Engaging Diversity in Undergraduate Classrooms by Aehe; Marta Shaw; Amy Lee; Robert K. Poch; Rhiannon Williams
Call Number: LC1099.L44 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-17
An Evidence-Based Guide for College and University Teaching by Regan A. R. Gurung; Aaron S. Richmond; Guy A. BoysenWhat makes a good college teacher? This book provides an evidence- based answer to that question by presenting a set of "model teaching characteristics" that define what makes a good college teacher. Based on six fundamental areas of teaching competency known as Model Teaching Characteristics outlined by The Society for the Teaching of Psychology (STP), this book describes how college faculty from all disciplines and at all levels of experience can use these characteristics to evaluate, guide, and improve their teaching. Evidence based research supports the inclusion of each characteristic, each of which is illustrated through example, to help readers master the skills. Readers learn to evaluate their teaching abilities by providing guidance on what to document and how to accumulate and organize the evidence. Two introductory chapters outline the model teaching characteristics followed by six chapters, each devoted to one of the characteristics: training, instructional methods, course content, assessment, syllabus construction, and student evaluations.
Call Number: LB2331 .R53 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Faculty Development and Student Learning by William Condon; Ellen R. Iverson; Cathryn A. Manduca; Carol Rutz; Gudrun Willett; Mary Taylor Huber (Foreword by); Richard Haswell (Afterword by)Colleges and universities across the US have created special initiatives to promote faculty development, but to date there has been little research to determine whether such programs have an impact on students' learning. Faculty Development and Student Learning reports the results of a multi-year study undertaken by faculty at Carleton College and Washington State University to assess how students' learning is affected by faculty members' efforts to become better teachers. Extending recent research in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) to assessment of faculty development and its effectiveness, the authors show that faculty participation in professional development activities positively affects classroom pedagogy, student learning, and the overall culture of teaching and learning in a college or university.
Publication Date: 2016-02-15
Flipped Learning: a guide for higher education faculty by Robert Talbert; Jon Bergmann (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB1029.F55 T35 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-13
From Entitlement to Engagement: affirming Millennial students' egos in the higher education classroom by Dave S. Knowlton (Editor); Kevin Jack Hagopian (Editor)
Call Number: LB1027.23.F76 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-07
Integrating service-learning into the university classroom by Alison J. Bryant
Call Number: LC221.B79 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Landmark Issues in Teaching and Learning: a look back at New directions for teaching and learning by Teaching and Learning Staff; Marilla D. Svinicki (Editor); Catherine M. Wehlburg (Editor)
Call Number: LB1028.5.C66 2011
Publication Date: 2010
The Missing Course : everything they never taught you about college teaching by David GooblarProfessors know a lot, but they are rarely taught how to teach. The author of the Chronicle of Higher Education's popular "Pedagogy Unbound" column explains everything you need to know to be a successful college instructor. College is changing, but the way we train academics is not. Most professors are still trained to be researchers first and teachers a distant second, even as scholars are increasingly expected to excel in the classroom. There has been a revolution in teaching and learning over the past generation, and we now have a whole new understanding of how the brain works and how students learn. But most academics have neither the time nor the resources to catch up to the latest research or train themselves to be excellent teachers. The Missing Course offers scholars at all levels a field guide to the state of the art in teaching and learning and is packed with invaluable insights to help students learn in any discipline. Wary of the folk wisdom of the faculty lounge, David Gooblar builds his lessons on the newest findings and years of experience. From active-learning strategies to course design to getting students talking, The Missing Course walks you through the fundamentals of the student-centered classroom, one in which the measure of success is not how well you lecture but how much students learn. Along the way, readers will find ideas and tips they can use in their classrooms right away.
Call Number: LB1778 .G66 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-20
The Power of Problem-Based Learning: a practical "how to" for teaching undergraduate courses in any discipline by Barbara J. Duch (Editor); Susan E. Groh (Editor); Deborah E. Allen (Editor)
Teaching Across Cultural Strengths: a guide to balancing integrated and individuated cultural frameworks in college teaching by Alicia Fedelina Chávez; Susan Diana Longerbeam; Joseph L. White (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB2331 .C438 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-14
Teaching Naked: how moving technology out of your college classroom will improve student learning by José Antonio Bowen
Call Number: LB1028.3.B69 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-14
The Wiley Handbook of Vocational Education and Training by Lorna Unwin; David GuileA collection of the theories, practices, and policies of vocational education and training written by international experts The Wiley Handbook of Vocational Education and Training offers an in-depth guide to the theories, practices, and policies of vocational education and training (VET). With contributions from a panel of leading international scholars, the Handbook contains 27 authoritative essays from a wide range of disciplines. The contributors present an integrated analysis of the complex and dynamic field of VET. Drawing on the most recent research, thinking, and practice in the field, the book explores the key debates about the role of VET in the education and training systems of various nations. The Handbook reveals how expertise is developed in an age of considerable transformation in work processes, work organization, and occupational identities. The authors also examine many of the challenges of vocational education and training such as the impact of digital technologies on employment, the demand for (re)training in the context of extended working lives, the emergence of learning regions and skill ecosystems, and the professional development of vocational teachers and trainers. This important text: Offers an original view of VET's role in both the initial and continuing development of expertise Examines the theories and concepts that underpin international perspectives and explores the differences about the purposes of VET Presents various models of learning used in VET, including apprenticeship, and their relationship with general education Explores how VET is shaped in different ways by the political economy of different countries Reviews how developments in digital technologies are changing VET practice Discusses the challenges for universities offering higher vocational education programs Draws on both recent research as well as historical accounts Written for students, researchers, and scholars in the fields of educational studies, human resource development, social policy, political economy, labor market economics, industrial relations, sociology, The Wiley Handbook of Vocational Education and Training offers an international perspective on the topic of VET.
Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Why Teach?: in defense of a real education by Mark Edmundson