LibGuides: News & Journalism: DVD, Websites, etc.

DVD

A fragile trust: plagiarism, power, and Jayson Blair at the New York Times by Samantha Grant "Tells the shocking story of Jayson Blair, the most infamous serial plagiarist of our time, and how he unleashed the massive scandal that rocked the New York Times and the entire world of journalism."
Call Number: DVD PN4756.F73 2014
ISBN: 9781941545157
Publication Date: 2013
The Post by Steven Spielberg This historical drama is based on the events surrounding the release of the Pentagon Papers, documents which detailed the history of the United States' political and military involvement in Vietnam. The story centers on Kay Graham, the first female newspaper publisher in the country (specifically of the Washington Post), as well as her tough editor, Ben Bradlee. The two become involved in an unprecedented power struggle between journalists and the government, exposing a cover-up that has spanned four different American presidencies.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .P678 2018
ISBN: 9786317182318
Publication Date: 2018
Spotlight by Tom McCarthy The riveting true story of the Pulitzer Prize-winning Boston Globe investigation that would rock the city and cause a crisis in one of the world's oldest and most trusted institutions. When the newspaper's tenacious 'Spotlight' team of reporters delve into allegations of sexual abuse of children by clergy in the Catholic Church, their year-long investigation uncovers a decades-long cover-up at the highest levels of Boston's religious, legal, and government establishment.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .S76 2016
Publication Date: 2016

Other Websites

Beautiful News Daily Many of us strive to stay well-informed of local and international events, but sometimes the news can be stressful or discouraging. To help counterbalance this, the data visualization website Information is Beautiful recently embarked on a new project, Beautiful News Daily. As its name implies, this project offers its visitors "a collection of good news, positive trends, uplifting statistics and facts -- all beautifully visualized," in colorful charts and graphics. New graphics are posted each day over the course of the project's one-year lifespan, which aims "to move our attention beyond dramatic news headlines to the slow developments and quiet trends that go unseen, uncelebrated." Readers can browse all of the Beautiful News items on the project's main page, and they can also filter them by category. Each item's page includes a brief summary, and below readers will find links to view the data in spreadsheet form and to see the source that inspired the chart, as well as a link to a relevant organization for those who would like to get involved. All of the images created for Beautiful New Daily are covered by a Creative Commons license and can be used and shared freely. Information is Beautiful was founded by David McCandless, a London-based writer, designer, and artist.
Diverse Voices in Science Journalism Diverse Voices in Science Journalism, a collection by The Open Notebook (TON), explores questions too often unasked in science journalism, such as "What's it like to report on science in a language that doesn't have a word for science?" This resource is guided by the principle that "our personal experiences, backgrounds, and circumstances inevitably color the way we tell stories," and seeks to uplift work, explore experiences, and examine important topics that will address a lack of diversity in the field. Under Interviews & Articles, readers will find a wealth of content on topics including: addressing the disproportionate amount of harassment experienced by journalists of color, using meaningful inclusion of diverse sources, prioritizing culturally competent and sensitive reporting, and navigating the visa application process. The TON Collections section offers educational resources, some in Spanish, on topics such as environmental journalism and starting a career in science writing. Aspiring science writers may also want to explore the Pitch Database, where they can filter by type, publication, writer, and year of publication. Each entry contains a link to the published story and a copy of the pitch originally sent by its writer. Diverse Voices in Science Journalism is a partnership between Open Notebook (a non-profit resource hub for journalists in the field) and the National Association of Science Writers' Diversity Committee
First Draft From the Harvard Kennedy School's Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics, and Public Policy comes First Draft News: a project dedicated to "fight[ing] mis- and disinformation through fieldwork, research, and education." The project has a number of resources that may be of interest to librarians and educators. Professionals in these fields may want to start by checking out the education section, which contains a number free resources designed for teaching journalism. These include hour-long verification training courses, which visitors may access by creating a free login. The resources section features short educational videos, interactive quizzes, and reading lists. The fieldwork section offers free, extensive field guides including the Field Guide To "Fake News" and Other Information Disorders, a 216-page booklet that "looks at how digital methods, data, tools, techniques and research approaches can be utilized in the service of increasing public understanding of the politics, production, circulation, and responses to fake news online."
