Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physical Therapist Assistant
Books & Ebooks
The American Physical Therapy Association Book of Body Repair and Maintenance by The new standard in fitness books, featuring hundreds of at-home stretches and exercises. At last, the first complete, fully illustrated compendium of stretching and exercises for every part of the body, backed by the experience and medical and scientific authority of the American Physical Therapy Association. Each exercise in the book has been prepared and reviewed by a special editorial board, chaired by Dr. Marilyn Moffat, president emeritus of the APTA, and widely considered to be the preeminent expert in the field.
Broken down into three major sections, The American Physical Therapy Association Book of Body Repair and Maintenance first offers illustrated descriptions of the structure and mechanics of each major body part, explaining what can go wrong and how to properly care for that area. A middle section provides general information on posture, body mechanics, weight control, aerobic conditioning, and maintenance programs. Each chapter references the main part of the book, the catalog of exercises.
Call Number: RA781.M64 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Arnold-Taylor's Principles and Pratice of Physical Therapy by William Arnould-Taylor has a distinguished record in the field of physiology, especially as applied to physical therapy. This book provides a comprehensive overview of the physical therapies.
Call Number: RM700.A76 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy by Part I. Basic clinical kenesiology and anatomy. Basic information ; Skeletal system ; Articular system ; Arthrokinematics ; Muscular system ; Nervous system ; Circulatory system ; Basic biomechanics -- Part II. Clinical kinesiology and anatomy of the upper extremities. Shoulder girdle ; Shoulder joint ; Elbow joint ; Wrist joint ; Hand -- Part III. Clinical kinesiology and anatomy of the trunk. Temporomandibular joint ; Neck and trunk ; Respiratory system ; Pelvic girdle -- Part IV. Clinical kinesiology and anatomy of the lower extremities. Hip joint ; Knee joint ; Ankle joint and foot -- Clinical kinesiology and anatomy of the body. Part V. Posture ; Gait.
Call Number: QP303 .L57 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Foundations of Physical Therapy by This text takes the global approach to the profession of physical therapy, focusing, not only on practice specialities, but also settings, populations served, and issues, including specialization, relations with complementary health professionals, and education issues. In addition, it covers salient legal ethical and management issues. Lastly the book examines comparative physiotherapy, highlighting select international models of practice.
Call Number: RM700.S36 2002
Publication Date: 2001
Introduction to Physical Therapy by This introductory text emphasizes the action quality of physiotherapy, and illustrates the educational requirements, legal issues and organizations. Other topics covered include the origins of the profession, regulation of practice, reimbursement, research, and health-care reform. There is also an explanation of the different clinical areas of physiotherapy, and case studies are included in most chapters.
Call Number: RM700.P34 1996
Publication Date: 1995
Introduction to Physical Therapy for Physical Therapist Assistants by Written specifically for Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA) students, this text is an excellent introduction for physical therapist assistants education. This new edition includes updated information regarding the relationship between the Physical Therapist (PT) and PTA and key concepts of the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice for better understanding of clinical guidelines. It also includes new information regarding clinical trends in physical therapy.Utilizing this text specifically for PTAs, instructors can introduce students to information regarding professionalism, professional roles, interpersonal communication, physical therapists behavior and conduct, teaching and learning, and evidence based practice. This comprehensive text will provide a valuable resource throughout the physical therapist assistants education and training throughout the entire duration of the PTA program.New to Second Edition:Distinctive description of physical therapy developments from its Formative Years (1914-1920) to the APTAs Vision and Application of Scientific Pursuit of todayPTAs usage of the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist PracticeDifferences between physical therapy and medical diagnosisContemporary clinical trends regarding wellness, health promotion and disease preventionInstructor Resources: Transition Guide, PowerPoint slides and TestBank
Call Number: RM705.D74 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Lukan's Documentation for Physical Therapist Assistants by How important is documentation? Very! Physical Therapist Assistants must provide the proper documentation to assure all forms of reimbursement (including third party) for their services. And, appropriate documentation also addresses issues of patient confidentiality, HIPAA requirements, and the ever-increasing demands of legal and ethical practice in a litigious society. Build your students’ documentation skills and their confidence, step by step, with the guidance and practice they’ll find inside the 3rd Edition. They’ll be prepared to meet the technological challenges of today...and tomorrow.
Publication Date: 2007
Muscle Energy Techniques by Muscle energy techniques (METs) are a tool for physical therapists to strengthen patients' weak muscles, restore normal muscle tone, increase joint mobility, and improve circulation, musculoskeletal function, and overall well-being. First developed in 1948 by American osteopath Fred Mitchell, METs offer a valuable approach for practitioners of physiotherapy, sports therapy, osteopathy, chiropractic, yoga, and Pilates. METs are unique in their application: rather than the therapist initiating the effort, the patient contracts specific muscles against a resistance applied by the therapist, who is simply guiding the exertion in a controlled position and direction.
