Choosing Civility: the twenty-five rules of considerate conduct by P. M. Forni
Call Number: BJ1853.F67 2002
Publication Date: 2002-02-28
The civility solution : what to do when people are rude by P. M. Forni
Call Number: BJ1533.C9F67 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Is Society Becoming Less Civil? by Greenhaven Press Staff (Editor); Louise I. Gerdes
Call Number: BJ1533.C9I82 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-18
New York Times V. Sullivan: civil rights, libel law, and the free press by Kermit Hall; Melvin I. Urofsky
Call Number: KF228.N4H35 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-06
The Opposite of Hate: a field guide to repairing our humanity by Sally KohnTelevision commentator Sally Kohn talks to leading scientists and researchers to investigate the evolutionary and cultural roots of hate, and confronts her own shameful moments and points the way toward change with the hopeful message that we all have the capacity to combat hate
Call Number: BF575.H3 K64 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Promoting Civility: A Teaching Challenge by Steven M. Richardson (Editor)
Call Number: LB2331.P73 1999
Publication Date: 1999-04-13
Speaking Up: the unintended costs of free speech in public school by Anne Proffitt Dupre
Call Number: KF4124.5.D87 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-08
Treating People Well: the extraordinary power of civility at work and in life by Lea Berman; Jeremy Bernard; Laura Bush (Foreword by)A guide to personal and professional empowerment through civility and social skills, written by two White House Social Secretaries who offer an important fundamental message-- everyone is important and everyone deserves to be treated well.
Call Number: BJ1853 .B47 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-09
Understanding Everyday Incivility: why are they so rude? by Shelley D. Lane...delves into the day-to-day annoying behaviors that color our interactions with other people, such as the use of crude language in public, family members who claim that they're "just teasing" and we're "too sensitive," coworkers who constantly interrupt us, and inflammatory remarks posted on social media sites. Shelley D. Lane explores what is considered uncivil behavior, why we label some acts as crude or selfish while others are deemed polite and proper, and how these labels often change from one context to the next. She highlights the power dynamics at play in our interactions and explains how "rude" behavior can sometimes be beneficial - and "polite" behavior can be detrimental. Rather than a simplistic manual of manners, Lane provides the tools to everyday incivility and strategies for responding effectively and appropriately.
Call Number: BJ1533.C9 L36 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-28
Best American Political Writing 2008 by Royce Flippin (Editor)See "Political Civility" by David Mamet
Online Trolling and Its Perpetrators: under the cyberbridge by Sanfilippo Fichman; Pnina Fichman; Madelyn R. Sanfilippo
Call Number: TK5105.878 .F53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-11
Viral Hate: containing its spread on the Internet by Abraham H. Foxman; Christopher WolfRevealing how the anonymous nature of the Internet is enabling the unchecked spread of bigotry, bullying, and other hate-based vitriol, explores the working examples of social media companies while outlining recommended steps for establishing legal policies.
Call Number: HV6773.5.F69 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
Active Listening by Michael H. Hoppe; Center for Creative Leadership StaffListening well is an essential component of good leadership. You can become a more effective listener and leader by learning the skills of active listening. Working relationships become more solid, based on trust, respect, and honesty. Active listening is not an optional component of leadership; it is not a nicety to be used to make others feel good. It is, in fact, a critical component of the tasks facing today's leaders.
Publication Date: 2007-03-19
Students Speak: are we listening? : starting right in the community college by Kay M. McClenney; Arleen ArnspargerWith almost half of community college students dropping out before the beginning of their second year, college leaders increasingly are focusing on the "front door" of their institutions. What needs to happen during students' first weeks in college, and even before they arrive, to increase their chances of finishing what they start? Students have important stories to tell about their experiences. Alongside each community college's own quantitative data about student engagement, learning, persistence, and completion, student voices can help point the way toward far better outcomes for many more community college students. On the DVD; that accompanies the book are video clips that bring students' stories to life. Readers can use this 12-minute video to prompt conversation within their own colleges and communities.
