Anxiety 101 by
Anxiety 101, written by two prominent figures in the field of anxiety research, provides a thorough introduction to the concept of anxiety, placing it in the broad matrix of human concerns. The authors address evolutionary origins of anxiety, functions that anxiety and fear play in maintaining life, and ways in which these emotions can get out of control. An excellent introduction to students who want to understand the many ways in which scientists have approached the topic of anxiety.
Anxiety and Avoidance by
Do you suffer from panic, anxiety, and fear in your day-to-day life? Do you often avoid social situations, activities like driving, or even going to the store because of a fear of being overwhelmed or triggering a panic attack? You might be interested to know that anxiety disorders are the most common mental health disorders in the United States.
In Anxiety and Avoidance, psychologist and anxiety disorder expert Michael Tompkins presents a universal protocol to help you cope with anxiety, panic, and fear, regardless of your particular mental health diagnosis. This universal protocol is based on David H. Barlow's "unified protocol," and is a cognitive behavioral approach. Tompkins also draws on mindfulness-based therapies such as acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) that have been used successfully in the treatment of anxiety disorders for years.
The book includes present-moment awareness (mindfulness) techniques, motivational tools for overcoming experiential avoidance, and cognitive tools for reframing anxiety and fear. In addition, you will learn how to use your personal values as a vehicle for lasting change. While most anxiety treatments have focused on symptom reduction, this book teaches you the skills needed to better handle the underlying emotional reactions that lead to anxiety and panic in the first place.
If you are ready to stop avoiding situations that cause you to panic and get back to living a full life, this book is a powerful resource that can help you make a lasting change using an innovative, transdiagnostic approach.
Anxiety and Depression in People with Learning Disabilities : Intervention Strategies by
This exciting new handbook draws on the experience of a wide range of authors to present a rich and informative exploration of the nature, manifestation and presentation of anxiety and depression in individuals with intellectual disabilities, and discusses the challenges and obstacles facing those who work with them. Alongside user perspectives and information for supporting families, it also discusses a range of approaches to working with this population, including case formulations, psychopharmacological interventions, cognitive therapy, psychodynamic approaches and solution focused therapy.
Anxiety Disorders by
Presents a guide to the causes, effects, and treatment of anxiety disorders, including separation anxiety, social phobia, panic attacks, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder.
Anxious in Love by
Healthy relationships require trust, intimacy, effective communication, and understanding. However, if you suffer from chronic anxiety you may have trouble dealing with everyday conflicts and tensions that can arise in relationships. No matter how committed you are, anxiety can leave you feeling distanced from your partner. Fortunately, there are steps you can take to overcome the anxiety-fueled reactions that keep you from achieving true closeness in your relationship.
CBT for Anxiety Disorders by
CBT for Anxiety Disorders presents a comprehensive overview of the latest anxiety disorder-specific treatment techniques contributed by the foremost experts in various CBT approaches.
Summarizes the state-of-the-art CBT approaches for each of the DSM anxiety disorders
Represents a one-stop tool for researchers, clinicians, and students on CBT for anxiety disorders
Features world leading CBT authors who provide an up to date description of their respective treatment approaches in a succinct, and clinician-tailored, fashion
The Clinician's Guide to Exposure Therapies for Anxiety Spectrum Disorders by
As a mental health professional, it can be difficult to help anxious clients face their fears and anxieties. Exposure therapy is widely appreciated as one of the most effective therapeutic treatments for anxiety spectrum disorders; however, it is often underutilized due to problems that present themselves during treatment, such as client unwillingness or hesitancy, or a lack of understanding on the professional’s part regarding targeted applications. The Clinician's Guide to Exposure Therapies for Anxiety Spectrum Disorders offers guidance in creating specific exposure exercises for clients’ individual fears and phobias, as well as tools to help you and your clients overcome common roadblocks that arise during exposure therapy.
