Advanced EMT: a Clinical Reasoning Approach by 
Emergency Care by 
Emergency Medical Technician by 
First Responder by
First responder practical skills review DVD
Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets by
Nancy Caroline's emergency care in the streets : paramedic practical skills review DVD.
Paramedic by
Skills DVD and Medical animations
Prehospital Trauma Life Support by
Companion DVD : PHTLS prehospital trauma life support.
ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine by
Prehospital Emergency Medicine (PHEM) is a new and evolving field within Prehospital Care and involves the delivery of safe prehospital critical care to seriously ill or injured patients, and safe transfer to or between hospitals. It covers a broad range of medical and traumatic conditions, interventions, clinical providers and physical environments. ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine is the first text to provide a comprehensive overview of this field and with an international team of expert authors is essential reading to anyone involved in the delivery of Prehospital Emergency Medicine and Prehospital Care.
Advanced Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured by
The foundation for EMS education was established in 1971 when the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) authored the first emergency medical technician textbook. Since then, the AAOS has set the gold standard for EMS training programs with the Orange Book Series. This Second Edition, based on Intermediate Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured, raises the bar even higher with world-class medical content and innovative instructional resources that meet the diverse needs of today's educators and students.Based on the new National EMS Education Standards for Advanced Emergency Medical Technician, the Second Edition offers complete coverage of every competency statement with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures student comprehension and encourages critical thinking. New cognitive and didactic material is presented, along with new skills and features, to create an innovative AEMT training solution.Topics including advanced pathophysiology, acid-base balance, fluids and electrolytes, intravenous therapy, intraosseous access, blood glucose monitoring, and administration of AEMT-level medications tailor this textbook to the new Advanced EMT level. Additional online skills allow this textbook to be customized for every AEMT training program's unique needs. Current, State-of-the-Art Medical ContentAdvanced Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured, Second Edition incorporates up-to-date, evidence-based medical concepts to ensure that students are taught assessment and treatment modalities that will help patients in the field today.Advanced PathophysiologyAdvanced Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured, Second Edition provides a solid foundation in pathophysiology--one of the key knowledge areas required to become a successful Advanced EMT.Patient AssessmentThis Second Edition teaches and reinforces the concept of Patient Assessment with a single, comprehensive chapter, ensuring that students understand patient assessment as a single, integrated process--the way that providers actually practice it in the field. Each medical and trauma chapter reinforces the patient assessment process by highlighting the unique aspects of the illness or injury.Clear Application to Real-World EMSThrough evolving patient case studies in each chapter, the Second Edition offers students a genuine context for the application of the knowledge presented in the chapter. This approach makes it clear how all of the information will be used to help patients in the field.
Advanced Medical Life Support: a practical approach to adult medical emergencies by
Going above and beyond the new DOT curriculum, this book offers a high level--yet practical--approach to the assessment, diagnosis and treatment of the full range of adult medical emergencies. Each well-illustrated chapter discusses realistic methods that a seasoned EMS practitioner would use--moving from assessment-based procedures with initial management of the threats, to field diagnosis and management of treatable underlying causes. Includes real-world case studies. Assumes a familiarity with anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology, and an overall understanding of the nature of medical emergencies. Assessment of the Medical Patient. Airway Management, Ventilation, and Oxygenation Therapy. IV Access and Medication Administration. Hypoperfusion (Shock). Dyspnea. Chest Pain. Altered Mental Status. Acute Abdominal Pain. Gastrointestinal Bleeding. Seizures and Seizure Disorders. Syncope. Headache, Nausea, and Vomiting. Case Studies. For EMTs, paramedics, nurses, and others involved in emergency medical care.
Emergency Care of the Abused by
Any general practitioner, pediatrician, or emergency physician will appreciate the easy-to-read, accessible information available in this book which will assist the health care practitioner in managing the acute care of abused patients. It is not intended to be an exhaustive study of each topic, but a quick reference and practical guide for those in the clinical arena who see such patients. Covering a wide range of the abuse that a health care practitioner may see from domestic violence and child abuse to trafficking and torture, topics which are not commonly included in textbooks, it also discusses the cultural influences on managing and investigating abuse. Each chapter has goals and objectives to maximize educational reading on the topic, photographs and tables to assist the clinician, legal aspects of the emergency situation, and quick reference pages to assist the practitioner dealing with an abused patient in an emergency.
