Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in the Library Catalog
Alternative facts, post-truth and the information wa by
Call Number: PN4888.F35 A48 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The reference shelf ; volume 90, number 2
Are Newspapers Becoming Extinct? by
Call Number: PN4734.A74 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Blur: how to know what's true in the age of information overload by
Call Number: PN4815.2.K68 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-09
The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of journalism by
Call Number: E757.G66 2013
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
The Death and Life of American Journalism: the media revolution that will begin the world again by
Call Number: PN4867.2.M33 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
Call Number: PN4815.2.J67 2014
Publication Date: 2014-06-06
Journalism and Truth in an Age of Social Media by
Call Number: PN4784.O62 J68 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Journalism in the Age of Virtual Reality : how experiential media are transforming news by With the advent of the internet and handheld or wearable media systems that plunge the user into 360 video, augmented - or virtual reality - technology is changing how stories are told and created. In this book, John V. Pavlik argues that a new form of mediated communication has emerged: experiential news. Experiential media delivers not just news stories but also news experiences, in which the consumer engages news as a participant or virtual eyewitness in immersive, multisensory, and interactive narratives. Pavlik describes and analyzes new tools and approaches that allow journalists to tell stories that go beyond text and image. He delves into developing forms such as virtual reality, haptic technologies, interactive documentaries, and drone media, presenting the principles of how to design and frame a story using these techniques. Pavlik warns that although experiential news can heighten user engagement and increase understanding, it may also fuel the transformation of fake news into artificial realities, and he discusses the standards of ethics and accuracy needed to build public trust in journalism in the age of virtual reality. Journalism in the Age of Virtual Reality offers important lessons for practitioners seeking to produce quality experiential news and those interested in the ethical considerations that experiential media raise for journalism and the public.
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Media Bias by
Call Number: PN4888.O25M43 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-17
The News and Its Future by
Call Number: PN4784.C615N49 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Newsonomics: twelve new trends that will shape the news you get by
Call Number: PN4784.O62D63 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
Unfreedom of the Press by Fox News host Mark Levin shows how those entrusted with news reporting today are destroying freedom of the press from within: "not government oppression or suppression," he writes, but self-censorship, group-think, bias by omission, and passing off opinion, propaganda, pseudo-events, and outright lies as news. Levin takes the reader on a journey through the early American patriot press, which proudly promoted the principles set forth in the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, followed by the early decades of the Republic during which newspapers around the young country were open and transparent about their fierce allegiance to one political party or the other. It was only at the start of the Progressive Era and the twentieth century that the idea of "objectivity of the press" first surfaced, leaving us where we are today: with a partisan party-press overwhelmingly aligned with a political ideology but hypocritically engaged in a massive untruth as to its real nature.
Call Number: PN4888.P6 L48 2019
Publication Date: 2019-05-21
Ebooks in the Library Catalog
Communication and Media Ethics by The Handbooks series aims to integrate knowledge of communication structures and processes. It is also dedicated to cultural and epistemological diversity, covering work originating from around the globe and often applying very different scholarly approaches. The series is divided into volumes that address the following themes: Under the rubric "Messages, Codes and Channels," individual volumes address non-verbal, verbal, and visual communication, as well as communication and technology; Volumes in the "Mode of Address, Communication Situations and Context" section are devoted to interpersonal communication (narrowcasting ), broadcasting and organizational communication; Another section features three volumes that cover the "Methodology" of communication science; The extensive section on "Application Areas" features volumes devoted to marketing, science communication, health communication, political communication and other areas; The introductory volume to the series is concerned with Theories and Models of Communication; Finally, the last volume in the series will be devoted to "Futures" for communication science. The series as a whole aims at meeting the needs of undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and researchers across the area of communication studies. Ultimately, the Handbooks of Communication Science are a comprehensive summation of the field in the early decades of the 21st century.
