Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds; Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor); Kimberly J. Vannest (Editor)The highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field. This completely updated and comprehensive A-Z reference includes about 200 new entries, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition, such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and RTI. The latest editions of assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings are discussed.
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Essentials of Planning, Selecting, and Tailoring Interventions for Unique Learners by Jennifer T. Mascolo; Dawn P. Flanagan; Vincent C. AlfonsoA Resource for Designing and Implementing Intervention Programs for At-Risk Learners This authoritative resource provides step-by-step procedures for planning, selecting, and tailoring interventions for at-risk learners with a unique focus on how to individualize interventions using actual case examples. In addition, this volume offers guidelines for gathering and interpreting data in a manner that assists in identifying targets for intervention and rich discussion and information relating to specific academic, cognitive, and behavioral manifestations of students with learning difficulties in reading, math, writing, and oral language. Practitioners will also recognize and learn how to intervene with students from underserved and mis-served populations who are at risk for learning failure including English-language learners and students from impoverished environments. Each chapter describes how specific difficulties interfere with classroom tasks and explain how to select, modify, or otherwise tailor an intervention based on that information. As with all volumes in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series, this volume includes callout boxes highlighting key concepts, extensive illustrative material, and test questions. The companion CD-ROM provides additional worksheets, case studies, and handouts.
Publication Date: 2014-02-24
The Impact of Reforms and Interventions on K-12 Education by DeAnna M. BurneyYouth who struggle with academic and behavioral problems are at risk of limiting their futures as productive citizens. The main question at hand: Are our schools protecting these students and equipping them with the skills necessary to compete in a global society and to become productive citizens after graduation? The Impact of Reforms and Interventions on K-12 Education is designed to address the state of twenty-first century education practices pertaining to all students who enter a school classroom.This book is designed to address the state of twenty-first century education practices pertaining to all students who enter a school classroom. Thus, this book will discuss a variety of topics that deal with special- education law, theoretical perspectives on scientific-based interventions, progress monitoring, as well as academic skill and interventions for reading, mathematics, and written language.
Publication Date: 2015
Physical Education and Sports for People with Visual Impairments and Deafblindness: foundations of instruction by Lauren J. Lieberman; Paul E. Ponchillia; Susan Kay Vlahas Ponchillia
Call Number: HV1767.L54 2013
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
The Principal's Handbook for Leading Inclusive Schools by Julie Causton; George TheoharisBehind every successful inclusive school is a great principal with passion, vision, and a practical plan. With so much riding on their strong and proactive leadership, every principal and administrator will want this how-to book: the essential guide to bringing schoolwide inclusion from theory to practice. Covering everything from the basics of special education to the everyday nuts and bolts of making inclusion work, two renowned inclusion experts give readers clear guidance they can use right away to lead a fully inclusive school where every student learns and belongs. New and veteran administrators will discover how to make schoolwide (and districtwide) reforms that support social and academic success-and help all students reach their full potential. LEARN HOW TO: Provide all students with access to the general education curriculum in the least restrictive environment Solicit input and expertise from everyone-teachers, paraprofessionals, and support staff Promote close collaboration between general and special educators Create inclusive service delivery Implement academic and social supports that meet the individual needs of each student Make sound decisions about content-specific accommodations and modifications Facilitate use of gentle and positive supports to resolve challenging behavior Partner effectively with school staff and families Create a school culture that encourages independence and high expectations for all Relieve job-related stress and avoid burnout PRACTICAL MATERIAL: Concrete, real-world tips and strategies; first-person stories from school leaders; answers to commonly asked questions in every chapter; helpful checklists and forms on co-teaching, behavior support, school reform planning, and more.
Supporting Pupils on the Autism Spectrum in Primary Schools: a practical guide for teaching assistants by Carolyn Canavan
Call Number: LC4717.C36 2016
Publication Date: 2015-07-20
A Survival Guide for New Special Educators by Mary T. Brownell; Bonnie S. Billingsley; Maya Israel; Margaret L. KammanWhat every special education teacher needs to know to survive and thrive A Survival Guide for New Special Educators provides relevant, practical information for new special education teachers across a broad range of topic areas. Drawing on the latest research on special educator effectiveness and retention, this comprehensive, go-to resource addresses the most pressing needs of novice instructors, resource teachers, and inclusion specialists. Offers research-based, classroom-tested strategies for working with a variety of special needs students Covers everything from preparing for the new school year to behavior management, customizing curriculum, creating effective IEPs, and more Billingsley and Brownell are noted experts in special educator training and support This highly practical book is filled with checklists, forms, and tools that special educators can use every day to help ensure that all special needs students get the rich, rewarding education they deserve.
