Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Topic Page: Veterinary medicine
Veterinary medicine is the field of medicine that addresses the diseases, disorders, and injuries that may affect nonhuman animals. It focuses on the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of such diseases and injuries, along with the transmission of zoonotic diseases from nonhuman animals to humans.
Merck Veterinary Manual
The Merck Veterinary Manual by
Call Number: REFERENCE SF748.M537 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Black's Veterinary Dictionary
Handbooks & Reviews
Clinical Anatomy and Physiology for Veterinary Technicians by
Call Number: SF761 .C65 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Color Atlas of Veterinary Ophthalmology by Color Atlas of Veterinary Ophthalmology, Second Edition provides a compendium of the clinical appearance of ophthalmic diseases likely to be encountered in small, large, or exotic animal practice. Offers a pictorial reference to the clinical appearance of diseases and conditions of the animal eye Presents multiple presentations of most ophthalmic diseases to show the varying ways the condition might appear Provides more than 1,000 high-quality color clinical photographs showing ocular disorders Includes new introductory chapters on ocular anatomy, the ophthalmic exam, and clinical findings in place of the clinical signs chapter Covers clinical history, the clinical signs and findings associated with the disease, the rule-outs or differential diagnoses, the recommended treatment, and the prognosis for each disorder
Publication Date: 2017
Introduction to Veterinary Science by
Call Number: SF745 .L394 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Laser Therapy in Veterinary Medicine by Laser Therapy in Veterinary Medicine: Photobiomodulation is a complete guide to using therapeutic lasers to treat veterinary patients, focusing on practical information. Offers a comprehensive resource for incorporating therapeutic lasers in veterinary practice Focuses on practical information tailored for the veterinary clinic Written by 37 leading experts in veterinary laser therapy Provides a thorough foundation on this standard-of-care modality Emphasizes clinical applications with a real-world approach
Publication Date: 2017
Mosby's Comprehensive Review for Veterinary Technicians by
Call Number: SF774.4 .M67 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Principles and Practice of Veterinary Technology by 'Principles and Practice of Veterinary Technology' provides clear, comprehensive coverage of the skills every vet tech needs to know to succeed. This new edition includes illustrated, step-by-step instructions emphasizing the technician's role and responsibilities in each procedure. Thoroughly updated with the latest advances in the field, this text helps you develop strong critical thinking and independent work skills to succeed on credentialing examinations and in clinical practice."
Call Number: SF774.4 .P756 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Rapid Interpretation of Heart and Lung Sounds: a guide to cardiac and respiratory auscultation in dogs and cats by
Call Number: SF811.S65 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-22
Review Questions and Answers for Veterinary Technicians by
Call Number: SF774.4 R48 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Career Opportunities Working with Animals by Rewarding careers exist for animal lovers in grooming and training pets, walking dogs, working in animal shelters, zoos, or aquariums. Other opportunities exist in veterinary care. Learn about more than sixty occupations, and the skills, education, and training relevant to each post.
Call Number: HF5382.V48F54 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Leaders of the Pack: Women and the Future of Veterinary Medicine by Veterinary medicine has undergone sweeping changes in the last few decades. Women now account for 55 percent of the active veterinarians in the field, and nearly 80 percent of veterinary students are women. However, average salaries have dropped as this shift has occurred, and even with women in the vast majority, only 25 percent of leadership roles are held by women. These trends point to gender-based inequality that veterinary medicine, a profession that tilts so heavily toward women, is struggling to address. How will the profession respond? What will this mean for our students and schools? What will it mean for our pets entrusted to veterinarian care? Who has succeeded in these situations? Who is taking action to lead change? What can we learn from them to lead the pack in our lives? Leaders of the Pack, by Julie Kumble and Dr. Donald Smith, explores key themes in leadership and highlights women in veterinary medicine whose stories embody those themes. In it, Kumble and Smith cull over three years of interviews to profile a wide variety of women as they share triumphs and challenges, lucky as well as tough breaks, and the sound advice and words that inspired them to take their careers in unanticipated directions. By sharing unique stories that illuminate different paths to leadership and reflecting on best practices through commentary and research, Leaders of the Pack will allow more female leaders to create wider pathways to the top of their profession.
Publication Date: 2017-03-15
Exploring the Gray Zone: Case Discussions of Ethical Dilemmas for the Veterinary Technician by Veterinary technicians face difficult situations on a daily basis. They dedicate their lives to aiding in the treatment of animals and relieving suffering, serving as each patient’s main advocate and caretaker. The veterinary technician holds a unique role in patient care. Acting as the intermediary between the veterinarian prescribing treatment and the patient, they play a large part in the communication and education of clients. Veterinary technicians have greatly expanded their roles and find themselves not only an integral part of veterinary practice, but in research institutions, animal shelters, and universities as well. This text explores difficult situations veterinary technicians face on a daily basis through the use of case examples and dialogue. Each case scenario describes a real-life situation for a veterinary technician, poses thought-provoking questions, and provides commentary that focuses on the legal aspect of the scenario, the social or personal ethics of the parties involved, and/or the welfare of the animal (s). The case scenarios encompass clinical situations in a practice setting as well as situations involving business ethics and interpersonal relationships between colleagues.The case format of the book lends itself to discussion and can be utilized in veterinary technology courses that focus on ethics, communications, management, and leadership. The real-life case examples make the book an enjoyable read for practicing veterinary technicians as well. There currently are over two hundred veterinary technology programs and thousands of practicing veterinary technicians within the United States and Canada.
Publication Date: 2016-08-15
Vet Practice Management
Front Office Management for the Veterinary Team by The only book of its kind, Front Office Management for the Veterinary Team focuses on the day-to-day duties of the veterinary team. It offers a complete guide to scheduling appointments, billing and accounting, communicating effectively and compassionately with clients, managing medical records, budgeting, marketing your practice, managing inventory, using outside diagnostic laboratory services, and much more. Written by Heather Prendergast, RVT, CVPM, this manual simplifies essential tasks with step-by-step instructions!
Exercises on the Evolve website offer additional practice with front office tasks.
Interactive working forms give you experience completing sample checks, deposit slips, patient history forms, and incident reports.
The latest information on electronic banking and tax forms ensures that you adhere to the most current financial guidelines.
What Would You Do/Not Do boxes provide scenarios to expose you to real-life situations that occur in veterinary practice and guide you through to an appropriate resolution.
Review questions test your understanding of concepts presented in each chapter.
Practice Point boxes highlight practical information to remember while on the job.
Veterinary Practice and the Law boxes provide essential information about laws that you must know in order to run an ethical practice and to protect the practice.
Key terms and learning objectives guide you through study of the most important content.
Call Number: SF756.4.P74 2011
Publication Date: 2010
CSI Veterinary Technology Program
Where to Find Articles (Databases)
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowConnect students to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc., with indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Agricola This link opens in a new windowJournal index and book catalog from the National Agricultural Library.
Agriculture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive view of current and authoritative periodical content that spans the agriculture industry--from practical aspects of farming to scientific research in horticulture.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Online source for over 1100 reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographical information.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowOver 800 journals, with nearly 550 scholarly ones in full text, focusing on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health.
Open Access Journals from DOAJ This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new windowThis link goes to the website at the National Library of Medicine. Indexing and abstracts for over 4800 medical research journals from around the world, with links to full text when available.