested projections you'll encounter. Authors Eugene Frank, Barbara Smith, and Bruce Long concisely present just the information you'll need for quick reference -- keep it with you and keep Merrill's close at hand!
Diagnostic-quality radiographs demonstrate desired imaging results. Key positioning information is formatted for quick and easy access. Each procedure is presented in a two-color, two-page spread with bulleted, step-by-step procedures and accompanying images on the top page; and a chart with spaces to fill in the specific techniques used for a particular projection on the bottom page. Section dividers with tabs offer quick access to each section. Computed radiography information allows you to make the subtle adjustments necessary to obtain optimal results with CR. Exposure technique chart for every projection helps reduce the number of repeat radiographs and improves overall image quality. Abbreviations and external landmark charts on the inside covers provide quick access to frequently needed information. kVp values are included for each projection. Compensating filter information included for those projections where filters are used. New exposure index column for use with digital imaging systems Specific collimation settings for all projections done using DR Systems
Call Number: RC78.4.M47 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography by A complete review for the Registry exam, Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography: The Complete Study Guide and Career Planner, 6th Edition covers the five major subject areas of the ARRT exam in radiography. It is also an effective study guide for many radiography courses! Written in outline format, each review of a subject is followed by questions related specifically to that area. Two mock ARRT exams are included in the book, and online exams include a pool of over 1,400 review questions that may be randomly combined to generate a virtually limitless number of mock ARRT exams. From noted radiography educator William J. Callaway, this edition also provides advice on writing resumes and cover letters, interviewing, employer expectations, and continuing education requirements to help you make the transition to a successful career.
Review of the five major subject areas covered on the ARRT exam , in an outline format, helps you concentrate on the most important information. Over 2,400 review questions in the book and online offer practice with a multiple-choice format similar to the ARRT exam. Thorough coverage of digital and computed radiography reflects the increased emphasis of these topics on the Registry exam. Online mock exams let you practice in tutorial mode -- with immediate feedback after each question -- or in exam mode, with feedback only after you complete the entire test. Online study tools include study tips for difficult questions and electronic flashcards with formulas, key terms, and important topics. Rationales for correct and incorrect answers are included in the appendix. Career preparation advice includes writing resumes and cover letters, tips for interviewing, a look at what employers expect, career advancement, basic financial planning, and continuing education requirements. Updates reflect the latest ARRT exam changes with expanded coverage of computed and direct radiography, a review of computed tomography along with questions, and an additional 200-question exam in the Review Activities and Challenge Tests chapter. Online access to mock exams. Job search preparation includes tips on how to submit online applications and resumes.
Call Number: RC78.17 .C35 2013
Publication Date: 2012
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography by Preparation for review -- Review of radiation protection -- Review of equipment operation and quality control -- Image acquisition and evaluation -- Review of radiographic procedures : anatomy, positioning, procedures, pathology, terminology -- Review of patient care and education -- Challenge tests -- Career paths -- Writing a professional resume -- Interviewing techniques -- Employment expectations.
Call Number: RC78.17 .C35 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Mosby's Exam Review for Computed Tomography by This study tool has everything you need to prepare for the ARRT CT exam! Written in outline format, Mosby's Exam Review for Computed Tomography, 2nd Edition serves as both a study guide and an in-depth review. It covers the three content areas on the CT advanced certification examination: patient care, imaging procedures, and physics/instrumentation. Developed by Daniel N. DeMaio, BS, RT(R) (CT), the book simulates the Registry exam with three 165-question mock exams. A companion Evolve website includes a test bank of 635 questions that can be randomly sampled to create unlimited variations -- so you never take the same test twice.
Review questions with answers help you prepare for the ARRT exam and identify areas that need additional study. Rationales for correct and incorrect answers provide you with the information you need to make the most out of the Q&A sections. A thorough, outline-format review covers the three content areas on the computed tomography advanced certification exam: patient care, imaging procedures, and physics/instrumentation. Mock exams in the book and on the Evolve website prepare you for the ARRT exam, with three 165-question mock exams in the book and 635 questions on Evolve that may be randomly accessed for an unlimited number of exam variations. Study aids on Evolve allow you to bookmark questions for later study, see rationales for correct and incorrect answers, get test tips for different questions, and record and date-stamp your test scores.
