Complete Copyright: an everyday guide for librarians by Carrie RussellPublisher's description: Librarians face myriad copyright dilemmas every day, and as copyright law evolves and new interpretations emerge, libraries play a key role in representing the public in the copyright debate. But how do new copyright laws affect traditional services and new virtual reference user services? What must librarians do to ensure that staff and patrons fully exercise copyright exemptions, like fair use? Offering a wealth of information on library copyright concerns in a vibrant, highly accessible format, Complete Copyright is a must-have resource for your library. ALA copyright expert Russell provides clear, user-friendly guidance for both common copyright issues and latest trends, including the intricacies of copyright in the digital world. Through real-life examples, she also illustrates how librarians can be advocates for a fair and balanced copyright law. This guide will help you to: Address complex copyright issues through the use of real-life library scenarios. Understand when permission is necessary when using copyrighted licenses. Keep up-to-date with recent copyright legislation including the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) and the Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization Act (TEACH). Recognize the benefits and the pitfalls of the new digital copyright law. Develop copyright presentations and workshops. Discuss copyright law and fair use with legislators, administrators, library boards, and other decision makers. Featuring the illustrative work of graphic novelist Jessica Abel, Complete Copyright offers a cast of engaging characters who guide librarians on an exploration of copyright complexities through a range of everyday situations. With a full copyright glossary of terms and legal case studies, along with a fun, plasti-coil binding for ease of usage, this is the comprehensive guide to the fundamentals and subtleties of U.S. copyright law written specifically for your library.
Call Number: KF2995.C66 2004
Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Complete Copyright for K-12 Librarians and Educators by Carrie RussellSchool librarians and educators have specific copyright questions that are often glossed over in larger books on the subject. Now, thanks to best-selling copyright authority Carrie Russell, there's a resource just for them, offering clear guidance for providing materials to students while carefully observing copyright law. Using whimsical illustrations so well known from Complete Copyright, Russell: Offers detailed advice on the distinctive issues of intellectual property in the school setting; Explores scenarios often encountered by educators, such as using copyrighted material in school plays, band and orchestra performances, bulletin board displays, and student participation in social media; Precisely defines "fair use," empowering readers by showing exactly what's possible within the law. Balancing intellectual property law with the rights of school librarians and educators will be a snap with an assist from Complete Copyright for K-12 Librarians and Educators.
Call Number: KF2995.R87 2012
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Copyfraud and Other Abuses of Intellectual Property Law by Jason MazzoneIntellectual property law in the United States does not work well and it needs to be reformed--but not for the reasons given by most critics. The issue is not that intellectual property rights are too easily obtained, too broad in scope, and too long in duration. Rather, the primary problem is overreaching by publishers, producers, artists, and others who abuse intellectual property law by claiming stronger rights than the law actually gives them. From copyfraud--like phony copyright notices attached to the U.S. Constitution--to lawsuits designed to prevent people from poking fun at Barbie, from controversies over digital sampling in hip-hop to Major League Baseball's ubiquitous restriction on sharing any 'accounts and descriptions of this game,' overreaching claims of intellectual property rights are everywhere. Overreaching interferes with legitimate uses and reproduction of a wide variety of works, imposes enormous social and economic costs, and ultimately undermines creative endeavors. As this book reveals, the solution is not to change the scope or content of intellectual property rights, but to create mechanisms to prevent people asserting rights beyond those they legitimately possess. While there are many other books on intellectual property, this is the first to examine overreaching as a distinct problem and to show how to solve it. Jason Mazzone makes a series of timely proposals by which government, organizations, and ordinary people can stand up to creators and content providers when they seek to grab more than the law gives them.
Call Number: KF2994.M39 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-05
Copyright: Examples and Explanations by McJohn, Stephen M.
Call Number: KF2995 .M35 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-06
Copyright Infringement by Carol Ullmann (Editor)
Call Number: K1485.C67 2014
Publication Date: 2013-12-06
Copyright Law and the Distance Education Classroom by Tomas A. Lipinski
Call Number: KF4209.E38L57 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-28
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by Kenneth D. Crews; Dwayne K. Buttler (Contribution by); Megan M. Mulford (Contribution by); Patrick O. Okorodudu (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF2995.C74 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Intellectual Property in the Information Age: knowledge as commodity and Its legal implications for higher education by AEHE Staff; Jeffrey C. Sun (Editor); Benjamin Baez
Call Number: KF2994.I58 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
Piracy: The Intellectual Property Wars from Gutenberg to Gates by Adrian Johns"...explores the intellectual property wars from the advent of print culture in the fifteenth century to the reign of the Internet in the twenty-first. Written with a historian's flair for narrative and sparkling detail, the book swarms throughout with characters of genius, principle, cunning, and outright criminal intent. In the wars over piracy, it is the victims - from Charles Dickens to Bob Dylan - who have always been the best known, but the principal players - the pirates themselves - have long languished in obscurity, and it is their stories especially that Johns brings to vivid life in these pages
Call Number: K1401.J64 2009
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
Remix: making art and commerce thrive in the hybrid economy by Lawrence Lessig
Call Number: KF3020.L47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-16
Understanding Copyright Law by Marshall A. Leaffer
Call Number: KF2994 .L43 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Public Statement of Library Copyright Specialists: Fair Use & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research
March 13, 2020
This statement was prepared by several dozen academic librarians and copyright officers at universities around the US.
Authors and Apparatus : a media history of copyright by Monika Dommann; Sarah Pybus (Translator)Copyright is under siege. From file sharing to vast library scanning projects, new technologies, actors, and attitudes toward intellectual property threaten the value of creative work. However, while digital media and the Internet have made making and sharing perfect copies of original works almost effortless, debates about protecting authors' rights are nothing new. In this sweeping account of the evolution of copyright law since the mid-nineteenth century, Monika Dommann explores how radical media changes—from sheet music and phonographs to photocopiers and networked information systems—have challenged and transformed legal and cultural concept of authors' rights. Dommann provides a critical transatlantic perspective on developments in copyright law and mechanical reproduction of words and music, charting how artists, media companies, and lawmakers in the United States and western Europe approached the complex tangle of technological innovation, intellectual property, and consumer interests. From the seemingly innocuous music box, invented around 1800, to BASF's magnetic tapes and Xerox machines, she demonstrates how copyright has been continuously destabilized by emerging technologies, requiring new legal norms to regulate commercial and private copying practices. Without minimizing digital media's radical disruption to notions of intellectual property, Dommann uncovers the deep historical roots of the conflict between copyright and media—a story that can inform present-day debates over the legal protection of authorship.
Academic Search PremierFull-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc., with indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Legal CollectionFull text for over 300 law journals, covering criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)Provide legal researchers, students, and faculty access to a comprehensive selection of the most prestigious legal publications.