Emergency Medical Technician by
Emergency Medical Technician: Making the Difference follows the U.S. Department of Transportation National Standard Curriculum (NSC) for the EMT-Basic. This comprehensive, yet easy-to-use text is your complete guide for learning the essential skills you need to become a successful EMT. Real-world knowledge. Real-world skills. Real-world situations.
Emergency Sedation and Pain Management by
Procedural sedation and analgesia represents one of the great advances in the maturation of emergency medicine as a discrete speciality within medicine. Once the exclusive domain of the anesthesiologist, sedation and pain management procedures are now a routine part of all emergency department practices. Emergency Sedation and Pain Management is a comprehensive medical text addressing emergency sedation and analgesia with specific emphasis on treatment of the emergency department patient. The easily accessible, clinically oriented format allows the reader fast and efficient access to the key points in each chapter. The text presents a clinical approach to the treatment of pain in emergency patients, including pediatric and adult populations. Analgesia, sedation, and anesthetic techniques are presented in an informative, authoritative, and concise format - written and edited by physicians with extensive research as well as clinical emergency medicine expertise. The chapters are richly supplemented with tables, photographs, and step-by-step illustrations.
EMT Crash Course with Online Practice Test, 2nd Edition by
REA’s EMT Crash Course® Everything you need for the exam – in a fast review format! REA’s EMT Crash Course® is the only book of its kind for the last-minute studier or any prospective Emergency Medical Technician who wants a quick refresher before taking the NREMT Certification Exam. Targeted, Focused Review – Study Only What You Need to Know Written by an EMS Program Director and NREMT paramedic with 30 years of experience, EMT Crash Course® relies on the author’s careful analysis of the exam’s content and actual test questions. It covers only the information tested on the exam, so you can make the most of your valuable study time. Our fully indexed targeted review covers all the official test categories including airway, ventilation, oxygenation, trauma, cardiology, medical, and EMS operations and is packed with practice questions and answers at the end of each chapter. Also included are tips and insights on résumé building, information on finding additional training opportunities, and more. Expert Test-taking Strategies Our experienced EMT author explains the structure of the NREMT Certification Exam, so you know what to expect on test day. He also shares detailed question-level strategies and shows you the best way to answer questions. By following our expert tips and advice, you can score higher on every section of the exam. Must-know Key Terms Knowing the right medical terminology can make a real difference in your test score. That’s why we cover more than 400 EMT terms you need to know before you take your exam. Full-length Online Practice Exam The book comes with a true-to-format online practice test with diagnostic feedback, topic-level scoring, and detailed answer explanations to help students gauge their test-readiness. No matter how or when you prepare for the EMT exam, REA’s EMT Crash Course® will show you how to study efficiently and strategically, so you can get a great score! REA’s EMT Crash Course® Everything you need for the exam – in a fast review format! REA’s EMT Crash Course® is the only book of its kind for the last-minute studier or any prospective Emergency Medical Technician who wants a quick refresher before taking the NREMT Certification Exam. Targeted, Focused Review – Study Only What You Need to Know Written by an EMS Program Director and NREMT paramedic with 30 years of experience, EMT Crash Course® relies on the author’s careful analysis of the exam’s content and actual test questions. It covers only the information tested on the exam, so you can make the most of your valuable study time. Our fully indexed targeted review covers all the official test categories including airway, ventilation, oxygenation, trauma, cardiology, medical, and EMS operations and is packed with practice questions and answers at the end of each chapter. Also included are tips and insights on résumé building, information on finding additional training opportunities, and more. Expert Test-taking Strategies Our experienced EMT author explains the structure of the NREMT Certification Exam, so you know what to expect on test day. He also shares detailed question-level strategies and shows you the best way to answer questions. By following our expert tips and advice, you can score higher on every section of the exam. Must-know Key Terms Knowing the right medical terminology can make a real difference in your test score. That’s why we cover more than 400 EMT terms you need to know before you take your exam. Full-length Online Practice Exam The book comes with a true-to-format online practice test with diagnostic feedback, topic-level scoring, and detailed answer explanations to help students gauge their test-readiness. No matter how or when you prepare for the EMT exam, REA’s EMT Crash Course® will show you how to study efficiently and strategically, so you can get a great score! About the Author Dr. Christopher Coughlin is the EMS Program Director for Glendale Community College in Glendale, Arizona. Dr. Coughlin has been an NREMT paramedic since 1991 and was one of the first 850 nationally certified flight paramedics (FP-C) in the United States. Dr. Coughlin earned his AAS in Advanced Emergency Medical Technology from Glendale Community College; his B.A. in Adult Education from Ottawa University, Phoenix, Arizona; his M.Ed. in Educational Leadership from Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, Arizona, and his Ph.D. in Professional Studies from Capella University, Minneapolis, Minnesota.
