Dental Anatomy by
Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. Suggested uses: o Dental Students & Hygienists – handy and incredibly thorough reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis o Dentists – what any professional office needs for reference while consulting patients, also leave guides in offices to look over while patients wait o Parents - can show kids where their adult teeth are hiding when losing teeth, plus to emphasize the importance of taking care of their mouth and teeth o Patient – use guide to locate sources of pain for reporting to your dentist
Careers in Focus: Dental Care by
Careers in Focus: Dental Care covers the following 11 jobs:
Dental Assistants
Dental Hygienists
Dental Laboratory Technicians
Dentists
Endodontists
Medical Record Technicians
Medical Secretaries
Orthodontists
Pediatric Dentists
Periodontists
Receptionists
Case Studies in Dental Hygiene by
Completely updated in a new edition, this book features diverse case-based scenarios designed to help dental hygienists sharpen their critical decision- making skills and application of basic dental hygiene knowledge and skills--from various dental hygiene disciplines--to client care. It will also help those preparing for the national, regional and state examinations which have a client-care focus. Each case contains a medical history, dental history, vital signs (including blood pressure, pulse and respiratory rates), radiographs, dental and periodontal charting, intraoral photographs, and photographs of study models, where applicable. Each case lists "deficits" that prompt decision-making opportunities regarding client care and treatment recommendations that promote oral health and prevent oral diseases. For Dental Hygienists and those preparing for the Dental Hygiene National Board Examination.
Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by
The cornerstone text of almost every dental hygienist's library is now in its thoroughly updated Tenth Edition. Written in a straightforward, concise outline format, this text equips students and practitioners with the clinical and educational skills needed for successful practice. Features includes full-color artwork and photographs, case-based exercises, procedure boxes, and ethics boxes. The Tenth Edition presents the latest technical advances and research findings and includes a new chapter on teeth whitening, plus new sections on cultural competence, detailed home visit, street drugs, and indices for early childhood caries and root caries.
Dental Hygiene: theory and practice by
Comprehensive and up to date, Dental Hygiene, 3rd Edition offers complete coverage of today's dental hygiene skills and theories -- all based on the Human Needs Model for better hygienist/patient communication. With a strong focus on clinical application, each section closely follows the critical thinking and clinical assessment approach that a hygienist must use in the classroom, clinic, and practice. Clinical competencies at the beginning of each chapter provide a clear, quick overview of exactly what you need to know, and procedure boxes with detailed steps and rationales ensure that you understand the reasoning behind each step in the competencies. In addition, new chapters on caries risk assessment and the oral-systemic health connection keep you up to date with today's major areas of research. Each section takes you from conceptual foundations of dental hygiene through patient assessment, treatment, and evaluation. Scenario boxes challenge you to integrate complex information as you assess, diagnose, plan care, and evaluate the outcome of care. Client Education Issues and Legal, Ethical and Safety Issues boxes inform you of the latest information in these important areas. Critical Thinking exercises provide opportunities for independent thought and problem solving. Tables and boxes build upon and simplify information from the text, making study and review quick and easy. Evolve website contains free online resources, including weblinks, self-assessment quizzes, and professional development worksheets for student review. A reorganized section for Individuals with Special Needs includes chapters on Cleft Palate, Physical Abuse, Blood Diseases, and Mental Illness , all reflecting evidence-based research now available in these areas. New chapters on caries risk assessment and the oral-systemic health connection -- hot topics in today's dental sciences. New anesthesia guidelines keep you up to date with what's new in pain and anxiety control. Essential resources and websites are now included at the end of each chapter for easy reference. New illustrations provide a fresh, reader-friendly design. Self-assessment quizzes are available online, all case-based to follow the NBDH format. Free online access to the Legal and Ethical Decision Making chapter, including an 'asset center' to assist you with clinical skills.
Peri-Implant Therapy for the Dental Hygienist by
Peri-Implant Therapy for the Dental Hygienist is a comprehensive guide for implant history, prosthetic designs, and patient selection including oral systemic health and risk assessment. The text also discusses pre-surgical procedures, communicating with patients about implant dentistry, in-office maintenance protocols, plus new innovative home-care options to ensure success of the implant and overall health of the patient. An essential tool for dental hygienists to prepare to take on this very important challenge in the profession, Peri-Implant Therapy for the Dental Hygienist is a valuable resource for the entire dental team.