While METs have been in practice for decades, the theory behind them is often misunderstood and the possibilities for their application overlooked. Muscle Energy Techniques is the first affordable, accessible guide to METs for students and practitioners of all levels. Author John Gibbons walks readers through the assessment testing of chronically tight muscles and shows how to apply a specific MET to correct dysfunctional muscles and restore normality. Easy-to-follow postural muscle tables and 160 full-color photographs and illustrations aid practitioners in monitoring the progress of patients and provide students with the underpinning knowledge of the specific anatomy. The principles described can be incorporated quickly and effectively into a treatment plan and used to assist in the rehabilitation of anyone who is recovering from an injury.
Call Number: RM724.G53 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Opportunities in Physical Therapy Careers by Are you looking for the latest information to open the door to the career of your dreams? This work covers a range of jobs in this industry, from those that require high school and trade school to associate, four-year, and graduate degrees. It includes salary statistics, training requirements, as well as the lowdown on life on the job.
Call Number: HF5382.P489K78 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Orthopaedic Physical Therapy by This comprehensive textbook of musculoskeletal rehabilitation features discussion of both conservative and post-surgical rehabilitation. ORTHOPAEDIC PHYSICAL THERAPY, 3rd Edition offers thorough coverage of the evaluation and treatment of the musculoskeletal system, organized by body region. A wealth of illustrations enhances the text and help users grasp various techniques. This outstanding tool focuses on the variety of different manual therapy techniques available, including mobilization, soft tissue mobilization, and neural mobilization. Discussions of the Cyriax, Maitland, and McKenzie techniques are also featured. Additional case studies with a problem-solving approach Expanded coverage of muscle physiology 4 new chapters: Chapter 3 Theory & Practice of Muscle Strengthening in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Chapter 24 Dysfunction, Evaluation, & Treatment of the Foot & Ankle Chapter 28 Measurement of Functional Status, Progress and Outcome in Orthopaedic Clinical Practice Chapter 31 Evaluation and Treatment of Neural Tissue Pain Disorders
Call Number: RD736.P47O787 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Orthopedic and Sports Physical Therapy by This classic text is the third edition of Gould: Orthopedic and Sports Physical Therapy. It has been extensively revised to make it more valuable in the classroom. Sections on basic sciences, evaluation, special areas, and a large section on regional considerations are supplemented by key terms, case studies, review questions, suggested readings and a glossary at the end of the text.
Call Number: RD736.P47O78 1997
Publication Date: 1996
Pain Management in Physical Therapy by Totally revised and updated, this edition has been expanded for the practitioner physiotherapist. It now includes valuable new chapters on: the role of the physiotherapist in the pain clinic; psychological aspects of pain; ergonomics; and sports and other soft tissue injuries.
Call Number: RB127.P332 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs by Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Second Edition, is a concise and condensed clinical pocket guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistants and physical therapist assistant students easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct, summarizing pocket-guide covers the evaluative as well as interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions in various clinical settings including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric and acute care. With its portable and user-friendly format, this handbook is a valuable resource for physical therapist assistant students during the education training program and throughout clinical practice.
The Second Edition features a new and unique look at physical therapy in acute care provided by PTAs. Acute care topics include musculoskeletal and neurological acute care, as well as the significant factors in acute care to consider while applying physical therapy to patients with endocrine, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and oncological disorders/diseases. The Second Edition contains physical therapy terminology reflecting current physical therapy practice according to the APTA's "Guide to Physical Therapist Practice" and also includes guidelines from the CDC and JCAHO. Appendices contain helpful balance assessment forms, and cardiac and integumentary patient education forms.
Call Number: RM705.D745 2011
Publication Date: 2012
CINAHL Full text for more than 610 journals in nursing and allied health, indexing for 3000 more, and searchable cited references for almost 1300 journals, back to 1981.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Over 800 journals, with nearly 550 scholarly ones in full text, focusing on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health.
MedicLatina Full text for 130 medical research journals from Latin America and Spain.
MEDLINE From the National Library of Medicine, provides indexing and abstracts for over 4800 biomedical journals from all around the world (see PubMed for some full text).
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) Offer a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more with access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports.
PubMed This link goes to the website at the National Library of Medicine. Indexing and abstracts for over 4800 medical research journals from around the world, with links to full text when available.
Several PT journals available in Health Reference Center Academic Database
- Physical Therapy
- Physical Therapy Sport
- Physical Therapy Products
- Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy Journal
- PT: Magazine of Physical Therapy
- Bulletin of Faculty of Physical Therapy
- Journal of Acute Care Physical Therapy