EMT Flashcard Book, 4th Ed by
REA's EMT Flashcard Book, 4th Edition Raise your score with 400 must-study test questions! REA's flashcard book for the EMT exam helps you check your test-readiness and get a high score. Our flashcard book is the perfect refresher and offers a quick and convenient way to practice answering questions while pinpointing your strengths and weaknesses. Written by an expert with nearly 30 years of experience in the fire and EMS arenas, our flashcards give you full scenarios to evaluate in a multiple-choice format, just like the actual test. The book contains 400 must-study questions that cover all the test categories on the EMT exam: airway and breathing, cardiology, medical, obstetrics and pediatrics, and trauma. Handy icons help you locate questions by subject, so you can review and test your knowledge in specific areas. The book also includes fun facts about the medical/EMT profession and its history. Unlike most flashcards that come loose in a box, our flashcards are bound in an organized, portable book that makes studying a breeze. Our concise question and answer format makes it easy to find the right answer, and we give details explaining why the answer is correct. REA's EMT flashcards are perfect for on-the-go review and ideal for individual, classroom, or group study.
EMT Prehospital Care by
The Revised Third Edition is now updated to reflect the new 2005 emergency cardiac care guidelines. It provides a visually-rich, easy-to-read way to learn the EMT-Basic curriculum. Remaining true to previous editions, this new edition follows the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) National Standard Curriculum for EMT-Basic. In addition to covering the essential points of the curriculum, it also goes beyond the curriculum in depth and breadth of content in all chapters, making this book an excellent choice for on-the-job reference. Instructor resources are available; please contact your Elsevier sales representative for details. Opening Scenarios and Case-in-Points are integrated throughout the text and provide a clinical frame of reference. U.S. DOT objectives are integrated throughout each chapter. Illustrated assessment algorithms provide a step-by-step process for learning patient assessment. Treatment protocols summarize the key signs and symptoms and related treatment approaches for common clinical conditions. Expanded information on the Well-Being of the EMT-Basic discusses modes of infection transmissions, standard precautions of infection control, and information on Multiple Drug Resistant Infections. Illustrated skill sheets have been completely redesigned, providing easy-to-follow, step-by-step photographs. Content is updated to reflect the new 2005 emergency cardiac care guidelines. Companion CD-ROM supplements the information in the text with interactive case studies, skill challenges, review questions, and visual exercises. "Nuts and Bolts," a new section at the end of every chapter, incorporates a summary, key terms, learning checklist, review questions, further review resources and U.S. DOT objectives for a one-stop review of all key material. Expanded anatomy and physiology review at the beginning of each clinical chapter aids in reader comprehension. Expanded information on altered mental status and cardiopulmonary resuscitation offers totally up-to-date information on these developing topics. New chapters on Chest and Abdominal Injuries, Weapons of Mass Destruction, Geriatrics, and a new appendix on Domestic Abuse.