Basic Guide to Dental Procedures by
Basic Guide to Dental Procedures, Second Edition provides an essential introduction to the core preventative and restorative treatments routinely carried out in the modern dental practice. Written as a guide for the whole dental team, 'before and after' colour photographs enable the reader to understand and explain the procedures to their patient with confidence. Each section is clearly structured to cover the reasoning behind the treatment described, the relevant dental background, the basics of how each procedure is carried out and any necessary aftercare information. Key features include: Colour photographs throughout combined with concise text to highlight the crucial points of each procedure Suitable for the whole dental team, from office support staff to the dentist explaining procedures to a patient Thoroughly updated and revised in line with the substantial changes to the role and professional obligations of the dental nurse, including a new chapter detailing extended duties The new images of tray set-ups means it is an ideal companion for trainee dental nurses studying for the NEBDN OSCE exam
Basic Guide to Medical Emergencies in the Dental Practice by
The Basic Guide to Medical Emergencies in the Dental Practice is a must-have book for all dental care professionals and general dentists. Written in a clear and accessible style, this second edition has been fully revised and updated in line with the latest guidelines. Chapters cover such key topics as the ABCDE approach to patient assessment, resuscitation equipment, respiratory and cardiac disorders, paediatric emergencies, and legal and ethical issues. Readers will also find two brand new chapters on the principles of first aid, and drugs for medical emergencies. Follows Resuscitation Council (UK) Guidelines Companion website with self-assessment exercises, serving as revision as well as non-verifiable CPD credit Over 50% new images Student friendly colourful layout with learning outcomes
Current Therapy in Endodontics by
Dentistry has been undergoing enormous changes, and the field of endodontics has certainly been at the forefront. Recent advances in technology, materials, and equipment have changed the way endodontics is practiced today, thereby facilitating treatments with greater efficiency, precision, and success, ultimately leading to better outcomes. Current Therapy in Endodontics encompasses the recent discoveries and applications for this field in one clinically relevant volume. Evidence-based presentation of recent advances in the field of endodontics Objective comparison of materials and instruments on the market Tables present key data and instruction for quick viewing and comprehension
Dental Materials at a Glance by
Dental Materials at a Glance, 2nd edition, is the latest title in the highly popular At a Glance series, providing a concise and accessible introduction and revision aid. Following the familiar, easy-to-use at a Glance format, each topic is presented as a double-page spread with key facts accompanied by clear diagrams encapsulating essential information. Systematically organized and succinctly delivered, Dental Materials at a Glance covers: Each major class of dental material and biomaterial Basic chemical and physical properties Clinical handling and application Complications and adverse effects of materials Dental Materials at a Glance is the ideal companion for all students of dentistry, residents, and junior clinicians. In addition, the text will provide valuable insight for general dental practitioners wanting to update their materials knowledge and be of immediate application for dental hygienists, dental nurses, dental assistants, and technicians.
Orthodontic Functional Appliances: Theory and Practice by
Comprehensive specialist manual covering the science and practice of functional appliance therapy Integrates clinical and academic elements with emphasis on evidence-based research and its clinical application Suitable for trainee and practicing orthodontists Includes more than 600 photographs to enhance clarity of topics covered Features contributions from top clinicians and researchers in the field
Pre-Clinical Dental Skills at a Glance by
Pre-Clinical Dental Skills at a Glance provides a comprehensive and accessible guide to the basic operative skills and core clinical skills required of those about to embark on dental clinical training. It serves as the perfect illustrated introduction for pre-clinical students and a handy revision guide for subsequent undergraduate and postgraduate stages. Following the familiar, easy-to-use At a Glance format, each topic is presented as a double-page spread with text accompanied by clear colour diagrams and clinical photographs to support conceptual understanding. Pre-Clinical Dental Skills at a Glance is a valuable resource for students studying dentistry, dental hygiene, dental therapy or dental nursing, as well as skills-based assessments such as the Overseas Registration Exam or the Licence in Dental Surgery. Key features include: An illustrated introduction to the dental clinical environment, basic operative skills and core clinical skills Key concepts are explained and superbly illustrated enabling you to visualise the intended clinical endpoint Core clinical skills covered include controlling cross-infection, giving and receiving effective feedback, history taking and communication skills A companion website with self-assessment questions for students and teaching notes for instructors
General and Oral Pathology for Dental Hygiene Practice by
Be prepared to provide the very best care to your patients!Develop the foundation in pathology you need to recognize the signs and symptoms of the oral conditions and the manifestations of systemic diseases youll encounter in clinical practice.Step by step, youll learn about the etiology of each disease or condition, how to recognize it, what the diagnostic process is, how the disease progresses, and what the treatment options are. Concise text and full-color photographs show you exactly what you need to know.