The Cognitive Behavioral Workbook for Anxiety by
When anxious feelings spiral out of control, they can drain your energy and prevent you from living the life you want. If you’re ready to stop letting your anxiety have the upper hand, The Cognitive Behavioral Workbook for Anxiety, Second Edition can help you to recognize your anxiety triggers, develop skills to stop anxious thoughts before they take over, and keep needless fears from coming back.
Current Perspectives on the Anxiety Disorders by
This book synthesizes the best of the new research related to anxiety disorders and how they are classified and diagnosed. Dr. Dean McKay and his co-editors have brought together leading authorities from multiple theoretical traditions to present the new directions and perspectives in the field of anxiety research.
The contributors also discuss why current classification systems are inadequate, and what revisions should be made. The book presents in-depth discussions of how anxiety disorders are understood and assessed, as well as potential new implications for DSM-V.
Illusion and Reality by
This work challenges the notion that anxiety and depression amount to a mental illness denoting that something is wrong with the individual sufferer. Instead, anxiety and depression are described as perfectly rational responses to difficulties in the sufferer’s world, experienced subjectively by that person.
The book’s primary purpose is to explain the meaning of anxiety as experienced by the sufferer. These insights also lead to a view, by way of secondary purpose, that the role of the therapist is not in “curing” the individual, but rather to negotiate demystification and to provide insight into the effects of the problems in the sufferer’s world, based on the sufferer and the therapist’s shared subjective understanding. The curative claims of other models of “treatment” are evaluated.
Whilst David Smail’s training in psychology and philosophy shines through his analysis, the primary source for his views is his experience as a clinical psychologist working in the NHS in Nottingham seeing patients from all walks of life.
Issues in Society : Understanding Anxiety by
Everyone experiences anxiety sometimes. Normal levels of anxiety can assist people to become more motivated and focused, however excessive levels of anxiety can reduce a personOCOs capacity to respond appropriately to stressful situations and engage in normal routine activities. Anxiety disorders are the most common class of mental disorder. According to findings from the National Survey of Mental Health and Wellbeing, one in seven Australians had an anxiety disorder in the previous 12 months. This book clearly explains the major anxiety disorders and presents advice on how to manage and overcome anxiety when it becomes a problem. What are the signs, symptoms and treatments for anxiety? Also includes: worksheets and activities, fast facts, glossary, web links, index.
The Many Faces of Anxiety by
Real-world examples abound in this resource that provides a basic context for understanding how anxiety affects people and those around them. The author shares 12 cases of various clients with whom she has worked and paints detailed, clear pictures of the many reasons people become anxious and the disguises anxiety takes in their lives. Tools and techniques for reducing anxiety are interspersed throughout each section. The dozen stories in this book are told in layman's language with a great deal of humor and compassion and will aid sufferers, families, and friends in bringing patience and awareness to the process of identifying, understanding, and healing from panic and anxiety.
The Mindful Path through Worry and Rumination by
Do you find yourself ruminating about things you can't control? Worrying about those yet-to-complete goals and projects? What about just feeling like you're not the person you want to be?
People who worry and ruminate find it difficult to stop anxiously anticipating future events and regretting or rethinking past actions. Left unchecked, this tendency can lead to mental health problems such as depression and generalized anxiety disorder. The Mindful Path Through Worry and Rumination offers powerful mindfulness strategies derived from Buddhist spiritual practices and proven psychological techniques to help you stop overthinking what you can't control-the future and the past-and learn how to find contentment in the present moment.
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Kids by
Children pay close attention to their parents' moods. When parents feel upset, their kids may become anxious, and when parents wind down, children also get the chance to relax. When you feel overwhelmed and stressed, it can be hard to help your child feel balanced. The Relaxation & Stress Reduction Workbook for Kids, written by two child therapists, offers more than fifty activities you can do together as a family to help you and your child replace stressful and anxious feelings with feelings of optimism, confidence, and joy.
Treating Childhood and Adolescent Anxiety by
Focusing on the treatment of childhood anxiety, both in one-on-one therapist to child treatment and within the family, Treating Childhood and Adolescent Anxiety: A Guide for Caregivers adopts an integrated approach presenting novel strategies to help mental health professionals and families create change and momentum in otherwise stagnant situations.