Journalist's Resource: Syllabi Journalism educators and enthusiasts looking for resources to teach or self-study may enjoy the Syllabi Archives from Journalist's Resource. This "open-access online reference desk" is a collaboration between the Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy (a branch of Harvard's Kennedy School) and the Carnegie-Knight Initiative (a branch of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, created to "promote excellence in journalism and the success of the communities in which they worked,"). As of this write-up, the collection contains syllabi for 12 different courses, covering topics such as "Feature writing: Crafting research-based stories with character, development and a structural arc" and "Digital media and society: Covering social media, technology and a networked world." After clicking on a class of interest, users will be guided through course learning objectives, suggested readings, assignments, and a weekly breakdown by topic. While the Syllabi Archives section hasn't been updated since 2017, the resource as a whole seeks to "curate, summarize, and contextualize high-quality research on newsy public policy topics," and includes several other timely tips and guides that are frequently refreshed.
Journalist's Toolbox Curious about Clubhouse and other social media platforms? Figuring out how to make a proper FOIA request? Snooping for search engine optimization tips? Look no further than Journalist's Toolbox. Launched by journalism professor Mike Reilley in 1996, and since a project of the Society of Professional Journalists, the site serves as an information hub for those in the field. Reilley continues to update the site (sometimes weekly, sometimes daily) and it is now home to more than 150 pages and thousands of tools available under a Creative Commons license. For example, the home page highlights a COVID-19 reporting collection. Here, journalists covering the pandemic will find more than 500 useful resources, ranging from safety protocols to statistics. Other resources are cataloged topically in the left-hand column. To keep up with the latest additions to the site, click "What's New" in the top-right corner, sign up for the newsletter, or subscribe to the YouTube channel (links to do so are found on the home page). Readers can also keep up with Reilley and the Toolbox on Twitter, @journtoolbox.
Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2008
Media Constructions of Social Justice Educators looking for a lesson on the intersection of media and equity should check out "Media Constructions of Social Justice." This toolkit is designed to "explore how people in the United States have perceived social justice over the past 180 years and how the U.S. media has constructed that public perception." The curriculum is broken into nine units that cover intersectional aspects of social justice work, beginning with the abolition of slavery and concluding with environmental justice. Instructors may wish to begin by reading the "Overview" and "How to Use These Materials" documents, both downloadable as PDFs from the Kit Documents list on the left-hand side. The curriculum is suggested for high school through college level courses. Every unit is subdivided into three sections, each with downloadable PDFs of lesson plans, teacher guides, student readings or activities, and more. Users are required to create a free account in order to access the materials. "Media Constructions of Social Justice" is a branch of Ithaca College's Project Look Sharp, which strives to enhance media literacy and critical thinking on and beyond their campus.
National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) Founded in 1975, the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) offers programming and advocacy for Black journalists and media professionals. The nonprofit, which is more than 4,000 members strong, is based in Maryland, but it provides services globally and has multiple local chapters. NABJ's work centers on several goals, including strengthening connections between Black journalists, students, professionals, and educators; diversifying the journalism field; and expanding opportunities for Black students to see themselves in a journalism career. On the NABJ site, readers can stay in-the-know on upcoming events and conferences, browse the NABJ job search center, and engage with various learning opportunities such as the recorded 2020 LGBTQ+ Sensitivity Training. Additionally, under the News and Media tab, readers will find archived issues of the NABJ Journal, containing various resources and highlighting prominent journalists and their successes. Readers interested in joining NABJ will find membership information by clicking "Join" at the top of the page (note that various membership levels and corresponding membership fees are available).