Essentials of Paramedic Care by
Introduction to advanced prehospital care -- Medical/legal aspects of advanced prehospital care -- Anatomy and physiology -- General principles of pathophysiology -- Life-span development -- General principles of pharmacology -- Intravenous access and medication administration -- Airway management and ventilation -- Therapeutic communications -- History taking -- Physical exam techniques -- Patient assessment in the field -- Clinical decision making -- Communications -- Documentation -- Trauma and trauma systems -- Blunt trauma -- Penetrating trauma -- Hemorrhage and shock -- Soft-tissue trauma -- Burns -- Musculoskeletal trauma -- Head, facial, and neck trauma -- Spinal trauma -- Thoracic trauma -- Abdominal trauma -- Pulmonology -- Cardiology -- Neurology -- Endocrinology -- Allergies and anaphylaxis -- Gastroenterology -- Urology and nephrology -- Toxicology and substance abuse -- Hematology -- Environmental emergencies -- Infectious disease -- Psychiatric and behavioral disorders -- Gynecology -- Obstetrics -- Neonatology -- Pediatrics -- Geriatric emergencies -- Abuse and assault -- The challenged patient -- Acute interventions for the chronic-care patient -- Assessment-based management -- Operations -- Responding to terrorist acts.
Essentials of Paramedic Care Workbook by
Introduction to advanced prehospital care -- Medical/legal aspects of advanced prehospital care -- Anatomy and physiology -- General principles of pathophysiology -- Life-span development -- General principles of pharmacology -- Intravenous access and medication administration -- Airway management and ventilation -- Therapeutic communications -- History taking -- Physical exam techniques -- Patient assessment in the field -- Clinical decision making -- Communications -- Documentation -- Trauma and trauma systems -- Blunt trauma -- Penetrating trauma -- Hemorrhage and shock -- Soft-tissue trauma -- Burns -- Musculoskeletal trauma -- Head, facial, and neck trauma -- Spinal trauma -- Thoracic trauma -- Abdominal trauma -- Pulmonology -- Cardiology -- Neurology -- Endocrinology -- Allergies and anaphylaxis -- Gastroenterology -- Urology and nephrology -- Toxicology and substance abuse -- Hematology -- Environmental emergencies -- Infectious disease -- Psychiatric and behavioral disorders -- Gynecology -- Obstetrics -- Neonatology -- Pediatrics -- Geriatric emergencies -- Abuse and assault -- The challenged patient -- Acute interventions for the chronic-care patient -- Assessment-based management -- Operations -- Responding to terrorist acts.
First Responder by
Introduction to the EMS system -- The well-being of the first responder -- Medical, legal, and ethical issues -- The human body -- Lifting and moving patients -- Airway management -- Patient assessment -- Communications and documentation -- Professional rescuer CPR -- Medical emergencies -- Poisoning and substance abuse -- Behavioral emergencies -- Bleeding, shock, and soft-tissue injuries -- Injuries to muscles and bones -- Childbirth -- Pediatric emergencies -- Geriatric emergencies -- EMS operations -- Terrorism awareness -- Special rescue -- Supplemental skills.
Initial Management of Acute Medical Patients by
Initial Management of Acute Medical Patients is a clinically focused, practical and contemporary guide for assessing and managing patients with acute medical conditions. Suitable for all nurses and healthcare practitioners in medical assessment units and medical wards, as well as A&E staff, it uses a structured approach based on common presenting features and focuses on the first 24 hours of the patient's hospital stay. It draws on a wide range of supporting evidence and also provides sources for further reading. Key features: Written predominantly by nurses for nurses, this text is also suitable for a range of healthcare professionals, including paramedics and nurse practitioners, and anybody working in an acute care environment, including primary care assessment units, clinical decision units and intermediate care Designed as a quick reference text for use in clinical practice Extensively referenced throughout, thus increasing its appeal to practitioners at all stages of their careers and to those who are undertaking further study Devotes two entire chapters to assessing and meeting the acute care needs of vulnerable adults (i.e. older adults, those with mental health needs, and those with learning disabilities), and discussing best practice in dealing with sudden death Each chapter offers clear, concise and down-to-earth information based on a common presenting symptom and provides practical advice, supported by best evidence and the most up to date clinical guidelines Fully updated and extensively expanded to include recent guidelines and procedures.