Oral Medicine and Pathology at a Glance by
Oral Medicine and Pathology at a Glance, 2nd Edition offers a comprehensive overview of essential aspects of oral medicine and pathology, with an emphasis on oral health care provision in general practice. Updated new edition, covering the most important conditions and commonly encountered oral pathologies and their clinical management Presented in the popular, highly-illustrated At a Glance style with clinical photographs throughout Written by an international author team Includes a companion website with self-assessment MCQs, further reading and downloadable images
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist by
Learn how to recognize and evaluate the diseases and conditions encountered in dental hygiene practice. Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist delivers the ideal combination of clinical photographs, radiographs, and discussion to help you identify and document the appearance of normal and disease states. This user-friendly, atlas-style text features 500 illustrations (more than 350 in full color), including clinical photographs, radiographs, photomicrographs, and line drawings, along with case studies, review questions, and synopsis charts. The learning tools and updated content of this text make it a valuable resource for your coursework and exam preparation as well as a solid reference to consult throughout your professional career. Companion CD with more than 50 case studies helps you develop critical thinking skills and prepare for the national exam. Review questions in multiple-choice format help you measure knowledge of chapter content. Extraordinary illustrations including high-quality radiographs and color clinical photos depict many oral pathological conditions. Synopsis charts at the end of each chapter summarize all the diseases presented and their characteristics. Focused presentation for dental hygienists only covers content that directly affects your role in oral health care. Key terms and learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter enhance your comprehension of the material. Chapter 2: Inflammation and Repair presents new information and photos on methamphetamine abuse and the resulting destruction of teeth called "meth mouth." Chapter 9: Manifestations of Systemic Diseases includes new information and photos about a skin disorder called acanthosis nigricans, associated with type 2 diabetes. EXPANDED! glossary now addresses other relevant terms in the text, not only the key terms, making it an even more complete reference for you to utilize in all your courses. REVISED! Review question format now matches the format of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination to better prepare you for the exam. Evolve student resources offer interactive pathology identification exercises, a 77-question multiple choice practice exam, and PDFs of the Synopsis Tables found in the book, along with helpful forms and web links.
Early Childhood Oral Health by
Dental caries has been called a "silent epidemic" and is the most prevalent chronic disease affecting children. Though much has been written on the science and practice of managing this disease, publications are diverse in their loci, preventing easy access to the reader. Early Childhood Oral Health coalesces all the important information related to this topic in a comprehensive reference for students, academics, and practitioners. This second edition expands the scope of the first and puts an additional focus on interprofessional and global efforts that are necessary to manage the growing disease crisis and screening and risk assessment efforts that have expanded with the boom of new technologies. With updated references and incorporating the latest research, chapters address the biology and epidemiology of caries, the clinical management of early childhood caries, risk assessment, and early diagnosis. Other topics include public health approaches to managing caries worldwide, implementation of new caries prevention programs, fluoride regimens, and community programs, and family oral health education. Brand new are four chapters on the medical management of early childhood caries, considerations for children with special needs, interprofessional education and practice, and how the newest policy issues and the Affordable Care Act affect dental care. A must-read for pediatric dentists, cariologists, public health dentists, and students in these fields, Early Childhood Oral Health is also relevant for pediatricians and pediatric nursing specialists worldwide.