National Center on Disability and Journalism The National Center on Disability and Journalism (NCTD) is a non-profit organization based at Arizona State University's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. NCDJ aims to provide "support and guidance for journalists as they cover people with disabilities." These resources include the Disability Language Style Guide, which provides context and recommendations for inclusive vocabulary related to disability. Each entry in this style guide provides a history of each word and phrase along with recommendations from the NCDJ and the AP Style Guide. While aimed specifically at journalists, this guide may also be of interest to grant writers, educators, and individuals who write internal communications or newsletters. The guide is also available in Spanish and Romanian. Visitors will find a few additional resources on the Resources tab, including tools for educators and public relations professionals.
NewseumEd: Media Literacy Resources Based in Arlington, Virginia, the NewseumEd is a museum dedicated to all things journalism. For educators and librarians, the NewseumEd hosts a wealth of materials related to media literacy, including interactive activities, lesson plans, case studies, printable posters, and more. Most of these materials are aimed toward middle school, high school, or university level students. In one 30-60 minute lesson plan, "E.S.C.A.P.E. Junk News", students learn a helpful acronym for critically evaluating the news stories (Evaluate, Source, Context, Audience, Purpose, and Execution). Students then examine a contemporary news article with the aid of a helpful graphic organizer. In another activity, "Believe it or Not: When the News Media Makes Mistakes," students examine corrections printed in newspapers and other media sources and learn how to use an "accuracy checklist." While most of these resources are designed to help readers critically examine contemporary news media, other materials in the collection center on historical news coverage. For example, one activity addresses turn-of-the-century journalism regarding the women's suffrage movement, while another explores mid-twentieth century reporting of the Civil Rights Movement.
oTranscribe oTranscribe is a free, open source, browser-based app designed to assist journalists with transcribing interviews. The platform allows users to upload audio or video files, implement keyboard shortcuts, and employ other timesaving tools. Business journalist Elliot Bentley created the app, and it has since been acquired by the MuckRock Foundation (an investigative journalism nonprofit). The app has received praise from several journalism and technology sites, and for good reason. Transcribing interviews is a tedious process, and oTranscribe streamlines the operation. Simply click the "Start Transcribing" button, upload an audio or video file from a local computer or YouTube, and follow the keyboard shortcuts highlighted on the screen (and also described in detail by clicking the circular settings button at the top of the page). For added security, both audio and written data entered in oTranscribe remain on the user's local computer, rather than being stored on a remote server. The buttons in the top-left corner allow users to change the language or navigate to the help center.
Pew Research Center: For Local News, Americans Embrace Digital but Still Want Strong Community Connection How do Americans prefer to get their local news in the digital era? What do they want their local news to provide, and how successful do they feel their local media are at meeting their expectations? These are just some of the questions addressed in this report published by the Pew Research Center in March 2019. This report is based on a large survey of 34,897 U.S. adults conducted by the Center between October 15 and November 8 in 2018. Among the report's many findings, 37 percent of Americans prefer to get their local news online, while 41 percent still prefer television. Most have generally favorable views of their local media and value media with a strong connection to their community, but 71 percent believe their local news outlets are doing well financially, while only 14 percent report having paid for local news in the past year. Those interested in further details can read the 123-page report online or download it as a PDF at the link above. The survey's topline questionnaire results are also available for download. Additionally, readers should be sure to check out this report's accompanying interactive feature where they can explore the local news dynamics in 99 geographic areas around the U.S.
Pew Research Center: Science News and Information Today How many Americans read science news stories? Do Americans trust major news outlets to report on science? How has social media impacted the way that Americans consume science news? A recent PEW research study, published on September 20th, 2017, examined American engagement with science news stories through a survey of 4,024 adults. The survey revealed that just 17% of those surveyed actively seek out science-related news stories. That said, an additional 32% reported that they either read science news at least once a week or actively sought out science news stories about topics of interest. Americans are most likely to read science news from general news sources, with 54% of participants saying they get science news from such sources. In comparison, 45% say they use science documentary or video programs and 12% report listening to science podcasts and radio programs. To learn more, visitors can download the full 91 page report via the link above.
