Skip to Main Content
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy CBT - Books & eBooks
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy in K-12 School Settings by Joyce-Beaulieu, Diana, PhD, NCSP Sulkowski, Michael L., PhD, NCSP
Twenty percent of school-age children in the United States experience mental health issues each year and cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is one of the most effective and empirically supported interventions to address these needs. This practical, quick-reference handbook is for mental health professionals in the Kñ12 school setting who are seeking a hands-on guide for practicing CBT. Based on a wealth of research supporting the efficacy of CBT for school-age children, it features specific interventions that can be applied immediately and is tailored to the needs of busy school psychologists, counselors, and social workers. Importantly, this book describes how to use CBT within contemporary school-based service delivery frameworks such as multitiered systems of support (MTSS) and response to intervention (RtI).
ISBN: 9780826196392
Publication Date: 2015
Treating Psychosis: A Clinician's Guide to Integrating Acceptance and Commitment Therapy, Compassion-Focused Therapy, and Mindfulness Approaches within the Cognitive Behavioral Therapy Tradition by Aaron T. Beck (Foreword by); Owen P. Kelly; Andrew M. Jacobs; Douglas Turkington; David Davies; Jennifer Hopton; Nicola P. Wright
Psychosis can be associated with a variety of mental health problems, including schizophrenia, severe depression, bipolar disorder, anxiety, and post-traumatic stress disorders. While traditional treatments for psychosis have emphasized medication-based strategies, evidence now suggests that individuals affected by psychosis can greatly benefit from psychotherapy.
Treating Psychosis is an evidence-based treatment guide for mental health professionals working with individuals affected by psychosis. Using a cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) approach that incorporates acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), compassion-focused therapy (CFT) and mindfulness approaches, this book is invaluable in helping clinicians develop effective treatment for clients affected by psychosis. The guide provides session-by-session clinical interventions for use in individual or group treatment on an inpatient, outpatient, or community basis.
ISBN: 9781608824083
Publication Date: 2014
Game-Based Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Child Sexual Abuse by Craig Springer
Treating a confirmed or suspected case of childhood sexual abuse is undoubtedly one of the most challenging situations a clinician can face. This unique book, written by recognized experts on the evaluation and treatment of childhood sexual abuse, is the first to disseminate a comprehensive and integrative approach to treating child sexual abuse that combines the power of structured play therapy with cognitive-behavioral treatment. Created by the authors, game-based cognitive-behavioral therapy (GB-CBT) is a complete therapeutic package containing engaging techniques and effective strategies to treat the problems experienced by children and families impacted by sexual abuse.
ISBN: 9780826123374
Publication Date: 2014
Treating Somatization by Robert L. Woolfolk; Lesley A. Allen
This lucidly written guide presents an innovative approach for treating somatization disorder and related problems, such as fibromyalgia, irritable bowel syndrome, and chronic fatigue syndrome. The authors' program integrates cognitive-behavioral techniques with strategies to build emotional self-awareness and interventions to help patients understand and alter their illness behavior. Systematic yet flexible, it is supported by controlled clinical research. The book reviews the conceptual underpinnings of the approach, discusses its ongoing testing and refinement, and offers clear-cut guidelines for assessment and treatment. Special features include illustrative case material, many pointers for practice, and reproducible appendices that provide a 10-session mini-manual and helpful handouts and forms.
ISBN: 9781593856311
Publication Date: 2006
The Cognitive Behavioral Workbook for Depression by William J. Knaus; Albert Ellis
Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is the most widely used treatment for depression for one simple reason: it works. The CBT program in this workbook has helped thousands of readers defeat the depressive thoughts and beliefs that keep them from enjoying life and feeling like themselves. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, The Cognitive Behavioral Workbook for Depression delivers evidence-based tools you can confidently use to do better, feel better, and prevent depression from coming back.
ISBN: 9781608823819
Publication Date: 2012
Cognitive Behavior Therapy with Older Adults by Kristen Hilliard Sorocco; Sean Lauderdale
A one-stop resource for core discipline practitioners who provide mental health services to the geriatric population, Cognitive Behavior Therapy with Older Adults presents strategies for integrating cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) skills and therapies into various healthcare settings for aging patients.
Cognitive Behavior Therapy with Older Adults is divided into key two parts: CBT for common mental health problems for older adults and innovations across settings in which older adults are present. Evidence-based and provider-friendly, it emphasizes adapting CBT specifically for the aging population and its specific needs.
ISBN: 9780826106209
Publication Date: 2011
Forensic CBT by Raymond Chip Tafrate (Editor); Damon Mitchell (Editor)
Forensic CBT: A Handbook for Clinical Practice is an edited collection that represents the first authoritative resource on the utilization of CBT strategies and techniques for offender clients.
Features contributions from leaders of the major schools of CBT on the treatment of antisocial personality patterns as well as anger, interpersonal violence, substance abuse, and sexual aggression
Addresses modified CBT approaches for female, juvenile, and culturally diverse forensic populations
Covers emerging areas of forensic practices, including the integration of motivational interviewing and strength-based approaches
Includes an assortment of worksheets, handouts, and exercises for practitioners to use with their clients
ISBN: 9781118589991
Publication Date: 2013
Dialectical Behavioral Therapy
DBT Made Simple by Sheri Van Dijk
Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out-of-control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room.
