Connecting with Students Online : strategies for remote teaching & learning by
"The professional development for online teaching and learning that you've been asking for. An unprecedented pandemic may take the teacher out of the classroom, but it doesn't take the classroom out of the teacher! Now that you're making the shift to online teaching, it's time to answer your biggest questions about remote, digitally based instruction: How do I build and nurture relationships with students and their at-home adults from afar? How do I adapt my best teaching to an online setting? How do I keep a focus on students and their needs when they aren't in front of me? Jennifer Serravallo's Connecting with Students Online gives you concise, doable answers based on her own experiences and those of the teachers, administrators, and coaches she has communicated with during the pandemic. Focusing on the vital importance of the teacher-student connection, Jen guides you to: Effectively prioritize what matters most during remote, online instruction schedule your day and your students' to maximize teaching and learning (and avoid burnout) ; Streamline curricular units and roll them out digitally ; Record highly engaging short lessons that students will enjoy and learn from ; Confer, working with small groups, and drive learning through independent practice ; Partner with the adults in a student's home to support your work with their child. Featuring simplified, commonsense suggestions, 55 step-by-step teaching strategies, and video examples of Jen conferring and working with small groups, Connecting with Students Online helps new teachers, teachers new to technology, or anyone who wants to better understand the essence of effective online instruction. Along the way Jen addresses crucial topics including assessment and progress monitoring, student engagement and accountability, using anchor charts and visuals, getting books into students' hands, teaching subject-area content, and avoiding teacher burnout. During this pandemic crisis turn to one of education's most trusted teaching voices to help you restart or maintain students' progress. Jennifer Serravallo's Connecting with Students Online is of-the-moment, grounded in important research, informed by experience, and designed to get you teaching well -- and confidently -- as quickly as possible." --
The Distance Learning Playbook for College and University Instruction : teaching for engagement & impact in any setting by
First, let's commend ourselves: how in the midst of a pandemic we faculty stepped up at record speed to teach in such a foreign learning environment. Try we did, adapt we did, and learn we did. But to be clear, and we already recognize this, this past spring was less about distance learning and more about crisis teaching. This time around we have the opportunity to be much more purposeful and intentional, and that's where The Distance Learning Playbook for College and University Instruction will prove absolutely indispensable. Much more than a collection of cool tools and apps, The Distance Learning Playbook for College and University Instruction mobilizes decades of Visible Learning® research to reveal those evidence-based strategies that work best in an online environment. Supplemented by video footage and opportunities to self-assess and reflect, the book addresses every dynamic that must be in place for students to learn, even at a distance [...] What does our post-COVID future hold? "We suspect," Fisher, Frey, Almarode, and Hattie write, "it will include increased amounts of distance learning. In the meantime, let's seize on what we have learned to improve post-secondary education in any format, whether face-to-face or from a distance.
Educational Communities of Inquiry : theoretical framework, research, and practice by 
Engaging Learners Through Zoom : strategies for virtual teaching across disciplines by
"Many educators are frustrated with the perceived limitations of a video-conferencing platform like Zoom that was originally designed for corporate meetings. Yet Zoom offers tools that, with creativity and practice, can be used to more deeply engage students, reduce Zoom Fatigue, promote active learning, and achieve successful learning outcomes. Dr. Brennan has developed a collection of dozens of active, synchronous Zoom learning structures that can be used in any discipline, and at multiple levels of education. The resulting book, Engaging Learners through Zoom, will help educators leverage the latest research on active learning, engagement, learner motivation and cognitive neuroscience, to train them to be more effective as educators in distance learning, and to ensure that learners have the best possible opportunity to achieve their educational, career and life goals. This is especially important in ensuring equity in educational outcomes for students who are at greater risk of dropping out of high school, and who are the first in their families to attempt college. The goal for this book is to provide educators with a sizeable toolbox for improving distance learning experiences and results, primarily through synchronous learning. If educators use these tools with students, the author and his company, On Course, will achieve its goal of significantly increasing learner engagement and thus the opportunity for more students to achieve their educational goals"
Evaluating Online Teaching: implementing best practices by 
Going online : perspectives on digital learning by
In Going Online, one of our most respected online learning leaders offers insights into virtual education--what it is, how it works, where it came from, and where it may be headed. Robert Ubell reaches back to the days when distance learning was practiced by mail in correspondence schools and then leads us on a tour behind the screen, touching on a wide array of topics along the way, including what it takes to teach online and the virtual student experience. You'll learn about: how to build a sustainable online program; how to create an active learning online course; why so many faculty resist teaching online; how virtual teamwork enhances digital instruction; how to manage online course ownership; [and] how learning analytics improves online instruction. Ubell says that it is not technology alone, but rather unconventional pedagogies, supported by technological innovations, that truly activate today's classrooms. He argues that innovations introduced online--principally peer-to-peer and collaborative learning--offer significantly increased creative learning options across all age groups and educational sectors. This impressive collection, drawn from Ubell's decades of experience as a digital education pioneer, presents a powerful case for embracing online learning for its transformational potential.
