Detox Your Home by Christine DimmickFrom food, water, and kitchen goods, to personal care and cleaning products- even clothing and common household items like phones and childrens' toys- Detox Your Home takes a deep dive into the products we use on a daily basis, to expose the harmful toxins lurking in our most intimate, everyday environments. Industrialization has created a world that puts products before human and environmental health. Our resources are depleting along with our health. Dimmick takes a deep dive into the toxins found in our very own homes, and shows how you can limit your exposure and take control of your own health. From clothing to food to the cleaning products we use every day, she shows how you can avoid exposing yourself and your family to the hidden toxins and improve every part of your life.
Call Number: RA1250 .D56 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by Jacqueline L. LongeThe Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 - 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.
Undo It! by Dean Ornish; Anne OrnishThe founder of the Preventive Medicine Research Institute outlines scientifically based recommendations for reversing heart disease and other chronic health problems through lifestyle changes designed to slow cellular aging.
Call Number: RC108 .O76 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Cosmetics, Hygiene products, Beauty
Natural Beauty Skin Care by Nana Twumasi (Managing editor); Deborah Burnes"In Natural Beauty Skin Care, you'll learn how to create wholesome beauty products without looking too far past your pantry. The bonus? The recipes and formulas within actually work."--DR. FRANK LIPMAN, founder of the Eleven-Eleven Wellness Center and New York Times bestselling author of The New Health Rules
When it comes to skin care, everyone knows that natural is best, but with chemical-ridden products being mislabeled as "all-natural" and so many homemade beauty regimens available online, keeping it natural can feel complicated. Whether you're a homemade product junkie looking for affordable options, or just joining the natural skin care revolution-- Natural Beauty Skin Care will get you and your skin back-to-basics--one natural product at a time.
Skin care expert and co-founder of Sumbody Skin Care, Deborah Burnes, applies her specialized combination of chemistry, cosmetology, and natural medicine to create the eco-friendly skin care recipes in Natural Beauty Skin Care. This book is your guide to creating all-natural skin care products that achieve glowing, radiant skin, hair and nails. The simple, budget-friendly skin care recipes found in Natural Beauty Skin Carewill transform your skin and include decadent homemade beauty treats like Honey & Chia Seed Cleanser, Coconut Body Butter, and Argan Oil Shampoo.
Natural, easy-to-make beauty recipes that eliminate chemicals from your skin care routine Head-to-toe indulgence cares for all the skin that you're in with nourishing body butters, hydrating hair masks, decadent bath bombs, and more Natural Ingredient 101--learn the eye-opening why's behind the step-by-step how's and go all-natural with your skin care for good
Call Number: RA778 .B87 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Wellness & Mental Health
Dr. Suzanne Steinbaum's Heart Book: every woman's guide to a heart-healthy life by Suzanne SteinbaumIn the tradition of Christiane Northrup, a renowned cardiologist integrates emotional and physical well-being in a revolutionary new approach to women's heart health.
As a cardiologist with a specialization in women's heart disease, Dr. Steinbaum has helped thousands of patients resolve their heart issues, and aims to do the same for readers in her inspirational book that will change the way we think about heart health. She guides readers through the risk factors of heart disease, from the traditional physical benchmarks like weight, cholesterol, and blood pressure, to lifestyle habits, emotional awareness, and even the way she sees herself in the mirror--and in the world.
In Dr. Suzanne Steinbaum's Heart Book , readers are shown clear, easy steps on how to maximize heart health. This is a life book that will teach women how to regain control over all aspects of their busy lives, including how to finally achieve:
A heart-healthy diet Heart-supportive exercise Heart-enhancing stress management Heart-filling relationships A sound night's sleep A more satisfying sex life A calm, focused mind A deep level of self care And much, much more.
Dr. Suzanne Steinbaum's Heart Book strives to bring forth a new approach to heart-centered healing so that readers everywhere may experience a fulfilling life of health and happiness.
Call Number: RC682.S74 2013
Publication Date: 2014
The Harvard Medical School Guide to Men's Health by Harvey B. Simon (Editor)From the editor of the enormously popular Harvard Men's Health Watch, comes the ultimate, state-of-the-art guide to help men achieve--and maintain--optimum health. Charts & graphs throughout.