Pediatric Dentistry: A Clinical Approach by
Pediatric Dentistry: A Clinical Approach, Third Edition provides a uniquely clear, comprehensive, and clinical approach to the dental treatment of children and adolescents. Offers systematic coverage of all clinical, scientific and social topics relating to pediatric dentistry Thoroughly revised and updated new edition, with an increased focus on evidence based care Includes three new chapters on genetics, child abuse and neglected children, and ethics Pedodontic endodontics is now covered by two chapters - one on primary teeth and one on young permanent teeth Features a companion website with interactive self-assessment questions
Evidence-Based Implant Treatment Planning and Clinical Protocols by
Evidence-based Implant Treatment Planning and Clinical Protocols provides a systematic approach to making treatment decisions and performing restorative procedures. Offers a clinically relevant resource grounded in the latest research Applies an evidence-based approach to all aspects of implant dentistry, including maxillofacial prosthodontics, from planning to surgery and restoration Describes procedures in detail with accompanying images Covers all stages of treatment, from planning to execution Includes access to a companion website with video clips demonstrating procedures and the figures from the book in PowerPoint
Periodontal Disease by
Periodontal disease is a chronic bacterial infection characterized by persistent inflammation, connective tissue breakdown and alveolar bone destruction. The chronic inflammation associated with periodontal disease represents the host response to bacterial plaque, mediated by the environment in which the response occurs. This book presents topical research data in the study of periodontal disease, including aesthetic periodontal therapy and root coverage techniques; clinical features of periodontal diseases in children and adolescents; biomechanics and the perioprosthetic patient; maternal periodontitis and perinatal outcomes; identifying patients with enhanced disease susceptibility in periodontal disease; and inflammatory mediators and oxidative stress in periodontal disease.
Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning by
Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning offers its readers a step-by-step guide to diagnosing and planning treatment for periodontal patients through the latest evidence-based protocols. It summarizes the available scientific evidence for efficacy and effectiveness and links it to everyday clinical practice in a concise, user-friendly manner. Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning begins with the basics of periodontal diagnosis, following the latest classification by the AAP. Modifiable and non-modifiable risk factors are assessed in detail, emphasizing the treatment planning intricacies associated with each one. The book discusses all presentations of periodontal disease ranging from gingivitis to aggressive periodontitis, highlighting topics such as occlusion, scaling and root planning. The full range of treatment modalities are also presented, providing practical instruction for osseous resective surgery, regenerative and supportive periodontal therapy, and dental implant complication management. Designed to improve and expand the reader's repertoire of clinical skills, Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning provides comprehensive coverage of this core part of periodontal training in a concise, highly illustrated, step-by-step format.
Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by
Easy to read and easy to follow, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 6th Edition provides an understanding of the basic principles of pharmacology. It covers the most common drugs that you will encounter in clinical practice -the drugs a patient may already be taking and the drugs prescribed by the dentist. A logical and consistent organization makes it easy to look up drug group indications, pharmacokinetics, pharmacologic effects, adverse reactions, drug interactions, and dosages. Ensure patient safety with this essential reference!
Drug interactions are emphasized, with explanations of why specific drugs may or may not be appropriate for use in a dental treatment plan. Note boxes highlight important concepts, indications, contraindications, memory tools, warnings, and more. Chapter review questions help you assess your understanding. Informative appendixes make it easy to look up need-to-know information. A new Hygiene-Related Oral Disorders chapter summarizes prevention and treatment of dental caries, gingivitis, and tooth hypersensitivity. A new Natural/Herbal Products and Dietary Supplements chapter relates this fast-growing area to dental hygiene. New Dental Hygiene Considerations boxes show how principles of pharmacology apply specifically to dental hygienists. Additional illustrations and tables simplify difficult concepts, including topics such as receptors and metabolism. A new full-color insert illustrates examples of many common oral pathological conditions.
Dental Drug Reference with Clinical Implications by
Designed as a quick and concise resource for dental professionals, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Dental Drug Reference delivers clinically relevant information to be delivered chairside during the review of a patient's medical history. Addresses the implications of dental treatment as well as oral medicine principles and drug effects. A-Z monographs include over 500 most commonly prescribed drugs, which are also the drugs most commonly seen in the dental setting. A bonus CD-ROM includes all of the drug monographs from the book in an easy-to-use, searchable format, printable drug monographs that can be included in patient charts, and an image bank of full-color photographs of adverse drug effects and selected oral conditions.