International Trauma Life Support by
Scene size-up -- Assessment and initial management of the trauma patient -- Patient assessment skills -- Initial airway management -- Airway management -- Thoracic trauma -- Thoracic trauma skills -- Shock evaluation and management -- Fluid resuscitation skills -- Head trauma -- Spinal trauma -- Spine management skills -- Abdominal trauma -- Extremity trauma -- Extremity trauma skills -- Burns -- Trauma in children -- Trauma in the elderly -- Trauma in pregnancy -- Patients under the influence of alcohol or drugs -- The trauma cardiopulmonary arrest -- Standard precautions in the prehospital setting.
Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets by
Nancy Caroline's Emergency Care in the Streets, Seventh Edition is the next step in the evolution of the premier paramedic education program. This legendary paramedic textbook was first developed by Dr. Nancy Caroline in the early 1970s and transformed paramedic education. Today, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons is proud to continue this legacy and set the new gold standard for the paramedics of tomorrow. The Seventh Edition reflects the collective experience of its top-flight author team and decades of street wisdom. This fully updated edition covers every competency statement of the National EMS Education Standards for paramedics with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures student comprehension and encourages critical thinking. This edition emphasizes the ideal that becoming a paramedic is a continual pursuit of growth and excellence throughout an entire career. Concepts of team leadership and professionalism are woven throughout the chapters, challenging students to become more compassionate, conscientious health care professionals as well as superior clinicians.
Paramedic by 
Paramedic Care: Principles & Practice by
v. 1. Introduction to advanced prehospital care -- v. 2. Patient assessment -- v. 3. Medical emergencies -- v. 4. Trauma emergencies -- v. 5. Special considerations operations.
Paramedic Crash Course with Online Practice Test by
REA’s Paramedic Crash Course® Everything You Need for the Exam – in a Fast Review Format! From the Author of REA’s Best-selling EMT Crash Course® REA’s Paramedic Crash Course® is the only book of its kind for the last-minute studier or any prospective Paramedic who wants a quick refresher before taking the National Registry Paramedic (NRP) Exam. Targeted, Focused Review – Study Only What You Need to Know Written by Dr. Christopher Coughlin, an EMS Program Director and paramedic with 27 years of experience, Paramedic Crash Course® relies on the author’s careful analysis of the exam’s content and actual test questions. It covers only the information tested on the exam, so you can make the most of your valuable study time. Our fully indexed targeted review covers all the official test categories including airway and breathing, medical emergencies, trauma, special patients, and EMS operations. Expert Test-taking Strategies Our experienced author explains the structure of the exam, so you know what to expect on test day. He also shares detailed question-level strategies and shows you the best way to answer questions. By following our expert tips and advice, you can score higher on every section of the exam. Full-length Online Practice Exam The book comes with a true-to-format online practice test with diagnostic feedback, topic-level scoring, and detailed answer explanations to help students gauge their test-readiness. No matter how or when you prepare for the Paramedic Exam, REA’s Paramedic Crash Course® will show you how to study efficiently and strategically, so you can get a great score!
Paramedics! Test Yourself in Anatomy & Physiology by
This self-test book of self-assessment questions and quizzes that is designed to both test paramedic students learning and help them understand their knowledge gaps by explaining the answers to the questions included.
Paramedics! Test Yourself in Pathophysiology by
This self-test book of self-assessment questions and quizzes that is designed to both test paramedic students learning pathophysiology and help them understand their knowledge gaps by explaining the answers to the questions included.
Prehospital Trauma Life Support by
As the required textbook for NAEMT's worldwide prehospital trauma life support courses, Prehospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) is the definitive resource for learning basic and advanced prehospital trauma skills and concepts. Now revised and expanded to cover all aspects of prehospital trauma with new chapters on burns, wilderness trauma, tactical considerations, weapons of mass destruction, triage and disaster management, and environmental trauma the 6th edition is the ultimate trauma text for any prehospital care provider The 6th edition is also ideal for use as the trauma component of an EMT or paramedic course or as a general reference tool on trauma assessment and management.