Call Number: RC78.7.T6D46 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Radiographic Image Analysis by This comprehensive guide provides all the tools you need to accurately evaluate radiographic images and make the adjustments needed to acquire the best possible diagnostic quality images. You'll discover how to evaluate an image, identify any improper positioning or techniques that caused poor quality, and correct the problem. No other text is devoted to equipping you with the critical thinking skills needed to properly position patients for optimal radiographs and help minimize the need for repeat images.
Chapter outlines give you an at-a-glance summary of chapter content Labeled images with analysis and correction help you develop your skills for producing optimal images, thus reducing the need for repeat procedures Student workbook provides additional opportunities to apply what you've learned in the text Expanded digital radiography content includes advances in digital imaging to keep you up-to-date in the field Chapter objectives help you master key content Quick reference tables highlight significant information More bone photographic images better illustrate difficult-to-evaluate procedures More pediatric and trauma images improve your ability to produce optimal images of different procedures
Call Number: RC78.M375 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Radiography in the Digital Age by Long overdue, this new work provides just the right focus and scope for the practice of radiography in this digital age, covering four entire courses in a typical radiography program. The entire emphasis of foundational physics has been adjusted in order to properly support the specific information on digital imaging that will follow. The paradigm shift in imaging terminology is reflected by the careful phrasing of concepts, accurate descriptions and clear illustrations throughout the book. There are 641 illustrations, including meticulous color line drawings, numerous photographs and stark radiographs. Chapter 29 alone, on digital image processing, includes 40 beautifully executed illustrations. Foundational chapters on math and basic physics maintain a focus on energy physics. Obsolete and extraneous material has been eliminated, while concepts supporting digital imaging are more thoroughly discussed. All discussion of electricity is limited to only those concepts which bear directly upon the production of x- rays in the x-ray tube. Following is a full discussion of the x-ray beam and its interactions within the patient, the production and characteristics of subject contrast, and an emphasis on the practical application of radiographic technique. This is conventional information, but the terminology and descriptions used have been adapted with great care to the digital environment. No fewer than eight chapters are devoted directly to digital imaging, with the physics of digital image capture, extensive coverage of digital processing techniques, and the practical application issues of both CR and DR. Image display systems are brought up to date with the physics of LCD screens and of electronic images. In all, there are eleven full chapters dealing specifically with digital and electronic imaging concepts. Chapters on Radiation Biology and Protection include an unflinching look at current issues and radiation protection in practice. The
Call Number: RC78.7.D53C37 2011
Publication Date: 2011-12-16
Radiography PREP (Program Review and Examination Preparation) by Ace the ARRT certification exam with the field's most trusted review
Maximize your study time -- and your grade -- by focusing on the most important and frequently tested topics
4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW!
"This update is once again a highlight in the review book section for preparing for the registry exam in radiography. Using a compilation of noteworthy sources, the author once again provides students with a complete and valuable guide for registry exam review. This is a must-have book for any future radiographer."-- Doody's Review Service
The entire radiography curriculum summarized in a concise, readable narrative makes it easy to understand and memorize key concepts 860+ registry-style questions, including a 200-question practice test, prepare you for the exam Answers with detailed explanations and references to major textbooks More than 400 illustrations and clinical images Written by an experienced educator and radiography program director who knows exactly what it takes to pass Essential for certification or recertification
An author with 35+ years of teaching experience provides everything you need to excel on the exam coursework
Summary boxes provide a convenient overview of must-know information The inside covers feature important formulae, radiation protection facts, conversion factors, body surface landmarks, digital imaging facts, acronyms and abbreviations, radiation quality factors, and minimum filtration requirements Coverage of the latest developments, including digital and electronic imaging A complete 200-question practice exam 440+ chapter-ending questions
Call Number: RC78.15.S255 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Articles, eBooks, & Citation Help
Radiologic Technology Program at CSI