Pew Research Center: State of the News Media Released since 2004, the Pew Research Center's annual State of the News Media report provides data on a number of issues, including news media funding structures and the news consumption habits of U.S. residents. In 2017, the Pew Research Center is releasing its annual report via a series of fact sheets in lieu of a traditional report. Each of these fact sheets, which are being released individually throughout the year, address a different aspect of the increasingly diverse world of news media. These topics include Digital News, Audio and Podcasting, Cable News, Newspapers, and much more. Each of these fact sheets includes data related to both audience as well as issues of economic revenue and funding, and when applicable, issues of ownership. In addition, visitors can explore all previous State of the News media reports through an embedded link, included in the introduction to this series of fact sheets. In addition, visitors can check out recent PEW reports also related to the news media, which are listed below the fact sheets. More fact sheets will be released throughout 2017, so stay tuned.
US News Map The Georgia Tech Research Institute in collaboration with eHistory.org at the University of Georgia, have created the U.S. News Map: a tool that allows students and researchers to explore historic American newspapers with ease. In addition, the News Map allows users to identify geographic and chronological patterns in the history of journalism. The News Map features newspapers that are part of the Library of Congress's Chronicling America Historic Newspapers collection that were published between 1789 and 1922. To use the News Map, visitors can search for any keyword and select start and end dates. From here, visitors can see and explore the frequency of the selected search term over time (via a timeline) and across geography (via pins on a map). When users select one of the map pins, they can see the year and publication where the term appeared. From here, users have the option of exploring the newspaper in PDF format.
Verification Handbook for Disinformation and Media Manipulation Social media and the expanding digital age have created new opportunities for journalists, but these changes have also brought a wave of challenges, from spotting bots to avoiding deep fakes. Crafted by a group of journalists with global expertise, the Verification Handbook ensures that journalists can rise to these challenges in the "complex and rapidly evolving information ecosystem." The book can be read online or downloaded as a PDF (available in English, Italian, Arabic, Turkish, and German). Chapters explain and explore key topics such as navigating messaging apps and other digital communication platforms, fighting disinformation, and understanding targeted advertising. Additionally, the handbook includes a few case studies that provide concrete examples of these principles in action. The full list of contributors, which includes journalists from the outlets BBC and BuzzFeed and journalism nonprofits and research institutes such as First Draft and Citizen Lab, among many other outlets, is found in the concluding Credits chapter. European Journalism Centre published the handbook with support from Craig Newmark Philanthropies. [EMB]

Online News

Newspaper Websites

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
from the Library of Congress
Coeur d'Alene Press
Idaho Mountain Express
Ketchum
Idaho State Journal
Pocatello
Idaho Statesman
Boise
Lewiston Morning Tribune
The Oregonian
Post Register
Idaho Falls
Salt Lake Tribune
Spokane Spokesman Review
Times-News
Twin Falls
Twin Falls Public Library Newspaper Archive
Twin Falls newspapers, 1904 - present

Streaming Video

Breaking the Wall to True Press Freedom: How Open Journalism Saves Publishing in the Digital Age The decline of many major international print outlets—due to their difficulties in adapting to the ways information is shared and consumed online today—is not news, but continues to have dramatic effects on the traditional regional and global media landscapes. Particularly evident during the recent economic crisis, this negative development forced many metropolitan dailies to sell out or shut down. The Guardian with its open journalism model, has managed to reinvent itself. As editor since 1995, Alan Rusbridger—a former reporter—oversaw the paper's complete print and digital redesign. Today theguardian.com reaches up to 100 million visitors per month and is regularly voted the best newspaper website in the world. A pioneer in turning a newspaper into a publishing platform between journalistic and non-journalistic content, Rusbridger has often found himself at the center of battles over press freedom. During the most recent episode, British security agents forced Rusbridger to destroy hard drives which contained secret material from the Snowden leaks—a bizarre and anachronistic act, since obviously other copies had been distributed among journalists. In Berlin, Rusbridger speaks about the importance of robust journalistic institutions, the marriage of old media and new technologies—and why the digital age is proving a hard but exciting one to adapt to.