Truth About Anxiety and Depression by
Provides facts and information about issues involving anxiety and depression for teens and young adults. Presented in an A to Z format accompanied by question and answer and fact versus legend segments.
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of the Treatment of Childhood and Adolescent Anxiety by
Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of the Treatment of Childhood and Adolescent Anxiety presents a collection of readings from leading experts that reveal the most effective evidence-based interventions for the prevention and treatment of anxiety disorders in children and adolescents.
Features expertise of the foremost scientist-practitioners in the field of child and adolescent anxiety
Includes state-of-the art information on psychological interventions from each author
Written in a clear and easy-to-follow manner for a wide audience
The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Social Anxiety Disorder by
Featuring leading international authors working in clinical psychology and psychiatry, this handbook offer the most in-depth coverage of social anxiety disorder, including personality factors in SAD, and multicultural issues in the diagnosis, case conceptualization, and treatment of SAD.
A multi-contributed, internationally diverse handbook covering all major elements of social anxiety disorder, offering an invaluable teaching tool
This unique text contributes significantly to the field by summarizing the current state of research in the area and outlining future directions
Provides a comprehensive overview of applied, empirically-supported techniques in the conceptualization, assessment, and treatment of SAD
My Age of Anxiety by
The author recounts his lifelong battle with anxiety, showing the many manifestations of the disorder as well as the countless treatments that have been developed to counteract it, and provides a history of the efforts of scientists, philosophers, and writers to understand this common form of mental illness. He reports on famous individuals who struggled with anxiety, as well as on the afflicted generations of his own family. This portrait of anxiety reveals the anguish it produces, and describes anxiety's human toll, it's crippling impact, its devastating power to paralyze, while at the same time exploring how those who suffer from it find ways to manage and control it. Here the author guides us across the terrain of an affliction that is pervasive (it is the most common form of officially classified mental illness), yet too often misunderstood.
Painfully Shy by
Do you feel shy and self-conscious in social situations?
Are you plagued with self-doubts about how you come across to others?
Do you feel physically sick with worry about certain situations that involve interacting with others?
Do you make excuses or even lie to avoid the social situations you dread?
Do you make important decisions based on whether you'll have to participate in groups or speak in front of others?
If you answered yes to any of these questions, you're not alone. Millions of people experience social anxiety or painful shyness to such a degree that it disrupts their daily lives. In fact, as many as one out of every eight Americans will at some point suffer from what's called social anxiety disorder, or social phobia.
Social anxiety disorder is a real problem. But fortunately, it's also one that can be overcome.
Barbara and Gregory Markway, psychologists and experts in the field, coach you every step of the way in this friendly, easy-to-read, and inspiring book. You'll learn how social anxiety disorder develops, how it affects all aspects of your life, and, most important, how to chart your course to recovery.