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Teaching Deaf Learners: psychological and developmental foundations by Harry Knoors; Marc Marschark
Call Number: HV2430.K576 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-22
Teaching Everyone : an Introduction to Inclusive Education by Whitney H. Rapp; Katrina L. ArndtThe new generation of teachers needs a new kind of special education textbook—one that focuses on children, not labels. That's why Whitney Rapp & Katrina Arndt developed Teaching Everyone, the first text that fully prepares teachers to see past disability labels and work with all students' individual needs and strengths.
Call Number: LC3965 .R37 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education by Marie Tejero Hughes (Editor); Elizabeth Talbott (Editor)The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education is a state-of-the-art reference showcasing cutting-edge special education research with a focus on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds. Cutting-edge special education research focusing on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds An authoritative contribution to the field, this work charts a new path to effective interventions and sets an agenda for future research Addresses disabilities from an international perspective
Publication Date: 2017-04-17
National Center on Accessible Educational MaterialsThe National Center on Accessible Educational Materials (AEM Center) is a nonprofit initiative that "provide[s] resources and technical assistance for educators, parents, students, publishers, conversion houses, accessible media producers, and others interested in learning more about AEM." Here, readers will find a wealth of well-organized information and resources for accessible education. Those new to AEM should start with the About AEM section, which contains introductory materials such as quick start guides organized by audience. Parents and educators should check out the Supporting learners section, where they will find information organized by age group beginning with early learning up through workforce development resources for adults, as well as a directory of AEM contacts for each state. Additionally, the Navigating AEM section provides helpful overviews of the many AEM options available. Those interested can also subscribe to the AEM Connector, a quarterly email newsletter "highlighting the best and brightest resources, products, and services from the AEM Center and from our partners and colleagues in the field." The AEM Center is led by the Center for Applied Special Technology, an independent, nonprofit education research and development organization in Massachusetts that focuses on Universal Design for Learning.
UnderstoodFrom the National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD) comes Understood, a resource created "to help the millions of parents whose children, ages 3-20, are struggling with learning and attention issues." Here, interested readers will find a large collection of information available in both English and Spanish and organized intuitively into categories such as School & Learning, Friends & Feelings, and You & Your Family. The Your Parent Toolkit offers resources specifically designed to "empower [parents] to understand their children's issues and relate to their experiences." For example, Through Your Child's Eyes offers simulations and videos to help viewers understand the experiences of someone with learning or attention issues, while the Tech Finder offers a search tool for "expert-approved apps and games" as well as information on other assistive software and technology. Operated and managed by the NCLD, Understood was founded in collaboration between fifteen nonprofit organizations, such as the Children's Health Council, the Child Mind Institute, and the Learning Disabilities Association of America.
Beyond F.A.T. city: a look back, a look ahead by Lavoie, Richard D.Offers practical strategies and inspirational advice for teachers and parents of children with learning disabilities who constantly struggle with Frustration, Anxiety, and Tension (F.A.T.).
Call Number: DVD LC4704.B49 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Freedom machines by Jamie StrobieExplores how human experience and new technological innovations are outpacing social policies. This program profiles four individuals who have overcome their disabilities or succeeded despite their physical conditions with the help of new technologies.
Call Number: DVD LC4812.F74 2005
Publication Date: 2005
ADHD & LD: Powerful Teaching Strategies and AccommodationsGeneral education teachers are finding an increasing number of students with ADHD and learning disabilities in their classrooms. This video gives elementary and middle school teachers the tools they need to help students succeed in the general education setting within a Response To Intervention framework. Presented by leading education expert Sandra Reif, this content-rich video offers viewers a range of effective strategies to meet both the behavioral and academic needs of students. Targeted strategies and examples for small group instruction are also offered as Tier 2 RTI strategies. Topics include: communicating with parents and clinicians; differentiating instruction; collaborating with co-teachers and other staff; engaging student attention; behavior interventions; teaching study skills and written language.
Autism in AmericaPutting the puzzle together, one beautiful piece at a time. This film is a genuine and straightforward look into the autism spectrum disorder as told by the families and individuals living with autism daily. Many parents are interviewed including Ruth Sullivan, Ph.D., the mother of a man named Joe who was the inspiration for Dustin Hoffman’s autistic character in the movie Rain Man. We also hear from a young woman named Alexis, the first autistic person to run for the title of Miss America. Autistic behaviors such as difficulty communicating, outbursts, etc. are examined in the film, as are the financial and emotional effects on parents. The film looks at young years, discipline, transition into high school and college, employment possibilities, and marriage for people with autism. Narrated by Chandra Wilson (Grey's Anatomy).