Fake News: Part 1 Fake news is more than a social media menace—it’s threatening critical thinking skills needed to develop information literacy. Combined with the impulse to share exciting, shocking and alarming stories, fake news is shaping—and distorting—perceptions, especially in younger demographics. In this video, viewers learn what drives fake news, how to spot it and how to de-bunk it. They’ll see how to distinguish between bias and accuracy, and opinion from fact. Vignettes that mimic online feeds and searches show how to detect completely false stories, slanted information, pure propaganda and misused data.
Fake News: Part 2 Fake news is prevalent because it seems so real. But passing it along via social media is more than sharing. It lends credibility to untrustworthy sources. By explaining click baits, bias and information bubbles, this video helps viewers discern what’s real and what’s not. Startling examples of altered photos reveal the skills employed by fake newsmongers. Cross-referencing to determine objective news sources and sites is explained along with reverse image search and expert confirmation. This video will assist viewers in getting past the hype of fake news to discover the real story.
Free Speech: Jim Lehrer with Ben Bradlee With a career spanning more than five decades, Ben Bradlee commands the respect and attention of today’s news community. This in-depth conversation between NewsHour’s Jim Lehrer and the former managing editor of the Washington Post provides a wealth of journalistic acumen vital to communications and media studies. Bradlee sheds light on his early friendship with John F. Kennedy, the Watergate story, the eventual release of Deep Throat’s identity, the Janet Cooke debacle, and other experiences. He also fields pointed questions from Lehrer on the subject of journalistic ethics, exploring scenarios in which professional integrity can be compromised. (57 minutes)
Freedom of the Press Foundation's Trevor Timm on Bringing the First Amendment Into the 21st Century Trevor Timm, executive director of the Freedom of the Press Foundation (FPF), discusses what he refers to as the need to "bring the First Amendment into the 21st century" by employing greater levels of encryption to thwart government spies. Several high-profile journalists and media figures sit on the board of FPF, including journalists Glenn Greenwald and Laura Poitras, Pentagon papers whistleblower Daniel Ellsberg, actor John Cusack, and, most recently, NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden. The discussion includes topics such as why encryption matters, what tools journalists, whistleblowers, and others who value privacy should be using to protect their communications, and what FPF plans to do if it's ever targeted by the government for funneling money to entities such as Wikileaks. A Reason TV production.
The Future of Criminal Justice Journalism?: The Marshall Project's Bill Keller Bill Keller, the Editor-in-Chief of the new journalistic venture devoted to criminal justice reform, The Marshall Project talks to Reason TV's Nick Gillespie about the value of bringing vital information to the public that many news organizations will not cover, his 2013 online debate with Glenn Greenwald on journalism, and why he left his comfortable perch at the New York Times to run a tenuously-funded startup. A Reason TV production.
Journalism Secrets to Social Media Storytelling & News Reporting Social media tools are being used across all media sources including traditional news outlets and online-based resources. This program focuses on the variety of ways social media is essential to storytelling and news distribution. Each chapter highlights an element of social media used by top journalists who rely on these communication channels to both research stories and broaden their audience. It's designed to help students and educators understand the growing role of social media in the gathering and dissemination of news and the many ways to make the most of this technology. Social media has changed how we gather and report news in general. It’s a crucial tool in reporting today since we receive many tips and reach many sources to confirm information even before the story ever makes mainstream media. This is more often the case especially when breaking news happens. It’s important for students to use social media to gain and disseminate information and to research each topic thoroughly, read as much as they can and be familiar with every side of the issue. We’ll teach students how to humanize the issues so they’re not just talking about statistics or numbers. How to use Storify, Tumblr, Buzzfeed, Opensecrets.org and different websites like Mashables - that have interesting information and ways for students to get out and tell stories using audio, video and pictures. How to ensure the information they obtain is vetted and accurate and ensure the story is valuable or newsworthy. How to get as many aspects of a story as they can and how to make it different from similar stories out there to help inform their audience. We’ll show students how to use their journalism skills and apply them to this new medium and above and beyond, how to capture the absolute essence in a paragraph - confirm it, attribute it and source it. Subjects covered include: Using Social Media in Politics, Putting the Public back in Public Affairs, Social Media as a Database, The Day in the Life of an Online Reporter and Behind the Scenes of “Storify”. Includes a list of links and websites to help students investigate stories and find out more about newsgathering and dissemination practices.