The High Impact ePortfolio Practice : a catalyst for student, faculty, and institutional learning by 
Hybrid Teaching and Learning by
Hybrid (also called blended) classrooms, in which face-to-face interaction is intentionally combined with online activities to aid student learning, are becoming more and more common. Not only can hybrid courses help with cost-containment because of taking up less physical space on campus, but the hybrid model is also proving to be an environment that provides more self-directed, technology-mediated learning experiences for students who will increasingly be incorporating technology into their professional lives post-college. Although hybrid teaching and learning models are expanding on campuses across the United States (and internationally), faculty and administrators have few resources to consult when developing hybrid courses and curricula. In addition to helping explain and define the phenomenon of hybrid teaching and learning, this volume is organized around some of the most central questions of hybrid teaching and learning"--Back cover.
"The trend toward using a hybrid approach to teaching and learning is gaining momentum. Some of this is due to the fact, most certainly, that technology is advancing to the point where new pedagogies are developing. But also, educators who use a hybrid approach can take advantage of ways to modify the learning environment to better engage students. This issue focuses on the concept of using hybrid teaching and learning and explores many of the models and best practices along with guidance about what institutions and faculty can do to take advantage of this approach to learning
MOOCs and Higher Education: implications for institutional research by 
The Online Teaching Survival Guide: simple and practical pedagogical tips by
The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides a robust overview of theory-based techniques for teaching online or technology-enhanced courses. Covering all aspects of online teaching, this book reviews the latest research in cognitive processing and related learning outcomes while retaining a focus on the practical. A simple framework of instructional strategies mapped across a four-phase timeline provides a concrete starting point for both new online teachers and experienced teachers designing or revamping an online course. Essential technologies are explored in their basic and expanded forms, and traditional pedagogy serves as the foundation for tips and practices customized for online learning. The tips cover course management, social presence, community building, integration of new technologies, discussion and questioning techniques, assessment, and debriefing, along with new coverage of intensive or accelerated courses, customizing learning strategies, developing expertise, advanced course design, and assessment techniques exclusive to this new second edition. The theory and techniques of successful online teaching can be significantly different from those used face-to-face. With more and more classes being offered online, this book provides a valuable resource for taking your course to the next level. Understand the technology used in online teaching; Learn specialized pedagogical tips and practices; Examine new research on cognition and learning; Adopt a clear framework of instructional strategies; The explosion of online learning has created a demand for great online teachers. Increasingly, faculty who normally teach face-to-face are being asked to cover online courses--yet comprehensive pedagogical resources are scarce. The learning curve is huge, and faculty need a practical approach to course design and management that can be quickly and easily implemented. The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides that essential resource, with a customizable framework and deeper exploration of effective online teaching.
Teaching Effectively with Zoom : a practical guide to engage your students and help them learn by
The goal of this book is to help educators teach effective live online sessions using Zoom. It offers practical pedagogical advice. The book is based on the author's experience teaching online, observations of several colleagues teaching online at Harvard University, research-based principles of effective teaching and learning, and, perhaps just as importantly, interviews with dozens of students who recently experienced online learning for the first time and also had to adapt to this way of learning in a hurry.
