Handbook of Gastreoenterologic Procedures by
The only handbook to cover both endoscopic and non-endoscopic GI procedures, Handbook of Gastroenterologic Procedures, 5th Edition, has been extensively revised and reorganized to be even more useful as a quick reference in your practice. New editors, 20 new chapters, and a concise, pocket-sized format make it a must-have resource for clinicians involved in any aspect of gastroenterologic procedures. Comprehensive yet succinct coverage of all diagnostic and therapeutic GI procedures-both endoscopic and non-endoscopic-in current use for adult and pediatric patients. A concise, logically structured format includes indications, contraindications, patient preparation, equipment, technique, post-procedure care, and adverse events. New chapters include balloon-assisted enteroscopy, placement of colonic self-expandable metal stents, endoscopic ultrasound-guided biopsies and drainage, endoscopic submucosal dissection, peroral endoscopic myotomy, and management of post-surgical adverse events. More than 100 drawings guide you through key steps
2017 Physicians Desk Reference by
The Physicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 71 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected.
Now in its 71st edition, PDR contains full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information, such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, and interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol. Data on clinical trials are also included.
Conn's Current Therapy 2017 by
Covering more than 300 clinically relevant topics, Conn’s Current Therapy 2017 by Drs. Edward T. Bope and Rick D. Kellerman offers an in-depth, personal approach to treatment from international experts, ideally suited for today’s busy medical practitioners. Trustworthy and easy to use, this annually updated resource focuses solely on the most current treatment protocols for common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses you’re likely to see. New chapters and numerous new authors in this edition bring you fully up to date on the topics you need to know about for effective patient care.
Evidence-Based Physical Examination Handbook by
Evidence-Based Physical Examination Handbook was developed as a guide to the strategies and best practices needed by clinicians to assess an individual's health and well-being. This handbook is intended for a broad audience of health science students and clinicians across disciplines who strive to exemplify excellence in evidence-based assessment and practice
Geriatric Pharmacology by
Geriatric Pharmacology - The Principles of Practice & Clinical Recommendations, is designed to explain the aging process and help the healthcare professional reduce the chance of a drug-disease interaction or adverse drug event. By evaluating high-risk medications, minimizing polypharmacy and following essential guidelines in geriatric medicine - safety and efficacy can be achieved.
Handbook of Critical and Intensive Care Medicine by
The latest edition of this handbook is a concise yet comprehensive guide for attending physicians, fellows, residents, and students who cover the ICU. The chapters follow an outline format and are divided by organ system, including neurologic disorders and cardiovascular disorders, and special topics, such as environmental disorders, trauma, and toxicology. The handbook includes thoroughly updated chapters from the previous edition, alongside completely new material.
Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2018 by
No other text links practice and research like CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment! Written by clinicians renowned in their respective fields, this trusted text offers the most current insights into symptoms, signs, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders. You'll find concise, evidence-based answers to questions about both hospital and ambulatory problems. This valuable clinical companion is the fastest and easiest way to find the latest information about diagnostic advances, prevention strategies, and cost-effective treatments.
The Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals by
An extensively revised and updated one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs.
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by
Packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, this handy, compact guide was written by a team of clinicians for everyday use by medical professionals for delivery of the best care to their patients.
Designed for maximum clinical utility, the new Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy 19th edition makes it easy to find the right information, right when it is needed. It is a must-have for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals.