Beyond F.A.T. City: A Look Back, a Look Ahead—A Conversation about Special EducationF.A.T.—frustration, anxiety, tension—are three all-too-familiar feelings for children with learning disabilities and their families. In this program, Richard D. Lavoie, creator of the original F.A.T. City Workshop, reviews the history and philosophy of that project, the major trends and issues in the field of learning disabilities since the late 1980s, and the challenges ahead for educators and parents of children with LD. Lavoie is known worldwide for his powerful and provocative presentations on learning disabilities and has worked in special education for decades as a teacher, an administrator, an author, and a consultant. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (90 minutes)
Inclusion: A Service Not a PlaceThis video, hosted by Drs. Alan Gartner and Dorothy Lipsky, provides a comprehensive framework for administrators, teachers and staff developers to build effective schoolwide inclusion through an approach that focuses on "service" rather than "location" in teaching special education students. Using clips from actual classrooms, the framework takes on additional meaning as viewers observe theory being put into practice in real classrooms.
Kids on Speed (3 parts)Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, better known as 'ADHD', is on the rise. In this bold experiment, six families who have children diagnosed with ADHD will forgo medication and try a different prescription.
Learning Differences in Adolescents: American Academy of Pediatrics—Reaching TeensIn this video, adolescent medicine specialist Marina Catalozzi, MD, MSCE, of Columbia University Medical Center, discusses learning differences in adolescents and how to address them. Topics include: types of learning disabilities, learning disability assessment, and how to advocate for teens. From The American Academy of Pediatrics publication "Reaching Teens: Strength-Based Communication Strategies to Build Resilience and Support Healthy Adolescent Development."
Ocho Pasos Adelante: Early Diagnosis and Intervention for Children with AutismOchos Pasos Adelante, or Eight Steps Forward, is a documentary about the impact that early detection and intervention makes on children with different levels of autism spectrum disorder (ADS). The film explores the work of PANAACEA—an Argentinian interdisciplinary team devoted to child and adolescent neurodevelopment. Through interviews and live sessions with therapists, kids, and their parents, the film offers concrete and clear tips on how to detect autism for effective early intervention. In Spanish, Italian and English, some portions with English subtitles. (60 minutes)
RTI and DI: The Dynamic DuoResponse to intervention and differentiated instruction are teaching methods aimed at helping all reach their full potential, especially when a classroom contains students of various backgrounds, cultures, and learning styles. This program presents educators with an overview of how to use RTI and DI together to practice high-quality instruction that is complemented by targeted interventions and ongoing student assessments. The video explains that RTI and DI both emphasize student engagement, collaboration, and assessment, and then focuses on the RTI team, classroom implementation, and addressing special populations such as learners with disabilities, gifted learners, or English-language learners. (37 minutes)
7 Effective Strategies for Secondary InclusionWith the enactment of No Child Left Behind and the 2004 reauthorization of the Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), including students with special needs in the general classroom is no longer an option. This exciting and practical video gives educators a look inside middle school and high school classrooms that successfully includt students with special needs.Dr. Lisa Dieker provides expert insight and helpful commentary, identifying unique characteristics that contribute to successful school inclusion at the secondary level. Viewers will learn about: co-teaching (instruction, curriculum design, and student assessment) in inclusive classrooms; using universal design to make instruction accessible to all students while also meeting state and local education standards; how the learning environment of inclusive classrooms impacts student achievement; how school administrators, teachers, families and students work together in inclusive schools to produce successful outcomes. In addition, Dr. Dieker describes and demonstrates strategies for successful secondary inclusion that educators can utilize to meet the needs of students with disabilities.
Teach Me Different! Successful Strategies for Teaching Children Who Learn Differently, with Sally Smith (4-part series)In this classic four-part series, Sally L. Smith, founder of the renowned Lab School of Washington, distills her classroom and research findings into four tutorials that educators can use to guide their LD students to higher academic achievement. Professor Smith directed American University’s master’s degree program in special education and is the author of numerous books, including No Easy Answers: The Learning Disabled Child at Home and at School. Distributed by PBS Distribution. 4-part series, 55 minutes each.
TEDTalks: Stuart Duncan: How I Use Minecraft To Help Kids With AutismThe internet can be an ugly place, but you won't find bullies or trolls on Stuart Duncan's Minecraft server, AutCraft. Designed for children with autism and their families, AutCraft creates a safe online environment for play and self-expression for kids who sometimes behave a bit differently than their peers (and who might be singled out elsewhere). Learn more about one of the best places on the internet with this heartwarming talk.