Journalism: Yesterday and Today Judging from headline news reports, the evolution of broadcast and print journalism may seem abrupt, but in truth it has been going on for decades. The NewsHour taps longtime industry insiders to provide perspective on the Fourth Estate in flux in this video compilation—a mix of classic and recent segments. Episodes include… • Conversation—David Brinkley: Jim Lehrer talks with iconic newscaster David Brinkley about his lengthy career as a reporter and his book Washington Goes to War. • The Rise of the New News: Terence Smith is joined by distinguished retired broadcaster Marvin Kalb and media personality Bill O’Reilly to discuss changes in the broadcast and cable news industry. Segment also sold as a part of A Changing Industry: The New News. • Conversation—Walter Mears: Terence Smith interviews retired Pulitzer Prize-winning political correspondent Wally Mears on his four-decade journalism career and his book Deadlines Past. • Don Hewitt’s Perspective: Terence Smith and Don Hewitt discuss how the news business changed during Hewitt’s 36-year tenure as executive producer of 60 Minutes.
The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee This feature documentary tells the fascinating story of one of America’s most influential and celebrated newspaper editors, utilizing rare home movies and photos, archival material spanning over 70 years, interview footage with family and colleagues, and voice-overs of passages from Ben Bradlee’s 1995 autobiography A Good Life: Newspapering and Other Adventures, to chart the career and personal life of a man who freely admitted he had been “dealt an awfully good hand.” A Harvard-educated scion of a prominent Boston family, Bradlee found himself at the center of many of the 20th Century’s most seismic storms, including: World War II (he was a Navy officer in the Pacific theater); the ascension and assassination of John F. Kennedy (Bradlee and his wife were extremely close with Jack and Jackie); the First Amendment fight to publish the Pentagon Papers (detailing secret strategies of the U.S. military in Vietnam) in The New York Times and Bradlee’s newspaper, The Washington Post; and the fall of Richard Nixon after the Post’s electrifying Watergate revelations. As a result, Bradlee was cast as the country’s most prominent (and possibly only) celebrity newspaperman, apologist (he had to admit a 1981 Pulitzer Prize-winning Post story was bogus), and elder statesman preaching the gospel of good journalism: “not to be loved, but to go after the truth.”An HBO Production.
The Sun Never Sets: The Story of a Small Town Newspaper The Sun Never Sets is a film about the Rio Grande Sun, published in Española, New Mexico, and considered one of the best weekly newspapers in the country. Known for its integrity and award winning, investigative reporting, the Sun consistently attracts young, dedicated journalists. The paper broke the story that its own rural community had the highest per capita heroin overdose rate in the country. It has led the fight for open records and open meetings in a county where political shenanigans are the rule. In the age of digital media and the 24- hour news cycle, the Sun practices real community journalism, causing traffic jams when it's hawked on the street.
We Are Journalists How far would you go for freedom of expression? Would you risk losing your job? Your family? Your life? Suffocated by censorship and under constant threat of reprisal, there is always the chance that the next sentence they write could be the start of a confession in a regime prison. Filmed from the inside over the last decade, this is a window onto the corruption and brutality of the Ahmadinejad years, and their enduring legacy of silence.