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by
A current, reliable drug reference is essential to every dental practice. Mosby's Dental Drug Reference offers complete yet concise information on more than 800 of the most commonly used drugs, all listed alphabetically for quick reference. This edition features clinically significant drugs and interactions, including 33 new drugs approved by the FDA since publication of the last edition. User-friendly, durable, and pocket-sized, it offers detailed interaction guidelines and an extensive appendix that highlights combination products. The companion CD-ROM features full-color pathologic condition illustrations and a color pill atlas. More than 800 detailed monographs, with information on generic name, category and schedule, drug class, mechanics, uses, pharmacokinetics, indications and dosages, side effects and adverse reactions, precautions, contraindications, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, serious reactions, and dental considerations. List of dental considerations offers suggestions for medical consultations and recommendations for the patient/family in preventing dental complications. Updated CD-ROM features full-color illustrations of drug-related pathologic conditions, plus a color pill atlas of commonly prescribed drugs. Thoroughly reviewed by respected educators and pharmacologists in the field. EVOLVE web site features patient teaching guides, a glossary of terms, important information from the text, and new drug coverage updated as needed for the life of this edition. 33brand-new monographs based on dental considerations. Addition of clinically significant drugs and interactions - the most common and emerging drugs seen or prescribed in dental practice.
Behavioral Dentistry by
Behavioral Dentistry, Second Edition, surveys the vast and absorbing topic of the role of behavioral science in the study and clinical practice of dentistry. An understanding of social sciences has long been a central part of dental education, and essential for developing a clinician's appreciation of human behavior as it affects efficient dental treatment. This book gathers together contributions from leading experts in each of the major subspecialties of behavioral dentistry. Its aim is not merely to provide the student and clinician with a comprehensive review of the impressive literature or discussion of the theoretical background to the subject, but also with a practical guide to adapting the latest techniques and protocols and applying them to day-to-day clinical practice. This second edition of Behavioral Dentistry discusses biobehavioral processes, including the psychobiology of inflammation and pain, oral health and quality of life, saliva health, and hypnosis in dentistry. The book goes on to examine anxiety, fear, and dental and chronic orofacial pain, and then reviews techniques for designing and managing behavior change. It concludes with a section on professional practice, including care of special needs, geriatric, and diabetic patients, and interpersonal communication in dental education.
Dental Public Health and Research: contemporary practice for the dental hygienist by
Written to reflect the changing role of the dental hygiene practitioner in the dental care delivery system, this brand new edition of Dental Public Health and Research 3/e provides students with the key tools needed to effectively position and practice dental hygiene in the public health setting. This book expands the knowledge base necessary for dental hygiene practitioners in the 21st century. Some new and exciting features of this updated edition include:
The chapter on dental care funding is expanded to focus on the current issues in dental care financing and the government's role in this area. A chapter on the importance of collaboration in dental care, building coalitions to help advocate for the oral health of all people and an introductory discussion on grant writing are included. The chapter on cultural diversity follows the chapter on target populations. The research unit is greatly expanded to provide detailed information on the study of dental hygiene research. Areas of expansion include evidenced-based research, ethics in research, roles of government and private entities in dental research, oral epidemiology, and the measurement of oral diseases and conditions. Did you Know? boxes serve as a mental break for readers by providing interesting "gee whiz" information.
Dental Public Health at a Glance by
Dental Public Health at a Glance presents a richly-illustrated introduction to dental and oral health issues in communities and populations. Each topic is presented in an easy-to-comprehend two-page spread with essential facts clearly summarized and accompanied by tables, illustrations and diagrams Comprehensive coverage of wide range of key concepts including: evidence-based dentistry, oral health promotion, the relationship of fluoride, diet, smoking, and alcohol to oral health, and considerations for a dental public health career Written by an expert in dental public health and offering illuminating insights into oral health at the population level A must-have introductory textbook and revision guide for dentistry and dental hygiene and therapy students
Ethics and Law in Dental Hygiene by
Learn how to make sound ethical and legal decisions in practice with ETHICS AND LAW IN DENTAL HYGIENE, Second Edition. This book is written in the context of "real-world" situations that you will encounter on a regular basis in dental hygiene practice. The book is divided into three sections: ethics, law, and simulations and applications. The latter section contains 25 case studies with accompanying discussion and thought questions, along with testlets that mirror the style of the newly revised National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) and suggested activities. Appendixes include the recently revised American Dental Association (ADA) and American Dental Hygiene Association (ADHA) respective codes of ethics, making this the most up-to-date ethics book for dental hygiene currently on the market. With this expert guidance, you'll be prepared to take the NBDHE and address ethical dilemmas in everyday practice. Real-world relevance of concepts helps you apply knowledge to everyday situations. Contributors are renowned leaders in dental hygiene education. Learning Outcomes and Key Terms at the beginning of each chapter provide a detailed list of the concepts to master. A new chapter, "Social Responsibility and Justice," covers timely issues such as access to care and disparities in oral health care. More case studies - 25 total - cover a wide range of situations. The latest information on HIPAA policies is discussed, and the newly revised ADA and ADHA codes of ethics are printed in their entirety.