Teaching in the Online Classroom : surviving and thriving in the new normal by
"Although the transition to online education is happening more abruptly than anyone anticipated, technology-supported teaching may be here to stay. This guide explores the challenges involved in online teaching and guides educators and administrators to identify and understand best practices. It is a valuable tool to help you and your students succeed in synchronous and asynchronous settings this school year and beyond. Learn strategies for engaging students more fully online. Find new techniques to assess student progress from afar. Discover tools for building online classroom culture, combating online distractions, and more"--
Zoom for Dummies by
"Thanks to Zoom, we can connect one-on-one or in groups from desks, our home office, or even--blissfully--from the comfort of our own couches... Discover how to hold group video calls, install time-saving apps, engage your audience with interactive webinars, dramatically improve the way that you communicate and collaborate with your colleagues, and much more."
The Disruptive Power of Online Education : Challenges, Opportunities, Responses by
The higher education sector is being disrupted through the effect that technological innovations have on the educational market. As digital and mobile technologies are developing further, higher education institutions must embrace these developments to meet the needs of their learners and to not become irrelevant. In higher education, disruptive effects are mainly visible on a program/product level, with an increasing number of programs including some element of online education. Disruptive effects also become evident on a pedagogical level, where student engagement, collaboration and social learning, gamification and serious games, competency-based learning, teacher training, and overcoming geosocial divides are high on the agenda. This book considers the effect of online elements and their design on university business models and internationalization, course design, massive open online courses (MOOCs), and the scalability of online programs. It also explores how higher education institutions across the globe respond and react to the challenges and opportunities evolving in online education.
Diversifying Digital Learning : Online Literacy and Educational Opportunity by
Many schools and programs in low-income neighborhoods lack access to the technological resources, including equipment and Internet service, that those in middle- and upper-income neighborhoods have at their fingertips. This inequity creates a persistent digital divide—not a simple divide in access to technology per se, but a divide in both formal and informal digital literacy that further marginalizes youths from low-income, minoritized, and first-generation communities.Diversifying Digital Learning outlines the pervasive problems that exist with ensuring digital equity and identifies successful strategies to tackle the issue. Bringing together top scholars to discuss how digital equity in education might become a key goal in American education, this book is structured to provide a framework for understanding how historically underrepresented students most effectively engage with technology—and how institutions may help or hinder students'ability to develop and capitalize on digital literacies.This book will appeal to readers who are well versed in the diverse uses of social media and technologies, as well as less technologically savvy educators and policy analysts in educational organizations such as schools, afterschool programs, colleges, and universities. Addressing the intersection of digital media, race/ethnicity, and socioeconomic class in a frank manner, the lessons within this compelling work will help educators enable students in grades K–12, as well as in postsecondary institutions, to participate in a rapidly changing world framed by shifting new media technologies.
High-impact practices in online education : research and best practices by
This volume offers the first comprehensive guide to how high-impact practices (HIPs) are being implemented in online environments and how they can be adjusted to meet the needs of online learners. This multi-disciplinary approach will assist faculty and administrators to effectively implement HIPs in distance education courses and online programs. With a chapter devoted to each of the eleven HIPs, this collection offers guidance that takes into account the differences between e-learners and traditional on-campus students. A primary goal of High-Impact Practices Onlineis to share the ways in which HIPs may need to be amended to meet the needs of online learners. Through specific examples and practical suggestions in each chapter, readers are introduced to concrete strategies for transitioning HIPs to the online environment that can be utilized across a range of disciplines and institution types. Each chapter of High-Impact Practices Onlinealso references the most recent and relevant literature on each HIP so that readers are brought up to date on what makes online HIPs successful. The book provides guidance on how best to implement HIPs to increase retention and completion for online learners.
Integrating Service-Learning and Consulting in Distance Education by
The pressures upon students from employers are greater than ever. Demands for a highly skilled workforce in a digitalized economy mean that higher education institutions need to do more to prepare their student bodies for this new way of working. The geographical boundaries set by traditional on-campus courses prevent most universities from allowing online students to engage in community service. Online service-learning responds to this limitation by initiating the transfer of in-person community service to the online environment. E-service learning addresses the growing demand for flexible online courses and programs. Anchored in research and supported by eight years of successful implantation, this book presents an award-winning e-service-learning model which allows students to enhance their employability with real work experience. Faculty can go beyond theory while building their service requirements, and may use e-service-learning to offer real world applications and hands-on experience. Clients benefit from pro bono services, and universities are able to fulfill their strategic goals, serve the community-at-large, and grow their online programs by offering students a unique online course experience. This book advocates a model and instructions for faculty to successfully integrate a remote service-learning and consulting component in an online course making this an illuminating text for higher education researchers and leaders alike.
