Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Animals by
Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Animals, Second Edition offers a detailed introduction to the foundations of anatomy and physiology in a wide range of domestic species. Well illustrated throughout, the book provides in-depth information on the guiding principles of this key area of study for animal science students, fostering a thorough understanding of the complex make-up of domestic animals. This Second Edition includes access to supplementary material online, including images and tables available for download in PowerPoint, a test bank of questions for instructors, and self-study questions for students at www.wiley.com/go/akers/anatomy. Taking a logical systems-based approach, this new edition is fully updated and now provides more practical information, with descriptions of anatomic or physiological events in pets or domestic animals to demonstrate everyday applications. Offering greater depth of information than other books in this area, Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Animals is an invaluable textbook for animal science students and professionals in this area.
Being a Dog: following the dog's nose into a world of smell by
Alexandra Horowitz, author of the bestseller Inside of a Dog, explores what dogs know in even greater depth, following their lead to learn about the dog's spectacular nose and how we mere humans can improve our underused sense of smell. Here Horowitz, a leading researcher in dog cognition, continues to unpack the mystery of a dog's nose-view, in order to more fully understand our companions. She follows the dog's nose--exploring not only its abilities but the incredible ways it is being put to use. Because human noses are so inconsiderable in comparison--we have but six million olfactory receptor cells while dogs have hundreds of millions--we have difficulty conceptualizing what dogs can perceive. To a dog, there is no such thing as "fresh air." Every breath is full of information. Dogs, when trained, can identify drugs of every type, underwater cadavers, cancer, illicit cell phones in prison, bedbugs, smuggled shark's fins, dry rot, land mines, termites, invasive knapweed, underground truffles, and dairy cows in estrus. But they also know about the upcoming weather, earthquakes before they happen, how "afternoon" smells, what you had for breakfast, and whether a cat touched your leg yesterday. And of course, they know the distinctive odor of each spot of sidewalk as they travel home. In fact, what every dog knows about the world comes mostly through his nose. But the mysteries of the nose are not restricted to the dog alone. For Horowitz also delves into the abilities of expert human sniffers--from perfumers to sommeliers to animal trackers who use smell to search out their quarry. She also trains her own nose, smelling the streets of New York City and using the experts' methods to hone the human ability we all have but rarely use to its full extent. By observing everything from her own dogs to working detection dogs and human sniffers, Horowitz takes us along on her quest to make sense of scents, combining a personal journey of smelling with a tour through the cutting-edge science behind the olfactory powers of the dog. Writing with scientific rigor and her trademark wit, Horowitz changes our perspective on dogs forever. Readers will feel that they have smelled into a fourth dimension, literally broken free of human constraints and understood smell as never before; that they have, however fleetingly, been a dog
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline by
Be ready to confidently face common and not-so-common canine and feline disorders with Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline, Fifth Edition. The most trusted and well-known quick reference available to veterinarians, the updated Fifth Edition continues to provide swift, authoritative answers to every question concerning canine and feline health. More than 300 top specialists provide complete coverage of 838 specific disorders, with dozens of new topics and existing topics thoroughly revised to include the latest research. Arranged alphabetically from A-Z for efficient searching, each topic covers clinical signs, diagnosis, treatment, and follow-up. The customizable Client Handouts, which have been fully updated and redesigned with an attractive color design, are now available online, along with an image and video bank. Whether you're a student or a practicing veterinarian, this bestselling reference book will cut down on time spent navigating through other resources, allowing you to study, diagnose and treat more quickly.
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Canine and Feline Infectious Diseases and Parasitology by
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Canine and Feline Infectious Diseases and Parasitology, Second Edition takes a user-friendly alphabetical format to cover a wide spectrum of canine and feline infectious diseases and parasite-related disorders. Part of the popular Five-Minute Veterinary Consult series, it includes information on many specific organisms and diseases, from amebiasis and Ehrlichiosis to rabies and ticks. The text also provides extensive differential diagnostic lists, as well as information on drugs, dosages, toxicity, treatment options, diagnostic testing, immunization recommendations, and cytological appearance. The Second Edition presents three new chapters on canine influenza, sarcoptic mange, and staphylococcal pyoderma.
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Dentistry by
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Dentistry, Second Edition presents essential information in a succinct, well-defined format for easy and quick access. This fully revised edition offers more color images, general updates from recent developments, and extensive revisions to the diagnostic and techniques sections, as well as additional information on charting with corresponding illustrations. New topics include exotic pets, including ferrets, prairie dogs, and chinchillas; oral pain management; home care; the technician in dentistry; and the business of dentistry. Topics cover diagnostics and treatment in a logical step-wise fashion, taking the typical Five-Minute format. Ancillary subjects on pain management, home care, and small mammal care have also been addressed and expanded, and a new companion website offers client education handouts to download and use in practice at www.wiley.com/go/lobprise. Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Dentistry is the ideal practical manual for general practitioners seeking accessible, reliable information on dentistry techniques and treatments.
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion : Small Animal Toxicology by
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Toxicology, Second Edition puts all the information needed to rapidly and accurately manage poisonings in small animal patients at the clinician's fingertips. Provides concise, bulleted information focused on the most important facts needed when treating a poisoned cat or dog Carefully organized for ease of use in an emergency, with important toxicants arranged alphabetically within categories Details clinically relevant information on the most common toxicants encountered by small animals Presents a wealth of color photographs to aid in plant identification Includes 14 new topics to this edition covering cyclosporine A, sleep aids, tacrolimus, bath salts, synthetic marijuana, poisonous lizards, imidacloprid, spring bulbs, and sodium monofluoroacetate
Dog First Aid by 
King's Applied Anatomy of the Central Nervous System of Domestic Mammals by 
Textbook of Small Animal Emergency Medicine by
Textbook of Small Animal Emergency Medicine offers an in-depth understanding of emergency disease processes and the underlying rationale for the diagnosis, treatment, monitoring, and prognosis for these conditions in small animals. A comprehensive reference on a major topic in veterinary medicine The only book in this discipline to cover the pathophysiology of disease in depth Edited by four respected experts in veterinary emergency medicine A core text for those studying for specialty examinations Includes access to a website with video clips, additional figures, and the figures from the book in PowerPoint Textbook of Small Animal Emergency Medicine offers an in-depth understanding of emergency disease processes and the underlying rationale for the diagnosis, treatment, monitoring, and prognosis for these conditions in small animals.
Tumors in Domestic Animals by
Tumors in Domestic Animals, Fifth Edition is a fully revised new edition of the most comprehensive and authoritative reference on veterinary tumor pathology in common domestic animals, now in full color throughout with the most current advances in research and diagnostics. Now in full color with hundreds of exquisite new images showing diagnostic features, pathogenesis, and techniques Adds new sections on relevant clinical pathology and oncology Updated throughout to include the very latest advances in research and diagnostics Takes a logical, user-friendly system approach Written by leading experts on animal tumor pathology
Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians by 
Monitoring and Intervention for the Critically Ill Small Animal by
Monitoring and Intervention for the Critically Ill Small Animal: The Rule of 20 offers guidance for assessing the patient, interpreting diagnostic test results, and selecting appropriate monitoring procedures. Based on Rebecca Kirby's time-tested Rule of 20, with a chapter devoted to each item on the checklist Provides comprehensive guidance for monitoring a critically ill small animal patient Emphasizes the interplay of each parameter with one another Designed for fast access on the clinic floor, with potentially life-saving ideas, tips, lists and procedures Presents tables, schematics, algorithms, and drawings for quick reference