Call Number: LB3605.M33 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Teaching the Core Skills of Listening and Speaking by Erik PalmerToo often, students who fail a grade or a course receive remediation that ends up widening rather than closing achievement gaps. According to veteran classroom teacher and educational consultant Suzy Pepper Rollins, the true answer to supporting struggling students lies in acceleration. In Learning in the Fast Lane, she lays out a plan of action that teachers can use to immediately move underperforming students in the right direction and differentiate instruction for all learners--even those who excel academically. This essential guide identifies eight high-impact, research-based instructional approaches that will help you* Make standards and learning goals explicit to students.* Increase students' vocabulary--a key to their academic success.* Build students' motivation and self-efficacy so that they become active, optimistic participants in class. * Provide rich, timely feedback that enables students to improve when it counts.* Address skill and knowledge gaps within the context of new learning. Students deserve no less than the most effective strategies available. These hands-on, ready-to-implement practices will enable you to provide all students with compelling, rigorous, and engaging learning experiences.
Fast Facts on Combating Nurse Bullying, Incivility, and Workplace Violence by Margaret Curry CioccoProvides a wealth of proven anti-bullying resources for all nursing settingsThis pocket-sized, quick-access guide gives nurses crucial information they need to know to understand, identify, and effectively counter incivility, bullying, and violence in all nursing settings. Viewing nurse bullying as an institutional problem, this text expounds upon the ANA position statement,'Incivility, Bullying, and Workplace Violence'and includes definitions and statistics about nurse bullying, and what nurses at any level can do when faced with a bully.Delivered in an easy-to-read, bulleted format, this resource covers all aspects of bullying, including an overview of the problem; why nurses bully each other; a discussion and quantification of the cost and impact of bullying on individuals, the workplace, and the broader health care system. Four instructional case study chapters delineate the different forms bullying can take and how to handle them, and a'bully-proofing'chapter replete with such useful tools as a bullying checklist, a guide to'de-toxifying'the workplace, and an explanation of the ANA Code of Ethics related to bullying.Key Features:Addresses all facets of nurse bullying, from origins and manifestations to evidence-based interventions and prevention strategiesBased on the hallmark ANA document “Incivility, Bullying, and Workplace ViolenceContains 10 instructive case studies depicting common bullying scenariosProvides a wealth of anti-bullying resources for use in all nursing settingsOffers overview and chapter objectives and Fast Facts in a Nutshell clinical pearls
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Doing Civility: breaking the cycle of incivility on the campus by Kent M. Weeks
Call Number: LB3605 .W442 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-30
Encouraging Civility As a Community College Leader by Paul A. Elsner; George R. Boggs
Call Number: LB1779.E53 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Facilitating a Collegial Department in Higher Education: Strategies for Success by Robert E. Cipriano
Call Number: LB2341.C57 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-16
Fostering Civility on Campus by Judy RookstoolOffers a definition of civility and common-sense approaches that instructors and administrators can use to foster and maintain a civil environment in the classroom and on campus
Call Number: LC311.R66 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
In Search of Civility: confronting incivility on the college campus by Kent M. WeeksAmericans are troubled by the growing incivility they see in public life and in their interpersonal relationships. The lack of civility is an increasing issue on college campuses, reflecting deep societal problems. This book explores the timely issue by weaving stories of four college freshmen at a large university with current research on civility issues. The four students encounter civility dilemmas ranging from cheating, plagiarism, and misuse of technology to alcohol, diversity, and peer pressure. They want to do the right thing, but distinguishing between right and wrong sometimes proves to be difficult particularly when their personal values conflict with campus norms. The book provides relevant context for the complex civility challenges facing students, faculty, and administrators. Colleges can play an important role in instilling civility among their students in their academic and social lives. Civil conduct requires treating others the way one wishes to be treated as well as a sense of duty and responsibility to the community. By raising questions, the book challenges students to make the connection between the morals and values they claim to hold and the practical implications of those values expressed through acts of civility in every part of their lives.
Academic Search PremierFull-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc., with indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
CINAHLFull text for more than 610 journals in nursing and allied health, indexing for 3000 more, and searchable cited references for almost 1300 journals, back to 1981.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)Brings together information found in more than 400 journals on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
Educators Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)Provides periodical and journal articles on multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration and more.
ERICContains more than 1.4 million citations and abstracts, and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966. Covers journal articles, books, dissertations, and curriculum plans.
MasterFILE PremierFull text of nearly 1700 periodicals, plus reference books, primary source documents, and an image collection.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)Provide access to authoritative content supporting nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.