MOOCs: Design, Use and Business Models by
MOOCs (Massive Online Open Courses) are shaking up the traditional forms of primary and continuing education and training. These new distance teaching tools which take advantage of the Web and social network revolution are making us think again about how we teach and learn.
MOOCs, High Technology, and Higher Learning by
In MOOCs, High Technology, and Higher Learning, Robert A. Rhoads places the OpenCourseWare (OCW) movement into the larger context of a revolution in educational technology. In doing so, he seeks to bring greater balance to increasingly polarized discussions of massively open online courses (MOOCs) and show their ongoing relevance to reforming higher education and higher learning. Rhoads offers a provocative analysis of a particular moment in history when cultural, political, and economic forces came together with evolving teaching and learning technologies to bring about the MOOC. He argues persuasively that the OCW and MOOC movements have had a significant impact on the digitalization of knowledge and that they have helped expand the ways students and teachers interact and develop ideas collaboratively. He also critically analyzes the extensive media coverage of MOOCs while examining empirical studies of MOOC content delivery, the organizational system supporting the OCW/MOOC movement, and faculty labor concerns. Too often, technology advocates champion the MOOC movement as a solution to higher education’s challenges without recognizing the pedagogical, social, and economic costs. MOOCs, High Technology, and Higher Learning challenges many of the democratic claims made by MOOC advocates, pointing to vast inequities in the ways MOOCs are presented as an alternative to brick-and-mortar access for low-income populations. This book offers a clear-eyed perspective on the potential and peril of this new form of education.
Social Presence in Online Learning : multiple perspectives on practice and research by
Published in Association with The Online Learning Consortium. Social presence continues to emerge as a key factor for successful online and blended learning experiences. It is commonly described as the degree to which online participants feel connected to one another. Understanding social presence with its critical connections to community-building, retention, and learning outcomes allows faculty and instructional designers to better support and engage students. This volume, Social Presence in Online Learning, addresses the evolution of social presence with three distinct perspectives, outlines the relevant research, and focuses on practical strategies that can immediately impact the teaching and learning experience. These strategies include creating connections to build community, applying content to authentic situations, integrating a careful mix of tools and media, leveraging reflective and interactive opportunities, providing early and continuous feedback, designing with assessment in mind, and encouraging change in small increments. Because student satisfaction and motivation plays a key role in retention rates and because increased social presence often leads to enriched learning experiences, it is advantageous to mindfully integrate social presence into learning environments. Social Presence in Online Learning brings together eminent scholars in the field to distinguish among three different perspectives of social presence and to address how these viewpoints immediately inform practice. This important volume: " rovides an overview of the evolution of social presence, key findings from social presence research, and practical strategies that can improve the online and blended learning experience" ifferentiates three distinct perspectives on social presence and explains the ideas and models that inform these perspectives" xplores specific ways in which social presence relates to course satisfaction, retention, and outcomes" ffers practical implications and ready-to-use techniques that are applicable to multiple disciplines" ntroduces current research on social presence by prominent researchers in the field with direct inferences to the practice of online and blended learning " ooks at future directions for social presenceSocial Presence in Online Learning is appropriate for practitioners, researchers and academics involved in any level of online learning program design, course design, instruction, support, and leadership as well as for graduate students studying educational technology, technology-enhanced learning, and online and blended learning. It brings together multiple perspectives on social presence from the most influential scholars in the field to help shape the future of online and blended learning. Described as the degree to which online participants feel connected to one another, social presence is a key factor for successful online and blended learning experiences. This book presents key findings from the research on social presence, with its critical connections to community-building, retention, and learning outcomes, and provides practical strategies to enable faculty and instructional designers to better support and engage students in online and blended learning sources.
Teaching Online: A Guide to Theory, Research, and Practice by March 13, 2020
This statement was prepared by several dozen academic librarians and copyright officers at universities around the US.
It is available to read at https://tinyurl.com/tvnty3a