Call Number: RA777.8.S56 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Military Mental Health Care: a guide for service members, veterans, families, and community by Cheryl Lawhorne-Scott; Don Philpott; Sgt. Bryan (Foreword by)Too often American veterans return from combat and spiral into depression, anger and loneliness they can neither share nor tackle on their own. Military Mental Health Care: A Guide for Service Members, Veterans, Families, and Community seeks to aid our troubled, returning forces by dissecting the numerous mental health problems they face upon arriving stateside. Don Philpott and Cheryl Lawhorne-Scott, co-authors with Janelle Hill of the highly successful Wounded Warrior Handbook, detail not only each issue's symptoms, but also discuss what treatments are available, and the best ways for veterans to access those treatments while readjusting to civilian life. In addition, they connect and explain many alarming trends, such as joblessness, poverty and addiction, appearing in our nation's veteran population on a broader scale. PTSD and struggles with anxiety affect far more than veterans themselves, as sobering phenomena like homelessness, suicide, domestic violence and divorce too often become realities for those returning from war. Military Mental Health Care is both a resource for struggling veterans and a useful tool for their loved ones, or anyone looking for ways to support the veterans in their lives.
Call Number: UH629.3.L39 2013
Publication Date: 2012
The Mindful Path Through Worry and Rumination: Letting Go of Anxious and Depressive Thoughts by Sameet M. KumarDo you find yourself ruminating about things you can't control? Worrying about those yet-to-complete goals and projects? What about just feeling like you're not the person you want to be? People who worry and ruminate find it difficult to stop anxiously anticipating future events and regretting or rethinking past actions. Left unchecked, this tendency can lead to mental health problems such as depression and generalized anxiety disorder. The Mindful Path Through Worry and Rumination offers powerful mindfulness strategies derived from Buddhist spiritual practices and proven psychological techniques to help you stop overthinking what you can't control-the future and the past-and learn how to find contentment in the present moment.
Publication Date: 2010
Our Bodies, Ourselves by Boston Women's Health Book Collective Staff; Judy NorsigianHailed by The New York Times as a "feminist classic," and "America's bestselling book on women's health," the comprehensive guide to all aspects of women's health and sexuality, including menopause, birth control, childbirth, sexual health, sexual orientation, gender identity, mental health and general well-being.
Six years after the 2005 overhaul of this classic guide to women's health, the 2011 edition focuses on what Our Bodies, Ourselves does best: provide information on women's reproductive health and sexuality; practical information on how find and access health information; and resources, stories, and information to educate women about health care injustices and inspire them to work collectively to address them. This new edition of Our Bodies, Ourselves includes the latest vital information on:
-Changes in the health care system--especially how health care reform affects women and how to get the care you need.
-Safer sex--how to engage in pleasurable, satisfying sexual experiences while protecting your health and the health of your partner.
-Environmental health risks--including minimizing exposure to everyday pollutants that endanger reproductive health.
-Body image--resisting negative media stereotypes and embracing healthier approaches to looking and feeling good.
-Local and global activism--using social media and organizing tactics to build community and advocate for policies that improve women's lives.
-As well as crucial information about gender identity, sexual orientation, birth control, abortion, pregnancy and birth, perimenopause, and sexuality and sexual health as we age.
Together with its companion website, OurBodiesOurselves.org, Our Bodies, Ourselves is a one-stop resource for women of all generations.
by Ross Sempek
Last Updated Nov 29, 2022
20 views this year
Academic OneFile (Gale)This link opens in a new windowConnect students to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc., with indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
AHFS Consumer Medical InformationThis link opens in a new windowA trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish.
CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 200 journals in nursing and allied health and searchable cited references for almost 1300 journals, back to 1981.
Health and Wellness (Gale)This link opens in a new windowThis rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowDiscover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Health Source: Consumer EditionThis link opens in a new windowOver 80 full text consumer health magazines, a large collection of pamphlets, nearly 130 health reference e-books, and almost 10,000 Clinical Reference Systems reports.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowOver 800 journals, with nearly 550 scholarly ones in full text, focusing on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health.
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowFrom the National Library of Medicine, provides indexing and abstracts for over 4800 biomedical journals from all around the world (see PubMed for some full text).
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowThis link goes to the website at the National Library of Medicine. Indexing and abstracts for over 4800 medical research journals from around the world, with links to full text when available.