Neuromuscular Quick Pocket Reference by
Neuromuscular Quick Pocket Reference provides easy and efficient access to common physical examination techniques and other neurological tests performed in a broad range of specialties. Mainly composed of tables, charts, and photographs, this handy reference puts together and organizes the information that clinicians use on a daily basis. The first part of the book covers musculoskeletal physical exam by region. Each entry is formatted and includes test name(s), purpose, techniques, clinical findings for positive test, sensitivity, specificity, and sources. Photographs showing proper placement and action accompany most entries and provide a visual blueprint for successfully replicating tests in the exam room. The second part of the book is devoted to common neurological tests and scales for on the- go reference, including muscles, motor points, dermatomes and myotomes, spasticity findings, radiculopathies, traumatic brain injury assessment, stroke scales, pressure ulcers, and much more. Features of Neuromuscular Quick Pocket Reference Include: Pocket-sized for portability and ease of use Covers common neuromuscular assessment tests performed on a daily basis Technical photographs enhance understanding and help hone point-of-care exam skills Sensitivity and specificity of each test is displayed Presents frequently-used neurological tables and scales for quick look-up of essential patient care information
Nursing 2011 Drug Handbook by
Comprehensive coverage of over 3,300 generic and trade name drugs - including new monographs for 39 new FDA-approved drugs - put the drug information you need at your fingertips. Organized by therapeutic class AND alphabetical index, with over 1,300 drug information updates, this handbook helps you prevent drug errors and administer medications safely and accurately.
Principles of Physiology for the Anaesthetist by
This book provides readers with an anaesthesia-focused alternative to general physiology textbooks. The new edition has been reorganised with the trainee anaesthesist in mind, into shorter bite-sized chapters ideal for exam revision. The content includes the physiology of all major organ systems, with specific emphasis on the nervous, respiratory, and cardiovascular systems as well as special sections on pain, aging, specific environments and obesity. Alongside the learning objectives, reflection points and a handy summary of physiological equations and tables, there is greater emphasis on clinical application in this fourth edition, with applied physiology included in almost every section
The American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine
The brand-new American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine reflects the latest developments in medicine, with entries featuring newly approved medications, advances in genetics and immunology, recent changes in the terminology of diseases and syndromes, and new psychiatric classifications introduced in DSM-5.
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Healers by 
Black's Medical Dictionary, 43rd Edition
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Medical Terminology: the Best and Most Effective Way to Memorize, Pronounce and Understand Medical Terms by
This book contains proven steps and strategies on how to understand, pronounce, and memorize medical terms using various methods. It also has tips and strategies that can help you apply these methods.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by 
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by 
Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary
An invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options. Packed with information about diseases, treatments, and medicines. Includes appendices on vitamins and frequently used anatomical terms. Draws information from dozens of medical specialists ranging from pediatrics to pathology.
The Encyclopedia of Aging
The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care is a state-of-the-art resource featuring nearly 300 articles. Topics include acute and chronic disease, home care including family-based care provisions, nursing home care, rehabilitation, health promotion, disease prevention, education, case management, social services, assisted living, advance directives, palliative care, and much more.
The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders.
Epilepsy A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia
Epilepsy A-Z is a unique compendium that provides a "bullet" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference
The International Encyclopedia of Depression
Experts from around the globe have been selected to present interdisciplinary coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more. Entries are conveniently organized into subcategories in order to provide the most in-depth coverage of each subject.
Ask Harvard Medical School Video Series
Ask the Doctor questions answered by Harvard Medical School faculty members.
Black's Veterinary Dictionary
Black's Veterinary Dictionary has been a bestseller for over seventy years. It is an essential reference tool for all with a professional or leisure interest in the care of animals
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by
An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Key Concepts in Public Health
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.
Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine draws on historical and international comparative research to provide a rigorous and thematic examination of the field. It argues that many popular and policy debates are stuck in a polarized and largely asocial discourse, and that interdisciplinary social science perspectives, theorising diversity in the field, provide a much more robust evidence base for policy and practice in the field.
SAGE Key Concepts Series: Key Concepts in Health Studies
Key Concepts in Health Studies provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners.