ISBN: 9781608821655
Publication Date: 2013
Psychotherapy
Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse by Kathleen Wheeler
Dr. Wheeler has skillfully crafted a text that covers basic psychiatric principles and skills from developing a therapeutic relationship and assessing and diagnosing the client to providing evidence-based psychotherapy for a variety of patient populations... This text is an excellent primer for teaching therapy skills and, although targeting graduate psychiatric nursing students, would prove equally valuable for students of any mental health discipline. It is also a resource for experienced clinicians wanting to expand their understanding of trauma and how adaptive information processing might be used as an organizing framework for all psychotherapy.
ISBN: 9780826110084
Publication Date: 2013
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy in K-12 School Settings by
Twenty percent of school-age children in the United States experience mental health issues each year and cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is one of the most effective and empirically supported interventions to address these needs. This practical, quick-reference handbook is for mental health professionals in the Kñ12 school setting who are seeking a hands-on guide for practicing CBT. Based on a wealth of research supporting the efficacy of CBT for school-age children, it features specific interventions that can be applied immediately and is tailored to the needs of busy school psychologists, counselors, and social workers. Importantly, this book describes how to use CBT within contemporary school-based service delivery frameworks such as multitiered systems of support (MTSS) and response to intervention (RtI).
Treating Psychosis: A Clinician's Guide to Integrating Acceptance and Commitment Therapy, Compassion-Focused Therapy, and Mindfulness Approaches within the Cognitive Behavioral Therapy Tradition by
Psychosis can be associated with a variety of mental health problems, including schizophrenia, severe depression, bipolar disorder, anxiety, and post-traumatic stress disorders. While traditional treatments for psychosis have emphasized medication-based strategies, evidence now suggests that individuals affected by psychosis can greatly benefit from psychotherapy.
Treating Psychosis is an evidence-based treatment guide for mental health professionals working with individuals affected by psychosis. Using a cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) approach that incorporates acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), compassion-focused therapy (CFT) and mindfulness approaches, this book is invaluable in helping clinicians develop effective treatment for clients affected by psychosis. The guide provides session-by-session clinical interventions for use in individual or group treatment on an inpatient, outpatient, or community basis.
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy: Applications, Methods and Outcomes by
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) is a psychotherapeutic approach to solving problems concerning dysfunctional emotions, behaviours and cognitions through a goal-oriented, systematic procedure. It derives from theories of learning and memory. This book discusses the study of the application, methods and outcomes of CBT.
Game-Based Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Child Sexual Abuse by
Treating a confirmed or suspected case of childhood sexual abuse is undoubtedly one of the most challenging situations a clinician can face. This unique book, written by recognized experts on the evaluation and treatment of childhood sexual abuse, is the first to disseminate a comprehensive and integrative approach to treating child sexual abuse that combines the power of structured play therapy with cognitive-behavioral treatment. Created by the authors, game-based cognitive-behavioral therapy (GB-CBT) is a complete therapeutic package containing engaging techniques and effective strategies to treat the problems experienced by children and families impacted by sexual abuse.
Treating Somatization by
This lucidly written guide presents an innovative approach for treating somatization disorder and related problems, such as fibromyalgia, irritable bowel syndrome, and chronic fatigue syndrome. The authors' program integrates cognitive-behavioral techniques with strategies to build emotional self-awareness and interventions to help patients understand and alter their illness behavior. Systematic yet flexible, it is supported by controlled clinical research. The book reviews the conceptual underpinnings of the approach, discusses its ongoing testing and refinement, and offers clear-cut guidelines for assessment and treatment. Special features include illustrative case material, many pointers for practice, and reproducible appendices that provide a 10-session mini-manual and helpful handouts and forms.
The Cognitive Behavioral Workbook for Depression by
Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is the most widely used treatment for depression for one simple reason: it works. The CBT program in this workbook has helped thousands of readers defeat the depressive thoughts and beliefs that keep them from enjoying life and feeling like themselves. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, The Cognitive Behavioral Workbook for Depression delivers evidence-based tools you can confidently use to do better, feel better, and prevent depression from coming back.
Cognitive Behavior Therapy with Older Adults by
A one-stop resource for core discipline practitioners who provide mental health services to the geriatric population, Cognitive Behavior Therapy with Older Adults presents strategies for integrating cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) skills and therapies into various healthcare settings for aging patients.
Cognitive Behavior Therapy with Older Adults is divided into key two parts: CBT for common mental health problems for older adults and innovations across settings in which older adults are present. Evidence-based and provider-friendly, it emphasizes adapting CBT specifically for the aging population and its specific needs.
Forensic CBT by
Forensic CBT: A Handbook for Clinical Practice is an edited collection that represents the first authoritative resource on the utilization of CBT strategies and techniques for offender clients.
Features contributions from leaders of the major schools of CBT on the treatment of antisocial personality patterns as well as anger, interpersonal violence, substance abuse, and sexual aggression
Addresses modified CBT approaches for female, juvenile, and culturally diverse forensic populations
Covers emerging areas of forensic practices, including the integration of motivational interviewing and strength-based approaches
Includes an assortment of worksheets, handouts, and exercises for practitioners to use with their clients
DBT Made Simple by
Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out-of-control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room.
Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse by
Dr. Wheeler has skillfully crafted a text that covers basic psychiatric principles and skills from developing a therapeutic relationship and assessing and diagnosing the client to providing evidence-based psychotherapy for a variety of patient populations... This text is an excellent primer for teaching therapy skills and, although targeting graduate psychiatric nursing students, would prove equally valuable for students of any mental health discipline. It is also a resource for experienced clinicians wanting to expand their understanding of trauma and how adaptive information processing might be used as an organizing framework for all psychotherapy.