Shook One by
Charlamagne Tha God, New York Times bestselling author of Black Privilege and cohost of Power 105.1's The Breakfast Club, reveals his blueprint for breaking free from your fears and anxiety to reach that elusive next level of success. Fear is holding you back. It's time to turn the tables and channel your fears to actually fuel your success. Being "shook" is more than a rap lyric for Charlamagne, it's his mission to overcome. While it may seem like he is ahead of the game and should have nothing to worry about, he is still plagued by anxieties--fear of being weak; fear of being a bad dad; fear of being a worse husband; and ultimately, fear of failure. Shook One chronicles his journey to beat back those fears and empowers you to no longer be held back from your potential. Shook One details the ways anxiety has been a driving force in Charlamagne's life since childhood. For many years, he stressed over what he thought were personal shortcomings: being unpopular in school, potential rejection by women, being ugly, and worst of all, falling into the life of stagnation or crime that caught up so many of his friends and family in his hometown of Moncks Corner, South Carolina. Even after achieving national prominence as a radio personality, Charlamagne still found himself paralyzed by thoughts that he wouldn't be able to take his career to the next level. But now, in Shook One, he is working through these problems with help from mentors, guests on his show, and therapy. He knows therapy and showing weakness are anxiety producing in the black community, but this is one of the reasons he wants to own his truth--to clear a path for others in hopes that they won't feel shame while dealing openly with their mental health"-- "Charlamagne Tha God, New York Times bestselling author of Black Privilege and cohost of Power 105.1's The Breakfast Club, reveals his blueprint for breaking free from your fears and anxiety to reach that elusive next level of success"-- Fear is holding you back. It's time to turn the tables and channel your fears to actually fuel your success. While it may seem like Charlamagne is ahead of the game and should have nothing to worry about, he is still plagued by anxieties: fear of being weak; fear of being a bad dad; fear of being a worse husband; and ultimately, fear of failure. Here he chronicles his journey to beat back those fears and empowers you to no longer be held back from your potential. -- adapted from publisher info
Stopping Anxiety from Stopping You by
Breakthrough Program ─ How to Stop Anxiety and How to Stop Panic Attacks: Our pace of life has increased exponentially in the last few decades. We are often too busy or preoccupied to attend to our emotions until they hit with the strength of a tornado. When signs of anxiety and panic appear, they ravage our lives, our dreams and our spirit. Stop Anxiety from Stopping You: The Breakthrough Program For Conquering Panic and Social Anxietyanswers the questions:
What are the signs of anxiety? What is a panic attack? What is social anxiety? What is anxiety disorder?
How to overcome anxiety and how to stop a panic attack: It is now possible to stop anxiety from stopping us in our tracks. In her book, Dr. Odessky helps you understand the process of anxiety, and how to arm yourself with strategies that work. Dr. Odessky draws on her fifteen years of clinical experience to guide you through the process of not only learning how to overcome anxiety, but also how to enrich your life. Stop Anxiety from Stopping You: The Breakthrough Program For Conquering Panic and Social Anxiety will show you how to stop anxiety and how to stop panic attacks in an easy to implement six-step framework. You will learn about:
Signs of anxiety How to overcome anxiety How to stop panic attacks How to treat anxiety
Dr. Odessky gives you the tools for learning how to overcome anxiety: Dr. Odessky draws on her experience and knowledge to develop a system that gives you the tools to learn how to overcome anxiety and how to stop panic attacks. She creates a sense of optimism and passion. Stop Anxiety from Stopping You: The Breakthrough Program For Conquering Panic and Social Anxiety is a compelling and optimistic guide to move you from a position of difficulty to hope.
The Worry Trick by
"Using powerful, evidence-based therapies, The Worry Trick is designed to help you break the cycle of anxiety and worry. Filled with tips and techniques, this book will show you how to identify the "trick" that underlies your anxious thoughts and help you keep worry from getting the best of you. With this book, you'll learn to observe your anxious feelings with distance and clarity--and finally conquer worry once and for all."
Your Anxious Child by
Katie freezes when she's asked to perform. Jose is a clinger. Damian is terrified of animals. Felicia always worries that she's going to make a mistake. It's hard being the parent of an anxious child, watching your son's frustration grow, or seeing how your daughter tries to cope with her fears but gives up so quickly. Filled with solid information, a proven four-step program, dozens of engaging activities, and insightful personal vignettes, Your Anxious Child gives you easy, fun, and highly effective tools to help your child become a creative problem solver. Parents and teachers alike will find excellent strategies in this essential guide.
Test Anxiety by
Explores the causes and symptoms of test anxiety and discusses strategies to overcome this condition. Discusses the role studying and preparing plays in relieving pre-test stress. Breathing exercises, progressive muscle relaxation techniques, creative visualization and positive self-talk are demonstrated.
This emotional life. Disc 2. Facing our fears by
Why do we have emotions that are obstacles to happiness such as anger, fear, anxiety and despair--and what can we do to keep them under control? Explores ways we can improve our social relationships, learn to cope with problems like depression and anxiety, and become more positive and resilient individuals.