Publication Date: 2018-09-10
A Handbook of Journalism : Media in the Information Age by Journalism as a discipline is becoming increasingly important today. It has to contend with new challenges such as the explosion of social media, heightened commercial competition in the mainstream media and the emergence of the media as a powerful actor in public policy and governance. The confluence of these factors calls for fresh thinking about the teaching and practice of journalism. A Handbook of Journalism: Media in the Information Age not only helps readers to understand today’s media environment but also prepares them to face the existing challenges. Distinguished editors, experts, academics and journalists join to examine these challenges from various angles, including some of the major contemporary trends, issues and processes in governance, institutions, administration and development, among others. The book fairly and objectively discusses a critical discipline that is at the crossroads.
Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Introducing the Language of the News : A Student's Guide by Introducing the Language of the News is a comprehensive introduction to the language of news reporting. Assuming no prior knowledge of linguistics, the book provides an accessible analysis of the processes that produce news language, and discusses how different linguistic choices promote different interpretations of news texts. Key features include: comprehensive coverage of both print and online news, including news design and layout, story structure, the role of headlines and leads, style, grammar and vocabulary a range of contemporary examples in the international press, from the 2012 Olympics, to political events in China and the Iraq War. chapter summaries, activities, sample analyses and commentaries, enabling students to undertake their own analyses of news texts a companion website with extra activities, further readings and web links. Written by an experienced researcher and teacher, this book is essential reading for students studying English language and linguistics, media and communication studies, and journalism.
Publication Date: 2013-08-28
Journalism Studies : the Basics by Journalism Studies: The Basics provides an introductory overview of the emerging field of Journalism Studies, discussing key issues and contemporary debates. Drawing on Conboy's extensive experience in the field, the changing nature of journalism and its future directions are addressed, through chapters covering: the history and development of Journalism Studies how journalists are created through training and education changing research methods and processes in journalism the impact of the 'end product' in wider society global perspectives on journalism technology and the future of the discipline. Situated within a fast growing and dynamic field of study, this engaging introduction will be valuable reading for students of journalism, media and communication, along with those seeking to develop a broader understanding of contemporary journalism.
Publication Date: 2013-03-05
Myth of 'Free Media' and Fake News in the Post-Truth Era by Myth of ‘Free Media’ and Fake News in the Post-truth Era reveals the story of ‘fake news’ hysteria and myth of ‘free media’ in the post-truth world order, starting from the question of whether there has really been a ‘truth’ era. The book examines how the news media is battling for relevance in the age of Internet. It shows how the wave of media ‘liberalization’ has weakened the basic premise of Libertarian Media Function Theory, which states that the media is the ‘Fourth Estate’ that protects the citizens from abuse of power by the government. It analyses how excessive commercialization of the media and the commodification of news has changed journalism globally. The book recommends a new paradigm and explains how it can be used to transform news reporting from an adversarial model to a human-centric one.
Publication Date: 2019-12-23
Video Journalism for the Web : A Practical Introduction to Documentary Storytelling by As newspapers and broadcast news outlets direct more resources toward online content, print reporters and photojournalists are picking up video cameras and crafting new kinds of stories with their lenses. Creating multimedia video journalism requires more than simply adapting traditional broadcast techniques: it calls for a new way of thinking about how people engage with the news and with emerging media technologies. In this guide, Kurt Lancaster teaches students and professional journalists how to shoot better video and tell better stories on the web, providing a strong understanding of cinematic storytelling and documentary production so their videos will stand out from the crowd. Video Journalism for the Web introduces students to all the basic skills and techniques of good video journalism and documentary storytelling, from shots and camera movements to sound and editing--as well as offering tips for developing compelling, character-driven narratives and using social media to launch a successful career as a "backpack journalist." Shooting, editing, and writing exercises throughout the book allow students to put these techniques into practice, and case studies and interviews with top documentary journalists provide real-world perspectives on a career in video journalism. This book gives aspiring documentary journalists the tools they need to get out in the field and start shooting unforgettable multimedia stories.
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Getting Started with Your Research
News (Gale OneFile) Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
American Journalism Review
Paper copies shelved in the Periodicals Collection
Columbia Journalism Review
Shelved in the Periodicals Collection