Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Bipolar II Disorder Workbook by Most people have heard of bipolar disorder, a mental health condition that is marked by manic episodes and periods of intense depression. Bipolar II disorder differs from bipolar I in that sufferers may never experience a full manic episode, although they may experience periods of high energy and impulsiveness (hypomania), as well as depression and anxiety. If you have been diagnosed with bipolar II, or even if you think that you may have this disorder, you may be frightened by the highs and lows of your intense emotions. Fortunately, there are proven-effective treatments that can help you find a sense of calm and peace of mind.
Written by an extremely accomplished team of bipolar experts, The Bipolar II Disorder Workbook is designed to help you manage the recurring depression, hypomania, and anxiety that can arise as a result of your condition. The convenient workbook format combines evidence-based cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), dialectical behavioral therapy (DBT), and other mindfulness-based exercises to help you manage your emotions, track your progress, and ultimately live a happy and more productive life.
Publication Date: 2014
Living with Bipolar Disorder by Living with Bipolar Disorder is designed to help patients and their families develop the skills they need to be good consumers of treatment and to become expert partners in the management of this challenging disorder. Drawing on research documenting the strength of combining drug treatments with behavioral interventions for fighting bipolar disorder, the authors of this book take a skill-based, family-and-friends approach to managing the ups and downs commonly experienced with bipolar disorder. Readers will learn how to better recognize mood shifts before they happen, minimize their impact, and move on with their lives. Family members will learn how to recognize potential problems, provide encouragement, practice new coping skills, and understand what a loved one is going through. Living with Bipolar Disorder provides worksheets and forms to help readers reinforce skills and practices learned in therapy, as well as useful information about the details of living with bipolar disorder, advice on the best ways to avoid relapses, and strategies for anticipating problems. In this new edition, the authors have expanded the text to reflect the newest advances in research on the management of bipolar disorder, adding the latest in drug information, advice on selecting a therapist, a discussion of the challenges of transitioning from adolescence to adulthood with bipolar, managing stress, improving relationship and communication skills both with the family and with one's clinician, and more. Living with Bipolar Disorder offers a wealth of effective strategies to reduce the likelihood of episodes of depression or mania and maximize the enjoyment of life.
Publication Date: 2011
Facing Bipolar by When you travel to a new city, it helps to have a map close at hand. On the first day of school, you need to have your schedule of classes. And if you've been diagnosed with bipolar disorder or suspect you may have it, then it's even more important to have a guidebook within reach.
Facing Bipolar will help you navigate the world of medications, therapists, and the up-and-down mood cycles common to the disorder. It clearly explains what bipolar disorder is and provides sound guidance for developing the necessary coping skills to manage its impact on your life.
Publication Date: 2010
The Bipolar Teen by If your teen has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder--or your child’s moods seem out of control--Dr. David Miklowitz can help. The bestselling author of The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide has tailored his proven treatment approach to meet the specific needs of teens and their families. The Bipolar Teen provides practical tools you can use to make home life manageable again. You’ll learn to spot the differences between normal teenage behavior and the telltale symptoms of mania and depression. Together with your child’s doctors, you’ll be able to strike a healthy balance between medication and psychotherapy, recognize and respond to the early warning signs of an oncoming episode, and collaborate effectively with school personnel. Like no other resource available, this powerful book delivers ways to manage chaos and relieve stress so everyone in your family--including siblings--can find stability, support, and peace of mind.
Publication Date: 2007
Mommy I'm Still in Here by Mommy I'm Still In Here clarifies myths and misunderstandings about bipolar disorder through the lives of Kate McLaughlin’s two teenaged children and provides vital information to a public frequently misled by sensationalist media and inaccurate Hollywood portrayals. This book supports, educates, and informs the reader, offering hope and encouragement.
Publication Date: 2008
Bipolar Disorder by Living with bipolar disorder. Being diagnosed with bipolar disorder at the age of fifteen / Patrick Jamieson -- What it feels like to live with bipolar disorder / Jane Pauley, interviewed by Patrick Perry -- Not sick enough to be hospitalized / Anonymous -- A pregnant woman lives through the postpartum psychosis / Bipolar Chica -- Coming to terms with being bipolar / Anna Pearce and Matt Scanlon -- In the grip of ups and downs / Ryan Christman -- Coping with a loved one's bipolar disorder. My dad's disorder / Becky Aarons -- My wife is bipolar / Kenneth Richard Fox -- Raising a child with bipolar disorder / Debbie Orkin -- Our marriage became constant chaos / Y. Euny Hong -- Dating a bipolar woman / Justin Clark -- Treating bipolar disorder. Medications can wreak havoc on your mind and body / Pole to Polar -- A change in diet and exercise improved my bipolar symptoms / Karl -- Not all children with behavior problems need medication / Laurel Williams -- Thyroid hormones help treat bipolar disorder / Peter Whybrow, interviewed by the Saturday Evening Post.
