Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Diagnosis: Schizophrenia by The disease is not fatal but few diagnoses have the capacity to instill as much fear in the hearts of patients and families. Here is a profoundly reassuring book that shows there can be life after a diagnosis of schizophrenia.
The book includes thirty-five first-person accounts, along with chapters by professionals on a wide range of issues from hospitalization to rehabilitation. Jargon-free and technically accurate, the chapters are short and offer up-to-date information on medication, coping skills, social services, clinical research, and much more. Patients and their families can read the book from cover to cover or skip around and select topics as the need arises.
Call Number: RC514.D53 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Infectious Behavior by In "Infectious Behavior," neurobiologist Paul Patterson examines the involvement of the immune system in autism, schizophrenia, and major depressive disorder. Although genetic approaches to these diseases have garnered the lion's share of publicity and funding, scientists are uncovering evidence of the important avenues of communication between the brain and the immune system and their involvement in mental illness. Patterson focuses on this brain-immune crosstalk, exploring the possibility that it may help us understand the causes of these common, but still mysterious, diseases. The heart of this engaging book, accessible to nonscientists, concerns the involvement of the immune systems of the pregnant woman and her fetus, and a consideration of maternal infection as a risk factor for schizophrenia and autism. Patterson reports on research that may shed light on today's autism epidemic. He also outlines the risks and benefits of both maternal and postnatal vaccinations.
In the course of his discussion, Patterson offers a short history of immune manipulation in treating mental illness (recounting some frightening but fascinating early experiments) and explains how the immune system influences behavior and how the brain regulates the immune system, looking in particular at stress and depression. He examines the prenatal origins of adult disease and evidence for immune involvement in autism, schizophrenia, and depression. Finally, he describes the promise shown by recent animal experiments that have led to early clinical trials of postnatal and adult treatments for patients with autism and related disorders.
Call Number: RC454.4.P38 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Schizophrenia by Schizophrenia remains an enigma to many clinicians, despite recent progress in the scientific understanding of its causes, symptoms and potential treatments. Whilst the DSM-IV and ICD-10 classification systems have provided a reasonably reliable set of diagnostic criteria for 'schizophrenia',the validity of the construct remains elusive, and clinicians and researchers need to be wary about accepting these as definitive. Indeed schizophrenia remains a clinical diagnosis, based on certain signs and symptoms, and none of these is pathognomonic; there is also no laboratory or radiologicaltest for the condition.Part of the Oxford Psychiatry Library, this pocketbook provides well-balanced answers to common questions about schizophrenia. Part 1 covers classification, clinical features, epidemiology, aetiological factors, brain abnormalities, and neurochemistry. Part 2 focuses on management and covers servicemodels, and biological, psychological and social aspects of treatment. Part 3 includes patient/carer information on medications used in psychiatry, tips about dealing with side effects and enhancing adherence, and information about looking after physical health.This pocketbook will serve as a concise useful guide for psychiatrists, trainees, specialist nurses and interested general practitioners.
Call Number: RC514.C37 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Schizophrenia by Schizophrenia is the archetypal form of madness. Schizophrenia is a common disorder and has a devastating effect on sufferers and their families-patients typically hear voices in their heads and hold bizarre beliefs. The schizophrenic patient presented to the public in sensational pressreports and lurid films bears little resemblance to reality of the illness. This book describes what schizophrenia is really like, how the illness progresses, and the treatments that have been applied. It also summarizes the most up-to-date knowledge available about the biological bases of thisdisorder. Finally it attempts to give some idea of what it is like to have schizophrenia and what this disorder tells us about the relationship between mind and brain.
Call Number: RC514.F75 2003
Publication Date: 2003
The Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders by Written for general readers and professionals alike, The Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders, Third Edition is the most comprehensive single source on this topic. With more than 600 up-to-date entries, this new edition features a substantially revised foreword and introduction, a significant amount of new material, references, appendixes, and the latest findings since the last edition was published. Coverage includes the history, treatment, diagnosis, and current medical research and theories regarding this class of mental illness.
Publication Date: 2009
Fast Facts: Schizophrenia by Schizophrenia is a devastating disorder that starts in early life and can lead to lifelong disability. It is a major public health challenge for all cultures and all countries. Clinical practice must therefore focus on early intervention, optimal treatment, shared decision-making and long-term recovery. “By listening to patients’ experiences, alongside the latest research, we now know much more about ‘what works’,” say the authors of this fully updated fourth edition of Fast Facts: Schizophrenia. In this highly readable resource, they cover the present state of knowledge about the neurobiology, diagnosis and treatment of schizophrenia, including: emerging evidence from genome-wide association studies for multiple susceptibility genes; DSM-5 diagnostic criteria plus discussion of alternative classification systems; a comprehensive review of drug and non-drug treatment strategies and how to improve adherence; a new management principles chapter that emphasizes the importance of coordinated multidisciplinary care; the latest findings of structural and functional imaging studies. With good care delivered by knowledgeable compassionate health professionals, many people will recover at least partially from their first episode of psychosis and live a fulfilling life. Written from an international perspective, Fast Facts: Schizophrenia will refresh and update family physicians, psychiatrists in training, mental health nurses and medical students – in fact, all health professionals – who need to know about the disorder and need to know it quickly.
Publication Date: 2015
Moving On by About one person in a hundred will be diagnosed with schizophrenia at some time in their life. The condition can be severe and debilitating with symptoms such as delusions, hallucinations and the loss of concentration, motivation and social skills. But schizophrenia is not a degenerative or life-threatening condition and in recent years improved knowledge and understanding, psychological treatments and more tolerable medication have greatly increased people's ability to manage their symptoms and live a 'normal' life. This straightforward, accessible and inspiring guide provides information on: - The myths and misconceptions surrounding schizophrenia- The possible causes and how the illness is diagnosed- Medication and other treatment options; sources of support- Improving health and well-being- Employment - paid and voluntary- Complementary therapies - Counselling and psychotherapyThe guide also includes the latest research findings and personal accounts of recovery by people with the diagnosis.
Publication Date: 2007
Memoir / Biography
Brain on Fire by The story of twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan and the life-saving discovery of the autoimmune disorder that nearly killed her -- and that could perhaps be the root of "demonic possessions" throughout history. In 2009 the author woke up alone in a strange hospital room, strapped to her bed, under guard, and unable to move or speak. Her medical records chronicled a month long hospital stay of which she had no memory at all; the records showed psychosis, violence, and dangerous instability. Yet, only weeks earlier she had been a healthy, ambitious twenty-four-year-old. Susannah's astonishing memoir chronicles the swift path of her illness and the lucky, last-minute intervention led by one of the few doctors capable of saving her life. Neurologist Souhel Najjar recognized the symptoms of a newly discovered autoimmune disorder in which the body attacks the brain, a disease now thought to be tied to both schizophrenia and autism, and perhaps the root of "demonic possessions" throughout history. This is the account of one woman's struggle to recapture her identity and to rediscover herself among the fragments left behind.
Call Number: RC390.C35 2012
Publication Date: 2012