Justice in Oral Health Care by
Oral health is an intrinsic part of overall health. The mouth is part of the digestive and respiratory systems; it is essential to spoken communication and facial expression; in fact, toothaches are among the most severe and hence debilitating kinds of pain that a person can suffer. The economic cost of dental disease is staggering, equaling an annual loss of some 20 million days of work in the US alone. But far more disastrous is the personal cost for those suffering from these conditions. More than 100 million US citizens lack dental insurance. There is widespread consensus that the resulting disparities are most unfortunate. But are they also unfair? The dental profession and society at large appear much less eager to confirm the unfairness of this situation. After all, with unfairness comes the ethical obligation to attempt rectification of the situation. It is one thing to praise charitable voluntarism; it is quite another to insist on distributive justice. This book makes the case for justice in oral health. Renowned dental ethicists discuss various theoretical perspectives; national and international policy experts propose practical changes; and experienced dental educators outline innovative teaching modes. This book is not just food for thought; it is an invitation to critical discussion and creative planning.
Basic Guide to Dental Radiography by
Basic Guide to Dental Radiography provides an essential introduction to radiography in the dental practice. Illustrated throughout, this guide outlines and explains each topic in a clear and accessible style. Comprehensive coverage includes general physics, principles of image formation, digital image recording, equipment, biological effects of x-rays and legislation Suitable for the whole dental team Illustrated in full colour throughout Ideal for those completing mandatory CPD in radiography Useful study guide for the NEBDN Certificate in Dental Radiography, the National Certificate in Radiography or the Level 3 Diploma in Dental Nursing
Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists by
This balanced text with a straight forward, clear link between theory and practice provides in depth, comprehensive information that is appropriate for an introductory course without overwhelming the student with unessential details. It prepares students for the board and licensing examinations and at the same time gives them the practical knowledge they need with case studies, procedure boxes and suggested lab activities that prepare students to apply theory to clinical practice and patient management. True to its title, this book speaks to both the dental assisting and dental hygiene student.
Basic Guide to Oral Health Education and Promotion by
Step by step course companion for dental nurses studying for the Certificate in Oral Health Education. Topics covered include dental structures, anatomy and physiology, oral diseases and prevention, the principles of education, oral health and society, promoting oral health in the 21st century, patient communication, project planning and workplace assignments. This second edition has been thoroughly updated in line with the substantial changes to the role of the dental nurse since the 1st edition was published. To address this, a brand new section has been added on education and research.
The Encyclopedia of Dental and Oral Health by
Statistics show that most Americans do not pay enough attention to good dental and oral health. By age 18, 78 percent of American children have had at least one cavity, and 69 percent of Americans age 35 to 44 have lost at least one permanent tooth. Efforts by the Surgeon General's office and the Centers for Disease Control have marked some improvement in recent years, but the fact remains that people need to keep themselves informed about proper dental and oral hygiene.
The Encyclopedia of Dental and Oral Health is a new, comprehensive A-to-Z reference to this topic, covering proper dental care, dental practices and procedures, infectious diseases and related diseases, anatomy of the teeth and mouth, the causes of tooth decay, and much more.
Oral Health Surveys: Basic Methods by
This manual encourages countries to conduct standardized oral health surveys that are comparable internationally. The manual provides guidelines for assessing the current oral health status of a population and the future needs for oral health intervention. Oral diseases are among the most prevalent non-communicable diseases and major components of the global burden of disease. The key risk factors are common to chronic and oral diseases. Guidelines are presented for risk factors assessment. The WHO approach can facilitate the incorporation of oral health into national health surveillance systems. Surveillance of oral health over time and monitoring of programmes may provide decision-makers public health planners and health administrators with valuable information about the relevance and cost-effectiveness of public health intervention programs