Call Number: RC516.B57 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide by A comprehensive guide offering straight talk that can help people with bipolar disorder take charge of their illness and reclaim their lives.
Call Number: RC516.M554 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Surviving Manic Depression by Surviving Manic Depression is the most authoritative book on this disorder, which affects more than two million people in the U.S. alone. Based on the latest research, it provides detailed coverage of every aspect of manic depression-from understanding its causes and treatments to choosing doctors and managing relapses-with guidance drawn from the latest scientific information.Drs. Torrey and Knable provide thorough, up-to-date coverage of all aspects of the disease, including a detailed description of symptoms (with many direct descriptions from patients themselves), risk factors, onset and cause, medications (including drugs still in the testing stage), psychotherapy, and rehabilitation, as well as information about how the disease affects children and adolescents. Here too are discussions of special problems related to manic depression, including alcohol and drug abuse, violent behavior, medication noncompliance, suicide, sex, AIDS, and confidentiality. Surviving Manic Depression also includes special features such as a listing of selected websites, books, videotapes, and other resources.
Call Number: RC516.T67 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Biography & Memoir
Art From Adversity by Art from Adversity shines the spotlight on mental illness, in particular, bipolar disorder. It provides an insight into what it is like to become mentally ill, to ascend into mania, free fall into depression, andfinally emerge profoundly changed by the experience. Art from Adversity: A Life with Bipolar is Anne Therese Naylor's memoir and information guide to mental illness. She provides insights into what it is like to become mentally ill and what it takes to become well. Her artworks, both on the cover and woven throughout the book, illustrate the creativity that can come from adversity. With messages demonstrating that everyone knows someone affected by mental illness, and that positive things can be born from adversity, this book encourages all of us that education about mental illness is the key to understanding and freedom. This book will strongly appeal to lovers of memoir, practical advice, and anyone who knows someone with a mental illness.
Publication Date: 2013
The Lily Pond by A memoir that chronicles unflinchingly the destructiveness of bipolar disorder - an illness that infiltrates thinking, feeling and acting in ways that change the very fabric of identity, of the life story one is telling oneself; however, The Lily Pond is equally searching in its exploration of the psyche's resources in healing and reknitting that story.
Publication Date: 2008
Marbles by Shortly before her thirtieth birthday, Ellen Forney was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. Flagrantly manic but terrified that medications would cause her to lose her creativity and livelihood, she began a years-long struggle to find mental stability without losing herself or her passion. Searching to make sense of the popular concept of the "crazy artist," Ellen found inspiration from the lives and work of other artist and writers who suffered from mood disorders, including Vincent van Gogh, Georgia O'Keeffe, William Styron, and Sylvia Plath.
Call Number: PN6727.F678M37 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Robert Lowell by "The best-selling author of An Unquiet Mind now gives us a groundbreaking life of one of the major American poets of the twentieth century that is at the same time a fascinating study of the relationship between manic-depressive (bipolar) illness, creative genius, and character. In his Pulitzer Prize-winning poetry, Robert Lowell (1917-1977) put his manic-depressive illness into the public domain. Now Dr. Kay Redfield Jamison brings her expertise to bear on his story, illuminating the relationship between bipolar illness and creativity, and examining how Lowell's illness and the treatment he received came to bear on his work. His New England roots, early breakdowns, marriages to three eminent writers, friendships with other poets, vivid presence as a teacher and writer refusing to give up in the face of mental illness--Jamison gives us Lowell's life through a lens that focuses our understanding of the poet's intense discipline, courage, and commitment to his art. Jamison had unprecedented access to Lowell's medical records, as well as to previously unpublished drafts and fragments of poems, and was the first biographer to speak to his daughter. With this new material and a psychologist's deep insight, Jamison delivers a bold, sympathetic account of a poet who was--both despite and because of mental illness--a passionate, original observer of the human condition"
Call Number: RC516 .J363 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Understanding bi-polar disorder by Bipolar Disorder, aka, manic depression is misunderstood and, sadly, sufferers from this disease are often ostracized by their family and friends. Our program demystifies this disorder by introducing research advancements and new treatments. The program proves conclusively that, with patience and support, people with Bipolar Disorder can live productive, fulfilling lives.
Call Number: RC516.U53 2006
Publication Date: 2006