A Beginner's Guide to the End: Practical Advice for Living Life and Facing Death by
"The first ever practical, compassionate, and comprehensive guide to dying--and living fully until you do. "There is nothing wrong with you for dying," palliative care doctor BJ Miller and Shoshana Berger write in A Beginner's Guide to the End. "Our ultimate purpose here isn't so much to help you die as it is to free up as much life as possible until you do." Theirs is a clear-eyed and big-hearted action plan for approaching the end of life, written to help readers feel more in control of an experience that so often seems anything but. Their book offers everything from step-by-step instructions for how to do your paperwork and navigate the healthcare system to answers to questions you might be afraid to ask your doctor, like whether or not sex is still okay when you're sick. You'll be walked through how to break the news to your employer, whether to share old secrets with your family, how to face friends who might not be as empathetic as you'd hoped, and to how to talk to your children about your will. (Don't worry: if anyone gets snippy, it'll likely be their spouses, not them.) There are also lessons for survivors, like how shut down a loved one's social media accounts, clean out the house, and write a great eulogy. An honest, surprising, and detailed-oriented guide to the most universal of all experiences, A Beginner's Guide to the End is the one book that everyone needs"--
"The first-ever soup-to-nuts practical guide to preparing for death, from how to talk to your children about your will, to how to hack the hospice system, to how your survivors can pull off a great eulogy. Think of this as What to Expect When You're Expecting to Die
Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care by
The Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care returns for a third edition, maintaining the concise yet comprehensive format suited to the busy practitioner for quick access to key information, and fully updated to reflect changes in the palliative care landscape.Featuring an increased emphasis on non-malignant diseases such as dementia, this authoritative text combines evidence-based care with the bedside experience of experienced palliative care professionals to give the reader a complete overview of the physical, emotional, and spiritual aspects of carefor the end-of-life patient. Symptom management is covered in detail, with updated formulary tables and syringe driver protocols, and a new chapter on international perspectives to broaden the reader's perception of methods for delivering end-of-life care.The third edition of the Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care is the essential companion for all of those working with adults, children, and families with palliative care needs, in both hospital and community settings
Palliative Care Conversations by
This book will be the first of its kind to offer intensive conversation analysis on patient-clinician interactions in the context of palliative medicine. The book focuses on a series of individual case studies of conversations that revolve, in each case, around one key critical term that is often evoked or understood differently by clinicians and patients.
PTCB Exam Study Guide 2020-2021: Test Prep and Practice Test Questions Book for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination by
"Ascencia Test Prep's unofficial NEW PTCB Exam Study Guide 2020-2021: Test Prep and Practice Test Questions Book for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Examination offers you real examples, graphics, and information, you'll benefit from a quick but full review of everything on the exam!"
PTCB exam prep 2020-2021 : A study guide with 360 test questions and answer explanations for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Examination by
"This PTCB study guide combines theory and practice questions so that students are fully prepared before writing the exam. While other guides only provide around 100 questions, this guide has 360 questions along with answer explanations."
Encyclopedia of International Games
The Encyclopedia of International Games captures (in one alphabetical sequence) the histories of major regional events such as the African, Asian, Arab, South Pacific, and Pan American Games; competitions such as the Indian Ocean Island Games, Arctic Winter Games, Island Games, and Games of the Small Countries of Europe; specific populations or professions such as the North American Indigenous Games, Maccabiah Games, World Military Games, World Police and Fire Games, and World Medical and Health Games; and Special Olympics, the Paralympics, games for the blind, and other regional games.
World Atlas of Sport
The atlas traces the emergence of sport in its modern forms, and features all established Olympic sports and sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) but not included in the Olympic programme, as well as sports with their own cultural and organizational base and commercial momentum.
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology by
Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
Key Concepts in Sport & Exercise Sciences
Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.
Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine draws on historical and international comparative research to provide a rigorous and thematic examination of the field.
National Geographic Complete Guide to Natural Home Remedies: 1,025 Easy Ways to Live Longer, Feel Better, and Enrich Your Life
Created with a nationally recognized advisory board of medical professionals and leading figures in natural healing fields, National Geographic Complete Guide to Natural Home Remedies covers topics ranging from the familiar to the new and promising: from mint tea for a stomachache to onion juice for a bee sting, from using baking soda as a kitchen cleanser to finding quiet in a crowded world, from adding turmeric to fight arthritis to practicing aromatherapy at home
The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by
The Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 - 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.
The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health by
This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health by
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
Dr. Susan Love’s Breast Book
Dr. Susan Loves Breast Book has long been the bible for the newly diagnosed. In this completely revised fifth edition, it also becomes a guide for those at risk of getting breast cancer, survivors interested in the consequences of their treatment, and anyone who wants to understand the new research about how the local environment influences the manifestations and treatments of many different kinds of breast cancer.
